paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Velocity Paintball Field / Velocity Paintball Field / Velocity Paintball Field / Velocity Paintball Field

Velocity Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
62Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: Warnock Dr and San Vicente Rd
Ramona, California 92065
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
AdamAnt Thursday, April 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mr. Paintball - Mr. Paintball had some good fields but they were too far away, and they also made you by their paint (Which isn't any good and is really expensive).
Review: Velocity is a great field for the below reasons
- Great referees and they are really fair
- Have really good paint to buy, but you can bring your own
- Great rental guns and equipment
- Big range of fields including Woodsball, Hyperball and Speedball
- Up to 18 Fields of play
- Great store located in Poway
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

}{ardcore Style Tuesday, April 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Challenge Park Extreme, Badlandz
Review: This field is awesome...i went here over Spring Break and it was fun as hell. The tournament fields are set up very nicely and the advanced players will always help you if you need help. The novice can get pretty boring though when you cant bunker, so i came later the next day to play with more experienced players. The store is ran very nicely and a good price because of the benefits you will receive. That Billy from Team Velocity is so hot too.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MatrixCA Sunday, March 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 12th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Weekend Warriors, Pirates grove
Review: Quote: "For starters, the separation between novice (noob) and advanced is a joke. I've never seen so many guys with tricked-out Autocockers, Angels, and other electric markers in a novice game in my life. True, novice is a skill level, however, in my opinion if you want to pay the money to look like "big paintball" you better start playing "big paintball". " I have to agree with wolfs point. actually i would have to agree with everything he said. also that they always seem to want to play hyper ball all the time. (like 3 times a day). Some advanced players like to play with the novice and sometimes it ruins the fun when their not on your team. Other wise i think this is the best field in San Diego. Decent price and the best thing: you can take your own paint. I hate how weekend warriors makes you buy their paint for $100 a case. Velocitys store is also nice. A little pricy though on some stuff. OK for paint. $55 for a case of pmi prems. Beats $100 a case. I heard the store in Poway was bigger and better. So everything owned by velocity is nice. Go there if you have not. It's great.

EDIT: Just went a few weekend ago. havent been there for about 2 years and now i wan to get back into the sport. WOW, compared to last time i went they now have 2 blow up courses. one looks just like what you see the pros playing on. Havent played either of them yet but they look fun. we got 2 refs each time when playing which is cool. a couple more would be nice but they are patrolling what, 4 groups a day? so thats 8 refs right there. i borrowed my friend gun and it was missing the ball stopper but they tech was nice and found one. i dont know why i payed $2 for a used pos. but w/e i got to play. the little store is nice but it charges more than what they charge at their regular stores which is still expensive. 75 cents for o-rings at their regular store and $1 at the field store. just as a side note, i was thinking of buying the tril comp package at their store but it was $50 more. i ended up getting the package with pod pack, oil, o-rings and a drop with the extra $50 i saved. anyways, this field is even cooler than before. oh yea, now they have actual food. before they just had snacks and we would have pizza hut deliver pizza, but now they have people come in with their trailer and they make hot dogs, hamburgers, and burritos. i think thats it but i dunno. i thought that was pretty cool. i think the only thing i can complain about is if your in novice you play crappy fields. we didnt play xbox, the hill, or any of the blow up courses. but i understand this because its novice, it for beginners. ill probably re-get comfortable with it but ill probably move up after 1 or two more times. besides, its like all little kids in novice which bug...anyway, this field is even better than when i went last time. excellent, looks professional.
Last edited on Sunday, November 20th, 2005 at 10:14 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

S.D. Paintballer Monday, March 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
S.C. Village(GOOD)
MR. Paintball(Getting Better)
Adrenaline(Good)
Review: Velocity Is one of the best fields in San Diego they got good fields for both Rec and Tourny players, There honest!!! Sometimes the fields can get kind of crowded and they seem to be short on refs a few times but over all this is a great place to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

willio Sunday, March 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
weekend warriors(cheap admission, pricey paint, must use their paint, $100 for 2000 balls)
Review: This is the best field in San Diego. I don't know what others are talking about, but novice rarely plays hyperball and speedball. The reffing is very serious in the novice games, but they barely call you out in advance. I watched, in advance, as a player bunkered his friend. As his friend walked off the field he shot the bunkerer. The bunkerer shot the bunkeree back. This was all within 2-4 feet. All the ref did was laugh. It is funny to watch the newbs play. Admission is cheap $20, and they let you use your own paint. You definitely need to go here if you live in San Diego.
Last edited on Wednesday, March 26th, 2003 at 6:23 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AccessTime Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mr. Paintball (worse), Weekend Warriors (much worse)
Review: This is by far the best local field I have visited. The staff is professional yet friendly, and overall quiet efficient. Walk-on play is great. Bring your own paint and equipment, $20.00 for the day. The down-time between games is quite acceptable, just enough time to clean your gear and refill pods before leaving for the next game. The teams will change from game to game, overall the refs are good at keeping the teams balanced.

The variety in fields is so-so. Likewise, the games are mostly elimination and hence about half end as draws. The beginner groups are mixed while the advanced groups (I have only played advanced thrice) are very 'into the game'. Beginner does not allow bunkering, that is the only rules difference. Cheating is not a big problem, overall the rules are enforced well.

My biggest complaint is a lot of the fields are too sparse in terms of cover. The much-hyped hyperball field is the only non-derivative field and is only really for small groups.

Room for improvement in the field variety and types of games played at the beginner level. IMO every game ought to have an 'objective' rather than simple elimination.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Paki Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mr. Paintball, Camp Pendelton
Review: Velocity is a very good park, They have good fields and very good services.. The only bad thing is that they spend to much time organizing the games that you don't play as much as you would hope. But other then that the field is great..If you live anywhere near this park you should go by and play there..
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hemp033 Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Island, Pirates Grove, Borderland (closed), Canyon Ball
Review: Velocity was voted one of the top 10 fields in the world from PGI Mag, and the number one store in So. cal because they have friendly staff, very wide selection and great fields. I must admit, I have seeen the novice walk on group get pretty big, but it's the same anywhere else. However, this is one of the only fields that actually have a distinguishing advance walk on. Its not like some places where advance means, bunkering allowed. The advance players here are actually advance, and yes, some can take it too seriously but those are just some of the characters you find in paintball. Their fields are very maintained and well groomed. Staff is extremely professional but are very strict for your own safety. Check this field out if you want to have a great time. Call they store and get some gear if needed. 619.470.3533
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Haisam Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pirates Grove, Camp Pendelton
Review: Decent fields and friendly staff. Nice hyperball fields and also some small wooded fields. The main gripe I have is the enourmaous amoutn of cheaters and the overfiling of the fields. Both of these occur mainly on the hyperball field where the "advanced" players normaly play all day long. The regular/advanced players that play here are very very competaative and often take things a little too far. since the regulars never leave the hyperball field the staff will cram the novice players in with them and this results on 50 people playing on a field designed for 10/team max. Needless to say this results in massive overshooting. I notice a lot of cheating when watching games here, but its mostly by the same 5-6 guys every week.

If you are a rookie, stick with the novice players and you will have fun. If you are a regular player and want some really fast paced action check out the hyperball or speedball fields with the advanced group.

Overall its a pretty decent field and kept up pretty well.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KaptnF Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
the canyon in my backyard, borderland, velocity, mr paintball
Review: First off, Velocity has a very good staff. Whenever you have a problem, they will fix it in no time, usually with no charge. The refs are very friendly and will help anyone new to the sport. However the seperation of skills is somewhat weak. Sometimes people with Angels will slip into a novice game. The fields are good but there are usually too many people in one game. Last time i went it was about 20-30 people vs 20-30 people. Some of their fields are never up like the Sup Air and the field play is somewhat repetitive (you'll play speedball and hyperball 5xs more than woods or the other courses)

I recommend this field to anyone wanting to have a good time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media