paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Desert Fox Paintball Field / Desert Fox Paintball Field / Desert Fox Paintball Field / Desert Fox Paintball Field

Desert Fox Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
31Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 520-574-9232
Address: 9651 S. Houghton Rd
Tucson, Arizona 85747
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
TONYinurface Sunday, January 9th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 8th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
disruptive and it is boring there
Directions
to the Field:
to get there go over the traintracks to the pima county fairgrounds and to the left there is a turn and turnthere and go thrue the fence and your there.
Review: You have to have berrel plugs on at all times and they yell at you if you dont. the hours are from 10a.m to4p.m. The price to take is 45 to 50 becaues paint and admission is 10 gun rentals are 25 and all day air is 5 air rental is 10. They only sell drinks .



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

TippmannCCI Friday, December 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sudden Impact
Directions
to the Field:
If your heading towards I-10 on Houtan , you go over a bridge and it will be on the left side abot half a mile further.
Review: Hours: 9- whenever everyone begins to leave, usually 2:00
Safety: The refs are very big on keeping your plugs in and mask on. They make you chrono your gun before you play but thats about it.
Prices: 50 for rec (kick'n) and 60 for premium (proball currently) Entry is 10$ and the rentals are 20$ i think, please correct me if im wrong. you can also pay 10 extra to rent an A-5. It comes with 500 rounds and all day air. Paints expensive but hey, they gotta make there money someway.
Proshop: Non existant, well they sell plugs and pods and maybe some basc tools but thats it
Food: None, bring your own
Drinks: they sell some sodas and powerade for .50 and 100.
Players: The majority of the people there rent. There are a few regulars, sad to say im usually the only stock class player. Otherwise they are a friendly group thats just out there to have fun. Lately there have been 20-30 people due to the cold weather and rain. Most people show up in the september-october time
Facilities: inside the proshop
Field: i really like this field. I believe it is about 7 acres and there are tons of bunkers. The bunkers are labled and thats nice because it alot easier to tell someone to look at the "Dog house" then something like "the square one right there!" You will also never be without cover. There is one ref in a tower in the center of the field and several more cruising the field in golf carts. They have recently put in a bunch of trenches
Over all i think this is an awsome field and i highly recommend it. Nothings perfect so i give it a 9.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paint maginent Friday, November 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: November 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
suden impact
Review: when going to desert fox bring lots of water because it gets hot . The reffs dont pay alot of ataintion so it's eay to wipe paint if you realy want to take the risk . the ownley real rules they realy inforce are : no off feild paint and keep mask on . if you shoot the train you will get a fine for gerphedee . the paint is way over priced but we cant do any thing about it . the good thing about the feild is the bunkers .







Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Torminator Monday, April 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sudden Impact
Review: Safety- Desert Fox is really big on Safety. Goggles goggles goggles. Before you can go out to the field you get a safety briefing (unless you've been there once, then they assume you've heard it and you're good to go.) and you Chrono your gun. It has to be no higher then 290 fps. Basic safety as I said, goggles on while barrel plugs are off basically. After every game the refs check to make sure everyone's got a barrel plug on and call the all clear for you to take off your goggles.

Field- There are 3 fields. Small field, speedball field, and the big field. If you're there and there's only about 12 people you may get the chance to play on the small field, otherwise you'll be playing on the big field. It has spools, barrels, a plane, bunkers, trenches. The plane you can't go into, but there is a "main bunker" which has a walkway over it and it's set into the ground. It can be a good place or a bad place and it's set in the center of the field. There's a lot of places to hide and a lot of places to have a vantage point. The field is big enough for you to get somewhere before you can get shot, and it's big enough that you need to strategize. Flanking happens a lot.

Hours- They open at 0900 and they stay open until everyone decides they're done. Normally about 2pm, but i've seen it stay open til 4 or 5. Most people are done paintballing after 5 hours, and closing at 2 in the summer is nice because around 3/4 you hit the heat of the day. (don't get me wrong, it's hot the rest of the time too. But this is Arizona)

Prices- I've heard people complain about the paint prices, and I can sort of see why, they're a little steep. But everything else is extremely cheap. No off field paint is a big thing at Desert Fox, mainly to prevent frozen paintballs.

Rules- simple. keep your goggles on when they say goggles on, put your barrel plug on when they say barrel plug on. No blind fire. Surrender rule- if you're behind someone by about 10 feet, give them a chance to give up instead of pointblank shooting them. If they turn around, shoot em. Box knock rule- knock on the bunker and everyone inside is dead, rather then light up the people inside. No wiping. The basics.

Services- If you've rented a gun, you get free air all day and there is a van on the field where you can air up between every game if you so wish. That way you don't have to go down to the shop all the time. If you have CO2 it's a little less convenient because you do have to go to the shop, and it's charged to fill it up. If you're having a problem with your rental, go to a ref, and they'll see if they can fix it. If they can't you get a new rental.

Refs- they're mainly there to make sure you don't get your eye shot out. Goggles Barrel plug goggles barrel plug. They can't be everywhere on the field at once and if there's a lot of people they don't catch everything. If they see blind fire they yell. If they're near by and you call a hit on someone they will go check to see if you hit them. Then there's one in the tower in the center of the field.

Proshop- Non-existant.

Players- Most of the people who come are new, or just there for the fun of it. There are a couple people who come out every weekend and some who come out once a month. It's a nice mix and the refs know the regular "pros" (the people who are at a higher skill level) and they split the teams up evenly. There is a variety of guns you see there too. You can have any gun as long as it isn't set to semi or auto.

Food- There isn't any at the field. Bring your own.


Over all, I love the field. Nice people, fun time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

*^RwK^* Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
sudden impact
Directions
to the Field:
head east till you hit Houghton then take a right on Houghton keep going till you go over a railroad track the look to the right for a sign saying desert fox. it should be the first or second turn to the left. you head down a road and about 150 to 350 feet down the road look to the left and your there.
Review: DESERT FOX PAINTBALL
9651 S. Houghton Rd.
Phone# 520-574-9232
Friday 10-6 * Saturday9-5 * Sunday9-2 got this off desertfoxpaintball.com
the price to rent is 25 or 35 dollars. if you bring your own gun you have to by there paint and it will cost 10-threw how ever much paint you buy. field fee is $10 500 paintballs are $20 then $40 for 1000, and for 2000 $65. here is what the rentals come with:



ON FIELD OFF FIELD SPECIAL
$25.00 $25.00 $35.00
Semi-Auto Semi-Auto Semi-Auto
200 RDS 200 RDS 500 RDS
All CO/2 All CO/2 All CO/2
GOGGLES/MASK GOGGLES/MASK GOGGLES/MASK
FIELD FEE ----N/A---- FIELD FEE



HAVE FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Last edited on Wednesday, December 12th, 2007 at 9:10 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

drainhed Saturday, September 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Desert Fox is the only field I've ever played at.
Directions
to the Field:
It's off the East side of Houghton, between Mary Ann Cleveland Roadand I-10
Review: Like I said this is the only place I've played, so I don't have anything to compare it to but here goes anyways
Safety-
Players are required to wear goggles during the games, before the games, and until the refs see that everyone's barrel plug is in. The rules they have pretty much all promote safety(surrendering, getting 'knocked', and bunkering rules all help prevent close shooting). All guns are Chronoed to below 290 fps, usually to around 270-285, but only once.

Prices-
Rentals at $25 for a Tippman Pro-Carbine with 200 rounds, $35 for the Carbine with 500 rounds, and $10 more for an A-5. All rentals come with all day air. If you bring your own gun, it's a $10 fee. CO2 refills are $5 for a 20oz I think. it is field paint only, with a $45 case of Kick'n (changes sometimes- I went a month ago and it was something else) and $60 for a case of 'premium' paint(not sure what this is, I always go cheap). Field fees and gun rentals carry over from Saturday to Sunday.

Players-
there is usually around 40 people. Almost everybody there is there just to have fun, and more than half are usually renters, so hardly anybody shoots hot, wipes, or gets really pissed at dying.

Field-
It is massive, with an extensive trench system, bunkers, barrels, spools, bushes, but no cactus. They play many different game types, but elimination is the most common. The fields huge size allows for the teams to maneuver against each other, and it is impossible to hit somebody on the opposite side of the field. they change the layout of the field 3-4 times a year, so it doesn't get old since you can rarely use every part in a day.

Food-
Only what you bring. there is a soda and powerade machine, and jugs of water at the field.

I hope you find this review useful-
8/10
Last edited on Saturday, September 23rd, 2006 at 6:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

QuickOne Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sudden Impact. Best field tucson has.. end of story.
Directions
to the Field:
on houghton road. if you heading towards the fairgrounds, its on your left hand side. theres a big sign that says "Desert Fox Paintball"
Review: Safety- i give it a 5/10. they have a goggles on rule, and a barrel condom rule. but thats about where it stops. when you get on the field, they dont care if you have your plug/condom on or not. people are checking their guns, paint is flying around, they dont enforce the blindfire rule that they state in their orentation speech. i noticed it happening yesterday and talked to the owner about it, and he said "i really dont care, ill let the reffs worry about that. but im sure they dont care either." not even kidding here.

Fields- i give it a 6/10. its huge, and its got many bunkers and things to hide behind. but game play is very very slow. myself, as a tourney player doesnt like slow play at all. so, if you like senario type games, i guess you would like the field.

Hours of Opperation- i think its like 9-130ish. which is good, but i wish they started earlier since it gets reallly really hot at noon.

Prices- prices are rediculous. id give them a 5/10. the field is FPO (field paint only) and the cheapest case of paint is $45. now, when you think of a case for $45, you would think its actually "good" paint.... WRONG. i opened it up and it looked like it had been sitting for months on end. paint was dimpled all over. i took out my calipers and measured the paint on 2 different axises. at the seam, it was anywhere from .675-.696, on the other axis, it was anywhere from .645-.660. some might say it doesnt make a difference, but it really does. you can see paint flying in different directions. other than paint prices, everything else is reasonably priced. $15 gets you field entry and all day air. and rentals are $25-$35 for tippmans.

Rules- they have them... but dont enforce them. the only rule they enforce is goggles on beyond X point. thats all. i had to tell multiple people to put their barrel condom on in the camp so i dont loose an eye.

ProShop- there realy isnt one. they sell barrel condoms and paint pods... i think thats about it.

Refs- i give them a 1/10 honestly. theres 1 ref sitting in a tower that cant even see the whole field. then theres one cruising around the perimiter in a golf cart. they dont care about anything like wiping or penalties. all they do is blow their wistle to start/stop the game.

Players- this is probably the strongest point. everybody is out there to have fun, so everybody is nice to each other, which makes that part cool. nobody really takes playing there seriously or competitively.

Facilities- i dont even remember seeing one.

Food- um... what food? they have 2 vending machies that sell drinks. no food here. if you want to drive about 8 miles theres a McDonalds. thats the closest thing to food here.

overall, id give Desert Fox a 3/10. Lets just say i wont be goign back there again when i have Sudden Impact only about 5 miles further.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

520balla Saturday, July 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sudden Impact
Directions
to the Field:
Exit 275 off I-10
Review: Fun recball...Refs don't pay attention and it really is based on the trust system. Nice obstacles, but it's still just a desert. Their is nothing there so pack lunch and after a while it gets boring. The staff is RUDE. Paint is overpriced, but the entry fee is only $10. It was fun, but there were flaws...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

He Is Legend Thursday, March 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in area, I've heard of a field owned by Paintball Unlimited in the area, the "Wastelands" (or wastelandz) but have yet to find it.
Directions
to the Field:
Wow, get off the I-10 on Houghton road, um, gee, if your heading in town, you'll make a right onto houghton, and if your going out of town, you'll make a left. Its about amile from the free way, on the right side, its a little road that goes off to the right.

Just go to their site.....
Review: Ok, So I just played there with my church, (me and about 20 other people), and there were already about 30 or 40 people there, so it was a lot of people. The field was really nice, lots of bunkers, tons of stuff to hide behind. Basically they have gathered up anything that you can hide behind, and put it on the field, this includes old tires, spools, oil drums, ply wood, and spools. And for some reason about a dozen of those little drums that you see on farms that have milk in them, the little two foot high things made out of steel. They dont really do much though, lol.

Lets see, the entire place is on ten acres, I believe the most they have ever used was seven acres. The other three comprise a parking lot the shop and a little "staging area" Just a couple tables under a aluminum cover.

They had about maybe five acres open that day, so it was pretty big. They have a couple beat up chop top cars to run you onto the field, unless you feel like a little warm up walk of about a quarter mile to the field.

The refs were ok, not over bearing, not-not paying attention.

Thye usually had about half hour games. They either had a capture the flag game, you know, go get the flag at the middle of the field and dont get shot doing it. and a two flag game, where you had to raise a flag at both ends of the field to win. The single flag game was usually more fun because all the fighting was concentrated into one area around the flag, and flanking was just useless.

The "flag" was a ratty old bath towel looking thing that had bright tape tied around it at several places.


The shop had the necassary stuff, paint, CO2, and very very basic spare parts, like o-rings and stuff. They sold a couple used guns, but that was it. If your line broke, they weren't gunna have it. They have an awesome sign at the shop though, "NO SNIVELING!" HA! TAKE THAT YOU LIBERALS!!! lol. The guy who ran the shop was a fair kinda guy.

THEY DONT ALLOW OFF FIELD PAINT!!!! AGH!!!!!!!!! That is really the only draw back that I can see, besides a 20 OZ Co2 fill costing you five bucks. They sell Kickin' Paintballs there, the sell the rec, metalix, and premium. I would buy the Metalix, which run 60 bucks a case (way over priced, should be more like 45 a case) its actually pretty good paint, but beware, the bright purple fill will stain your clothes if you don't wash them within 24 hours.

They rent Tippmann Pro Carbines with HPA's, but they're only what looks like 42 CI 1500 PSI tanks, so your running low after about 180 shots, which really really sucks. But thankfully they have free air all day for their rentals. Truthfully I hate their rentals, maintly because they can chop, and then the already sucky accuracy gets worse.

$25 gets you a pro carbine with 200 paintballs
$35 gets you a pro carbine with 500 paintballs
and a $10 upgrade to any of those gets you an A-5 with HPA, not a half way bad gun.

If you Plan on renting, just get the A-5, or bring your own gun. All the rental masks they have are really really scratched up inside, which blows.

They rent Camo and stuff there wich is cool.


Safety is a priority there, if you haven't played there before (or even if you have) you get a little ten minute speach about safety "never take off you goggles" "don't shoot some one point blank" "if you see a snake, either run away screaming like a girl, or shoot it in the head a dozen times" stuff like that.

Their hours are fairly ok, When school is in, they are only open on the weekends, from nine, till usually about 4:30, when ever most of the people leave or the refs get hungry and cranky enough. But during summer and spring break and big holidays (christmas mainly) they open during the week.

Rules are pretty straight forward, no full auto, and no shooting some one from paint blank, no hitting, cussing (that rule doesn't work very well) no fighting or anything. Basically they wan't you to have a fun enjoyable experience, not some day down in the dust, fighting with other players (some of which deserve to die)

My worst story for the players there is this one kid on my team got in a bunker, (I was out) and a vet from the other team saw him, and shot him about ten times, and yelled " YOUR HIT!!" so he looks, and looks, for about half a minutes, and CANNOT find a break on him. so he yells back "I'm not hit!" (I checked him, he wasn't hit) so the other kid just empties litterally about 80 paintballs on this poor guy (the first time he's played paintball) and says "YOUR HIT NOW!!" which ofcourse he was.
And when your out, you either go to the "main bunker" and sit there, or go to the nearest edge, where ofcourse, you still get hit with paintballs, not fun.

they don't have any food there, they have a poweraid maching and a soda machine, a water fountain and thats it.

They have the main field and what looks like a small scenario field. The latter of which I could not see inside.

All in all, its a pretty fun place to play, prices for paint are a little high, but its good paint.

Its the only field close to vail, so its not like there is another choice.

I would go there, the field fee is seven bucks last time I checked, and thats the only real fee you have to pay, besides paint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ion_owner Monday, June 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
that sudden impact feild
Review: Ok well i just played at this feild this weekend and im a tourniment player but i give the feild props see i came to this feild wit my friend just to mess around and it was a nice feild. Its a big feild u have to go in these little cars to get up to the feild thats how big it was. the paint that they sell was Kick'n paintballs from all these reviews that said these paintballs suck are wrong and right they arent that bad the only prob was they are are not worth the $60 they charge for them it would be worth it to buy that paint at maybe $40 but still. their rentals are pro carbines wit nitro!! (the first feild ive been to that used nitro with their rentals) their prices arnt that bad $5 for all day air thats pretty good. o and if u ever play at this feild dont go under the mill lookin thing it smells like A** probly from the mud or somthin and they have an airplane in the feild but they say dont go in it becuase its a death trap. another problem was they dont sell food but they have two gatorade machines that arnt crappy so thats good it will take ur dollar bills first try lol. the refs werent that bad and if u got mad becuase they yelled at u then ur retarded cuz they are only tryin to do their job and keep u safe i didnt have a problem wit the refs i think they did a great job so ya well all in all i give this feild an 8 becuase of the paint price and the no food sales. and the really bad smelling mill thing lol
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media