paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park

Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
75Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 408-288-6855
Address: 2542 Monterey Hwy.
San Jose, California 95111
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
tricksta490 Friday, January 21st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: This is such a cool field.....My favorite

PRos: great field setup.hyperball airball and 2 others that change....alot of cool helpfull players there.....they do do a good job at reinforcing chronos and just try to leave the field w/ out ur barrel plug/bag and ur got ur butt yelled at...chrono every 1 and a half or so... good rates...

Cons: the refs dont watch the games...its really kind of weird how careless they are about the game at hand...they just care if u have ur plug on.....the whole places smells like cow and pig crap...on the fairgrounds so probably an animal pen or sumthing...bathrooms a long long walk away...no water fountain.. so if u want a bottle of water ur ending up spendin 2 bucks....no free compressed air..
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

t33kyboy Thursday, November 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sunol
Review: The good:
- Safety
- Good for all types of experience levels
- Great refs
- 4 different fields, all really good. But the Advance group is usually always on the air ball field making everyone else play on the hyper ball (5 man fields)
- BYOP

The bad:
- TOO MANY PEOPLE. There are sometimes 20v20 on a 5man field.
- Paint prices are expensive, as any other field.
- Flash fills. They overfilled me 3k tank to 4500 in 6 seconds. My burst disk blew.
- NO ZAPS. I don't use zaps but i often see families come with cases of zaps... but turned away and have to go home.
- Money.. i think they're really greedy. Money is their main priority, not providing a fun time for paint ballers

If i had a option, i would go to another field. But this is the only field in the area. Its a great field and all but i would personally go somewhere else like TAG or Extreme.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

On3sh0t Saturday, October 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sunol - Field conditions arent as good i think and they dont have nets separating each field at sunol
Review: -Nice, friendly refs that will start becoming friends with you if you are a fair player and go there every now and then.

-4 Fields total all separated by high netting, unlike Sunol Paintball where they just have all the fields next to each other and u start getting shot by other fields.

-4 Fields: 2 airball fields, 2 hyperball. There is always 2 airball fields and then 2 hyperball fields but they will change the positioning every month. At one point one of the airball fields was an X-Ball which was nice. The 2 hyperball fields will be changed occasionally but not as much as the airball fields.

-About 10 tables usually with a canopy overhead so you have a shaded preparation area. At sunol you need to have a car there or else you dont have anywhere to really keep your stuff.

-Got to know some of the owners and they are really nice and they gave my friend a box of coupons to their Paintball field that will work on discounts on about 10 other paintball places all over California. Now everytime I go, I can save myself about 10-15 dollars which is alright.

-Refs that work at the chrono will make sure you get up to the maximum speed allowed for your group (and make it lower if you are too high).

-No zap, spank, and whatever other paints that stain so that u can keep using ur jersey without having to go home pissed at the dickwad that stained ur jersey. You can bring any other type of paint though.

-Orientation required for EVERYONE. So no one goes out there and ruins a good day of paintball. 2 Main orientation sessions, one for the morning session and one for the afternoon session.

-3 Groups: Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced. Advanced is the only group without a bunkering rule, which means tournament style play. All groups rotate through all 4 fields after about 30 minutes to an hour of play on a field so no matter how long you are there, you will usually get to play on all of the fields.

-Beginner Group: Rentals only (Tippman 98's i think not sure if its Model 98 or Custom) with field paint only. Bunkering rule which is where you are not allowed to shoot someone within 15 feet. This is nice for beginners so they can get the feel of paintball without getting hurt. (Even though a welt is hardly called getting hurt) Maximum speed is set to 225 FPS

-Intermediate Group: Average guns (will make u go advanced if you have a nice gun). My friend tried to go intermediate for fun with his Nasty-X shocker with an eye and they wouldnt let him. Half of this group are people that bought a gun but are still beginners, so there is still a 15-feet rule. You can use ur own paint (except those listed earlier). Maximum speed is around 250-260 FPS but sometimes the refs dont really mind and will let u shoot around 270 as long as you dont go over.

-Advanced Group: Any gun you want, could go in with some brass eagle $30 gun if you wanted to. Get to play with people that know what's going on and lots of communication going on. Refs get into the game just as much as you do and will give u tips if they see you are getting out a lot. Maximum 275 FPS (maximum field speed) and you can use your own paint (except those listed earlier).

-Sometimes if the refs are working in the afternoon, they will come in the morning and play the morning section so its a nice time to hang out with them (and watch the refs shoot each other too).

-They do on-field chrono checks about 2 times a session. (which took about 15-20 minits last time i went). They also have to refill air into the airball fields about 3 times a day and that takes another 5-10 minits every time.

-Prices arent too bad. Check the site and it should have prices. Paint costs went up tho, it's now $55 for GAP paint and $65 for some other paint. It used to be just GAP paint only for $60. I dont think field paint is all that good, about 1/4 of the balls have minor dents in them. I prefer WorrPaint, for a price of $43.95 on www.paintballgear.com . Dont get WorrPaint if you have a large barrel bore, because they tend to be smaller than the average .689, its about .685.

Overall, go to this field if your into tourney style fields. Dont go if you only like woodsball (even though i tink woodsball players would enjoy this too). The staff is great and really nice and cool to be around. Just make sure you bring your own paint because I think there are about 50 other types of paint out there that is cheaper and better than the field paint. Go to this field if your around the East Bay and South Bay. I guess you could go if your around San Francisco but it might be kind of a long drive.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zguy95135 Saturday, October 9th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Unofficial Local Field
Review: Ive been paintballing for a little over a month, I usually go to the local place which is good for woodsball.

The Good:
-good admission ($10-12)
-C02 fill up is reasonable ($5)
-Refs concerned with safety
-very good air bunker field, the other two are ok
-rental guns are in good working condition
-night games
-gun chronos
-allows walk in paint

The Bad:
-cheating: There were at least 3 people running full auto
-other players like to shoot you when your out already. I got shot 4-5 times (each game) when I was going back to the dead man's zone, with my barrel plug in and gun in the air (it would help if the refs called that you were out)
-field paint is kinda expensive
-the fields are dirt and covered in little rocks, so no diving or sliding
-the fields have more bunkers on one side then the other
-sometimes the games are crowded so you can get stuck with up to 3 people per bunker

If you like speedball then this is the place to go if you live in San Jose.
Last edited on Saturday, October 9th, 2004 at 12:30 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

djlc79 Sunday, August 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sunol - Fields not as great
Vacaville - Better
Review: - The field itself is pretty good and
- The refs, for the most part, are good people.
- Friendly player-base
- Intermediate games get a little too crowded for the field sizes
- On-field chrono breaks up the flow of the games

The area is quite dusty, and it's pretty hard to get any shade over there. I didn't like the idea of an on-field chrono. It just breaks up the flow of everything. They need to have a central staging area with a central chrono area that players are REQUIRED to hit up BEFORE they get on the field.
Like I said, most of the refs are cool, helpful, and easy to talk to. I did have a problem with one jerk ref though. Maybe his girlfriend broke up with him, or he lost his dog died, or something, but he was just a total jerk and ruined my experience on that field. So if you see that ref with the 1,000 earrings, give him a hug. He needs it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

fi3ry4ss5t1k Thursday, August 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sunol- santa clara is better(my opinion)
operation paintball- nice, a little small but very nice!
Review: Ok santa clara is a good paintball field. unlike sunol, where they give you a gun and just play with people with autocockers even if you ahve a tipmann 98, santa clara as "advanced" "intermediate" "beginner" so thats a plus. also, its kinda non stop play. santa clara has a lot of people and refs, so theyll play 6 rounds on this field, and move play 6 on this. etc. non stop... you can stop whenever you want., but its not like sunol,where there like...ok! 20 min braek and your just like..what? i just came in though!
so that it also a plus..

santa clara is a little dusty though. its just dry dirt with paint on the ground, so its a little dirty..operation is very clean...so maybe there.. and sunol is a little muddy/grassy

also, borrowing things cost money... and air tank fills are a little high. compressed air is 5 per fill.....fand 12 for all day for ex.. at operation, 6 for all day...

also, if you want them to fix your gun or stuff,, it costs money...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TwitchyTrigger Wednesday, May 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Jungle
Sherwood
Operation Paintball
Review: First things first.

Safety is very well stressed at this field, regardless of your experience, you will hear the orientation.

Players are divided by playing skill, very nice for beginners. Anyone playing beginner has their velocity set to 220fps, a much more comfortable speed to be smacked by a gelatin capsule.

The fields are very well set up, there are two air ball fields, one of which is of excellent quality.

The rental equipment is kept in suprisingly good operating condition, which is quite a rarity.

Staining paints are not allowed. Of course, one would tend to have a little more common sense than to wear their new GAP collar t-shirt to paintball, but it's still something you DON'T have to worry about.

The refs are very friendly and have a sense of humor. They are strict with safety but are all about having fun. Staff is very friendly aswell.

I feel this field is weak in a few areas that I hope are taken into consideration.

Paint prices are expensive. I know the field needs to make money, but if they do not enforce a FPO rule (field paint only), then they should try and bring as much business as possible by selling the paint as cheap as possible.

Single air fills should be a little cheaper since scubas are not allowed. $5 for a single air fill is pushing it, $3 would be a more reasonable price.

The local tournament players have a bit of additude problems. A couple swear at players and deliberately shoot players that are out, bunker people in games where bunkering is not allowed, and keep playing when they are shot.

The advanced teams are rarely balanced. The local tournament players always are on the same team and since they play together often, they have a very big advantage. It makes me and many other players that are required to play advanced a little hesistant to play. I go to play recball, not to win a tournament, and the side that has the local tournament players on it practically always wins. It's not encouraging to play when you already feel that you're going to lose.

By far the best field I have played at, but there is still room for improvement. Overall, it is my personal field of choice spite the fact that it is an 80 minute drive.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

711wargod Friday, May 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bear creek, tag, sunol, hayward, modesto, waterford, jungle, 2 places in slo, las vegas, this place
Review: very good field close to home where i live....happy that theres a place finally back in san jo....great cuz its strictly air ball/hyper which is good if your in the tourny scene....attracts a lot of hardcore players which is even better cuz you become better....a lot people would post they hate this place cuz they will get rocked by the tourny players....however the field does divide the skill levels up which most of the time ends up being an intermediate group and advanced group....sometimes there are sandbaggers that shouldnt play in the intermediate group but it depends on the situation and usually there is never a problem....most of the time people will just gang up on that one guy and it gets ugly.......also sometimes the local teams will step in and play advance and usually are never separated due to too much a$$ kissing with the refs etc...but its never a problem...just makes it that much more glorifying to win a game against them...."cough" epic "cough' rodents

heres the good things in a nut shell:
1.)extremely challenging for those who want to get better
2.)20 to 22 bucks to play all day....for a lot games which are nonstop...u will miss a few even
3.)any colored paint is allowed except for zap paints due to staining of their bunkers
4.)open on fridays nights with lights and only 10 bucks to play at this time....lot of fun
5.)saturdays and sundays are starting to be open into the night as well...not sure about that yet....but regardless people get there moneys worth out of all the games they can play
things for them to improve:
1.)more chrono checking...it could be better....bearcreek is still the best at this cuz they are strict as f*** very cool guys over there none the less
2.) push the advance games more faster...(which is why some advance players drop down secretely into the intermediate games for a game or two cuz of the slow a$$ advance players....i know i have done it)
3. stay consistent with the reffing...sometimes its good and sometimes there are days that they are just out right lazy and make horrible calls

overall good field cuz its nearby and the competition is guaranteed to be hardcore which makes up for the improvements
Last edited on Friday, May 7th, 2004 at 2:14 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

toyotaboy32 Monday, April 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
some place in fort ord
Review: first of all i'd like to note that their web site says that they open at 8am and as of now they are opening at 9am so hope fully they will get on the ball by summer or change their web site.


pros
-the head ref, who gives the orientation, is very friendly. i have never had any problems with him in the four times that i've played there
-four fields, sup air ball , air ball , hyper ball ,and epic field.....they are supposed to change every month or so but i have only seen a different configuration once....but i have no real complaints about that except that the epic field gets muddy easily and isnt that great also that the air ball field(32* field) could use a couple more bunkers.
-co2 is pretty cheap $10 all day, or $4 a fill
-saftey is obviously a priority there(which is good to know)
-field fees are reasonable $12 a session(3 hours), $20 for two and $25 for three sessions
-chrono enforcement
-staging area is nice now...they have a huge canopy and about eleven tables(i think) to stage....which reminds me...they also fixed the hyperball's deadmen boxes
- three levels of play(beginner, intermediate and advanced)
cons
-some of the refs are not very nice in the sense that while playing a game with us he accused my friend of wiping which i know he didnt because people watching said that my friend did not wipe and actually had hit the ref that was playing with us first!
-fiels will tear you up if you play front....not kidding...last time i went home and my knees we killing me.
-hpa is pretty expensive $2 per 100psi or $12 for all day hpa
- im still amazed at the ammount of people that cheat there... i understand that the refs cant catch it all but i have never seen one person get busted and i have seen a lot of people cheat there(mostly wiping).......one guy had a huge puffy jacket which would bounce balls from about 10 feet away ( he actually gave me a demo) i dont know if that would be cheating but it sucked to have him on the other team.
- like i said the epic isnt that great and the 32* field could use a few more bunkers
-most of the time the intermediate gets to about 17 on 17 in the afternoon session and it takes forever for them to split it up to 2 intermediate fields
-paint isnt cheap there $7 for 100...and i think its $60 a case(they sell gap)....bring your own just make sure its not canadian!( i guess it stains)...i play in old clothes anyways it doesnt matter!!
-renting stuff isnt cheap (prices im not sure of but i know its not cheap because my friend rented an elbow once and it cost $5)


overall its a pretty good place to play, i found that if you put a little effort into being nice to the refs that they are fairly friendly to you...most of the cons are just a few quirks that need to be worked out... however i would like to see maybe a field membership or something to that effect also them keeping your waivers on file or something....make sure to play the hyperball field and the sup airball field they are fun

i also forgot to mention that there is no food there....bring your own or just hope that when they do bring pizza that you can get a slice because there is like 50 million people and 2 slices of pizza (slightly stretched the truth but you get the point)
Last edited on Wednesday, April 7th, 2004 at 1:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

pcgmrsprts Monday, March 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle paintball (7/10)
Review: Good:This is a great and friendly field. Safety is enforced strictly and most people help you out. The prices arent bad ($20 for 8 hours, $4 a co2 fill) They have field rotations every hours or 2 so you get to get on all the fields (GAP field is best) Refs check paint most of the time and keep the groups small enough so no overcrowding.

Bad: NO SHADE!! I got sunburned on the back of the neck, not too bad tho. Refs didnt chrono enough like last time, some people probably shot a little hot. There is no water fountain so you have to buy powerade or soda at a whopping $2.... Pizza is 1 dollar a slice tho. The people working the counter kinda pissed me off. I bring in a waiver, not the origonal but a copied one. They couldnt accept it and i had to write another one. My stainless hose sprung a leak (lucky me) and I tried too see if locktite might work, I talked to the ref and he said its not safe and to use a different gun and they cant fix it cause they screwed up too many other peoples guns so they cant fix anything. I had to rent a pos tippman from them, another bad thing i had to use thier crappy GAP paint, good thing my friend bought a case so i used a lot of that. It wasnt that bad of a gun, but it wouldnt shoot very far (about 250 fps), the hopper was coming loose, it was heavy, parts were loose, what else should I expect from a rental.

Great besides the people shooting me more than necissary(sp), shot in the back by a team mate from 3 inches away, being shot in the thumb with 1/2 finger gloves....TWICE and having to rent a tippman, it was fun. 9/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media