paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Desert Fox Paintball Field / Desert Fox Paintball Field / Desert Fox Paintball Field / Desert Fox Paintball Field

Desert Fox Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
31Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 520-574-9232
Address: 9651 S. Houghton Rd
Tucson, Arizona 85747
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
The Golden Gun Wednesday, June 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Many
Review: Well this is my first post on this forum so I'll try to make it insiteful as ever. My family moves alot and I have had the oppurtunity to play at many different fields. Frankly I really dislike DF and SI. Why pay 65 a case when u can buy one for 40 and get some freinds and just hike into the desert. I know we're in Arizona but by god there aren't cactus everywhere people. I forget who said they drove from Texas to play at DF but I would ask you why in the world you would do such a thing. My absolute favorite course so far out of the ones across the country I've played at, is Hells Surviors in Pinckney Michigan. It is massive compared to DF and SI. Its mostly all forest and trenches and buildings so basically the basics of any course but on a huge scale. Anyway so far I'm really against playing in courses down here just from the price and the fact that you can get the same excitment for 40 bucks and some friedns in the desert. O ya and my name is Golden gun because I play with 2 Zues G2 plus Gold's, not because of the james bond movie.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

The Ed Sunday, April 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sudden Inpact (45 min away)
Review: Really there are two main fields in Tucson Desert Fox and Sudden Impact. I played my first game of paintball at Desert Fox so it is the "type" of field I am used to.

Field Construction
One BIG field that can be played in a variety of ways: north south, east west, capture the flag, bunker wars, and sometimes the ref come up with new types of games. There are also some hyperball/ speedball/ spool fields that rec walk ons dont use (to my knowledge)
The main field is constructed of many types of obstacles spools, barrels, brush, buildings, trenches etc, also one thing I like is there are no cactus on the main field ( bug plus in tucson) Also the buildings throughout the field are labeled, so telling a newbie to shoot the Pizza Hut is a lot more effective than telling him to watch the building over there that has windows....

Costs:
I have no clue why people in past reviews complain about the fees at desert fox. I have no problem the Field Paint Only rule. I think the reason its field paint only is because they have no off field store meaning their revenue has to come from paint sales. Sudden Impact however has two stores and basically if you play there you prolly bought you paint from them @ about 65 a case. Desert Fox Charges 65 a case too, not a bad deal and Kick'n paintballs are not the worst nor the best, a good overall rec paint. All day air is 5 bucks I think, and having a 47 3000 tank this is a lifesaver. Admission is 10 bux and it carries over from Sat to Sunday. They have some basic parts for sale and some basic guns, i think. My only gripe is they do not have food, they do however have two vending machines for drinks. The lack of food is not a problem really because I usually bring a ton of snacks anyways.

For renters they offer a comlepte package with a Procarbine or A5 not some piece of crap blowback piranha that is falling apart =). The package includes essentials mask, tank (hpa), gun, and paintballs.

Reffing/ Safety:
Unlike other fields this place has actual refs, not some 16 year old punk standing around picking up paintballs but an actual ref. They have a ref tower that is occupied by two refs. They also usually have someone totin around in a golf cart checking all the major areas. Also the dead zones are in three main places so wipers aren't always a problem. Besides refs shouldn't have to baby sit you during a walk on game filled with renters... Refs are strict about masks, hot guns, cheating, unsafe play in general, off field paint (dunno who'd be stupid enough to bring some), barrel plugs etc.. Chronoing of markers is taken seriously and if your shooting hot you dont play.

Players:
Yes Desert Fox does attract more rec ballers than speedballing pros but this does not make it a bad place. There are some regulars and seasoned players, but they do not sport ramping DM4's, but A5s. Yesterday I recall one player saying he was on a 500 ball diet. Playing at Desert Fox makes you a better player, you become aware of your surroundings, more accurate with your marker, and you become tactically smarter. The renters at DF can be just as good as seasoned players for the renters haven't been introduced to the cliches of paintball, such as shooting tons of paint and wiping. Also teamwork is much more a necesity at Desert Fox because being flanked is one major thing to watch out for. The crowd varies from 30-40 to around 20. Teams are grouped by palyers who wish to be put together and by known skill level.

Overall I have found Desert Fox to be one of the beter fields in Tucson also it is only a 20 minute drive for me makign it my field of choice.
Last edited on Sunday, April 3rd, 2005 at 10:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

skypirate Monday, March 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sudden impact
Review: i've played on this Field ever since i started paintballing, i have also played on sudden impact for the same amount of time. so i feel that i can give an unbiased opinion on both Fields.

first off, whipping, as i said i have played at both Fields many times and it really depends on what day you go.whipping accrues at both Fields. some days are just better then others. why? because Tucson is a small town and there is no player that has been to just one of either of the Fields. many players switch off every other weekend. so the whole whipping argument applies to both Fields not just one.

secondly the refs, i have Friends that ref at both Fields. the refs at SI are morons and the refs ar DF are a$$holes. that's just the way it is. a ref at SI couldn't divide 2 teams into 4, they have a total disregard for safty.(i've never had to crono my gun nor prove i was 18 to do away with the parent sig.) now the refs at DF do nothing but yell at you when you don't surender players and commit other "dangerous" plays. (theres a "play at your own risk" for a reason). over all i'd rather have a a$$hole then a moron.

thirdly, the Field it's self. now this is just a matter of option. DF has one huge Field and SI has a lot of small Fields. but again DF is more for rec. and SI is more for serious players.

fourthly, price. DF's paint is way over priced and it sucks!!! i hate that paint. and i hate paying for it. 65 for that stuff? i can get the same quality for 40 bucks at PBHQ. the only thing to do is to pay 5 more bucks and upgrade to the metallic. it shoots just as well as evil and the others. now 10 bucks for 2 days of play is a good deal and 5 for all day air. (with your own tank) is a deal to. i'm not sure how much SI's fee is or if it carries over. i don't even know what there air fee is. (i've never paid, if they don't check chronos, then they certainly don't check for air fees at the fill station.) all i know is that i can shoot a $40 case, and at the end of the day SI is a lot cheaper.


my option i like both the Fields and hate them at the same time. (why can't we get an indoor Field?) neither of the Fields are spectacular, but neither is horrible at the same time.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

NDPenner Thursday, January 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: I played here just once, and that was enough for me. The field layout is pretty cool, but the reffing (one guy sitting in a tower signalling when the game starts and stops) wasn't the best. Lots of wipers that day. The paint is friggin' expensive. Shoots ok, but geesh! Close to $70 a case. All in all, it was a really cool layout. The War Wagon rox! I just wish the paint had been cheaper or more of a selection and the we all know how well the "honor system" worx with a bunch of little kids, so reffing could've been better.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Willnoteatraweg Wednesday, September 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sudden Impact. aka
Review: This was my first field ive played on besides in washes and peoples backyards and i must say i love it. Ive played sudden impact and i love speedball but its too far away if ur unfamiliar its about and hour and a half drive from north east tucson and is on Tangerine road which i kinda in the middle of nowhere. Desert Fox is much different a rec ball field its huge thoiugh and its great for recball they have speedball fields but im not sure how u get on them they only thing tht isnt great about the place is u have to buy their paintballs and its a lot 65 for a case but worth it if u enjoy recball if ur a newbie deffinitly go there over Sudden Impact where the players for the most part it seems like r much more experienced also at desert fox safter is their number one concern and are very organized HUGE field and lots of cool bunkers and trenches.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KalynSS999 Thursday, August 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sudden Impact, Better than Desert Fox
Review: Desert Fox was the first field i've played on. Its an alright field. They are very professional as far an introduction, and safety rules. As for the Operating proceedures, they follow by everything their insurance company says so its pretty safe.
Paint: Kickn Paintballs, ok not the greatest paint in the world. Hella expensive like 65 bucks for a case. No BYOP (Bring your own paint) which kinda sucks. Field is really big. Lotta newbie. Field fee not bad. lotta the pro players there cheat just cause they dont want to be taken out by the newbs ie wiping, ripping on little kids. Most of the refs are nice, however they only have 2 refs at a time which isn't very effective. But there is this one ref who was really unprofessional. Not nice, told the kids not to cuss, yet he still did. No food, so you have to bring your own food. Its not a bad field if your just rec balling and SI is too far.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DirtySoufBalla! Thursday, May 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This park is for newbies. So anyone that is looking for a good game with good skill then dont look here. Speedball players stay away. They have one field and it is all rock and sand. Great for the knees and elbows. They do have other fields but i didnt check them out since Im a speedball playa.

The staff at the front office had some objective views about certain paintball products and totally dissed a couple of paint companies. They only carried one certain paintball brand and that was 'Kick'n Paintballs'. They must have sponsorship with them. Cause for them to say Marbalizer and Evil brand paintballs suck is to say that u must not have been around paintball long enough to know what your talking about.

I may be biased towards certain type of style of paintball but I think in order to accomadate all kinds of paintball players u must have everything. I will not be going back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Winkdogydog101 Saturday, April 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
sudden impact WAY WAY WAY WAY BETTER EVERYONE
Review: ok simple they are HORRIBLE. THe big field is cool I enjoy the space. However they ONLY inforce the RULES make them money/ possible bad publicity. At sudden impact this kid broke his leg there just today and he was over 12 and they handled it well. I don't see why desert fox cant. My friend wanted to go with me ( i sold my spyder victor 2 to) they wouldn't let him play because he was 11. WHICH WAS SUPER DISSAPOINTING. And ive played at sudden impact ever since. The people them selves are really nice tho. But when it comes to reffing they just sit there. You can ask for a paint check and they'll do it ever 1/7 times. Personally i haven't gone to a worse field. It has ALOT OF noobs there so if u feel like owning up heres your chance.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

revivaltuc Thursday, March 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dm Airbase all others Visited but never Played there.
Review: Desert Fox is nice in one aspect that you can find places to take a break and stand up during a game. The other fields your on the ground and things are tight from start to finish. Your in the dirt alot. No grass in the desert at these fields.

The owner is nice but really lacks vision for the place. There is so much more that can be done. Talking to him one time - he said that he would clear the land and put up a self-storage facility it the land was his. No vision. This is bad because Tucson can use a really nice field. Even the other places have too little vision. I know it costs money, but that is what partners are for.

The refs are decent, players are usually pretty good. Sometimes too much time between games. No food, sometimes the water is not replenished. Misters are broken and right now the water to the field is broken. Desert Fox is the best of the lot for Tucson, nice bunkers many places to move around, but far from where it could be. If there are some people interested in building a new field and serious about it. I could kick in 50,000 to 100,000. ps I'm no kid.

Bring your own food and drink, it will be a good day because playing paintball anywhere is more fun than not playing at all.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

BBornman Tuesday, March 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in area. Several in PA.
Review: We came to Tucson for a visit and decided to try out the field. The field was pretty good. It was really big with alot of good bunkers and odds and ends to hide behind. The refs and owner were friendly and did an okay job keeping things safe. The price was quite reasonable, especially by east coast standards and the paint was ok. The refs tried to mix up different games to keep it interesting.

The down side- I have never seen so much wiping and poor sportsmanship by the locals anywhere else I have played. Every time certain locals would shoot someone out, they would scream at the top of their lungs that the person was out and to get off the field. At one point, two locals got into it during a game and ran right up to each other while continuously shooting each other and almost ended it in a brawl. One of the refs said that they are often like that. In my opinion, if these players are always like this, they should not be playing there anymore. There were families there and young kids. This is supposed to be fun and some yahoo locals that can't control themselves can really take the fun out of it. I don't know enough about the economics of Tucson to know if the field needs these players, but it seems that they would do better to try to keep the rec players to themselves and play the high strung players on another field or not at all. I've been playing for a long time and on lots of fields and this was the worst display of unsportsmanlike conduct I have ever seen. Considering I have been to some of the D-Day games with 1700+ people, that is saying something. It may have been a fluke, but a good field with polite and friendly refs shouldn't need to put up with three or four players that intimidate and ruin the fun for the other sixty people.

All in all a good field. Would definitely go back but may turn around an leave if certain players are there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media