paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Desert Fox Paintball Field / Desert Fox Paintball Field / Desert Fox Paintball Field / Desert Fox Paintball Field

Desert Fox Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
31Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 520-574-9232
Address: 9651 S. Houghton Rd
Tucson, Arizona 85747
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
mike31c Wednesday, December 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
"Boomtown" (part of westworld) in Phoenix: Very Nice Night Games when I was there!
Review: The last time I was here at DF, It was 1992 and I drove over 350 miles from Texas to play HERE. I played here about a dozen or more times in '92 so I think I still can give an unbiased report of this field.

I remember the first time I went to this Field. I had never seen a field this massive. We played on "equal" teams, only played a certain section at a time, it still gave us players space to move around. None of that "let's all hide behind this one bunker" thing.

I thought the CTF games were much better because no one had the equipment to "hose down the field". Strategy, and outwitting your opponent was the name of the game, NOT how much paint I can throw at them. I really loved that airplane that was on the field (is it still there?). At the time, you did NOT have a clear field of vision of what was around you so teams used it as a trap. Sometimes Both teams would use it as a trap at the same time and not notice what their opponents are doing. Many people got trapped there including myself.

The owner was running the show and being the ref on the field. There was about 50-60 people there and there was no issue about "not enough refs" because we all played safe and didn't worry about wiping or shooting hot guns because things like that did NOT happen as often as it does now. Yes, it was actually quite rare to see a player wipe a hit in 1992!

Rude refs?? I never see rude refs, no matter where I play at. I see ref's yelling at people for doing stupid things like taking off your masks while "game on", shooting WAY hot guns on the field, shooting their markers or not having a barrel plug while in the "safe zone". And in case I do forget, I thank the refs for stopping me from leaving the gaming area unless I have a barrel plug in the marker and to remind me to keep my mask on until I enter the safe area.

Mr. Y was about as friendly to ME as to anyone else that came onto his field. But then again, you might try to be friendly and ask questions too if the "new guy" claims to be coming from Texas to play in Arizona, in a car with California Plates on it :) In between games, he talked to players, made sure everyone was doing OK, and basically, doing what any owner would do: Make the place safe and enjoyable.

$65.00 for a case of paint? That's not unreasonable. I think, we paid $40 for 500 back in the day. Food/water issues? I Don't remember, but then again, I have always brought my own food/water. Think about it: The field is called "Desert Fox". You might need water! It's like thinking "Ice Castle in Alaska: You might need a jacket."

Too much lag time? I don't know, me being an older player, I appreciate the time between games. lol

My only negative comment about this field is that he didn't have 12grams! :-) I had to drive over 100 miles to Phoenix to get 12grams! Yes, I did a LOT of driving just to play paintball. BTY, are you still finding old, rusting 12grams scattered about in your field Mr. Y? I tried to pick them all up while I was playing. Honestly! :-)

In any case, I am giving this field the Best Rating I can. And perhaps, if I am lucky, I will come back to this field sometime in the Spring. And I might even have as much fun now as I did back in 1992.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

necbr Sunday, September 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sudden Impact
Review: The field isn't all that great. It's just one big field, where you play over and over and over (if you're in recball) they have two tournament fields, which were fun because I practiced with my team.

But..The paint they have sucks. They use Kick'n and it always bounced, whether it was me or someone else. The entry fee is $10, $2 cheaper than Sudden Impact, In the summer. But Sudden Impact has a way better selection.

All day air, is ok, good price. But you can't even fill it up yourself.
So like, I'm giving this field a 5 because of the ONE HUGE field they got.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GT2K Friday, August 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sudden Impact. How does it compare? It DOESN'T!!
Review: Iíve been going to Desert Fox off and on for about 10 years now so I think I am qualified to give a decent review of the field. To the person who said the paint is REFURBULOUSLY overpriced, I congratulate you on your ability to make up a word that no one has ever heard of before. I think DF is far and away better than Sudden Impact, others will disagree but Iíve played both and I prefer DF. Here are some of my observations:

Price Ė 10 bucks for 2 days of all day play. Guns are Tippmann Carbines or A-5ís. 25 bucks for gun, mask, air, and 200 rounds. Five bucks for all day air. Pretty good deal in my book.

Paint Ė Decent quality Kickín paint at 65 bucks a case. Yes the paint is overpriced but all field paint is overpriced. If you were to buy a case of 40 dollar paint on the net it would cost you 50-55 dollars with shipping included, so itís a difference of 10 or 15 dollars. You know what happens when people bring their own paint? They buy Wal-Mart BE or Dusk paint that 1) doesnít break 2) if it breaks it stains your clothes and 3) hurts like hell when you get hit. Sudden Impact charges 65 bucks for crappy Attitude field paint but I donít see any of the other reviewers crying about that. Some fields in Phoenix charge upwards of 80 bucks a case. Remember that these people are running a business and deserve to turn a profit.

Refs Ė Most of them are good, some are average. When you have 50+ people on one field of this size you definitely need more than 2 refs. That is something they need to work on IMO. They are VERY safety conscious and are quite blunt about removing your dumb a$$ if you remove your mask during a game. They are helpful for the most part (when they arenít watching TV in the ref tower lol) and are willing to offer suggestions on game tactics if you ask them. I heard a kid got molested by a ref out at Sudden Impact once, so consider that the next time you drop your brats off out there.

Game Speed Ė This is the only significant issue I have with DF, the lag time between games. There have been times when we have waited upwards of half an hour between games. They could do a better job of keeping the games running with no more than 10-15 minutes between games.

Repair Ė Ok all you Spyder fans out there, read this: One of the most common ways to reduce velocity is to CUT a coil or two off of your main spring. If you hand them your gun and say ďItís shooting hotĒ chances are good they are going to cut your spring. If they somehow cut too much off and youíre shooting 230 then they definitely owe you a new spring. Or better yet, buy some spares and keep them with you just in case. They donít work on Cockers at DF so donít even ask. Many times they will do minor repairs for free, try getting that over at PBHQ.

Field Ė Good size, lots of bunkers, trenches, tires, etc. Once youíve been out there a few times you can figure out what spots are good and what spots to avoid. They have a mist system that they use during the summer to help with the high temps.

I enjoy playing out at Desert Fox. I am giving it an 8 because of the occasional down time in between games and the lack of referees . Sudden Impact is totally unorganized with regard to safety and refs. Tucson is lucky to have access to a good field like Desert Fox.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

ninja Monday, May 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sudden impact
Review: Desert fox has the making of an excellent field but! You have to buy there paint. 65.00 for basic kick'n balls. Which are huge! there fields don't change much at all. The refs just kinda stand around and do nothing. They really don't know much about guns. As soon as my spyder was shooting 295 they cut my spring. Which is fine but they cut it so short that i was shooting 230fps. They did not replace my spring. the field is cool if you like the whole mad max feel of rec ball. There were also some wierd military old guys who were kinda scary. Like Training for war which paintball should not really represent.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rukahs Wednesday, April 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Its a good field. Really big. Lots of bunkers, spools, cars to hide behind. Field Fee is only $10 and its good for all weekend. Wut sucks is the fact that cant bring your own paint and have to pay the ridulous $65 a case for some crappy Kick N paintballs. The new refs are nice, but there's only two of them so you jus have to trust that ppl will be honest.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TucsonTom Tuesday, April 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sudden Impact. I like it too! Smaller fields, but more of them. There's a real love/hate thing going on with other people posting, but I thing there's plenty of room in Tucson for two paintball fields.
Review: Desert Fox is a huge PB field. It changes all of the time too. They keep adding things, moving them around, etc. There are usually big crowds on Saturday (40-100 players) and smaller ones on Sunday (15-50). There's usually a good mix of newbies and experienced players. Every other Sunday the tournament teams practice in the speedball fields next to the Rec. field and sometimes teams will play too. $10 gets you field fees for the whole weekend. All day air for both days is $5. The reviewers saying they charge $10 for air and that they don't have compressed air are wrong. The refs. are very experienced and cool dudes. They have one in a central tower and at least one other in a golf cart. They communicate via walkie-talkie and they do a good job of keeping things in order. They require field paint which is $65 for a case of OK purple paint, or $75 for a case of pretty good two-color paint. Kickn brand. Contrary to other reviews, they play several different games: east-west and north-south elimination (very different games on this huge field,) center flag from both directions, and occasionally bunker games. Sometimes they play scenarios which are played on an even bigger field and are non-stop action. I love it!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

master153 Wednesday, March 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sudden Impact
Review: Desert Fox is the first real field that I have ever played at. I thought it was awesome. It was of massive size so everyone there plays on the same field, which is about 60 to 70 people. I've only been there about 4 times but everytime I've gone there has been at least 60 people, thats 30 on each team. Thats what gives this place the thumbs up is the big field and lots of people. Now the down side is, Buying paint from them, it pisses me off expensive paint and air is sold at like 5 bucks for a 20. The paint isnt to great but acceptable to play with. The field is very strategic it looks like there has just been a big battle in the desert everything all blown to SH*T. Little half built wooden houses tires laying around trenches with tumble weeds and little masquit trees in them. It can be very dangerous if your not careful I ran up against a bored and hit it backwards and the back of a nail that was sticking out stabbed me in the ass and I hurt my ankle on a sudden 3 foot drop other than that I was never seriously hurt. Its an awesome and very creative field leaving you with lots to do while in battle. If you love running fast and flanking you must go to this field its so big you can go right up the middle sometimes and not even get shot at. SPECTATING! I love watching paintball sometimes its funner to be dead than it is to play. In the middle of the field there is some weird water tower thing and u can climb up the stairs and watch the game from above. To spectate there you gotta get shot near their or the ref will driect you to a side line. Their is usually only 2 refs on the big field so just shoot the hell outa some one until they say "hit" because its hard to get a paint check sometimes so just keep shooting until the dumba$s knows he is really hit.
Over all I give the field a 9 its an awesome field and the best I've been to, now that Ive written this I got the urge to go back again ;)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sktELEMENT Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I havn't played any other fields in this area because I live in Washington.
Review: I really enjoyed this field, I have played at one indoor in Illonois and about 3 up in washington and this is the best one so far. Although I first tried paintball when I was 8 i havn't gotten into it until recently. This field is HUGE it has many cars and obstacles to go through, a mill of somesort, and even an old airplane, multiple tire bunkers, one huge tire bunker, ditches to crawl through, tubes, and many wooden forts. paint isn't too expensive and neither is the field play or rental. I've had so much fun each time i went and highly recomend it compared to the fields in washington that are filled with trees and bushes that also make it difficult to run in.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

painthose Thursday, March 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sudden impact.......totally sucks
Review: I have played a t desert fox for a few months now and have been overall very happy with them. There field is huge, and for me that is great. They also have some speedball fields buy you dont usually get to play on them. They have have field paint only (Kickn paint) the price is about average for the quality of paint you get. I have never had any real problems with the paint myself. Most of the poeple I saw haveing "problems" with it were usually not very good players and were blaming the paint for them getting shot! Every time I have been there they have always had HPA availabe for $5 all day. there prices are the same or lower than sudden impacts field all around. One of the things I like the most is the time inbetween games is much shorter compared to sudden impact. The cheating at desert fox seems alot less also..
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dhee1 Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
sudden impact-more fields, better equipped, byop if you want
Review: Basically one large good field and you start the same elimination game from different sides. Set up as a beginner field. No compressed air or nitro, so-so field paint, one brand/size. the refs were good when I was there and the field is interesting but a little boring playing the same game over and over again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media