paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hi-Tec Paintball Field / Hi-Tec Paintball Field / Hi-Tec Paintball Field / Hi-Tec Paintball Field

Hi-Tec Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (941) 746-5866
Address: State Road 64
Bradenton, Florida 34206
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
bones72 Monday, March 7th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 4th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Many other fields in the Tampa Bay area.
Review: I have been playing paintball since 1988 on and off, I have played many fields from Ft Myers to North Florida including scenario games.
Safety: A briefing is given at the beginning of the day and covers all the basics. To support this there is a bulletin board that posts the rules and other useful information to include a map of the fields. Additionally there are signs to and from the field to remind player to keep eye protection on and use barrel plugs. If a new groups of players shows up the rules are explained to them before they start the game.
Fields: Hi-Tec offers Hyper / Speed ball fields ( plastic pipes, Inflatable bunkers and barrel and plywood bunkers ) In addition to this there are several woods ball fields in various sizes to accommodate larger or smaller groups of players. The woods field incorporate small buildings, barrels, plywood bunkers and natural cover and concealment. As a note most of these field offer SHADE an important factor in the summer months.
Hi-Tec’s prices are very reasonable with low field fees. $10 for walk on with your own equipment to include free compressed air. For renters $25 ( Field package Tippmann 98s and or A-5s, Mask and tank ) additional Co2, or Nitrogen fills are available at a charge. Field paint only, but at a good price of $50.00 for 2000 rounds of Empire Premium paintballs.
Proshop: The field stocks some common items if you have some needs, but not is a full fledged retail / pro shop ( Like a Store ). However if you wish to purchase equipment they can accommodate your needs.
Staff: Chris and Kathy run the field ( with additional help if need be) Kathy sees to the administration needs of the players and Chris assists with overseeing the players and refereeing the games.
Players: First timers to experienced weekly players of all age ranges, the median player age is 16 to mid 20’s with a mix of older players up to 60. The sides are often balanced and adjusted per game if need be. In general Hi-Tec offers a good first timers experience with a focus on safety. In general people are friendly and helpful.
Facilities: In the assembly area Hi-Tec provides open and covered areas to ready your equipment or sit and take a break. Hand wash stations, spray bottles and tables to clean equipment, these areas are under tree cover giving you much needed shade in the warmer months. Also Port–a–johns are available for your other needs.
Food: Hotdogs, chips, water, Gatorade and soda.

Other:
- Game times vary between 7 and 15 minutes. If a game is quick usually the sides switch and they run a second game back to back.
- The field is open for scenario games and reservations.
- Loud speaker system in assembly area and on the fields along with radios are used to keep players informed of upcoming games and times to be on the field, also safety reminders and to keep hydrated.
- Payment cash or credit card/debit along with signature required release forms and rules.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

drwatson1969 Saturday, August 28th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 28th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
several in the area. i normal play around orlando
Directions
to the Field:
i 75 to sr 64 east. on your right
Review: i read the reviews before going so i kind all ready had a state of mind when i pulled in. the owners were friendly for the most part. very strict on the rules. they do not bend. they have signs posted every where for what they dont want you to do.
the games were organized for the most part, personaly thought that there was to much time between games. most of the games were capture the flag.
down side of the location is that they are the low point from I 75 and SR 64. it has been raining for 5-6 days before going so most of the field were under water. i did get really wet. they did tell you that before you paid.
its field paint only and didnt care for the paint they had. i have a flat line and couldnt hit anything past 100 feet. balls curving all over the place and had flat spots in them. the case ran 50$. admission is 10 and all day air for hpa is 10, 20 oz co2 is 2 per fill.
i had fun for the most part and the 2 new guys that went with us had fun. over all i have more fun at other fields.; there just seemed to have a tention over the field. no one was laughting and talking in stageing area. i always felt like i was going to get yelled at for doing something wrong, even thou i wasnt nor did it get yelled at.
the guy owner comes off ruff around the edges but he is the boss and likes it run his way, whice i respect.
but honestly if im going to drive an hr i rather go to orange county paint on Sr 50 in bithlo. have had way more fun and better atmosphere there. everyone there is way more friendly.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ponies_wGlitter Sunday, January 18th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No other fields in this area, although i've played extensively in Louisiana
Directions
to the Field:
On SR 64, just a few hundred yards east of I-75.
Review: I had read the reviews here before going to Hi-Tec, but the last review was over a year old. Four co-workers from my office came with me to play.

Let me just say I completely agree with the other reviewers below. While the field itself is generally nice, the whole experience is definitely tainted by the attitude of the owner.

For one, the guy is simply not interested in being helpful to players new to the field. For instance, he'll come over the loudspeaker and announce that the next game starts in 2 minutes on "Field 6". More than 75% of the players had no idea where "Field 6" is, and there are no posted maps or signs whatsoever. If you've got the nerve to actually ask, he will quite literally *yell* at you because you don't know where "Field 6" is. Excuse me. I could have sworn I was a paying customer...

Another example: My friend (first time playing paintball) was using a rental Tippmann 98. The gun blew an o-ring in the bolt between games, and we brought it to the owner. His response was "Well, i guess that makes you the flag runner". Wow, just wow. The acceptable answer should have been "No problem, just take it back to the staging area and we'll swap you out for another gun".

Or how about when i lost my colored armband in the middle of a game (just a piece of bright pink plastic tape). I went up to him at the staging area and just asked for another armband.
Owner: "What happened to the one i gave you?"
Me: "I dont know, it came off somewhere in the woods"
Owner: "So i'm supposed to pick up trash after you now, too?"
Me: "I dont know what to tell you, you're the one that tied it on. Can i have another one or not?"

All four of us left at the end of the day with the feeling that our presence was a major annoyance and inconvenience to the owner, which is almost infuriating as a paying customer. At a restaraunt, you consider the service not-so-great if you go 20min without a drink. Imagine getting *yelled at* like a misbehaving child more than 15 times over the course of a day. Would you leave a tip?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TPMNWDB1203 Tuesday, June 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 29th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: I have been here once and i liked it. I would like to start a team(a woodsball team). I like to play woodsball if anyone lives around the area and is interested email me at kyleman111@gmail.com. I use a Tippmann 98 Custom w/ Flatline and Car Stock. So please email me if you are interested. Even though the paint is expensive it is very fun there.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 24th, 2008 at 2:17 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dewayne0007 Sunday, July 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Orbital
Review: Great fields, but the owner (the man, as it is owned an operated by a married couple) is very rude. I'm 44 years old and have owned a small business before so I know what to expect. This guy clearly has the attitude that its either his way or the highway. I'm not the only person that amazed at his lack of customer service. When I asked him to split the very large group up into to his response was "NO" in a very rude way. I explained to him that several of his customers were not happy about the situation and it would be better if he split the group in two. His face turned bright red with anger, seriously. He said that he already split off 14 people. I said great, can we play with that smaller group then. Again he said with a rude tone "NO" and then ignored me.

There were 109 people on there that day, which mean he had one group of 14 split off and the other 95 people playing as a group! Ridicoulous!

In addition, 98% of the people were in camo and clearly woodsball players, yet he would play two woodsball games, then two speed ball games. That sucked. We sat out the speed ball games.

Since I live only five minutes away I will probably still play, but only when I can't make the drive elsewhere. My group of 10 friends agree.

BTW, this is not the first time I've found this guy to be rude and unprofessional...its just the latest. I was so amazed at his poort customer service skills that I had to post this review.

Go anywhere, but not to this field!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Angel Fragoza Friday, March 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i havent played at any others but im pretty sure thers a few around
Review: I have been playing at hi-tec for a year now and i have learned alot from playing there. Admission and air is pretty cheap but paint burns a hole in your pocket. Id definatly go to hi tec more if the paint were cheaper. The people who own the place make sure the new guys know the Do's and Dont's. There are all sorts of fields. So know matter wut type of paintball you like your bound to like the fields at hi tec. Theyre arent too many refs but when they find out that somebody cheated they really bust on them.
All in all hi tec is a great place. I will continue going there for many months to come.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

sickshot173 Wednesday, December 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 28th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in area
Review: Lets me put it this way, today was my first time going to hi-tec and it will defiantly NOT be my last. the staff is very friendly and helpful. on this particular day it was a sernario game. Now, first of all i am a speedball player and had no clue what to do in this partucular game. so the they explained the rules and made sure everyone got what they would had to do, split up the teams evenly, and gave anyone who hasnt ever played at this field a map. the game was very fun, it lasted 6 hours. when u are hit you go back to the staging area, refill all pods and air and get ready for insersion. this happens every half hour and the flag count is tallyed at the end of an hour of play. people who are caught cheating a pulled of the field. the only bad thing about hi-tec is the price of paint. it is a fpo place and $60 for a case and $35 for a half of case. all day air is $10 and fill your own(they show you if you do not now how). the lady was especially nice and greeted everyone with 'what do you need love?' in my opinion this field is great. they also have speedball, ultimate air, and hyper ball for all you people that dont like forest ball. i am going to give this field 9 out of 10 because it was the best time i have had paintballing yet there is always room for improvment. Check out hi-tec.... you wont be disappointed!!!!!
Last edited on Monday, January 23rd, 2006 at 3:15 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

chewie1890 Sunday, December 25th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 12th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I havent played any but there are a few others...
Review: I had never played paintball before, and my friend Jarrad and I were going, I brought about 60 dollars, I ended up spending about thirty on my things, the rest my friend took cause he shoots a whole lot, I paid the admission which was about 5-10 I cant really remember, and twenty on paint, which lasted me a whole day with one pod still full, When I first got there I was a little scared, and slowly walked towards the desk, I was greeted with a happy 'HELLO!' and a nice handshake, the lady behind the counter asked me what I needed, I said that I needed to sign in pay admission, and get some paint, she then handed me the form, a bag of 500 balls, and I paid around thirty dollars for all of it, I was using my brothers marker at the time, now he didnt take as good care of his gun as he told me he did, so the lady took my gun, put new o-rings on it, oiled it, and lent me a new barrel until it worked, then I went back to the velocity measuring thingy and the max I could get it to was 194, she came up behind twisted some knobs and got it up to an even 280, id missed about 2 or so games by this point, so I was ready to go. the first game I played was speedball, it was great! when it started I just kinda ran made it kinda to the other side and jumped behind a bunker thing. I did a scan of my clothes, I hadnt been shot yet, I slowly leaned over the side of it and saw a guy looking sideways in front of me, I fired a few shots and one to pop on his head, I was later congratulated by the refs on my first kill(I hope thats the right word) ever. Overall I give it a nine out of 10, I enjoyed this field,and recently got a new gun and am going in a day or so to try it out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sk!pp Thursday, December 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 22nd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: When i first walked into Hi-tec i knew it was gonna be a wild ride. Prices of paint are a little high at 70 bucks a case but you'll use it all day. they have every type of field from hyper ball to a Huge scenario field. Air is a dollar for 12 OZ C02 and 6 dollars for Nitro. They also rent A-5 w/ response triggers and nitro. The people there are nice and the refs/owners are strict and will kick you for wiping or throwing nades and hyperball, wich is a good thing.
If you are looking for a day on the field and you dont want to play the same thing over and over a gain, go to H-T
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thunderhawk Monday, October 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
MVP Sports
Suncoast Paintball (whenever it can finally open)
Review: Hi Tec is a great place to play and I have had many great experiences out there. I am going to give the Pros and the Cons of this field.

Pros: Field fees are decent enough and the number of fields makes for a diverse and fun day. The owners, Chris and Kathy, are great and Chris does a great job of explaining the rules and ensuring that everyone, even those who have never played before, understands the rules and know what to expect on the field. There are plenty of areas for paintballers to set up their gear and take a break. The field is within short driving distance of several restaurants and other facilties to get food or other needs.

Cons: As with any outdoor facility, Hi Tec is subject to the weather, and here in Florida it can rain at any time, and usually does, so the fields can become soaked and make for either a muddy day or a closed field. The other drawback, which is not too bad, is that they are only open on weekends, and that is subject to whether or not their field team is playing in a tournament, which means when they are playing out of town then the field is closed. I understand that Chris and Kathy have "real" jobs that they go to during the week, which explains being open only on the weekends, so that is why it is not a totally bad thing. The price of paint can be a little steep, at $80 a case, which for some could make a day at the field short if you do not have enough money for paint all day.

Hi Tec is a great field, but I have to wonder with all of the development around them in terms of homes being built just how long they can hold out before the land is sold for more homes. In short, if you have not gone out there and can get there, do it before your chance is gone and enjoy yourself at one of the truly decent fields in the state.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media