paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Virtual Assault Paintball Field / Virtual Assault Paintball Field / Virtual Assault Paintball Field / Virtual Assault Paintball Field

Virtual Assault Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
42Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 509-535-6620
Address: 4103 E. Mission Ave.
Spokane, Washington 99202
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
sculler315 Wednesday, October 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 5th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at Neverwood, which is pretty good woodsball for newbs, they have a pretty good bunker setup for king of the hill. Also, Tactical before they went out of business was pretty good. The guy that ran it (Dale, i think, was really cool) I don't know if he re-opened or moved...
Directions
to the Field:
Follow the smell, like the others have mentioned, they're about 4 blocks west of the Purina rendering plant on Trent by the community college.
Review: I’m sure if you won own your gear your experience will vary, but if I were new to the sport or taking other newbs, and are dependent on the VA employees and VA equipment, don’t expect much…

I gave them a 2, they'd have got a 1 if someone was hurt, but we did have a safe outing. They may have got a 3 if they would have washed the place down in the last year.

Our office scheduled a Friday afternoon (Oct 5, 2007, 2:30-5pm) outing with 14 of us (12 newbs and 2 of us that have some prior experience). After we pay our field and rental fees they start giving out rental guns that look like they haven’t been cleaned from the previous session, some still have paint in the hoppers and barrels from broken balls.

The guy running the place (who didn’t know we were even scheduled to show up) gives us the 2 cases of paint we bought dumps them into a large cardboard box, which already has a few greasy paintballs which they use for chrono-ing the guns. So we end up with 2000 balls, most covered with paint so when we shoot they at least curve and most end up breaking.

I showed up a little late (I ran home and picked up my Tippy) and people are already loading their PMI piranha rentals with the cruddy paint. So before I play I need some CO2 so I run up to the counter and ask the guy (this guy was older, heavy set) to fill my 14oz tank. He runs into the back room, and promptly returns saying my tank needs to be pressure tested?! I tell him its CO2 not Air, and they filled it when I was there last month, and he still refuses to fill it! I ask him where I get a CO2 tank tested and he says there’s a dive shop across town, and I try to explain to him that dive shops only use Air not CO2… I have no idea if they were out of C02 or he didn’t know how to fill a C02 tank because they don’t have a pressure gauge on them.

Before we start he gives us the safety lecture, mostly pertains to not shooting the tent roof outside, and he takes at least 3 phone calls during this time…

When we finally start to play, we do one round inside, which they basically turn us loose into a smelly warehouse with slick floors and sound the buzzer so we can start shooting each other. Most of the barriers are cable spools and broken pallets, one of which had a nail sticking out into a walkway. There is no ref, and a few of the guys slipped on the paint, but after spraying mostly broken paint at each other for 10 minutes we get done and decide to go outside.

After the first outside game, everyone’s markers were just filled with paint (barrels, hoppers, chambers) and of course I have the only squeegee, the employees don’t really help us at all after that. So I had to try to get everyone going again while the 2 workers were doing who knows what in the office.

There was another guy working, he started one outside match and then disappeared so the rest of the afternoon. We pretty much ref’d ourselves, which wasn’t too bad because we all worked together and tried not overshoot each other. But for the next two hours each team was missing 1-2 people as they ran up to exchange their rentals for guns that work. Oh yeah, watch out while playing on outdoor, only half the field has concrete under it, two guys cut their knee and elbow on the concrete edge pretty deep. This is also probably why the field is slanted downhill to the north.

A little more insight into the service, a coworker told me this morning that he took his PMI in that had a hopper full of broken paint and asked them to wash it out, and they gave him a replacement gun off the counter. The ‘tech’ (term used very loosely here) takes the hopper looks in it, then puts it back on the gun and places the gun back on the counter for the next person to come get it when their marker stops.

Bottom line: below average field, filthy rentals, and worst customer service I’ve ever seen. Read the rest of the reviews, this is the standard experience at the field, not the exception.

As for me this was not just one time, last month a few of us were there from work for a bachelor party (24+ people total) and the same things happened. We had pretty much the same experience, where we all arrived and upon paying were told the price was really $35, not the ~$30 including tax that the guy who was coordinating the event was quoted on the phone… so they got us for another $5 x 24 once they had us all there captive. My friend even ended up with a PMI that had a crushed barrel, and another guy didn’t have the ball detent in his. These guys are on the same level as used car salesmen...

A lot of this could be from terrible employee communication from quoting price and scheduling, but they should make the effort once people show up. I have no explanation about the rentals, they’re just terrible. If a guy had a low to mid level electro he could probably sweep the course full of newbies on a weekend…

Like others have said, this is the last time we're going there. A few guys at work have bought used guns, and we'll organize our own games from now on...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ion cwazy Sunday, November 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
my backyard but cannot compare because that is woodsball
Review: Ok va is a good priced feild and it is 100 percent freindly this guy let me borrow his air tank because i forgot mine so this guy who works there was just like here you go the sup air field is nice so if you complian about how dirty it's stop sprayin and prayin they must have sold 10,000 balls in the 5 hours we were there and only about 500 were indoor the sup air feild is great they do have one bunker that deflates a little but no big deal as of march 1 06 it wasnt a byop field which is a little letdown but it wasnt there idea their insurencee made themreasonable paint prices the smeel not even a big deal heck a smlled worse at the end of the day the indoor is a littl eslippery and maybe a little unclean but holy crap 50,000 to 75,000 paintball go throught the courses per week the sand inside is no big deal a little slippery but it soaks up the paint which is alot more slippery the incline ouside stop whining it does not affect the game in any way there was one superman but it was no big deal cept for off the break when he was shootin 24bps it is a ten because they are freindly great course setup and great prices it will get really pricey if you throw a party but sometimes at walmart the cheapest paint is more expensive then the paint at VA great great place help out and go for accuracy not bps on the indoor and sup air it will keep it cleaner
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

i love sking Thursday, October 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have not checked any of them out
Review: Ive played at VA ever since i got into piantball. i used to have a diablo wrath i upgraded to a icd fs-7 the pplace is in a sort of in a odd location. thier is no food near by so that kind of makes me mad.
the refs are strict and goggles and barrle condoms which is good.
the field its self is very small and not very well set up the bunkers are very nasty i dont thinkt that they have ever heared of washing them. the net is terrible ive ben hit in the side of the head by a piant ball well standing in the middle of the parking lot.
the satff is really nice though they are always ready to help and they are always trying to make everyone better by offering tips.
the area and the proshop is really dirty but i dont really mind they dont offera huge selection of gun limiting you to autocockers and ions.
overall the people and the place is nice but it could use alot of improving.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shark-Byte Monday, October 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
In the area, the new field at Fairchild AFB. This new field blows VA away, hands down.
Directions
to the Field:
Start driving, stick nose out the window, look for eerie stench, follow stench.
Review: I must say, this isnt the worst field I've been to, but pretty damn close. The field itself isnt too bad. Good 3-man speed ball type. But, it is on a slight angle of a hill so the higher up team has an automatic advantage. Some holes in the net, but you can deal with that. This place was an old meat butchery, and down the street is a dog food plant or something, so it really stinks.

So what makes my experience with this field so horrible is the service. Some of the employees dont know anything about being a gun tech, even though they say they are, as they replace orings on rental guns all day. Most of the time, they try to rip ya off one way or another. Do your homework before you buy something from these guys, they'll con ya into buying something you dont need.

For instance, this kid came in with an ion. His ball detents got blown out (happened with my bros gun). The "tech" said he needed a new barrel in order to fix the problem, even though he already had a stiffi. So the kid buys a CP barrel and plays a few games. Doesnt work, and comes back to the tech. So now the tech has the kid buy the detents and the gun works again. Problem solved, and the kid realizes that it was the detents that he needed, not the barrel. They would not let him return the barrel at full price because it was used, even though he bought it 30min ago. Then offered a $10 store credit.

What made me never want to go here again: Me and my bro went to VA, paid for air, field fee, and a case of paint. We were the only ones there so far, waiting for friends. We leave the paint on the counter, I go to the bathroom, bro gets his gear from the car, and when we come back, the paint is gone. Again, we're the only ones there. We didnt take, and we see a fresh case of paint sitting on the back counter with the top cut open. We ask for our paint back and he replied that we already took it. To sum up this story, we leave without playing, but paying. And we make it out mission to let everyone know how crappy the service is at this business.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ayyash Tuesday, August 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Safety: As mentioned before, i shall reiterate that the net surrounding the speedball feild is holey, and once during a tourney my freinds car was hit a couple of times with paint. Other then that the employees are strict about barrel covers off the feild, masks on the feild, which is reassuring.

Prices: The prices seem decent, though as i have not played anywhere else, i do not know how to compare one against the other.

Misc. The feild setup is good, though i wish they would bring back a true snake. The indoor field is inside what used to be a slaughterhouse; anyway the setup indoor is also good, with the different rooms and hallways (one is particularly good for camping). The part that is my favriote about the indoor feild is the back-left which is hardly ever lit, i once went 1-3 in that corner and won.
Also, for those that say it is filthy, ya it is so what, i say it adds character to the place, although it does have an odd smell.

Staff and Service: Absolutley wonderful, KC and the refs are more then happy to help you fix a gun or hopper if you are having trouble with it.They are freindly and personable. When i was considering purchasing a PMI EVO, they let me hold one to see the weight. I ended up buying one and it has faithfully served me through several tournements.

As also mentioned, there in no food but a cheap vending machine, this is an annoyance, but nothing more. All in all, it is a great place to go and hangout with freinds kick back and play a few rounds of paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Heyska Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: This is not so much a review of the field as it is a review of the pro shop. I went to this place while I was in town and wanted to stop by and check out what the pro shop had for sale. First of all this place is filthy. There was dirt everywhere and it was dimly lit. The pro shop looked like it had quite a selection. I say looked because that is all I could do. All of the paintball equipment was sitting behind the counter and you had to squint to see what they had for sale. I was interested in purchasing a decent amount from them (100+) in upgrades for my gun but I had to settle on just purchasing an CP ASA only. If I was able to actually check out the equipment I would have spent a lot more. I spent the 20 minutes I was there asking the guy if I could see a few different items and it looked as though my requests were severely annoying him. So yeah, this isn't particularly a review of the field but just dealing with the pro shop made me not want to even attempt to play at this field.

I give it a 3/10 because the pro shop looked like it had a nice selection.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

proMaster51 Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
not sure
Review: I was in spokane for a week and wanted to check out the paintball so the only place I found was virtual.Now im from georgia and we got some really nice feilds but this place brought something new. They have 3 feilds only 2 are in use right now.They had a speedball and an indoor course. The speed was just like any other but the indoor was something just CRAZY. Your in a wharehouse and everyone is within 10 of you and its loud!!!.ITs very fun, if you live there give it a try and i will probably go there next time im in spokane.Suggestion(bring your own equipment, rental gun sucks)

I have to give it a six b/c the place was kinda dirty and smelly.There was dirt and water every where. The players were also not that fun some took getting as a challenge to a fight or somethin and ther is only 1 ref working there so you cheat quite easily (not very fun when you shoot some one 10 times and they come back 4 min later. Somewhat pricy too.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

K.T. DAWG Thursday, May 4th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none compare to this field
Review: Ok first of all i hate the ppl that are going around saying that it sucks number one i moved from cali up here and down there there is about 40 paintball places from my houses in walking distance number 1 this place is the only speedball course around ( Right now) when i first started playing there it was a little dirtey i love the guys there when i was a newbie i came in with my ion this was 2 years ago allmost and it would not shoot turn on or anything so free og charge they helped me take it apart and find out what the probleam was and fixed it for me they have all so made there speed ball feild longer and they have a second place out side for you to play so they have 3 courses and they might be adding a new one a nother thing that i love there is they have a full stocked pro shop and if they do not have what you need then will order it for you there prices on paint is so cheap compared to other field paint and it is good we are not talking about this paint sucks so bad you break balls all the time this paint you rarely break a ball they now on the weekends ( when i go) they now have refs they places is clean they only thing is that they do not have food there that is the only probleam and most ppl are like that sucks no it does not stop bye Taco bell or some where and eat before you come well that is all i have to say other than the staff is real freindly and you know it is not like pro verse newbs and you know i have made a lot of freinds there we just go and have fun!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Blake414 Friday, January 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 17th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
this is the only speed ball field around
Review: I have to disagree with a lot of the reviews about the field they have all new employes and they clean everything up. the problem with the refs is clearly explained because they are usally talking with the newbs and get them started in the pro shop. The speedball field is great they have all new bunkers and you don't have to sprint 20 feet to a new bunker. And with these so called superman players they usally play agansit other superman players there just don't go out and kill all the newbs. i haven't played the indoor couse yet because i ahve more of a speed ball player rather that an a senerio or woodsball player. The pro shop is the only place to buy the good gear and they will order parts if u need them but the probly have it in stock. With the employes and field this place is a ten.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

d-mo745 Saturday, August 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Homemade fields- Its good but c'mon its not like i have a Sup Air pro field
This field is much better :)
Review: I played the July Jam tourney here July 31 and let me tell you this the field and the staff was great but not perfect for example some paintballs go through the net and one hit my friends mask that was sitting on the back of their pickup so they should do something about the net instead of where you can obviously see that they just got some twine and sewed the hole in the net together. But i've visited the place once before to buy some stuff and fill up my tanks and they cleaned the place up A LOT for the tourney. The store was well stocked but some stuff was overpriced( a Smart Parts Ion for $324 you can get that new off the internet with shipping included and it would be cheaper) and some stuff was cheaper than buying from the internet (PMI premium paint 54 dollars a case there 47 on Amazon). But overall a great playing experience and THE ONLY local field for me. Because im priviledged enough to live in whitman county down by pullman where there is ZERO paintball stores and fields besides wal-mart in moscow and whatever paintball supplies sporting good stores there have. The staff were friendly and helpful to me suggesting upgrades for my gun and letting me hold guns to get a feel for them and answering whatever questions I had. But overall if they cleaned up the place a bit like get rid of the standing water and try to do something about the dank smell in the indoor field then its a 10 for sure.
Last edited on Saturday, August 13th, 2005 at 11:56 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media