paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Friendly Fire Paintball Field / Friendly Fire Paintball Field / Friendly Fire Paintball Field / Friendly Fire Paintball Field

Friendly Fire Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
96Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 108 Grove Street
Upton, Massachusetts 01568
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
DPL Tuesday, September 13th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All over the Northeast.
Review: To start with, my comments pertain only to woods ball since that is my preferred game.

This is a great field for a casual player. Prices are more than competitive especially if you are self-equipped. Games are very strighforward and the staff seems cooperative. They do stress safety though they allow people to pop off shots while entering the field which can be a little unsettling due to all the new players walking around.

However, if you are a serious player I would avoid this field. The pace between games is HORRIBLE. Way too much time between games and well over an hour for lunch. Because they had a private party last Saturday, play was confined to one field and both teams had about 30 players, half of whom were new to the sport. Lots of bunkering and paint spraying. I was taken out twice by friendly fire (ironic, no?) because teammates didn't take the time to identify forward friend from foe. There wasn't any room for tactical movement either because of the number of opponents or because of so many people thundering around. Made for lots of kills, but not much stealth.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
9 Comments - Add Comment

Smithy Jones Sunday, September 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Maynard Paintball Club - Ok
Review: This is a really good place to play at
The Woodsball field is very good, lots of Man-made obsticals, 6 Fort type bunkers, a village in the center of the field make for some pretty interesting fire fights and ambushes. In some parts there is a good amount of natural cover for those that like to sit and wait for any unsuspecting players, there is a little marsh in one prt of the field while a small stream run through the field near the middle.

As for their speedball field, Nothing really comes to mind

The senario games at Friendly Fire are pretty well organized and executed

one of the good things about this field is that they will work on your gun for free and will try and help you out the best they can
Last edited on Sunday, September 11th, 2005 at 5:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tiger22 Wednesday, August 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
private field
Review: This place is awesome everyone is so friendly and helpful. My friends kid brother was to young to play and one of the employees came over and let him use his automatic gun for free while we were playing speedball. The woodsball fiellds is almost to big everything gets really confusing but the speedball course is awesome. Its great for hanging with your friends.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tiger14 Sunday, August 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fox4, playboyz, esp, pnl, boston paintball, paintball heaven, randolf paintball.
Review: This place is great. There's a tech named Kevin who is the best and most friendly tec i have worked with. He took money out of his own pocket to get my tank to work, i thank him of that and want friendly fire to know that he is a good employee.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

naruto600 Sunday, July 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox4 Paintball - less family friendly
Randolph Paintball - indoors, not nearly as good field quality
Review: I thought this field was very good. The staff was very nice, and they really helped a lot. My little brother is JUST under the minimum age, and as a result unable to play. I had planned to play with a bunch of friends, and yet he wanted to come along. My mom had agreed to keep an eye on him, but needless to say he was a little bit bored. One of the staff members came over and let him shoot about 500 paintballs in the target and chrono area using a number of different types of guns, primarily a Tippmann 98 custom, as well as a full-auto model that I didn't get a chance to look at. I also really loved the speedball field. I think it was the best of all of the ones I have been to (which are unfortunately few in number). I didn't particularly like the woodsball field, i thought the games were too big, and as a result it was difficult to keep an eye on everyone, but the refs did an admirable job of keeping everyone in line. All in all, i would rate my experience as very enjoyable, and give Friendly fire paintball a 9.5 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

southpoler22 Saturday, June 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fox 4
Review: i think this field is ok. i say this due to the speed ball field being really nice but the woods ball is very messy. where you get ready for the game is also very messy. but the people their are really nice too. also the refs there seem to care more about themselfs getting hit and not the players when getting bunkered in WOODS BALL.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

Ingemi47 Monday, June 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Planet PB, P&L PB, East side PB, Boston (old)
Review: this is a very nice place to go ballin i'v been playing for 7 years woodsball and 4 years most recently all speedball, i have to say that the place is increadable, great food, great refs, good competition BEST PRICES and just a all around great place to play an hang out. there woodsball field is enourmus and there speedball field is clean always changing and always a great place for tournements and team preactices i really enjoy FF everytime I go because it's simpley the best for any player.

Peace, -INgemi
Team Rebellion
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spudz_x Saturday, June 11th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox 4
Playboyz - one of the greatest feilds in NE
Randolph (way long ago before i actually started)
Review: Ok this is a somewhat biased review but it could be because of the fact there was a 3 man tourney going on for speedball...it was good to watch. But thats not what im here to talk about

I arrived at what i thought was a resonably early time. 745am when i normally arrive at feilds and am the first one...boy was i wrong also probably because of the toruney but all i know is that my car was stuck in the mud for the whole day...and i like to keep my car as clean as physically possible so that kinda turned me off

Registration was easy and finding a table was easy too. this is where the trouble set in.

now the refs werent bad, but they werent incredible either. there were kids...little kids walking around with full hoppers and no plugs. honestly i didnt want to chance it so i pulled my own weight in enforcing plugs. Mind you. there were not a large amount of little kids doing this, but safety is something i keep for myself and i only want an unplugged gun pointed at me when i have my mask on if that

The woodsball feild was enormous...that was a plus i thoruoghly enjoyed it. however while the refs did what they could to fully explain each game theres no way they can control a large amount of small children and make them listen. and even though they couldnt do that and it wasnt their fault, that was a real turn off for me.
For Example:
the game was attack and defend. I was on the attack and the defend team couldnt leave the base within 10 feet. I slowly advanced up and proceded to take fire from the base. i ran back and turned towards the base again. suddenly piant comes whizzing by me on the left...freindly fire. i turned to say i was on their team but took a shot in the leg and a shot in the arm. i guess Friendly Fire lived up to its name there. Then when i started walking towards them (btw they were little kids again) with my gun up about 15 shots whizzed by me as i continued to yell im out im hit. i then told them i was on their team and they probably shouldve listend to the refs. and they started swearing at me...LITTLE KIDS!!!! again not the feilds fault but that just really pissed me off that no one was listening. the refs were even talking about how the entire feild was ADD.

The variety of games was wicked good tho. my personal favorite was the last one...i wish i could remember the name but both teams were huddled up in the village and with every whistle blow you had to move to a new bunker. this was a blast.

Before the last game. my gun was malfunctioning. and the guy at the tent took care of it for me free of charge. It was a real help.

Im sure if there wasnt a tourney going on it would be a lot better. but i did enjoy it a lot. the food was wicked good and the bathroom i used was clean and in the open...and i enjoyed the breeze on the hot day. so for now i give FF a 7.5/10 because of great food great tech help and great variety of games. the miunus comes mainly from the lack of discipline but i really cant make this a final review until i play there with no tourney Im sure after the next time i go it will go up and i will write another review
Last edited on Saturday, June 11th, 2005 at 2:41 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

wi119077 Saturday, June 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Randolf paintball-not as well equipt with parts, food, drinks, target practice, service etc.
Review: Freindly fire has great service ppl always willing to help-look at ur gun 4 free- will look at ur gun and offer suggestions and fix it. their is always someone who will help and they are well equipt with parts for ur gun. very safty consious and u always feel safe constantly aware of everyones safty and also help on field (paint check, tighten mask etc.) overall great service, well trained refs and greatly equiped - at least for Tippmans as far as i know

9/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattyp151 Monday, May 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox 4 - More woodsy, almost too much
Boston Paintball - expensive indoor field
PnL Paintball - possibly the best fields in Mass, however 100 bucks for a case is crazy
Review: This past weekend I went to Friendly Fire. Originally we were gonna go back to Fox 4, but we figure why not try somewhere we've never been.

We came on FF, and right away I liked the fact it wasn't over crowded. I don't know if it was the overcast skies, or the fact it was Mag Day at Fox 4 down the road, but there wasn't a million people on a side, which I enjoy.

The target range in which you chrono your gun was pretty cool. All those games in which I did something stupid, which seemed to be the last 4 games, I went in there to rip some frustration rounds off. They chrono your gun in 3 shots, and are pretty liberal. I was 277, 281, 277, and they didn't make me turn it down.

They had some very well balanced teams, however, all our more experienced players left before the last game and it felt like there were 3 adults and 20 kids on my team, needless to say we got rolled.

The games were fun, they have them well spread out all over the fields. They do a good job with their forts and main village, which create some fun shooting for everyone. There isn't a whole bunch of random branches in your way that can close off potential shooting lanes, which leads to more fun for everyone.

I went here also hoping the paint would be the same area code when it comes to price as Fox 4, however, I was mistaken. I don't know if they just got a bad batch of paint or what, but the crap they were selling was possibly the worst stuff I've ever used. I left with about 500 rounds of it left, and I plan on shooting it into the trees at work on lunch breaks. It didn't break well at all, I know for a fact one game I got hit 5 times and all 5 bounced, call me a wiper if ya want, but a ref checked me and I was fine. Also, the paint was 35 bucks for a 1000, when down the road they sell Midevils, my favorite paint, for 45 bucks for a case.

So, to close it up, enjoyed the fields, refs were great and very nice and helpful, lunch was awesome (great pizza), and I had an overall fun day. However, next time I know to buy paint elsewhere when I want to play there again.

Update:
Well, immediately after I wrote this review, I received an email discussin the issues I had at the field. They are definitely trying to be the best, and it shows
Last edited on Friday, June 3rd, 2005 at 1:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media