paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Arena / Paintball Arena / Paintball Arena / Paintball Arena

Paintball Arena

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
74Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 519-579-7585
Address: 69 Agnes Street
Kitchener, Ontario N2G 2E9
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
andrew1schenk Tuesday, July 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
flagraiders- $$$ costs alot
outlimits-great feild and good prices
Review: This is pretty much addresed to Rift (the guy below me), where do i start correcting you.
Well first of all Ray quit about 6-8 months ago, so how can he be one of the 2 employees that are good. I think pretty much every person that works in there is great, Amy, Owen, Hal, Eric, Dusty, Christine, Steve, Mcaul (sp?) and everyone else.
The feild isnt done becuase they just moved a little while ago and it takes alot of time and money to make a feild, let alone buy a building.
its 230 fps on everyday except friday because this is a beginner to intermidiate feild, the dont want people getting hurt, u have to remember that this is an indoor feild and wind isnt a factor. the same goes for the mercy rule 10 feet is just for safety.
they isolate as you put it, the gun owners/ members because they want the teams fair, its no fun for beginners to loose every game.
as for the comments there is only one employee at the arena who reads them and they take them very seriously, if there is a complaint with the staff, the manager, owen or amy are pulled aside and are asked wat the problem with that person is. there is no way, absolutely no way that they would throw them out without this person reading it, i beleive it is Hal's wife who reads them.

if you dont like the 230 fps, 10$ for 90, and mercy rule come out on friday night, 5$ for 90, bunkering, 250fps.
if you have anything to say to me please feel free to email me, or add me to msn, andrew_schenk@hotmail.com

i just dont like people bad mouthing the arena, and lieing at the same time. i am not an employee or anything like that, i am just a player who enjoys the arena.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Rift Tuesday, July 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Flagraiders - The best you can get.
Review: This field has quite a few major problems:

1) All staff, with the exception of Ray & Hal, need to be fired.

They are terrible. Rude, ignorant, (insert any derogatory comment here). I swear many of them know nothing about paintball as a sport. They know nothing about markers. Even if they did, I would never let them touch mine.

2) Paint prices

$10 for 90 balls? No thankz. Unless you are gonna let me use marbelizers, thats outrageous.

3) Field problems

- Its not complete
- No angles
- Buildings are useless since they only have one exit each.
- Too much empty space
- gravel is the worst idea ever
- 230 fps? Thats a little low. 250 is a pretty standard velocity. Most markers cant get below 250, yet if they do, they lob paint badly.

4) Mercy rules

10 feet is a little much and is very controversial. 3 feet is a little more realistic.

5) Experienced players beware

They completely isolate players who they see as intimidating. For example, I play on 5 man local team and we all have matching team jerseys/gear etc. They refused to let us play with the other people that were there "just because we were sponsored". 3 of us where using pump markers as well.

6) Criticism is not welcome with them

They got a "Comments/Suggestions" board set up in the staging area. A few teamates and myself added some suggestions on how to improve the place and they were removed and thrown out after we left to enter our next game.

OVERALL

Dissappointing field. Play at own risk.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Kromax Saturday, June 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Flagraiders - Great field, give it a try! (My summer field, outdoors, so no comparison)
Paintball City - Another great field (My winter field, Indoor)
Renegade Guelph - (indoor)
Review: I have a have been a long time Paintball city fan. So most of my comparison will be in relation to Paintball city.

The (new) Paintball Arena is shaping up to be a solid field.

At the time I played it was a slow night, so I hard the opportunity to get a good look at the field, & staging area.

On the field my overall impression is a positive one. Some of the props are not built, but what they do have matches the clientele they are targeting, which is the beginner or young player. The props are laid out to be fun, but not confusing or intimidating, there are enough sightlines and angles to keep it interesting without overwhelming the newer player. Once the field is complete with the addition of a possible second level to the castle, and any kind of structure in the back corner, it should become a great field for the beginner player.

I keep referring to the field being set up for the "beginner" player, this is mostly because of the field rules more than the field props. The filed has a few rules which are a little weird.

1) No or avoid head shots - Ok sure but s**t happens and if your playing properly, all that should be exposed would be your head and gun...or am I wrong? Maybe they should make the JT headshot goggles system a rental option…!?

2)They have and enforced surrender rule within 10 feet. Who ever yells it first get the other out, and the refs enforce this. OK, luckily the night we played this was not abused, but on a busy night I foresee a few arguments over this rule.

3)If your actions (shot) causes another player to sit out (I assume due to low pain threshold), you sit out with him! Now I'm no paintball god, and I play a pump, but I tagged a kid in the butt with a single shot from about 20 to 25 feet, and he sat out the next game. Luckily I was not asked to sit out with him or this review might have been a little different. But I consider this rule a little stupid! Even if it does match the clientele they are targeting.

Finally the staff, staging area, and cost.

-The staff was great, friendly and worked hard to make my night great. (But really young, or I'm getting old.) 10 out of 10 on staff!

-Staging area was 'holy crap' huge and clean, and comfy. Two level, lots of tables, and lots of windows. Great! 10 out of 10

-The cost was no more or less than other fields, the measure of paintballs you get is a little strange (but justified). The only thing I suggest is cheap night(s). Paintball city has half price night on their slow nights, which is the only time I play. 6 out of 10 (nothing good or bad)






If you want to try out paintball and not get you’re a** handed to you, this is the place. Other fields make new player feel welcome and comfortable, but these guy’s n gals really go out of their way for the new or younger player. Unfortunately I think they may be alienating some of the more advanced players in the process.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

cockshot Wednesday, June 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
too many to list
Review: Dusty has a nice ass, the gavel in the area is hard to run in, but the props and setup are pretty good.

Repair staff is very helpful (Dusty) the girl behind the desk could of been friendlier (wink wink) but was other wise pretty cool.

better lighting would be helpful, but the overall setup is very nice. Good seating for non players, a bigger washroom wouldnt hurt but not necessary
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Lt_Moose_111 Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Flag Raiders - amazing outdoor field, but i think everyone would agree the prices are kinda outrageous
Review: The Paintball Arena is where i learned to play, so i guess im kinda biased, but i think its amazing. i havent been to the new field yet, but im goin this saturday with a bunch of guys.

there's almost always tons of ppl there, around 20-30. the prices at the old place were 25 entrance which isnt bad, and then $10/100 and $5/50 but supposedly the new place is $10/90 and $5/45 which isnt really right, but watcha gonna do huh?

the staff have always been great, they know their stuff and like to have fun (dont we all) and are'nt overly angry to anyone unless you screw with their rules (eg. mercy or removing mask on field)

rentals aren't really that great, (old titans at the old place, iono if they changed for new place) shoot squiff and the triggers are kinda tough. just get your own gun, wont have to worry about it lol.

all in all, my favourite field. 9.5 for prices, 10 for staff and 9 for rentals
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

clovergirl Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Shoot to Splatter - Just once, it was a good experience but it could have been better.
Review: I played at the old arena just once, but I have been in both the old and new arena's and I have to say that they were both great.

The new arena is enormous. I haven't played there yet but I have been in the building and I can say it is a vast improvement from the old arena. The viewing windows are much nicer than the ones in the old arena. The fact that they have a area for private party customers is awesome as well. The viewing area for parents give them a great view of the play so they can watch their children play.

The staff are awesome. They were very helpful with me being a new player. They ref's know what they are doing and I have to say that Steve, Ray, and Dusty are my favorites. They kept the energy of the arena going and they were very helpful at giving me pointers. The counter staff have always been courteous to me and Hal is always nice and eager to speak to the players, if he has the time.

If I had to rate the way the paintball arena is run, I would give them a 9 out of 10. As for the employee's that work there or have worked there I would give them a 10 out of 10. Keep up the great work. Hopefully I can get in there and actually play in the new arena, not just stop by.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MeTal_RaWker Friday, June 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: The new arena they have is a total let down. its truly a piece of garbage. the place isn't even complete, there's way to much empty space, and the layout wasn't well planned. the gravel was a good idea at the time, yet isn't as good as i thought i'd be. The old arena was ALOT better then this new place, more cover, more Close Quarter combat, better castle ruins, just overall this new location is brutal, a bad choice to re-locate. the only thing that this place has is the Staff....their awesome people..with a few exceptions. But ya, their new place is garbage and i don't recommend paying the some $25+ to even play on the field, better off going to Lazer Quest or something in my opinion.

The prices are fairly cheap in the proshop, its a plus if your looking to buy a marker . Yet they don't stand by there "we'll fix it" guarantee....i bought my marker there, and i had a problem with the Regulator...they told me to go a hardware store and get a few screws and a different't O-Ring (they didn't carry it) and then take it apart myself. I convinced them to finally help me out but it wasn't easy.

Last edited on Friday, June 11th, 2004 at 6:47 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

thatguy444 Thursday, June 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Flag Raiders-not bad but they could get better paint
Review: I love the new field. The only bad thing about the new place is the gravel. Other wise i like it alot. iv played there ever Saturday since December. The field is so much bigger then the old place.

The staff are the greatest people ever. They can help you with most of your gun problems. The refs are great except one. I think my most favorite is Eric even though he's new to it he is really good. The pro shop is great and same with its manager he's helped me with a lot of things i needed. The manager of the arena in really nice and same with the owner they are two of the nicest ones there.

The prices are great even if you get 90 paintballs now, but i can understand that they didn't want to rase the price to get the extra 10 balls. The prices of the pro shop are the same or cheaper (mostly cheaper) then other places.

Over all I think that the new place is great. Keep up the good work Paintball arena staff.
Last edited on Thursday, June 3rd, 2004 at 1:23 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Cluff Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sgt Splatters Mississauga - open late, decent field setup, half price days are awesome
Flagraiders - awesome field, sometimes members/regular and crew can be rude.
Wasaga Beach Paintball - my favourite field all around
Camp Splatoon - Small field, but awesome prices
(other fields, don't remember names)
Review: First time I've ever been, and it was with a couple of friends. Both of them are members and have played here on a regular basis. Never been to the old place on Charles, but this new place is rather impressive.

Great viewing rooms and windows, including the second floor party rooms. The pro shop isn't anything fantastic, and the prices are about the same as anywhere else, but the staging area is nice and large for an indoor field.

The play field itself is pretty cool, having an urban-like setting, even if it is a medieval village and forest (for paintball? weird..). The pebble ield is.. Interesting to say the least. Can't sneak up on anyone (I tried). Though it isn't quite as dirty as sand, it does get all over everything, and it's a pain in the ass if one happens to get in your shoes. Also, because people invariably slide through the stuff, if you ever takes a step and slide through it, touching the floor beneath, it's ten times worse than ice.. Someone could get hurt..

The staff wasn't too bad. One of the refs seemed to be really cool, helpful, cheerful even. The other one didn't seem like he really wanted to be there. The counter staff ladies were the same way; I had a good experience with one, and the other was way too cynical/edgy/sarcastic. Also, a little more knowledge of the pro-shop products would be better, since they couldn't answer any of my questions about the parts they sold.

My biggest complaint of all is the price. Because I don't paintball entirely all that often, I'm not sure if $175 is a reasonable price for a one year membership.. And the benefits didn't sound all that incredible, since the only time I'd really play is the hosefest friday nights (no much discount with membership). And the paint price was horrendous. $5 for a single bag and $10 for a double bag, and they don't even tell you how much is in there. I'm told approximately 45/90, but I'm not sure. That's quite a rip off, to me..

My friends play here often, and I do get off a little better because I own my own equipment, but the paint price seems a little steep. Even Flagraiders is cheaper, and everyone I talk to seems to think they have the highest prices around. All in all, I would rate it above average, but not fantastic.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

coon hater Sunday, May 30th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: this is a dynamo field. Its perfect until a few things i see go wrong. No sup'air- in replacment is a speed ball field(duh) buts its wood like a forest look on the site for pics. I didnt mind the gravel, But the prices were a little on the espensive side. i dont care i dont pay. The pro shop could have been beta but stil an over all dynamo
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media