paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Line of Fire Paintfields / Line of Fire Paintfields / Line of Fire Paintfields / Line of Fire Paintfields

Line of Fire Paintfields

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
42Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 828-891-2399
Address: 923 Gilreath Loop Rd
Horse Shoe, North Carolina 28742
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Interceptor88 Saturday, September 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wolverine? Carolina Extreme
Review: Just got back from the 2 man stock tourney. As usual, great games with great people. The field is excellent. We love the city field. Thanks Toby, we will be back as soon as time and money provides. Deffinately worth the 2 hour drive. I love this field, and I'm sorry I won't be able to attend the 10 year event. I couldn't give a flip about the punk Rocky, but I met Bea before, and she is very nice. I wouldn't mind seeing her again. Thanks for treating us stock players with the same respect as others. That's rare in a field these days. Thanks again.
Last edited on Friday, October 22nd, 2004 at 8:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

xsf69 Wednesday, September 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
carolina extreme, the atmosphere there is not half as friendly nor safe.
Review: line of fire is the best place to play if u are living or just visiting the Asheville/Hendersonville area they are extremely costumer friendly and take great care of children who are just starting out in the sport. this place is the safest paintball facility that i have ever played at and i have played at every field in north Carolina and south Carolina, not to mention the fields i have played at around the world.This field is very positive in the promotion of this sport and i back it up in every way i can.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
19 Comments - Add Comment

Joy Division Sunday, August 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CEP and old Wolverine
Review: I was at LOF for there 3-man touney and wow was it great. It was my first touney and i had some great expriences. The competition was great, we played a lot of fames, the prizes were nice, and the reffing was pretty good.
One thing though. It is impossible to check for bounce when u shoot 1 ball per second. most boards that allow bouncing are set to ramp at 10 bps. this was not a big issue but just a thought
Over all this was a great touney. I just hope that LOF will have a few more of these throughout the year, like one per season.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
23 Comments - Add Comment

dee_snuts Friday, August 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cep :)
Review: Me and a group of friends went and played that night game aliens vs predator. We arrived an hour early but didn't start til over 30 mins late. The lady doing the wrist bands was rude to a few of us, like we keeping her from something more important. They wouldn't let anyone in early so there was 50 people trying to chrono so they could start the game. Everything was so unorganized half got chronoed at 265 and half was at 250, and from the way it felt the borg, pred., and terminator weren't chronoed at all. The best part was the first game, because it was just a normal 1 vs 1. Then it started..... the teams were really really unfairly picked, as me and one friend were stuck with every little kid there on one team, and the two other teams turned out good because they were all but a few the most exp players there. Once that game started it just kept going down, the lighting was bright, and only on the side near the main building which made us stick out like it was daytime. We were only 2 buildings away from the next team as we were split into 3 teams. ALL the character players, were really overshooting, aside from them being hot, they were using two guns pretty much on full auto. There was no 20 ft rule for them because they were sticking in the windows and doors and just laying it on everyone inside. I'm not the only one that thought they were overshooting, because the guy with me said if he knew it was going to be that bad he wouldnt have brought his young son to play. The refs were just sitting in the tops of the building, not saying if anyone was ever walking out, so if u used your 5 lives you got lit up trying to get off the field. There was no comm. once the game started, as they were supposed to tell the phases, and the end game the teams were supposed to join, and go against someone, so i took out about half of the team because no one said anything about what was going on. For all the planning, the event turned out to be my worst paintball experience ever, and for the people that never played before, won't be repeat customer. I like toby,he's a great guy....the attitude of the woman working the register and the refs and character players, i wouldn't come back. We were all treated as if we were keeping them from something they would rather be doing, and they didn't want out money. If you were here and hated the night game as much as most people did, come to cep for their night game because it rocks. We went and played a few after lof and had more fun in 2 games than the whole night there. Sorry guys but i wouldn't recommend this field to anyone after the experience i had.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
17 Comments - Add Comment

Will Lumpkin Sunday, July 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: I recently played at LOF with my camp group, and it took them about an hour and a half to get us all our equipment and all (about 50 ppl) and they wouldnt allow us back inside the shop until everyone was set to go. the staff was nice (all the adults were cool and the kids blew...) i mostly enjoyed my stay but they were way too strict imo having played at about 10 fields, and the chrono was like 250 or something (not necessairly bad) anyway the goggles were not thermal and they were renting spyders without bottomlines (semi-autos) pro-carbines, 98's, a5's, and 3 pimpin mini mags (made things a bit un-fair imo) anyways we played this one speed-ballish field with a bunch of buildings (the city?) a couple times then a woods field that was like 1/3 decent (only cause i bunkered 2 of my counselors and 3 of my friends) a couple times then airball which was OK cause they would tell ppl where to go and ish but not all ppl just some, and then a counselors vs kids city game and then a re-incarnation city game that was the shi*! all in all i had a good time but the pro-shop was well stocked but they were selling a spyder imagine with some board to do 18bps for like 450 (RIPOFF) but they had my mags at a decent price (APG PB2X, and paintball) i give this field a 7/10 cause the un-necessairy strictness, non-thermal goggles, diff rental gear (such a wide range), the couple sucky refs, but i had fun and they had m magazines for me to go home to :-D
thanks LOF i had a good time and so did CCB!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

aristocat Monday, June 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
wolverine, cep,mountainparkpaintball,pbc,rock hill,alamo etc
Review: lof is definetly going in the right direction every time i go out there they have improved. i'm definetly feelin the air ball field. toby your a pimp dude c'ya next time

p.s wolveine is gonna be sweet but sorry cep no woods ballers allowed welcome to the 21'st century
Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 10:42 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
38 Comments - Add Comment

SkeeterZZ Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CEP, Old Wolverine, New Gen
Review: I played at Line of Fire for the first time yesterday and had a great time. There were probably 16 to 20 players there so I'm not sure how that compares to their regular turnout but it was good for a day of play. The experience level varied from newby to some tourney players so competition was good. The fields were nice. I really enjoyed the city field. The speedball field was real fun. We played alot of games on it and the refs were constantly checking the bunkers to make sure they were in good condition and inflated properly. There was never a wait for air or drinks. All in all it was a good day and I had a good time. Prices were on par with most any other store or field. It was my cousins 16th birthday so they let him play for free (no walk on fee.) My only complaint, and it is a small one, is the refs should take the time to explain the rules of all their different games. The sniper game caught me off guard as I didn't know that they were not on a team. Like I said very small complaint.

P.S. request the "Chaos" airball game if you play there. I tagged as many people in that game as I did the rest of the day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
12 Comments - Add Comment

Nighthawkasl Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in this area.
Review: Nice field, wonderful owner played at the super bowl theme day that wasn't. refs were a little questionable had to tell them someone walked on field without a mask and paint checks were not up to par. but great field loved the city. great prices need to expand the store.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Interceptor911 Saturday, January 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Not sure, not from the area.
Review: I just got back from LOF, and I have to say, I had the most fun I have had in years. We played the city field mostly, and the airball field a couple times before I left. We had enough people were we could let the tourney guys play speedball, and the rest of us play the city. The fields were clean and well maintained, and a blast to play on. The staff had several variations of games for us to play, so it was always something different. The staff was nice, although the refs weren't the best for responding to paintchecks, that could have been better. The field was very good about keeping things safe. We will deffinately be back to this field again soon.
Last edited on Sunday, January 25th, 2004 at 6:04 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Reznor Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wolverines- badly organized, badly reffed, good airsmith
Review: LOF is smaller and more friendly than wolverines. The store is small and cramped and service sometimes takes awhile. However they are a great field to play at. Putting the Escape from New York night game aside. The city field is fun to play and with the new towers it is the only place around that has three two story buildings. The new air ball field is great. It gets changed around everytime i go so that it always feels new to play. I can't wait for the next tournament on it. The small woods field is a great place to place with a few people that like to crawl and sneek. My favorite game would be a city large woods game. The large woulds field is huge with a really cool highside. There are all these bushes that grow high of the ground so you can get down and crawl inside them.

Players complain about the lack of skill at lof. It is true on theme days and special events that more little kids come out to play and therefore the field has to be geared more towrads them. So if you want skill don't come out on B.A.N.D. and stuff. I have seen great players there, infact last wednesday i say one of the greatest players i have ever seen. He had a red cocker with a e-blade set up and he was just awesome on the airball field.

Players also complain about the long wait on busy days. In the past there use to be long waits. But now with the extra areas to buy paint and air and food these waits are going to be a thing of the past.

The atmosphere at lof is great. You can always find out about new things happening in the painball world and there are always some players that will swap stories with you. The staff is friendly and very helpful. And Pops and Brian can fix many guns.

The New York night- I just wanted give alittle more prespective on what happened this night. Reviewers are leaving out things that are important. The amount of people that were there is what really killed the game. People just started showing up at 10 in the morning and kept coming. At six when hte field was supposed to shut down and prepare for the night game angry parents complained that their kids didn't get enough play time. So LOF tried to be nice and let them play a few extra games after six. The kids played until like 7:30. Therefore they was almost no set up time for the night game. There wasn't enough time to put up the fire barrels for extra light. There wasn't enough time to get the stobe lights in the woods, there wasn't enough the mines set, and the wasn't enough time to get the additional light sources ready. Also it had rain all day friday and the a little in the morning that Saturday. So the wood for the fires was wet and wouldn't light.
I am not making excuses for lof. It was a good idea with a bad planning and lots of bad luck. I just wanted to get the whole story out their. Angry players only remember what made them mad. Players should have known it was going to be busy when you had to park a 1/2 mile away. the field isn't the only place to put the blame. The players there that night were a little greedy and rude.

Overall: I gave lof a 10 because i have played there numerous times in th past many years and i love the atmosphere and fields. The changes they have made in the past few months are really smart ideas and will help prevent further Escape from New York nights from happeing again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media