paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / DMZ paintball canada Paintball Field / DMZ paintball canada Paintball Field / DMZ paintball canada Paintball Field / DMZ paintball canada Paintball Field

DMZ paintball canada Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
52Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 905 988 9000
Address: Thorold Townline Rd.
Thorold, Ontario
Canada
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
dmz boy Saturday, December 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
N.T.A.G(meh it's like a 4 out of 10)
Directions
to the Field:
Site www.dmzpaintball.ca
Review: Ok well as you can tell by my name this field rocks! Well I really couldn't think of another name but anyway.

#1 SAFETY: The refs AND more experienced players are always watching out for safety. Many times i've seen a renter take his mask off on the field for some reason and either the ref or player will quickly rush over and yank it down. However if you are stupid enough to do this your most likely going to get kicked off the field. They explain the rules VERY clearly in the brief but informative "safety speech". Strict is good for safety in paintball Safety 10/10

#2 PLAY AREA: D.M.Z has 5 fields to basically suit any type of play. The field are: Newly renovated "Shanty town", Attack and defend base,Deep woods(classic game of capture the flag), a flat field in the front used for 1812 or speed ball when the speed ball course is setup and lastly Tactical town. Tactical town offers so much for every player! Wood play area,gas station, many buildings,sniper tower,mall area and lots more. 10/10 for fields

#3 PRICES: D.M.Z has great prices if you are a member there(20$ for 500) however if your renting or you didn't get your gun from their proshop it is pricey(40$ for 500). In spring/summer/fall D.M.Z uses RPS Premiums and in winter they use polar ice.
9/10 for prices

#4 REFS: The refs there are always willing to help and don't give one team all the good layers. If you have a problem it is likely the refs will know how to fix it. Some people say there to strict but hey paintball is dangerous if you acting like an idiot trying to act all cool. 10/10 for refs

#5 PLAYERS: The players there are awesome as long as you don't think your top notch when you only have like a week of experience. Usually they'll help you if you've got a problem and the players there won't shoot you a billion times when your out. A very respectful player field. 10/10 for players

#6 PROSHOP: D.M.Z has one of the best pro shops in canada. Some reviews say the owned(Jerry) is a jerk. That's a big lie. Jerry is a really nice guy and he's always willing to help you. However one thing I find about the shop is that it always takes awhile to get things in and stuff. However that's probably because it's so busy there. Awesome selection and prices! 10/10 on proshop

#7 FACILITIES: Well D.M.Z isn't a restaurant if you want something like that don't go paint balling outdoors. They sell chocolate bars and water(summer only) and they have a Johnny on the spot(lol). it's not like you will have to go that much in a 3 hour play period. 8/10 for facilities

#8 A PLACE FOR EVERYONE: Honestly the course is good for anyone noobies,cheap gun owners,regulars,scenario players,speedballers or just rec ballers. The refs and players treat you all the same well like i said before unless you think your king of paintball.10/10 for comfort level

#9 RENTALS: If your reading this review and don't have your own gun or are just getting into paintball D.M.Z has pretty nice rental packages. They recently just got new masks and guns. For a few bucks you get a semi auto piranha which is actually quite nice. I asked a renter if i could see how the gun shot and he showed me. Not bad much better than some guns other fields rent. Googles are quite nice as well. There's 2 types they rent out either a v force vantage or Proto switch el masks. If you rent at D.M.Z i'm pretty sure you'll like the rental package you will be using.

CONCLUSION: Awesome field hope to see you play there sometime any money you will have an awesome time and learn that D.M.Z is the best course in the Niagara region. Happy ballling-Zac
Last edited on Monday, January 1st, 2007 at 7:46 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GT_Hawk Thursday, September 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
check review
Directions
to the Field:
check th web site
Review: Ok well itís been about 1 year since I started playing hard-core. I have played on and off for many years but always renting, until about a year ago I finely bought a tippmann a5 form the old DMZ pro shop. Friend recommended the place to me, so off I went to this small shop. I was going to get a 98 custom pro but talking to Jerry, the owner, I was convinced that the a5 might have been a better choice for me. The a5 has been my best friend ever since receiving many mods and such to make it even better. I was very impressed with the technical knowledge at the store, if he knew about it he would tell you but if he never tried it he would also tell you he has no first hand experience with the item. Since then the pro shop has been upgraded to a much lager and defiantly the best of all the shops I have been to in Canada and the US.

Now for the field, I have always been a tactical/woodball player so right off the field was fun. It was rather muddy but with all the rain, ya whatever, more realistic I say. The field has since been upgraded and has had a lot of cleanup in the woods by volunteers (including me), which made an already good field even better. The Refís are strict on the rules, and rightly so, and anyone who has said they are jerk and such on here probably crossed a few rules and got kicked out or at least yelled at. The refs are great guys and I have gotten to know them over the past year and have even joined the DMZ Devil Dogs tactical team. The team is made up of a great group of regulars to DMZ, which well help out anyone on the field who needs it from gun issues to tactics.

Also one more plus to DMZ has to be the organized Big game trips, 2 of which this year DMZ rented a bus. If you wanted to go just go to the shop and sign up, donít matter if you are on the team or now, now how cool is that. Showing up at a big game with about 40 odd DMZ guys/girlís is defiantly something great as you know any time you hit the field, you go in with a group of people you know and well watch your back. Hell I ended up getting a contract in the US so have mised a few months up there gaming, but I made sure I was in canada for the next buss trip. Also my contract well be changing so I am back to where I can drive to DMZ again every few weeks to play.

And so no one thinks I am biased or anything, I have been to quite a few fields in the Toronto/Niagara are over the past year including Sg Splatter, Niagara Paintball, Niagara tactical, Paintball City, and a few others I canít even remember the name to, and I just end up back at DMZ. Others places had great fields but hey a great field still not as good as a great field with great people going to it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

skinner68 Saturday, September 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in this area
Review: I went to this field for the 3rd time today. But have played many times over the years.

Apart from the fair and vigilant refs who are referred to as 'Spazoids' and yet protect and look after those players in their care - Perhaps Spazoid means
Supervising Paintball And Zoning On Imminent Danger...?

The staff are incredibly polite courteous and helpful.

The site has recently upgraded its car parking facilities and has built a mock town in approximately 40000 square feet of space. This is a fantastic set up and should be commended as it allows teams to further hone their skills and experience.

If you have not been to DMZ I suggest you go there and enjoy.

Refs - Keep up the good work.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wreckballa Saturday, August 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Niagara Tactical is run by a bunch of crooks.
I hear Niagara Paintball games is closing.
Review: I've been playing at DMZ for a short time. I used to play at Wasaga but I moved down to Niagara Falls.

I've read that the ref's are "spazoids" or something, I don't know who this person was talking about. I was at the field the other day and the dive tanks were empty and Rob the ref went and let me fill my tank off his personal dive tank. That makes him cool by me. Shane was very helpful by giving me an o-ring and some oil for my marker when it crapped out. (stupid ION)

That Matt guy seems all right, he shouts a lot and he's always stuffing his face, but he seems knowledgeable. Overall an excellent field. I'm giving it a 9 for the same reason as the last review, no compressors for air.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballerz4life Thursday, August 17th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NPG-better for speedball slightly more expensive
Ntag-Crap
Review: Went to this field recently for a speedball walkon. It was BYOP and $20 entry (I didn't pay cause I have a membership from purchasing a gun at their proshop). paint was $40 a case for nice well formed paint that broke every time out of my gun (had some bounces off me but that's to be expected for whitebox it was great). field setup was nice and well laid out and reffing was well done. teams were evenly split and play was fast and fair. only knock for this field really is the lack of air compressors meaning they haul big ass tanks around to fill air and only fill to 3000psi (I only have a 3K tank but still they should be able to fill to 4500 for others). overall a good experience. I'll probably play woodsball next time I go though just to change things up

EDIT:

Recently went to play in the woods with a friend of mine using his pump guns and it was fun but WAAAAAYYYY too muddy and paint was junk (it was cold so I won't complain too much it's usually awesome paint at DMZ musta got a bad batch) too little cover, only thing good about the non airball fields is the tactical town which is very good due to the close quarters strategy so it balances out the crapiness of the woods so I'll leave my rating as is

overall excellent field 9/10

-1 being for no air compressors
Last edited on Friday, January 12th, 2007 at 8:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

king-of-a-5 Thursday, July 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
none
Review: ive read some oter reviews and i don't know what your talking about i go ever sat and Tues and rob and Shani are the best ya ther stickiest but it has to be done jarry is the best one in the place and the price of paint is cheep
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

webpositionexpe Wednesday, July 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I have played paintball on and off for a number of years (in the UK and in Canada) and wanted to share a little of my experience at the DMZ shop and site.

The new shop is one of the best shops that I have been to. The prices are more than reasonable and the quantity and quality of the equipment and clothing is very good. The atmosphere is friendly and knowledgable where experienced and new players are not intimidated.

The site itself is well presented and easy to find. The staff are on hand to assist and are more than happy to do so. The regular players are very friendly and always willing to help. Then enthusiasm of the staff and the players is quite contagious!

I had a most enjoyable day at DMZ where the games were challenging, and exciting. The referees were happy to chat and assist. They were red-hot when it cam to safety and they should never be faulted for that. Safety is paramount on any field and these referees are aware of this. They should be praised for this attitude they should not be criticised for it.

All in all DMZ provides a full paintball experience and I will certainly be making use of the field again upon my return to Canada.

Keep up the good work guys!

Simon

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bel Riose Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
nigara paintball (i heard it sucked)
Directions
to the Field:
go down ludy's lane and when you see the strip club Cristie's (or someting like that) turn down the street that is right after it or before (depending on which way you are going) then keep on going down that street and you will see DMZ
Review: THIS FIELD ROCKS!!!!!!!! some people say the refs are mean.......... they are not they helped me find out what was wrong with my gun and gave me tips on how to play paintball.
Their store is not small and has reasonable prices and if you buy a gun you get a free 1 year membership to the field and you get to buy the paintballs off the field for like $20 for 500.

The field itself is great but can get muddy but that's when it rains. they have opened a new place which is sweet (and they are very strict which i like).
This is a great field and i recommend it to anyone who plays paintball in the Niagara region.
Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 6:19 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

silverbandit91 Thursday, March 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
prudhomes..big but crapy..
NPG ...good for speedballers
Review: ok first of all they are not expensive...If you get a membership for $75 you can play 3 hrs for $25 (well depends how much you shoot). They're also building a new playing area that I have high expectations for. They've also upgraded their store and it's totally awesome now.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

126sarge Thursday, March 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 22nd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Niagara Tactical
Directions
to the Field:
If you now the area head down lundy's lane towards thorald (lundy's lane turns into highway 21) you will see Crystals Gentlemens club turn right at the lights before that (unless you are 19+ and want to take a detour) and go down and it sholuld be on your right. If u r still not sure visit the website or mapquest.
Review: I found the field a bit muddy but what can u expect in in the woods and it rains! we are not in the desert and if it is wet do what i did i went to a local army surplus and bought a pair of Combat boots which go up almost up to your knees and totally water proof. Ok, the refs can be a bit rude if you don't follow the rules, or treat them badly. Jerry is a nice guy when you really get to know him, he is reasonable and will help you out. I started playing on his field end i plan to play my last game on it. Also if you go often you will make alot of friends who r regulars to you can also guarantee that they will offer you tips and will also look out for you.
Last edited on Tuesday, April 18th, 2006 at 9:48 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media