paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Drop Zone Paintball Field / Drop Zone Paintball Field / Drop Zone Paintball Field / Drop Zone Paintball Field

Drop Zone Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
30Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: N/A
Location: Lawrence, Kansas 66061
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
kukarni8709 Thursday, January 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 13th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
jeagers, then basically all of the STL fields
Review: All i have to say, Great field. No matter if you like speedball or woods ball, it is great. The castle field is great for either kind of player. Then their field Dog Leg, which is my personal favorite is somewhat big compared to many speedball feilds ive used, but it is a lot of fun. then they have airball every other weekend. The refing is very fair, and they explain all the rules well and are very good at making sure everyone is safe. also the prices are not to high. deffinently try it out
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rowdyw10 Friday, September 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't played at any fields in the same area, though I've played at Action Pursuit Games/Colorado Indoor in Greeley, Colorado - which by the way, is an amazing field.
Review: Dopzone Dropzone Dropzone.....what can I say, its the main field I play at.

It was the first field I ever went to, and every time I go I have a blast.

They have a variety of fields, friendly refs and staff, and usually a good number of people.
The only drawback I see is its more rec/woods oriented. But for many this may be a huge plus, but I prefer speedball, and getting to Dropzone when they set up airball is a sort of hit and miss ordeal. They advertise that the airball is set up the 1st and 3rd weekend of every month, but I've been there when they do not set it up at all at these times, so that sucks. But overall Dropzone is a great experience. Even though airball is not always up, they do have permanant speedball fields set up. Dogleg has to be my favorite field here other than the airball, its a fun field to play on. No matter what your skill level, you'll find enjoyment here at Dropzone. I've been there when the crowd of people numbered in the 100s (speedball games were intense, and the crowds were going mad crazy), and then times when only 10 to 12 people show up. But no matter how many come, I still manage to extract a enjoyable experience from the field. It's always a blast.

I love Dropzone, and they only have a few minor negatives, but overall a quality, and cool field. And like I said, its my main field, so I spend a lot of my balling time here.

I give it an 8, becuase it does have areas it could improve on.
Last edited on Sunday, October 2nd, 2005 at 8:53 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shocktech_08 Wednesday, June 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jaegers
Review: Well I only went for a tournement, but I expect tournaments to better run than regular rec play. Every where I look it says DZ is in lawerence but it really isn't. It is was the hell out in the middle of nowhere and depending on where you live can take a while to get to. I leave about 30 mins away from lawerence and it took me nearly 2 hours to get to drop zone. Once I was there, many more problems came up. The deadline for registering was supposed to be the 16th of april but they let people register up until an hour before playing, the field was not even set up when we got there, they started 2 hours later than what they said. It was supposed to be a rookie tournament and i know you will always have your players with high end markers but almost every team there did. There was maybe 5 real rookie teams out of the 24 teams. When I walked the field with my team and others the surface was very uneven. There were many small holes and bumps everywhere, if you weren't careful you could get hurt. The games did run smooth once things got started but after everything else I did not plan on coming back. I had a friend that went to play there and they overfilled his nitro and blew the tank. The reg was completely messed up and the tank was very damaged and he called he and said what happened but they refused to replace the tank. If this ever happened to me I would not have been so nice as my friend was to them.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballcrazy9 Sunday, February 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Drop zone is outstanding there staff is always there to help you with problems. THey also care tons about safety which is a really good thing you must have a barrel condom in if not on playing fields. they have a variety of fields such as lower speedball which is very action packed, then castle personally my favorite field is there is a attacking team that starts on hills and trees around the castle and tries to sorruond the castle and get the best angles on it the whole time the team defending the castle can shoot out of it but once the attacking team fire upon the castle they can come out and chse you down,(the defending team ussually loses but is still really fun),then they dogleg which i pretty fun,and then airball field is a great setup which gets changed and is used for tournments and sometimes to sirball fields for bigger tournaments, also people cannot cheat cause they will get caught and the trees provide great shade. the only bad part is the stairs that lead away form the field and to the field are very steep and slippery and if you drop your gun it could easily fall all the way down other than that i highly reccomend drop zone. o yeah it is also is out in the middle of nowhere but that doesnt really matter though. drop zone also owns a line of great stores.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigwillie Saturday, July 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
WW, Jaegers
Review: Good
-lots of fields (castle, multiple woods/speedball mix, and airball)
-great reffing and staff, always eager to share info and give help
-good prices
-trees around fields and picnic area makes it nice and shady
Bad
-speedball fields have a few trees on them
-airball isnt always set up
-the steps that lead down to the fields are very steep and usually wet
Overall
I think DZ is a great field. Definitely my favorite in the KC area. I give it 9 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dajayhawk Wednesday, May 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This place is awsome!!! The castle field is really kool. I can see how it could get rainy but you really don't have complain about them and spend your whole review complaining about how you went on a day when it was rainy witch is YOUR fault!!! The owner of this field and the drop zone stores is really kool and knows his stuff. All in all, go here. From an expierienced player who knows his stuff, this place is awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Warchilde316 Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jaegers
Review: I've been pleasantly surprised by Drop Zone. Multiple fields. Sup Air coming very soon (it may be there already). BYO Paint for only $10. Membership passes that pay for themselves in only 3 trips. Free all day CO2 and HPA. Nice staff.

They DO have a problem getting games rotated in quickly. When it's busy (upward of 50 players) they have enough different fields and staff to run multiple games at the same time, but they don't. Also my only experience with the field paint (Severe) was horrific. In the case I bought I could not find more then about 1% balls that were actually round. Not only will I never buy paint from them again, but I won't buy any of Severe's products, it was so bad.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

mattk82 Friday, May 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: The service at the dropzone is second to none. You get what you need, when you need it. The staff is always helpful and is great. The reffing is very good and there is little or no room for wipers to get by. The location of the field is less than desirable. I love this field, but, it is in the middle of nowhere. There is no proshop, althogh the staff seems more than willing to lend there knowledge and help to those having problems. I love playing at this field and I will continue to play there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

darlanton Tuesday, April 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jaegers, Splat City, most other places in the KC metro area
Review: I've been playing at DZ semi regularly for the last four years, and have come to conclusion that it's probably the best outdoor field in the KC area.

They have a total of five fields. Two of them are speed ball fields, one is a minimalist field (that is very little non-natural cover), one is the reputed castle field, and the last is the dog leg. The two most popular fields are the castle and the lower speed ball field, both of which are only feet from the main players area, although if you play there for a day you will end up playing several games on each.

The players area is also top rate with several picknic tables to put your equipment on, as well as there being a large mesh fence surrounding the area to prevent you from being hit by any errant balls. There is also usually a employee present in this area that doesn't ref so that you don't have to worry about someone walking away with your stuff.

The staff are top rate and probably the best in KC. They go out of thier way to help you when you need it, and there are always multiple refs on the field. They also aren't afraid of getting in the middle of the action meaning that you won't have to worry about someone wiping on you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gc1fan08 Friday, March 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: This park is the greatest it was awesome the staff is awesome they are the nicest people in the world they help you out if u need it they give you tips etc this park is awesome highly recomended for pros and beginners the fields also have 90 acers making it the biggest one in kansas and they have tournament all the time!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media