paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park / Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park

Santa Clara Paintball / Fairgrounds Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
75Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 408-288-6855
Address: 2542 Monterey Hwy.
San Jose, California 95111
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
repins Thursday, March 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
what ever is around, I've played there (venture games[9/10], bear creek[4/10], sunol[7/10], operation paintball[7/10], paintball sams[7/10], jungle[1/10], and a few others out of the area)
Review: Ok I really don't like having to repost this review. My previous review of this field was not only accurate but 100% the truth and was not in violation of any of the rules listed above. I would love to know why my review was removed, but I'm sure that's in the past. Oh and if someone from the field reported my post as inappropriate, you need to realize that your field does have issues that I and many others I've spoken with have SERIOUS issues with (hence the reason we do not play there anymore at least not yet...we'll check it out again at some point). Here's what I wrote (if you have any disagreements with my comments on the condition of the field or how it's run, then by all means post a comment contradicting it; if you're the field owner or employee post a comment with contact information and I'll get back you).

The field size is definitely an issue given the number of people that show up to play on this field. I don't like having to take cover behind one of only a few barricades with about 4 or more other people because there are 20 people on one side. However, the size is not my main concern. If you want less people go in the morning hours....much less crowded.

I highly suggest getting knee pads if you value any of the skin on your knees. it's hard as a rock out there when I've played and even if it's soft it's usually just muddy which means you won't be able to stand anyway or stop when running. Cleats would definitely help when it's wet, although cleats are always useful.

Overall playing I kinda like the field. On pure field playability (is that a word?) I'd give it a 7 (would be higher, but I'm so sore from the hard ground that it really gets to me. It'd be really help if they'd try to find a way to soften it somehow...don't ask me how...I haven't a clue how.

However, here's what I take issue with and why I give it such a low rating. The staff and majority of the players there are horrible. Every time I've played there I've had at least issues with one of the refs on the field. Most have NO idea what they are doing and for the most part are just kids. In my original post I even offered to backup one of my claims with a picture if anyone wants it. Some of the refs just screw around and don't do their job (which is supposed to be reffing the games). One ref in particular was checking out someone's gun (as in playing around with it and shooting it) after a game was over. What I didn't realize was that he was pointing it right in front of the exit from the field and pulled the trigger right as I walked by. I had a good welt from the bare skin hit to my hand. Surprisingly, even after the guy next to him said, "dude, you just shot that guy", he still didn't even say sorry. I should have just shot him back.

My second issue with the refs is that they don't pay attention to what's going on for the most part. I have shot people right in front of refs and had the ref 1 not see it, and two ignore me when I'm yelling to the ref who's less than 10 feet from me to do a paint check on someone who's got a big orange splat right on their clear hopper. I'm wondering if they're even old enough to legally work there (isn't the minimum age for a work permit still 16 or did it change?). I have no knowledge if they are able to legally work there or not, it's simply a question that I haven't bothered to ask them yet, but believe me I will and will post an update here if my post is not inappropriately deleted again.

My second complaint about the field is the number of cheating players. I can't tell you how many times I've shot people and had them wipe right in front of me or even in front of a ref. Remember the player I mentioned shooting in front of ref...he was wearing black and I had orange paint. his leg had an orange splat on it and despite the fact that he was about 5-10 feet from the ref when I finally got the ref to do a paint check (which took about 5 yells to get him to do it) the paint was without surprise gone from his leg. Remember the clear hopper I mentioned, I don't like getting shot by someone who's got a hit from me like that and I'm called out despite the obvious hit on his hopper. There's a reason those of us with fast cycle rates don't stop shooting...and that's why. little tougher to not call yourself out when I hit you 5 or more times. Eventually you get tired of it hurting.

The other complaint about the cheating players is that nearly everyone on this field is a kid. Not that I have anything against kids playing, just that everyone needs to play by the rules. if they (or anyone) gets hit, they need to hide and do a paintcheck if they're not sure it broke and not keep moving towards me shooting when you're already dead. I've been called out several times after being hit by the same person I hit several times before being shot by them and the ref still calls me out (and that doesn't even count for the fact that I'm yelling to the ref during this that he's already out before I get hit).

I've been playing a long time, over 8 years, and have played lots of fields with many different people and have never had as many problems with a field as I do this one. There's always one or two issues with a field that drive people nuts, but when it comes to this field it took the cake.

If you do choose to continue playing at this field by all means do. I personally prefer Venture and a field I used to play at in college up north, but hope that this field will get better soon. For the record I've also sent my concerns to the field owner in the past (but haven't been back in over 6 months because of mainly the majority of players).


*****
Just a quick update:
I spoke with a friend who went to the field recently and was told that they've gotten really pushy about scuba tanks. They've never allowed them, but now they are going around asking people (probably just randomly...I really don't know) if they have scubas, and also looking into people's cars for scubas. Not is this down right rude to be snooping into people's cars, it's low. They've always maintained the same BS reason for no scubas that it's a safety hazard (sunol always said it was insurance related...personally I don't believe that, but that's just me; sounds like a convenient excuse to make more money), but that's a load of crap. It's all about money. Heck, could you image if they started saying it's a safety hazard for people to bring their own equipment because they have no way of knowing if the equipment is well taken care of and safe to use on the field? The only reason they don't do that is because no one would ever play there again.

In my honest opinion, $12 for all day HPA is WAY overpriced. I can fill a scuba tank nearly 15 times for that much at my local scuba shop and top off my HPA tank enough times to shoot many many many cases of paint...and as for safety, it's safer using a scuba to fill your HPA than someone being stupid and putting oil down the nipple of their HPA tank (which at higher pressures has a lower flash point thus opening the possibility of an explosion) or simply playing the sport in general! If someone is hiding a scuba tank in their car and something happens to them, the field can't be held responsible for what someone hides from them. This game is already expensive enough, now they're trying to push even more.

I used to love this sport, but because of fields like this (which unfortunately are becoming the norm more often than not) I'm really losing interest in the game. When I first started, the fields I played at ran the fields more as hobby than anything else. The reason being that it was costing everyone so much to play anyway, that for the field to make a decent profit would cost players more than about 70% of them could afford. I'm not surprised so many of the players on this review board rate the field so high because after reading how long they/you have been playing and the fields you've played at, they/you simply don't have the field experience to know when it's really bad.

Good luck to everyone...
Last edited on Monday, March 29th, 2004 at 5:16 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
12 Comments - Add Comment

howiele Wednesday, March 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
not many in bay area....
Review: First lets talk about the service and the people. I have to say, very friendly and very good humored. the ref are decent. i mean come on, there are over 20 players on the field sometimes so its understable that some thigns are over looked. I personally dont like the no-bunkering rule but thats not a big deal. The fields are pretty nice. they have 4 fields mixed with sup-air and hyper-ball which makes for a good variety. The all day HP air is great and the staff makes the game more enjoyable, they are so willing to give tips and pointers. overall the place was fun to be at and fun to play on.


now for the drawbacks. The field use to have grass, that is gone now. you front men will have some great times on the hard ground and fixing ripped pants. I think if they laid down some sand it would make the ground more bearable to slid on. The C02 line is really really slow, thats only because they have one line. The chrono station is slow too but its bearable. shade is scarce if any. bring a tent thingy if you are going to want some shade.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

skipper Thursday, February 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
t.a.g, wap, extreme, paintball zone, bear creek
Review: i went there to play a friday night game. they open from 4pm to 8 pm. it cost 10 bucks to play there on friday. refing was weak. one ref on the field. fields are not that bad though. the cashier doesn't know a thing. i pay for my admission and i wanted all day hp air but she said that they don't sell all day air on friday. it cost 2 bucks for every 1000psi they fill. another bad thing is that they don't have compressors on friday they fill off of scuba tanks. she filled mine to 1400 and charged me 4 bucks. i had to fill so many times that night. after i finish playing the ref asked why i was paying two bucks a fill when they have all day hp air for 10 bucks. i was like what the hell she said that they don't have all day on friday. on ly all day co2 for 7 bucks. i was pissed. maybe i should play on the weekends when that have a compressor.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

sniperkev4 Thursday, February 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none.
I bet none can match to this one in that area.
Review: I love this field. It is great. It has 4 playing fields. The refs are very nice and they can fix some problems that happen with your gun. They have 1 sup air field, 1 air field, 1 epic field, and a hyper ball field. Sometimes the bunkers are deflated and they get kinda small but then a ref comes in and fills it up again. Or you can tell a ref and they will do it. the head ref is the best. The prices are ok but the paint is pretty expensive. $7 for 100 balls, $20 for 500, and $60 for 2,000. Kinda a rip. But you play 4 hours for $12. Its cheap in the long run so I suggest this field to any player of any skill. Man I love this field. Oh and one more thing, the ground on the fields are dirt so you cant really slide. Over all I give it a 9 because of the ground and deflation of the bunkers.

Oh and one more thing. NO ZAP PAINT OR ANY KIND OF CANADIAN PAINT. YOU WILL BE KICKED OUT. BLAME CANADA!!!!!
Last edited on Tuesday, March 23rd, 2004 at 6:36 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderneedsmilk Saturday, January 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
There is one up by this one guys house, ya know the one with the thingies...
Review: This is by far, no doubt, no question THE BEST FIELD I HAVE EVER PLAYED AT its the only one, but it got four, count 'em, four different playing fields, WOW. now that is somethins special, they rent 98 customs, good guns, they shoot paintballs too.
I go here with my paintball gun and my buddy, who must not be named, and his gun, EVERY FRIDAY NIGHT, ON FRIDAY THOUGH. and its cheap, like 10 bucks for entry, and 7 bucks for unlimited CO2, but thats on fridays only, regaurdless of size, 4oz to uhh... lots of #oz, really neat it is. highly suggested for u bayarea locals!

U CAN BRING UR OWN PAINT AS LONG AS ITS NOT ZAP! apparantly those stoopid canadians dont know how to make paint that doesnt stain. but uhmm, cloths that u wear playing are old cloths u really dont care about rite?

oh well, join me and South Park when saying BLAME CANADA
Last edited on Sunday, February 29th, 2004 at 1:25 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntbum Monday, January 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sunol, venture, op
Review: this field was great! there are 4 fields, 2 r airball and the other two are hyperball. they change the two air ball fields around everyweek so its different everytimew. some weeks r better than other but its till really great. they have 3 dif levels of play: advanced, intermediate, and begininer. they sell GAP paint which is a very good paint brand for $60, and it flys very well through my freak. when my tank compressed air tank broke, they had a certified tech fix it for me quick. the refs are very cool, nice, and are fair. if you need help, they help you. this has the best speed ball players in the bay area so if u want compition go here. if you dont like speedball and like woodsball dont go here

there are a few complaints all day air is $12 a little pricy but not much, some days the airball cant not b set up very good. i get bonus balled in advanced, last weekend i got shot almost 30 times in 1 game its cuz some guys just shoot so fast. if you dont want to get bonus balled goto intermediate. not alot of shade but i dont care about it too much. during the winter it gets caked in mud, it took me 6 hours to clean my gear the day after.

i gave it 9 becuase its the best field in the bay area and there arnt many flaws.
Last edited on Tuesday, January 20th, 2004 at 4:28 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bushmaster0018 Wednesday, January 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
operation, bear creek, sunol
Review: this place is great!!
-the prices are great ( $20 all day $12 half)
-the people that work there are great
-they have 4 Fields
- you don't play in mud mostly on grass and dirt
-easy place to find
-you can bring your own paint without a charge( any color)


best Field in the bay area!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Red2YellwCocker Thursday, November 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bear Creek- Sucks, Prices are high, Refs are rude.
Review: This place is awesome, i go there for everything, sometimes I just go there not to play but to hangout. Thats how cool it is. Mike is cool to talk to, Kenney is awesome, the airfill guy is VERY awesome (forgot his name), He'll help you with any gun problems.

Refs are funny and cool to talk to, they know what you talking about, Jeremy is an awesome ref/player! JEREMZ KILLZ YOU!

People complaining about shade, I think its fine, you just have to get a table. Fields are great, they change the Airball around and the "Epic" field or whatever. Great set-ups.

10/10 fo sho.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tapecocker Sunday, November 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
T.A.G (Probably my 2nd or 1st favorite field. expensive. far away from where i live)
Bear Creek (Prices are high. if its rained in the past 3 weeks, it muddy and bad)
Sunol (Awesome place. A bit out of your way. The people there are the coolest and aren't afraid to talk to you about anything, one of the guys running the shack let me use his custom built cocker.
Review: Pros- I have an autococker, so i love speedball and this field was exactly that. speedball. there isnt much shade, but they do have a huge canopy which is nice cuz it has picnic tables under it so u have a decent place 2 sit and assemble ur stuff. they have prices for 1/2 day play.

Cons- Although the refts there know wut they're doing and are fairly cool, they are extremely cocky, and if u dont know wuts wrong with ur gun or something, they are all mocking and condesending 2 u about it. If you go in late spring or summer it is absolutely roasting (due to lack of shade). the stock field paint sux, but if u wanna spend the 10 bux more (which i normally dont mind) u can get some nice quality nelsons, or anarchy.

Overall- I'd recomend it to anyone looking for some great speedball, or just a half day with friends

P.S- Make sure again not to go in the summer. You'll die.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

408blkpolishgx4 Friday, November 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bear creek...also some freeplay in some woods or forest
Review: santa clara fairground fields is very fun and well organized..they have 3 diffrent playing skillz to fit u....they have 4 fields and there all speed ball...so if u like speed ball this is the place to be..um the refs do a good job in rotating the players to diffrent fields every 30-45 mins.refs also are very nice and do a great job wit watchin the field,safety,and paintchecks.most of the staff that are there are very nice and will help u wit gun problems if they can.also fri-sun good amount of people show up to play...this place will give u an adrenaline rush everytime u play......the onlee thing i could complain about is sometimes the field jus has to much paint on it so it gets kind of slippery so i advise some cleats if playin here......
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media