paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / E.M.R. Paintball Park / E.M.R. Paintball Park / E.M.R. Paintball Park / E.M.R. Paintball Park

E.M.R. Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
28Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (570) 465-9622
Address: RT. 706 and T601
New Milford, Pennsylvania 18834
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
g_splat Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
M & M Paintball
Skirmish USA
POW Paintball
Review: 4 words: Blue Is The Man! The reffing was great. The prices were nice. The Field itself is so varied that I donít think youíll ever get board. The team running the filed offers such a wide variety of games and storylines that itís always kept fresh for the players. The paintball marker museum is truly something cool to see, especially if youíre like me and actually remember some of those markers.

I highly recommend that everyone, even you speed ballers experience a big game or scenario at EMR. Blue really gets people into the games, which only adds to the players enjoyment. The yearly quest games are hilarious and the free dinners at delicious! 10 out of 10!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Oldschoolkiller Wednesday, July 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: My previous review was removed which gave EMR a 9.5. A few weeks ago I went to EMR with a group of 8 players. My previous 2 experiences there were great!!! This time was a bit ridiculous. They had a couple of snot nosed punks running the place and they had a few buddies playing with automatics (which is suppose to be against EMR's rules). When I questioned the referee I got this BS story. I'd like to know the difference between a semi that shoots 15-20 bps and a full auto that shoots 10-15 bps other than 15 trigger pulls as opposed to 1. The rules and the referee had a collision. No one is suppose to get "zipped up", but when his buddies were doing the shooting it was OK. So if Jeff is going to referee he needs to understand what the words "unbiased" and "consistent" mean.

My previous two trips there were wonderful, but after the attitude from Ref Jeff and his Weaselly friends I think I will pass on future trips to EMR.

EMR needs to let adults run the place like the previous two times I was there, get real bathroom/restroom facilities and stop serving up $15 a case (wholesale) Severe paint. It is severely old, out of round, and throws better curves than any major league pitcher.
No offense to Blue and some of the fantastic staff he has there, but the truth is the truth.

Overall Rating: 6
Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 at 5:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Timepilot Tuesday, December 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Poco Loco, Capt'n Carls but they are like 3 hours away... they can't compare to EMR.
Review: My first paintball experience was at EMR for the Lord of the Rings "Ring of Fellowship" by MXS and I was instantly hooked! It was about 700 people. Blue (owner) is a great guy and they really have a fun environment up there.

I play every month in the good weather and it's always fun... drinking, tailgating, camping, grilling.... oh, and paintball! The field is really huge with lots of castles/buildings/bunkers.

The only thing that kind of sucks is the "mega" teams (teams made up of many teams) that kind of rule the games... no fun for weekenders and newbies, but that is inevitable. Personally I have no problem with a "mega-team" concept, I think it makes sense and is a sign of good organization.

I would always watch war movies and wonder what it would be like to "test my mettle" and this is the closest you can get without actually going to Iraq. I only give it an 9 because they could fix up some of the old bunkers and get better bathroom facilities.
Last edited on Tuesday, December 30th, 2003 at 12:56 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Coal-Cracker Tuesday, December 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Paintball Thunder
Review: First trip to EMR was for the Spring Castle (2003). Since then I've attended several more scenario/big games there (including Fall Castle, 2003) and plan to attend more in the following year. Still attend other fields, but EMR has become my primary field.

Alot of field variation to play in. Highly recommend Joint Fury Town and the Firebase, and of course the (main) Castle. (though the Bonehead's castle is worth checking out)Blue and the rest of the field staff are very helpful and safety appears to be their main concern.
Paint price is reasonable at $80/case. Entrance fees are also reasonable but will vary the game/date.

Overall, a stand-up organization that is geared to the new and experienced player alike. Their scenario games are definately worth my 2 hour drive. Highly recommended.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wings11J Monday, November 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
first time I ever played.
Review: The field variety was incredible. Speedball, castles, woodsball, towns, anything and everything. Refs were excelent. Very patient with newbies (me being one) and extreemly helpful. They gave my frien an O-ring when his broke, lent me a screw for my remote from the owners personal equipment, and had plenty of free food and free lodging.
The refs let the player majority pick the field and would modify the rules to suit what players wanted. (combining fields, instant respawn to finish off paint, gave out some free paint (I got about 300 rounds free cause the ref got tired of carrying it and wasn't playing).
The refs play to even up the teams but they tailor there play style to match the skill of the people there playing. (one ref refused to hide and walked around openly while he shot.) Prices were great. $80/case QUALITY PAINT, $18 all weekend air. $10 per 3 CO2 fills regardless of size (nice for people with 20oz).
Players there were really friendly. I got alot of good tips for improving my play. An absolutely awsome field and incredible first time experience. I will definitally be going back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

easix6 Sunday, November 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fury Paintball Syracuse, NY; Bait Barn Paintball, Perry, NY; Outlaw fields across the nation.
Review: Very Large field!!! This place is amazing in the size of it!!! I went to Castle Conquest 16 as a pump defender. It was my first time to EMR and I had a blast for the most part. The field just has tons of area. I don't know how many acres it is, but I would think that it has to be about 100 acres!!! The Castle Game was very cool. The refs were knowledgable and fair for the most part and registration went pretty smooth considering the scale of the game.

The only real gripe that I was yelled at by a ref for removing my mask when I returned to my car (campsite) to reload on paint. I ran out of paint at the Castle returned to my campsite to get paint out of my car and reload paint. (EMR field paint) When I got to my car which was over 200 yards from the Chrono station near the rec center, and several hundred yards from the castle and any action what so ever I removed my paint splattered mask and was reloading tubes in the back of my truck when a ref 200 yards away a ref started yelling at me to get my mask on. I complied, but I thought that this fellow yelling at me (a customer) who was literally hundreds of yards away from anyone firing a paint gun for not having a mask on was ridiculous. I was in a camping area, not anywhere near any area that was involved in the big game going on at the castle, and I was over 200 yards away from the chrono station, that had netting 20 feet high around the entire area. The guy yelling at me for not having my mask on in my campsite was uncalled for, and overzelous in my opinion I can only think that he was just trying to exercise some authority or something, because I was not being unsafe at all. In fact, I am a very safety conscious player. This one little incident sort of left a bad taste in my mouth for the place, but aside from that it is a great field.

I give the field a rating of 10 if just for the sheer size of it, cool-ness, and being friendly to pump gun players..

I give the refs a 8 for their courtesy to customers - I realize that they have to keep order, and maintain safety, however they need to bust cheating players, and those who are truly unsafe (taking masks off in an active fire fight - not taking a mask off at your campsite, with the nearest action 400+ yards up field, over hills and through tree cover)

I would strongly recomend this field to anyone. Sure you have to use field paint but one must realize that this huge field likely has huge upkeep. It is a great field, and VERY safe. Just keep your mask on all the time... ;-)
Last edited on Sunday, November 2nd, 2003 at 5:47 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

urukhai86 Thursday, October 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: My first game at E.M.R. was MXS' Chronicles of War Return to Wolf's Lair. I 26 hour secnario game modeled after the hit PC game Return to Castle Wolfenstein. It was amazing. We only played on half the fields and there were still places that I walked around on, but never played on. The park is amazing and the owner, Blue, has put a lot of time an energy into making it great.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rlovrin1 Monday, October 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Local Private Field in Floyd, NY; Constanstia,NY
Review: What can I say, my first time at EMR was awsome. I was amazed at how large the place was and how much work was put into the bunkers and the "Castle" It's about a 2 hour drive from my house in New York, but well worth the trip. The refs they had there were players just like everone else, and very fair on they're calls.

My only negative feelings towrads the field, was that during the game I was at, they had porta-potties, not actually bathrooms for the players to use. And that there was a lot of wait time betweens games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjunkie1 Sunday, September 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Liberty, Survival NY, various fields across US and, Germany
Review: We went once and that was the last. they have a arm band for everything. The set up was unorganized. Recrono evertime you reenter the game back at the main blg was a pain ( why not have refs with hand chrono's on the fields) They use Deoblow junk paint and the prices were high. They do have some cool fileds and a castle but so does Skirnish and a much better one too. This field wont change and eventially fade away like it did when it was the Wolfs lair.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

FerretSD Tuesday, September 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No others in PA.
The fields that I have played in were smaller.
Review: I also attended Spplat Attack 2 here, and I had a much different experience than Star Base CGI. The fields are mostly very large rec-ball fields. There is no need to groom them. They are meant to be expansive, rough terrain. The fields with buildings and bunkers were groomed. In fact, the buildings were very well built and very large. They were also close enough to eachother so that everyone was in range, even people in other buildings. The castle was great, too.

The refs and coordinators were professional and friendly. They were very safety-conscious. They frequently spot-chronoed players in the middle of games to keep markers from mysteriously getting too hot.

I had no problems with any of the facilities, not even the toilet facilites. Although, at an event with 750 players plus staff, I guess you might expect that they might reach their limits. Who cares! Fact is, your at a paintball game with 750 players plus celebrities! Have a good time!

I accidently stripped a screw in my cocker, and the guys in the pro shop scrambled to find me a replacement. They were friendly and didn't charge me. In fact, I was so appreciative that I had to buy something. If it weren't for their help, I may have had to sit out part of the day until I tracked down one of these screws.

I can't refute the beer bottle thing. I opted to stay in a hotel instead of the bunk houses that EMR provides for free to the players wanting stay in them. You get a bunch of drinking-aged guys away from home/work for the weekend, all hanging out together, tailgating and letting loose, and someone's going to break out the beers. What would you expect? As long as they're sober when they get on the field, what good will complaining do?

Hey, EMR is a great place to play paintball, and I'm going back for some of their other Big Games like Castle Quest. I recommend that you do the same. For me, it lived up to the hype.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media