paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Action Jack's Paintball Games Paintball Field / Action Jack's Paintball Games Paintball Field / Action Jack's Paintball Games Paintball Field / Action Jack's Paintball Games Paintball Field

Action Jack's Paintball Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
41Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 641-792-1077
Address: 2216 S 12th Ave W
Newton, Iowa 50208
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
mustangfreak Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ACP, I think that ACP has a better setup, better refs., cheaper paint but better in my opinion. Speedball is sweet for a 3 v 3. We didn't play a whole lot of woods ball but it was fun when we did. The only problem with ACP is that its not very well known, when we went on a Sunday there were the 6 of us and that was it. Which is fun, but for a field to stay open it takes more than that. Overall ACP is better
Review: Action Jacks is an alright field if you just want to get a group of guys together and they haven't been paintballing hardly if every before. They have good rules like anyother field that I've been to, but there refs. are kinda crappy without being there to call people out. There was probably 50-60 players if not more out when we went last and there was alot of wiping paint. Its an alright field over all its a hit or miss you'll have to just try it to get your opinion
Last edited on Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006 at 1:54 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Timmyguy06 Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ker-Splat Omaha, Ne.
Metro Paintball Games Council Bluffs, Ia
Review: I have played almost every 3-man tournament that Action Jacks has had in the last 2 1/2 years and I think the place is great. I've read some reviews about kneeling in old paint, lots of people whinning about price, and one guy even said it was too hot for him to play. Well these don't sound like the reviews of real players to me. When I first went to Action Jacks I had no idea what to expect. I am the player I am because of the owner and all his regulars. I'm not sure what these other people are expecting but believe me this is a great place to play young or old newbie or hard corps baller. I opened my own paintball store and wanted to open a field also and thats when I realized that these owners go through alot so that we can show up ball all day and go home with some excellent stories. Give some respect. You'll love it there don't worry about the whinners.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

marplemk1 Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Okoboji - no woodsball field but MUCH better airball
Review: Price - $5 for the field and $5 for rental. $80 for a case (2000) of paintballs. (This really averages out to $45 bucks to play w/ 1k of paintballs, a little more pricey than other fields but not much)

Great field to play if you're into woodsball. Three field large, medium, small. We played with about 20 ppl to a team on each course and there was enough action to keep us going on all but the largest field. There were plenty of ppl there, but lots of kids <12 while I was there. The refs there don't really interact or call ppl out, but everyone was honest the day I was there. The refs could have done more to keep ppl moving. Almost all games went 10 min and it seemed like wait times in between were too long. Alot of ppl were ready to go as soon as they reloaded up.

Speedball field is practically nonexistent. Its much too small (maybe 75 feet long) and while I was there 1/2 of the bunkers weren't inflated. Also, the floor was dirt/sand, similar to a baseball field. Very dusty. If I would have came there to play woodsball this would have been fine, but I specifically asked if they had speedball and they said yes. (I guess this was true, they did have it, but it was practically non-operational)

Also, two people with me rented and had lots of problems with guns. Both had to repeatedly chrono and adjust throughout the day. Their air tank couldn't fill my HPA tank up past 2500 or so, so I had to keep coming back.

This does look like a great place for woodsball. If I was grading on woodsball only, I would give it an 7. Great fields, average refs/utilities, subpar rentals. Since I went there for speedball I'll have to give it a 6.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

iLLest1aLive Saturday, August 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 22nd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Velocity Paintball in West Liberty
Review: Field is not that hyped to be...1) Prices there are horrible because if you want a box, get ready to pay $80 for a case and the paint isn't that great either. 2) Fields...what more can i say. The woods area i will admit is cool and big but the other fields just didnt stand out much. Their air feild was indoors and man that place was hott so i didnt even bother to play in it. The refs, man what refs, there were like 2 refs for the games we played and the whole time they were just sitting there not even moving for paint checks. Everyone says this field was great but i think its pathetic. Also i can understand the safety issues when kids come to play but if you have to have a 20 feet rule where you can not run up on someone is kind of dumb. I mean i'm not going to run up on some lil kid but if they are older/adult then why not? This will be my only time there....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pro_wielder Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Velocity Paintball - Iowa City/West Liberty
Review: It was a waste of my money. Sure $7 is cheap for field fee but $20 for a bag and $80 for a box is ridiculuous. Yes $80, for a box of oval, cheap, and crappy paintballs. The fields were nice and all but they need to clean up their bunkers because everywhere you went you were standing, touching or laying in old paint. Games took forever. There were so many little kids, you didn't want to shoot them but they were shooting you so you had no choice. And the refs, what refs! They just sat there on the sideline and watched us play while we called each other out. And whats with the rotating fields crap, if you don't have enough refs or players on that field, don't run that particular field. And finally, part of the skill of playing paintball is the run up. But you can't because there's a 20ft rule. You're shooting someone and you don't want to stand there and count how many feet away you are. You just want to shoot them, right? And for safety reasons, they should let everyone know that there guns should be chrono'd. And finally, I would never go back there again, even if though they have a great woodsball field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

colossuswright Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: November 20th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Lookout Paintball in Des.Moines Iowa and Sprockets and they just don't hold a candle to Action Jacks.
Review: I have played off and on at Action Jacks Since I was around 16. I am proud to call it my home field. It has one of the best wood fields I have ever had the pleasure to play on.
The paint is reasonably priced at around 13-20 dollars a bag "depending on if you play rec-ball or speedball". Most of the crew there are nice and are willing to help the new players and even the older ones.
The Tourneys they have there are usually really big," they usually get around 20plus teams for a 3-man tourney".
I would recommend that if you lived in the Des.Moines area and played Paintball to try it out if you haven't before.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Devs Monday, November 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 5th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only Iowa field I've played at.
Review: When my team and I first arrived at their indoor to play in the 3 man tourney, we were a little skeptical. But that didn't last very long.
The Games started on time! This is so rare for local events.
The refs were simply amazing.
The whole tourney was run very smoothly. They had plenty of paint and plenty of air.

My only complaint is that, since they only had one loudspeaker set up on one end of the building, it was kind of hard to hear team announcments for games to be played.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JordanK Friday, June 24th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ICU
Review: This field is the best field out there. And no the paint is not 80-88 dollars a case. Its 45-50 bucks a case just like anyother fields. They have four fields. I've played on all of them and they are great field. The refs are awesome. The owners are probably the nicest people you will ever meet. I would recommend this field to anybody.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Yellowgirl Sunday, June 12th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I have been to this field 3 or 4 times now and it is steadly going down hill every time. OH were to start...
1. The last day that I played they actually had a player break his leg on the course.

2. We payed extra for the "big game" that was no bigger in people than any other day of play

3. There field paint is expensive. I see other reviews were people are griping about $50 a case of paint and this is $80 to $88 for a case

4. The refs at this place are horrible. The last game they were actually sitting together in lawn chairs on the side lines - yeah nice way to be up there checking people guys

5. Rental guns are not even cronogroghed. We brought 2 renters with us and when we checked the guns one was at 161 and the other was at 375. When approached one of the co-owners of the place laughed and said that they cut all the corners that they can to save money.

6. Players are not required to crono their guns at the start of their day, which makes sence when the feild players are running with over 280 psi.

7. Their field team is their refs and when they actually play .... well rules do not aply to them. They run psp raming chip which means they are shooting 15 balls a second on renters and kids. They don't even give you time to call "out" before shotting again. One particular time I was hit 5 times by a ref player, four of which were seconds after I called out. I mean I am not the only one, after the person was on field 8 people left from being bonus balled in less than 10 min. of him playing. And my renter friend (her first time) said that she would never play again if it was all like this.

8. When the above issue was brought up, the refs just laughed and said yeah his ramming chip is working and dismissed it.

In closing what was once a good field is now one that I will never go back to as the above issuses are too much to ignore.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

Nicky Sunday, May 8th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sprokets realy crap place to be.
Review: Action jacks is great! the owner is realy nice and fun to be with. there are 4 fields, well I should say 3 cause the other is a speed ball arena. The hill side is my fav. theres alot of cool jun to hide behind. The paint is cheap, the rentals are cheap (not that i have used one since i have my gun but he told us), and the store is cheap. I would have to say this is my home place =) . I moslty speed ball but i sometimes use the fields, defintley worth the drive if u live in urbandale
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media