paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park

Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
75Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 408-288-6855
Address: 2542 Monterey Hwy.
San Jose, California 95111
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
outtiedriv8r Saturday, November 14th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 6th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sunol
T.A.G.
Review: For people that play here a while, its getting bored playing on the airball field on Wednesday and Friday nights.

People are getting sick and bored the crap out b/c that is the only one field they let us play on. I would like to see for the rec ball field open to everyone so that we would have a variety on those.

Everytime I go there, only airball is allowed to play :( I'm getting sick of it...You feel me?

Everything else from facilities-staff has been great but not letting people to play on the rec field is just dumb.

PS

Its only reserved for beginners...I say BS!! The lack of field variety is BAD
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

capaintballer Sunday, November 8th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 12th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bay area paintball,norcal paintball
Review: pros-
fair prices
overall good staff
short time inbetween games
good place for beginners
can bring your own paint
fun set-ups
pro shop
nice refs
let you fill your own tank so it goes faster
if you play advanced then you meet really nice peope
Cons-
some of the fields are dirt
hard to find at night
one hour lunch break

words of advice: if you have your own gun but your friend/group your playing with dosn't then you cannot play with the beginners with your own gun. they must play up or you have to rent a gun.
I liked this field the story above happened to me so i dont know what the higher level of play is. the beginner fields have home-made baracades.
Yes i would recomend this to a friend
I played on the advanced feild the refs usally let the game run its course and most people are fair but if you ask for a pait check then they will always do it
Last edited on Wednesday, December 23rd, 2009 at 11:06 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chikinini Monday, March 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sunol paintball - kinda rough field
Review: PROS:

Very good safety
Active refs
Beginner, intermediate, Experts helps out new players


CONS:

THE FIELD SMELLS REALLY BAD - Some of my friends almost throw up, I keep spitting
Their ATV makes the puddle and muddy ground worst.
Too picky with paint
ONE ref is SOOO BIASED -- Specially the fat dude favoring this one rude "uniformed" guy. Other refs are good and polite.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HavocAE Sunday, November 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sunol Paintball - Can't stand the fields, wont' go back
Bay Area Paintball - Small field and super, super slippery
Bear Creek Milpitas - Closed
Review: This is my favorite field in northern California. I went with my younger brother. We arrived around 10:30am and check-in was super fast and easy. We got a quick safety/intro talk from one of the refs and were good to go. There were about 10 people already playing when we got to the field so there was no waiting.

They play with a surrender rule even for self equipped "Intermediate" players which isn't my favorite but they are clear about it and it seems people understand the rule. You need line of sight to surrender someone which makes since and seems stupid to even mention until you play at Sunol and watch someone surrender someone through a 4 foot bunker with no chance of getting line of sight on the guy he just surrendered.

Prices were pretty standard, 20$ for all day entrance, 10$ for all day air and paint was 50$-65$ a case, they had 3 different types of paint. They break for lunch at noon and stop games for an hour. They were selling pizza for $1 a slice.

The greatest thing about this field was the field. We played all day on the "new" field. I think someone referred to it as the JT field. Great size for anything from 4v4 to 9v9. The bunkers were clean and the refs would clean them between games. The turf was assume, I don't have cleats yet (getting some soon) but it wasn't to slippery, it was great for sliding. By far the best field I've played on anywhere.

The other players were also great. I had a bad o-ring on my tank and it leaked when I first attached it to my marker, made lots of noise when half the tank leaked out in 5 seconds. As I was replacing the o-ring another player came up and asked if I needed help fixing the leak. Just a nice guy trying to help out. This seemed typical for the players here and not the exception.

So this is the best place for paintball in the bay area. There are a few fields I haven't played at yet, but they are over an hour drive from where I live and Santa Clara Paintball was great so I'm planning to go back next time I go paintballing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Geoff[B.B.] Saturday, July 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bear Creek Milpitas [WAY better]
Directions
to the Field:
Google maps dawg.
Review: Ok, first off I'd like to talk about their fields. Dry rocky dirt, not so swell for sliding, I sprained my ankle because I stepped on a fat rock that they just left laying there in the snake. They recently put in turf, at first I was like 'Woah awsome'. I say that they didn't even bother to remove the rocks or flatten the ground before putting in the turf. But before they had turf me and my friends were playing in their hyperball field and they don't even bother to fix up their fields if it's soaked in paint so my friend went running to the 50, slipped, fell, and ate it. But if you're a back player than you should be safe from these hazards.

Now onto the refs. Most of the refs make absolutely terrible calls. I was playing and lighting people up when the ref calls me out and he told me where I was hit, I looked there and showed him and there was no paint yet he still makes me go to the deadbox. I still laugh about this, I was in a gunfight with a guy on the 50 rollie and I had tunnel visioned him. Out of no where a ref goes running by while I'm shooting a rope and I put about 5 in his back and he spin around like a ballerina about 3 times and boy was he mad. I had that ref for the rest of the day and he kept calling me out even though I wasn't hit or whiping or breaking the rules. Another story, about 3 guys left on my side and one last guy left on the opposing side and he was in the back left stand up. Everyone was putting suppresive fire down on him and no one took him out or decided to run up and surrender him. So I ran up to him and shouted surrender and he was the last guy so I'm like, yeah yeah! And the guy that I surrendered decides to light me up when I'm not facing him and I was walking away, I went up to his face and said 'Whats your f-ing problem?!' get this, the ref calls me off the field for 2 games and the game goes on. But I do have to say there are 2 refs at that field that are pretty cool.

At the 'pro-shop' and other details...
Theres this lady at the register who always has an attitude. They charge $10 for a swab, $1 for an o-ring, and $60 for a case of paint. Gatorade is expensive at the price of $2.50 a bottle. I recenlty read in a review that someone said that the SCP field owner is nice and is always helping people, man, I think you got SCP confused with BCMP because the whole year I've played there (approx. 15 times) I have never seen the field owner. At the chrono they don't have any useful tools except for hex keys so I'd recommend bringing your own tools.

All in all if you come prepared you'll have a good time. Don't get the refs angry, and always follow the safety rules.

[EDIT]
Oh and also, they don't event bother to fix their rental Ions that are totally thrashed and leaking. For a field who gets this many people, able to hold XPSL events, and have people buy their items at their prices, they should be able to fix their Ions.
Last edited on Tuesday, July 24th, 2007 at 11:26 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

AngelFragoza Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bear Crek, Milpitas

Very expensive, have to use there air tank,( no prob for pros), use there paint only, highly overpriced in everything
Review: This place is hella nice,

1. The bunkers and nice and dont inflate easily so when a guy wastes 200paintballs on the bunker it wont inflate

2. The peple are really really nice, the manager really nice and gelps out a lot.

3. the paintballs are cheap and are good ok i guess, you dont have to use their paint

4. Co2 or HP, compressed air compatible there and rental air too.

5. cheaper than other pb grounds near

6. AWESOME

7. Eat. Sleep. Drive. Have fun
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

articwolf Tuesday, November 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mt. Diablo scenario field
Directions
to the Field:
The field is located off of Monterey Highway past Story road toward Morgan Hill. The entrance is on the left hand side so if you are going toward Morgan Hill you will have to do a u-turn at the first light. You can't miss it because you'll see the fields and the parking area.
Review: I have played this field since I started playing, (with the exception of the one time I went to Mt. Diablo). The pros to playing this field:
-They do not allow any paints with a primer so your clothes/game
clothes will not get ruined by staining.
-The refs are well trained and give specific rules and will watch
players closely as to keep people from cheating or getting
injured.
-You can show up in street clothes, camos, or paintball uniforms
and everyone is the same. If you have your own gear you play
intermediate, no matter what, but whether you are a noob or
a seasoned vet it's still fun for you.
-The staff is very friendly and helpful and can help you with any
problem you may have.
Now on to the cons:
-The field is dirt only and is constently damp,(either with wet paint
or rain in the winter).
-You will definetly need a change of clothes and shoes, (unless
you like the inside of your car to look like a bad finger painting
from a 3 year old). lol
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Excal Sunday, October 1st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played on milpitas which is also good but I think santa clara fairgrounds is better.
Review: Pluses [+] :
*Allows own paint except for zap and a few more uncommon paintballs.
*Many fields to choose from air bunkers or castles.
*If you have your own gun they mix you with the amateurs[can be good to get new people less afraid]
*Has many things to help out on the tables [ex. goggle cleaner, tools, etc].
*Many others I can't think of.

Minuses [-]:
*Again they mix good people with newer people so it can also be bad if they are really bad.
*Some things are expensive, but you gotta get use to it, this is paintball were talkin about.
*Refs don't call the ten foot rule much but they stress it in the lechure.
*A few more I can't think of.


A bogus story:
Yesterday, I went to the fairgrounds and it was cool... until the last game. What happened was that our team was pretty much even in territory with the other people, my friend gong got out 1st, then a back player, then slowly just me and my other friend were the last too. he ran out of balls so I ran to his bunker to give him them... I made it, but we were in the same bunker. minutes later we still haven't gotten anyone out, but i saw someone come to bunker us so i got up and shot him in the chest. He called the ten foot rule and shot my friend but not me so i was the one who was supposed to get out and he get out for my friend. I didn't get shot still but the ref yelled game over for the last game of the day... that was bull
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Monster Kookie Monday, September 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None. I've been planning to go to Bear Creek in Milpitas (which I hear is similar), but so far, have just stuck here.
Directions
to the Field:
At the Santa Clara Fairgrounds. If you stay on Monterey Road towards the fairgrounds, you will eventually hit it. You cant miss it, it has a big banner outside that says "PAINTBALL". Other than that, use GPS, or yahoo.
Review: I have been going to SCP since I started paintballing. Although it may not be the best (i have no point of comparisons), I still love going here.

Pros
-Do not allow staining paint, so you can keep your jerseys/shirts clean and stain free
-Special Fields that seperate experienced players from the beginners.
-Big fields, many fields, and a variety of fields. Each one has its strong and weak points that keeps your strategy sharp.
-BYOP! No need to buy theirs, bring your own (as long as it isnt one of the forbidden paint) and fire away.
-Continuous cycle of games. One game ends, and the next begins just like that. (of course you have to switch sides first, but thats practically the only delay)
-Refs do their jobs. They check paint, they call out people who are tagged, MAKE SURE THERE IS NO FOUL LANGUAGE, and they are very nice to beginners. (Gave me my own orientation first time I went there, and helped me fill tank when I had no idea how to operate the fill system. and they do the C02 for you)
-Night games which are awesome.
-Admission is at reasonable prices.
-Refs who help with chrono usually try to give you the max of 275.
-Players are nice (most of the time). One let me use his ion when he was out of paint, so that was cool.
-Nice cold gatorade right there when you need it.
-Hours of operation are reasonable (usually 3 hour intervals)
-BIG ON SAFETY. They will stop you dead in your tracks if you are walking around without a barrel condom, or barrel plug. (they usually check you before you leave the field, in case you forget)
-Spray bottles and towels there for your convinience.
-You can ask for a one on with someone, and the ref will usually give you the chance.
-Time Flies here
-Beginners get Tippmann 98 custom's (standard rental marker) and have a lower fps(not drastic, just lower) so they dont freak out too much about getting hit.
-Beginners get to go onto intermediate field if they want to (not vice versa: intermediate can't go into beginners)
-As said before ,You never feel unsafe here (seriously, i have to say it twice because they are so big on it)
-Many fields, different bunker layouts
-Castle Field which is the most baller (pun intended) field for CTF. CHARGE!
-I've never actually tried the food there, but they one time gave out pizza for free, so hopefully they do that again when you are there.
Cons
-Certain paint are forbidden (usually staining paint, but its usually not a problem). There paint is expensive
-No grass. It's a dirt field. If you like to slide, you will either 1)Rip your pants, or 2) Have very dirty pants at the end of the day.
-Wait time in between the morning and afternoon sessions (could be bad if you are crazy like me and dont like to wait). Sometimes 3 hours isnt good enough.
-One lady (im not sure if she is still there) at the check in counter has a really bad attitude. I never liked her. There is a new girl there who seems nice, but the other one was just rude.
-In the winter, the field sorta stinks a bit (but its not that much of a problem. I mean its dirt, of course its gonna stink). And the mud is rather difficult to play in. In the SUMMER it just gets brutally HOT. First time i played, I slid, ripped my pants (i was a noob, wearing a shirt and jeans), and scratched up my knee pretty bad (little bit of blood). And when I knelt down, that ground was HOT (owie). So the field is usually at one of the two extremes.
-There are in fact a few mean players, but hey, you can't stop em from coming.
-If you are new, and you have your own gear, then BE WARNED, whether you are new or not, if you have your own gun, you play with the intermediate players. No exceptions.(i learned that the hard way)
-Gatorade is expensive.
-Do not get to browse the proshop. You ask them if they have something ,and they will tell you what they got. Not much of a variety either (compared to bear creeks where you get to look upclose and browse around).
-Every once in a while, I'll see people with jerseys on one team, and people with regular clothing on another. (Leet vs. noob?) sorta unfair to some people?

I love this field. I love playing there, I love playing with the people there (except that one rude lady), and I plan to stay there and claim it as my home field. The people are nice, they will help you if you need, and beginners dont have to worry. Just jump in and you will feel right at home. This is the best [dirt] field EVER.
I give it an 8 out of 10. Why not 10 out of 10? well look at the cons. Not enough to bring it down to a 5, but the place is a hair away from perfect.



***(Following is personal stuff, so if you want to read, go right ahead)***
Alright, now for the good stuff. When I first went there, I immediately got the papers signed and I took my first orientation. It was standard stuff, like you can only go 275 fps, no shooting within 10 feet (must call a surrender), if your mask falls off then duck and call "blind man", et cetera et cetera. The first time I went, I was sort of intimidated. I was a new guy sitting with my Trilogy Sport as I looked to the other players who had souped up ions, tippmans, and other upgraded guns. I watched from the sidelines for about half an hour, because I didn't know if I should just jump in there or stay out. There were these other guys near me taking a break and invited me to go in. So here was my chance. I went in, and I went to my side of the field. These guys there had their souped up markers and the first thing they said to me was "alright man. lets kick some @$$." So that got me pumped right away, and they treated me like any other player. Eventually I became known as the baby of the fields (or noob). There are refs there who just seem to know who I am and keep an eye out for me. They give me advice like some simple upgrades that they suggest like a dust cap or new barrel, and one also explained the air system to me as it took me about 5 minutes of standing there trying to attatch the hose to my tank (I had no idea I was suppose to pull the tip first before attatching, so I looked really stupid trying to push the hose into the tank). So going here is just like joining a big happy family. Ever since I went there, people have shared paint, given me some free stuff (like pods and such), and showed me a good time.

SCP RULZ
Last edited on Friday, September 22nd, 2006 at 9:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bigbonanza33 Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bay Area Paintball and Homewood Mountain Resort
Directions
to the Field:
Um.... if ur guna use mapquest its sorta off cuz u gotta get to like section D and u have to go up old tully road to get to section D
Review: Pros:
-Very quick in the morning, no line to pay refs were on top of speech
-Games: went by quickly, refs did a good job of referring the game and calling people otu
- great hours
-cheap, good prices compared to HMR, and cheaper than BA
-had food there for lunch
-outdoor, it was nice to try something new
-Pro shop right there
-no waiting in line for refil in Compressed Air
-FIELDS ARE BIG, in BA it is small and that is my primary field so wen i went there i had to adjust to the width

Cons:
-In summer be careful it gets extremely hot and the ground starts to be hot, bring plenty of water and try not to touch the ground
-Refs: put all good players on one team and all others on the other team, a variation would be good every once in a while, but i like how they do that but they could switch it up.
-prices for drinks are high, $2 for a gatorade?

In conclusion i give this place a 10, its a great place and i will definitely be going back
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media