paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Pentagon Paintball Discount Pro Shop and Fields / Pentagon Paintball Discount Pro Shop and Fields / Pentagon Paintball Discount Pro Shop and Fields / Pentagon Paintball Discount Pro Shop and Fields

Pentagon Paintball Discount Pro Shop and Fields

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
63Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 814-474-5580
Address: 6901 Avonia Rd.(Rt 98)
Fairview, Pennsylvania 16415
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Splat22 Monday, October 4th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 2nd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
No previous experience on an organized field.
Review: Awesome Job!

I want to say thanks to Pentagon Paintball and H.O.F. (Hands of Fate) for putting together and awesome inaugural Black Hawk down scenario.

Sean and the great staff members of Pentagon are top notch. They don't mind taking the time out of their busy schedules to address customer questions or concerns. There is a full service pro shop with all the equipment you need for all levels of play. If your new to the sport or parents of a young one who is interested in the sport no worries your in good hands with this group because they pride themselves on safety first.

Once you have air and paint it's a short walk through the parking lot to a covered pavilion which is used as a staging area (there is also a BBQ pit and it's heated during winter months). Once your down here your one step closer to the action...refs provide additional rules, regulations and safety tips.

There's a field for every style of play, airball, woodsball (with a fort) and many others...with a number of building structures to spot your targets from a distance.

I've never played a scenario before so I was unsure of what to expect. The H.O.S. guys did a very good job creating the missions and objectives. They also did great job at explaining the specifics of each mission during breaks. I felt like there was a good amount of time given for each round to complete a mission.

The refs did a good job at monitoring play.

All in all I would absolutely play in future events and I highly recommend playing at this field no matter what your style or level of play is.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

ManOfManyNames Monday, October 4th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 2nd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: I had quite a good time being one of the generals for their Black Hawk Down scenario. The missions were well put together, and the guys that were running the game ( Hand of Fate, the field's home scenario team) did a good job of keeping things organized and as close to on-time as possible.
Would have been nice if the rain would have held off so that we could have kept more of our numbers, but what are you going to do?

Altogether, a solid effort for their first all-day scenario. I wait to see what the one in the spring will be like.
Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2010 at 12:30 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

junkseller Monday, October 4th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 3rd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Being new to the sport, I did not know what to expect for me and my 11 year old son.

I really was not a fan of my son getting shot up by little balls full of paint, but he persisted and off we went to Pentagon.

Pentagon is tops. After my son playing there the first time, I was impressed most with the SAFETY. Safety is never compromised at Pentagon. I am involved in a high voltage electrical career where safety is a top priority, so I know when a place of business has the right attitude and is serious about safety.

Pentagon fits the bill.

I won't even let my son play at home and we live on a farm. I want him in an environment where the players and the management just for starters, DEMAND barrel covers, and it just goes on from there.

Thanks Pentagon for keeping paintball, first of all safe, and then really a blast for my son.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spudcrazy Thursday, March 25th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This is a bit old, but I thought I would share (I will be returning this weekend). This is taken directly off my team webpage:

Much to my surprise, on my visit to my in-law's house, my wife allowed me to bring my paintball gear, so I did. Here's my review of Pentagon Paintball, Fairview, PA.

Pentagon Paintball is about 15 minutes from my in-law's house in Erie, PA. It is located just off of Rt. 98 in Fairview, PA. They are very unique in that they have a once a year “insurance” fee, which is really their field fee of $15, then after that, every Sunday walk-on play is FREE. However, it is a field paint only field and HPA is $1 for every 1000psi. But again the uniqueness of the field, they offer an HPA card for $39.99 which is also good for the year for unlimited air fills. If you play often, this is a total screamer of a deal. Paint prices range from $39.98/case for white box, to about $65.98/case for their premium. I bought their mid-grade paint, which was about $55/case, however, it was as good as any premium paint I have ever bought. All paint was a regional brand of JT.

The field itself is relatively small compared to what I am used to, but it plays large. As far as I know, they only have five, maybe six fields. One “woods” field (which I will describe later), two X-ball style fields, one air field, and one rather large and elaborate Fort field. They also have what they call an Arena field, which is a tiny X-ball style field, meant for one-on-one or two-on-two grudge matches; this was quite popular.

The pro-shop and field opens at 11 o'clock and not a minute beforehand. Registration is quick, especially if you've already played there before, you just buy paint and you're set. It's a short walk thru the parking lot to the field staging area. I was quite surprised and a bit concerned that there is no safety briefing or regulated chronoing, however, virtually everyone self-chrono'd and safety didn't seem to be a concern all day. The rules were strictly enforced and there were large signs indicating barrel condoms and goggle areas. There was one instance that a player thought another was shooting hot, so the ref had everyone shoot over the chrono before advancing to the next game, those with high markers were forced to re-set and rechrono.

Games moved along very rapidly. They were played in sets then you returned to the staging area. When a game was finished, you switched sides and played a second game. There was NO waiting in between games. As soon as the first one was called, you switched. Upon return to the staging area, you had about five minutes to reload then you were off to play another game. Since the games moved along so quickly, I had no problem sitting out a game or two, to take a break.

Teams were split as you took the field. Every other person went to the opposite side. I found it interesting that no one cared if they were playing against or with their buddies. It made for a great and diverse day since the teams were NEVER the same. Also, I have NEVER played paintball when there has been such a high level of sportsmanship. I don't know why, but I was glad to see it; not a single unsportsmanship event all day. One guy kind of overshot a younger kid during a bunker move. After shooting him, he went out of his way to apologize and actually called himself out. I wish there was that kind of sportsmanship everywhere. One note, since teams were reformed at every game set, there was no armbands to indicate who was on what side. For the most part this wasn't a problem (all games were elimination except the woods “capture and defend game). Until near the end of the game, especially if you came up on the opposing teams six, then you just had to shoot whoever you saw unless there was NO doubt that the players you were facing were on your side. However, it was never a problem, because it was just more people to shoot at!!!!

Now on to the playing… As most fields were of the speedball type, there isn't much to say about them. However, OMM would have been proud of “this” old man, because I did us proud. For the most part, I played middle, but when the games got stagnate, I ran for the front (all speed games were elimination). During one of the airball games, it was 4 of “us” left against 2 of “them”. “They” were heavy duty speedballers and we only had myself, one speedballer (who, ironically, was playing back barking orders), and two noobs. After low crawling up through the snake, I managed to take out one of the opponents completely on the other side of the field, which left one guy in the back Aztec holding the rest of us down. I knew if I put enough paint on the bunker, I could pop out and do a run through. I gathered my breath and took a run for it. I got him. However, he knew I was coming because he could hear all the paint hitting his bunker. I got him first, but he responded with about a half of pod of paint on me, I expected nothing less. It was awesome.

Pentagon Paintballs newest field, the Fort, was reminiscent of Splatbrothers, just a bit. They had a small trench system, tons of material bunkers, four two-story towers, two small buildings of rooms, and two ground level crow's nests. As with OMM style, I sat in the back to scope out the situation, then in Spud-style, I took off for the front. I partnered up with the one and only pump player, that was a clone of Aegis; fast & furious!!! We would basically own all four games played on this field, with the late exception of one game. Since they were elimination, two speedballers and about 4 young guns decide to camp out in one of the towers, very rarely ever even shooting their maker. Needless to say, when we finally rushed their last stronghold, we were outgunned. No harm, no foul, it was still a blast.

Lastly, I will mention the “woodsball” field that fell into the playing rotation. Woodsball was just a glorious name for a giant non-prickly thicket. The field would be set up in a “V” shape, with the legs of the “V” being about 8 foot wide open grass lined with bunkers. On one side of the “V”, in the alley-way was another three sided crow's nest. The inner part of the “V” was brush, with the widest part being loose woods with a castle at the back. This game was an assault & attack, with the flag hanging in the castle. The defending team started in the castle, while the attack team started at the point of the “V”. We defended first. Since the majority of the noobs and young guns wanted to stay in the castle, I decided to B-line it in the thicket. The attack team immediately took up positions along the alley-way and in the crow's nest. One attacker started in through the thicket, but I must have scared him out. Fortunately for me, he didn't bother attacking and just took a position in the crow's nest. Myself, along with one other guy traversed arms and legs through what appeared to be a varmint track. We ended up sneaking passed and behind the crow's nest. Having to keep the guy with me from screaming from excitement, we popped out and took out about 7 OPFOR all at once. Since we were getting shot at, we immediately headed for the other leg of the “V”, along with some of the defenders that were originally holding off the crow's nest. Since there was no armband tape, when we got to the other leg there was a bit of confusion about who was who. All the OPFOR had their backs to us, but then again, the remainder of the defenders that were holding that side of the “V” took us as enemy as well. Just then, one of the speedballers said, “hey OMM, what do we do?”, with that, I said, shoot anyone that moves until you stop taking paint, so that's precisely what we did. There were a few holdouts, but they made it a point to scream “WE'RE DEFENDERS”. With that, we totally won the game. I was delighted by the kudos; after all, this is what OMM does the best, right? Be sneaky.

The next game found us attacking the castle. In fear they would incorporate my plan, I told anyone that was will to crawl, to get into the thicket. Much to my surprise, the other side sent no one in the bush, so we immediately headed for the flag. The defenders kept no less than eight defenders in the fort. We did a one-by-one rush, knowing we would get eliminated, but not before we eliminated one, two, or three of them first. We figured it would weed them out. The plan worked. The four of us that headed through the bush got taken out, but that allowed our side to decimate the remainder of the defenders and take the flag.

All in all, I had a blast. I went through a case of paint in about 4 hours, however, in those four hours I PLAYED fifteen games and sat out two. They really move you along. I feel I did pretty decent at the “speedball” thing, but I was sore as can be for a week and I still need to work on shooting with both hands.

In conclusion, if anyone is up Erie, PA way, God forbid, you definitely should play this field, regardless how you feel about speedball or small fields. The player sportsmanship was as high as I have ever seen it, and you get to sling a lot of paint… I will be bringing my paintball gear as part of my regular “in-law” packing, from now on.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

yankeeshortfan2 Wednesday, February 17th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: February 14th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jaw? Never been there but I've heard of it. There are also many fields around my college that I've gone to.
Review: AMAZING place to play, shop, and just be at. The staff is second to none, everyone in there can give you an answer or if they don’t know, they can ask someone else who does. VERY straight forward with you even if it means a missed sale which is amazing to see. Prices are fair, field is amazing, store is even more amazing! I live an hour away and make the trip 2-4 times a month to take a look around. The owner, Sean, is very helpful and will go more than out of his way to make a customer happy. With all the fields and shops I’ve been at, there is a reason I continue my loyalty to Pentagon, it only takes one visit and you'll feel the same. Never heard anything bad nor do I expect to. A++

Thanks a lot for all the services!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sloppy Joe Sunday, February 14th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 13th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Battlefront in Ohio
Synergy Cleveland
Hell Survivor Michigan
Crazy Dave's South of mercer
Back yard games
Review: I just want to say that I have done a lot of pricing and buying and selling paintball stuff in the last 2 years and the prices at Pentagon are some of the if not the lowest prices I have seen anywhere (web or storefront). Sean the owner seems to do his best to give more than fair pricing on his new inventory.

I did notice that he had a section of used products on my last visit and I asked him about it. He said the stuff there is not "his". It is stuff that is on consignment and the pricing there is set by the people that own it, not him. The strange thing is if you are looking for a deal in his shop you may as well buy his new stuff. You will be hard pressed to find a better price on that.

He also offers many options of fields to play on if you are looking to do some shooting while you are there. From Speedball to scenario and woodsball. I personally like the scenario/woodsball and have enjoyed several games there last year and plan to attend some of the "free" Sunday play this coming year as well.

The pro-shop at Pentagon paintball in my opinion is second to none in pricing and the selection he has to offer.

I give him a 9 out of 10 because in my opinion there is only one 10/10 and He hasn't ever played paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pBallFreaK859 Monday, September 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 6th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Directions
to the Field:
6901 Avonia Rd,Fairview
Review: This is a great place to play paintball. The refs are awesome, and sometimes they will cook food for free. They tell you all you need to know about paintball. There are several fields to play on here. Each field is amazing. Their Pro Shop is awesome too. They are really cheap on prices. The rules are like any other place. The other players are nice to you too, they play fair, well most of them do. I highly suggest playing at Pentagon Paintball. It is a great place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaMoparMan Monday, August 24th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 23rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Riceville Paintball Park Route 77, Crawford County, Pennsylvania(CLOSED)
Private Ranges (Saegertown/Mercer)
Directions
to the Field:
LOCAL: Ashtabula or North East ... Route 20 (26th street/Buffalo Road) to Fairview. Then south on Avonia road/ Route 98. On left before I-90. OR I-90 to Fairview, Exit 16 (Avonia Road/Fairview/Rt 98) north .6 miles on right

Meadville/Edinboro .... Route 98 North 0.6 miles north of I-90
OR I-79 north to I-90west Exit 16 Avonia Road/Fairview/Rt 98 north .6 miles on right

NOT LOCAL...
Pittsburgh... I-79 north to I-90 West(Cleveland) Exit 16 Avonia (Road/Fairview/Rt 98) north .6 miles on right
Cleveland/Buffalo... I-90 towards Erie, Pa Exit 16 (Avonia Road/Fairview/Rt 98) north .6 miles on right

AT THE LOCATION... They have a large parking lot behind the store. From there it is easier to access both Pro-Shop and the Fields.

GPS... Refer to Website/Information from PBreview.
Review: Hours Of Operation: Store & Field Hours
Wed - Fri 2-9 PM Store/Reservations
Sat - Sun 11-5 PM Store/Sat Reservations
Wednesday FREE TECH NIGHT
Sunday 11-5 FREE Sunday play YEAR ROUND(10$ yearly fee)
Sunday Check Calender for Scenario Play/Specials
Sunday 5-7 Advanced Play
Monday/Tuesday Closed
SAFETY... The Safety at this field is top notch, The safe environment that is promoted by the Staff tends to spread among the players and that means everyone helps to keep you safe!
FIELDS... 5 fields that I played were set up in a way to maximize space, objects, direction of fire, safety, and accessibility, that only years of experience can create. The fort in the woods is a absolute blast! A trail leads around it with obstacles place for attackers and defenders alike. The fort is showing its age but PLEASE don't get rid of the fort:)(maybe renovation?) The other fields include a "Postal field" made of postal packing crates, Urban with spools and barrels, Air ball, and the Depot field with two forts, plenty of obstacles and a village. I didn't get to play a smaller field off the pavilion that was for small 1on1 or 2 on 2 games and there were no scenario's games that Sunday.
PRICES... like any store, of any kind, pricing depends on what exact product you buy. I have found there prices on equipment are great, they carry a wide variety of paint(cheap to "top of the line"), Air/C02 is very competitive(check out the air cards... Amazing price), and accessories vary depending on trends.
RULES... Rules at this field go along with safety for the most part. They are clear, stated, spoken, and repeated for everyone. They are very fair and understanding of new players and experienced players alike. They even have a GIANT sign stating that they ARE the SAFEST field in the Tri-state area(PA/NY/OH).
SERVICES... I have the luxury of being able to machine and repair my own fleet of paintball equipment so I am unable to comment on most of their services. I can however say that FREE TECH WEDNESDAY is a very informative and an amazing service that helped me understand my new electronic marker in a whole new respect.
PRO SHOP... I can just stand and stare at all the equipment in stock for hours.. and I would still see something new the next time. I have visited the pro shop several times and am still amazed at the great staffing, service, and products that are offered.
STAFF... Their staff is polite, fun, energetic, informative, knowledgeable, fair, and the list could go on for hours:) Definitely a eleven out of ten!!
REFS... Amazing. I would like to see a different/darker font on the web page so I could see for whom I am voting?
PLAYERS... To have that many players together with no problems is a very hard and they seem to handle all concerns with an attitude that promotes enjoying the sport. The players that came were all having lots of fun.
FACILITIES... Once again you can see the years of experience coming together to make a modern, enjoyable facility with prices for all types of players.
FOOD... I didn't get a chance to try out anything from the vending machines, but I hear that their BBQ is fired up occasionally and is great!! I was having so much fun I forgot to eat!!!
IN CONCLUSION... I had more fun that Sunday then I had in years. Now I remember why I got into the sport!!!!!

SPECS... Sunday Open play is Semi Automatic mode for Electronic guns, 300fps max (chronograph at entrance to field), Field Paint Only, Store Hours Wed - Fri 2-9 PM Sat - Sun 11-5 PM
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FingersOfFury Sunday, April 12th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Played at Jaw once... I prefer Pentagon
Directions
to the Field:
...
Review: I've been playing at Pentagon for a long time and it has always been a good experience... The Staff is great aswell as the other players... Overall a great place for the whole family to have a good time... Once you go the first time you'll definetly be back for more..


Jose Velez
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PentagonBaller Monday, January 5th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 4th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't played at any other fields in the area. The only one close to me is Pentagon.
Review: Pentagon all in all is a great field. Their techs get your gun shooting and working perfectly in a metter of minutes. The field designs are good. The owners (Sean and Nicole) are nice people and helpful if you have any questions. The older staff members (Above 20 years old) are great, but the younger ones aren't that great. For example if you tell them to go check someone because you think you hit them or you KNOW you hit them, they usually don't, but the players there are nice honest players so they call themselves out. They have pretty good prices on most items. I would recommend going in the summer so you can play the Airball field, but most people like Postal and the New Fort just as much. All in all, GO PLAY AT PENTAGON!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media