paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / AG Paintball Field / AG Paintball Field / AG Paintball Field / AG Paintball Field

AG Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
54Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 603-529-3524
Address: 158 Deering Center Rd.
Weare, New Hampshire 03281
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
celticsgreen05 Tuesday, January 2nd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
OSG, Canobie. They are both at least 10 times better, price and game wise.
Directions
to the Field:
Take a left onto YOURGETTINGRIPPEDOFF LANE and there it is.
Review: Adventure Games Paintball is the worst place to paintball in NH. Not only are the prices high, but the staff sucks and the prizes on holidays are horrible, such as only 500 paintballs. STAY AWAY, stay far far AWAY. I repeat

Adventure Games Paintball is the worst place to paintball in NH. Not only are the prices high, but the staff sucks and the prizes on holidays are horrible, such as only 500 paintballs. STAY AWAY, stay far far AWAY.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Chrisb319 Monday, September 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
This was my first visit to a paintball field.
Review: I went to Adventure Games with a private party, I thought it was okay the fields where pretty good but it was everything else that bothered me. Which I will explain later. Adventure Games is made up with mostly woodsball fields with one field consisting in a mix of Speedball and Woodsball. Anyone who does not like woodsball don't bother.

Like most Paintball Fields the cost of paint was also verry expensive 80 dollars for a case of 2000 paintballs even with coupon. The balls where very good I did not have one single one break in my barrel although a friend of mine who after our first two games had run out of paint so he bought a case one of the four bags inside the case had a ball broken. The lady behind the cash register that sold them to him refused to refund them. Our rather large group also commented that they too had a ball broken in their bags as well.

The staff was young kids who barely hit puberty I don't like these kids, I don't like these kids because they are horrible reff's. They stand in one spot and watch the game, they are never in the action calling people out. Players are left to call themselves out 80% of the time.

Their proshop which should have been opened, it is only opened weekends wasn't opened. The lady who was up front the same one who stiffed us on the paint was verry rude. She could never answer any of our questions without sounding rude. The stuff that they did have for sale up front(I don't think that was the proshop I hope not because it looked like the front of the shop) was a joke! They try to sell tanks which are completly rusted all over! Some of the used gear looks like it was picked off the ground from some person who dropped it a couple of days ago which leads me to believe they don't have or need a lost and found box they will just sell the stuff they find on the field.

The fields where pretty well set up I enjoyed myself playing in them, thankfully we had a nice group of people that is the one thing I can say that I really liked about this place. My favorite field was the village there is another good one called Anthrax however we did not get to play it that day which sucked. Safety is #1 barelplugs on at all times when not in the firing range or field. The staff makes sure you chrono your gun before you shoot it at any of the fields.

They also host a Barbeque which in my opinion did not make the horrible staff and expensive paint worth the trip. If anything the excellent fields is what kept me happy.
Last edited on Monday, September 11th, 2006 at 9:11 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vweltin Thursday, August 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Canobie Paintball
Review: This was where my paintball experience began. My friend and I decided to try paintball, so we went up to AG and rented Tippmann Pro-Carbines for the day, and headed out. We had a great time!

Fields: In the 3 years that I've gone to AG, I've noticed that the fewer people on the fields, the more fun it is. I went to the Big Game on July 4 last year, and about 300 people showed up. When I went on July 1st of this year, about 10 people showed up at most. The July 1 game was much more fun. In the big games, you don't feel like a player. You feel like a pawn in a 300-man game of chess. The fields do have a nice feel to them, and are quite diverse in their nature.

Prices: Ouch. At $100 per 2000 paintballs, it can be hard to afford playing here. Also, they only fill up to 3000 psi, so for those players with 4500 tanks, don't bother. The cheap admission price is nice though.

Staff: Very helpful, and VERY safe. The ref's do a nice job making sure that the games are fair and fun. The people in the shop know how things get done. I even purchased my current marker, a Tippmann A5, from AG a while back.

People who show up: Tend to be either older than 30 or younger than 14. The markers tend to be your sterotypical Tippmann woodsball markers, with a few spyders and a few higher-end markers thrown in. The players have pretty decent skills. There aren't many newbies (who act like newbies) out on the fields, which is very nice. The community is very trust-worthy. I've left my stuff in plain sight every time I've gone, and I have yet for anything to be stolen.

OVERALL: Despite the prices, AG is a great place to play paintball, and just have a good time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntbal4me Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
OSG (1999). Canobie (1999-2006), CFOA Associated fields in Carolinas (about 6)
Review: I have been playing for about 12 years now,... 10 years as a regular.
I also have been on staff at this field before the current owner. So I have a long running "history" with the field.

I don't have a problem with the game play at AG,... but these past few months I have just been forced to look elsewhere for the game I used to play. Clearly AG is not going to be my home anymore.

Lets start with the game times. Hours are 0800-1600. Which is standard. However the first game NEVER goes out before 0900. God forbid you have more than 10 players,.. things will just slow down from there. Sometimes they send you to a small bachelor field they have to get a "feel" for the teams. However by 0900 you still only have less than 10 players on a regular day.

Fields. Okay,... in Marks defense (the guy that runs registration), field maintenance is NOT EASY! Trees fall down,.. he cuts them up,.. replaced all the ladders with stairs and installed anti- slip guard on each step. He keeps the place nailed together the best he can. The down side to the fields are the way they put up the netting. Good idea to block off the roads and all,... bad idea to make the shapes of the fields in favor of a team. Castle 2 used to be a square field where both attackers and defenders could play an even game. Now the field is bent like a wide "L" so that the defenders can post 1 guy in the corner of the field on the low side and hold the entire middle and lower attack defense by just sitting there. No shooting required. Some other fields are similar in problems.

Paint. EXPENSIVE. I think the only membership worth it is be the lifetime (platinum) one. It gives you 4 cases per day @ $65 per case. Older paint was PMI Premium. Now its PCS Combat. Regular prices are $99 per case of 2000. Paint was the same fill and shell for years. Now it changes every 1 or 2 years. Its field paint only as well. So expect to leave the cash at home and bring the plastic with the higher limits on it!

Air. $6 dollars per 3000 psi. No topping off. No all day air. Gold and Platinum members get all day air,... but memberships are priced high. Expect to wait for air on a larger day (if one occurs). Only one fill station,..... line line line!

Rentals. Rentals are old but they work. Tippmann Pro-Lites. Say what you want,.. but when u get a gun problem or anything dumb goes wrong they give you a new gun and send you on ur way. No questions asked,... just give and go. Masks are the same way. Dirty? New one is given to you. This is the fastest line you will have here by far. So if you rent you will be okay.

Snack Bar. The snack bar was fully stocked. Now offers only hot dogs and sodas. Some candy if you need it. They used to have hot pockets and stuff that was more differed, but from what I gathered from staff,.. they did away with them because only the staff was eating them and it was a wait for the items. When I worked there,... you used to only be allowed 2 hot dogs and 1 soda a day. Anything else you paid for. Sounds more like a staff problem for limiting the food than a lack of player purchasing. They have several grills out side as well if you bring ur own stuff.

Safety. AG was the top of the game when it came to safety. They used to yell across the staging area when u pulled ur plug out. Mask violations and plugs too were resulted in a pull from a game and at least 1 sit out. Now its a quiet,... "Hey don't do that" or depending on who you are and if they are your friends working there,... you wont get anything said to you. Plan on the refs not knowing ANYTHING about chronoing an advanced gun or even a pump gun. I have had to personally walk a ref over to another player on another team and show them what turbo is and how to check for it. Basically if its not full auto they will never know. Plan on seeing little kids with crazy firing rates when you play,.... They do not know how to chrono an RT,..... or a Sniper 2 to boot. So watch for players with these guns as well. If you like to play aggressively,... plan on being targeted by the field owner. She has a hate for anyone whom looks or talks the part of any player beyond the rentals. Don't plan on playing with friends if you show up together. They are specific on separating players whom like to play together. Unless you are a rental. Bring your own gun means playing ur friends all day regardless of player count or experience levels. This has changed in the past 4 years. This never used to be an issue.

Rules. Pretty basic. Boundaries and stuff,... not a lot to get over on these,.... they are pretty standard. Gun hits do not count. (see staff section for rule conflicts)

Staff. I believe in keeping players as refs. I don't know what it is about that comment.... but having actual players whom know the game and can see the action or a bold move by a team developing before the unfold to get into a paint check position is something I like to have. Its not a tourney field so checks are as required. But refs should not be there to just count the time down. DO A PAINT CHECK! There is a rule about hosing,.... yet players have no one doing paint checks out there anymore,... so you are crossing the line of "do i add 3 more shots to this guy or do I wait for the ref to stock covering his groined and check the guy for me?" Plan on being targeted for being a hoser even if you are the last guy on ur team and there is at least 15 other guys coming at you closer than 20 feet (which they ask you to surrender people in). Despite that if you have each player shoot you 1 time and u get 15 shots on you,.. that's not hosing,.. but if you shoot any of the 15 players at a high rate of fire or show multiple shots,... ur a hoser. (don't bother explaining the concept of the safety briefing rules to the owner,.... u don't want the "ive been doing this for blah blah blah years speech) Just play like a sissy,... you will be okay. UPDATE: Big game today had a game where 4 medics could not be shot out. Medics could be shot unlimited times and not get eliminated! 1 guy was kicked for following these rules explained by the staff after the 30 minute game was called after 4 minutes. He was kicked for hosing I believe. Despite the fact that you could hose the medics. I definitely would like to see a review by him on here. The rules changed in that game as well. Medics were not allowed to carry the flag,... only non-medic players. A player grabbed the flag and was shot out, so the medic revived him,.. and he got shot again,... then it happened 2 more times till they were out of range. The judge eliminated the "un-eliminatable" player and said,... "medics are not allowed to help with the flags". The rules were not clear at all. Players using the rules to win were immediately pulled from the game or in one case kicked from the field.

In the end,...... I cant see this field staying open for the long run. Despite the run its had,.. it looses business every year for the same reasons I am now not going back after 10 years. Failure to give players what they want. It used to be fun,.. but not anymore. I would not recommend this field for a first time player looking for a "feel me out" day of paintball. One wrong move with the owner whether your right or not and ur day will be gone. If your a advanced player,.... dont wear team colors, jerseys, other fields names, on your equipment. Take your tank off and bring it up to fill without the gun so they dont label you for the rest of the day before even playing. Dont talk to the owner,..... go get your paint,... and go! If you dont think this post has any truth to it,..... check the others before it. We all say pretty much the sam thing for the past 4 years.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannbllr15 Thursday, May 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: April 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
backyard, osg much cheeper
Review: UPDATE: the paintball park is under new management. all should come out and check it out.

First of all safety is great they are really strict on safety but that is a good thing. They have a decent array of fields a total of 8 or 9 fields. They just recently worked on them so they are much better now. The price is a little high but if you go on there web site and print a coupon and go on a super goober day it will only 60 bucks a case (not a bad deal for field paint). There pro shop is pretty handy but like any place besides online a little expensive. The staff inside aren't bad if you don't do anything wrong to get them mad at you. The people inside can be helpful also. The refs can be nice but one time i went with my friends and we were all on one team and we were "too good" so they changed the teams. After more people showed the teams were still the same. It wasn't until the end of the day that they put us back together. They don't have any good bathrooms but i don't usually use them. all they have are port-o-johns. They have a snack bar but that is fairly expensive also. This isn't a bad field if you don't get on the owners bad side. I like this field others may not think what you want.
Last edited on Friday, March 2nd, 2007 at 10:18 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

skillswitkills6 Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just this one
Review: They are all about safety but they don't over do it, they also let you have fun. the prices are a bit high but every business has to make its way some how. the fields are the are well maintained and but it can get a bit muddy but that is all part of the fun. the refs are really helpful. me and my friends were attacking at castle Anthrax and the refs told us that there was a tunnel leading right in to the center of the castle and that's how we won the game. the staff inside was a bit unpleasing to be around but maybe he was just having a bad day. but yeah this field is a great field to go to and it is a good beginner field. if you want to have fun but being safe at the same time go to this field.
Last edited on Thursday, August 10th, 2006 at 7:35 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbsniper111 Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: All right,
Safety... This field is huge on safety. I went opening day this year with some friends and walking back at the end of the game my friend slid his finger under his mask to scratch his eye and was held out for 2 games.

Price... Bring alot of paint money because it is expensive. There are no fields nearby to give it competitive prices.

Reffing... These refs i think are some of the best out there. They are always nice and will go out of there way to help a new player find there way around. Also, i went last year during a really rainy weekend and stepped into a waist deep puddle and got stuck. One of the refs ran over and helped to pull me out of the muddy mess.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballer2786 Monday, October 31st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Boston Paintball
Canobie Paintball
PnL Paintball
Review: STAY AWAY FROM THIS FIELD !

Pros: Nothing in particular....

Cons: ~Prices are really high and u dont get the worth out of your money. I was ROBBED when I spent over $100 on this useless field

~ OKAY THE FIELD PAINT PLAIN SUCKS...I HAD BALLS CHOPPING ALL DAY....


~ The staff plain sux. The Refs didnt specify the Rules of each game clearly ( they just kept blurting out jibberish for like 10 seconds and then took us down to the playing fields....WTF).

~ The fields are all muddy and damp with bunkers in the "wettest" spots, and no barriers of any sort to warn players of extremely muddy areas( which are covered with leaves like all the other parts of the field, hence virtually impossible to distinguish).

All in all....the worst field I've ever played on, and probably ever will. Im definately not goin' back there to play ever again! And I advice you to STAY AWAY FROM THIS HORRID PLACE!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

atown Saturday, July 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
OSG Paintball, E & R Paintball, Paintball Paranoia, Stratagy Plus,
Review: Alright so I continue to hear bad things about AG and figured it was about time for me to put my two sense in on this one, and I will do it by starting with the owner who seems to be the main topic that comes up when you hear about AG.

The owners (Mark & Cynthia) are absolutely amazing both have gone out of thier way to ensure my happyiess at the field. Yes Cynthia is a character and like anyone else has a personality. Yes if your acting stupid your going to know about it plain and simple. Get on her bad side and yes its going to effect your visit to AG. Simple way to resolve this issue for you dont act stupid while you are at the field. In addition the rest of the staff at AG are great. Refs will do the best they can to ensure you enjoy your visit.

Prices are a bit high, but in comparrision to other places I have been not only in New England but around the country are not unreasonable. Price on paint is steap but is off set by the fact that every time I have had problems with it, it has been replaced with out question. The best thing I can say about the prices are the in house specials. DYE Pants for $79, gear bags for $89, Dye gloves for $19, Jerseys for $24. Yes the in house specials are not always there but when they are they are a steal.

The memberships at AG ARE THE BEST AROUND! I paid $300 for a gold membership knowing I would be playing the fields often and figured free field fees, free air and Paint for $65 a case would have the membership paid for well before the season was over. To my surprise in addition to the advertised discount every now and then i get free pass's for friends and free paint in my mail box.

CONS!
Heres what needs work at the field.

SPEEDBALL SPEEDBALL SPEEDBALL
They need a speedball field, the recent addition of the air fields are nice but just not the same as a speedball field. If AG had a speedball field I would be there everyweekend and my entire team would have memberships to the field.

Changing Areas
There is no where to change. It would be nice if there was some kinda changing area instead of the porto jons. Me and friends have just started changing in the staging area.

Parking
Get there early and leave late. Thats the best way to park, as the parking area is small but managable, the parking area is normally staffed and able to help people park properly. When people dont park like idiots the parking area is large enough to accomidate everyone.

Paint Prices
Drop paint prices by $10 a case across the board and it would make a big difference. As a member I dont mind the $65 price but the non-member $99 price has that $100 mindset of being to expensive.

My rating as a member is a 10, if i where rating as a non-repeat customer 6. The simple fact is repeat customers get much more from AG then the one time visitor. So if your looking for a paintball park to call home for the season this is the place. If your looking for a safe environment for your first game and are willing to pay a bit more for it, this is the place. If your looking for a spot to go everynow and then and just shoot some paint at your friends I would go somewhere else.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

YDpaintball Wednesday, December 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox 4 - Upton, MA
Friendly Fire - Upton, MA
Prospect Paintball - CT
SkirmishUSA - Jim Thorpe, PA
Strategy Plus - CT
and private land
Review: My team and I (known to the owner as "The CT Guys" although we are from all over New England) have been to this field 3 times. The first time we were "walk ons" for the Big Game in May 04, the other two times we reserved space and played as private games.

The Lowdown: (each area will get a 1-10 rating)

-Safety: AG is nutty about safety. This is a very good thing. They have refs everywhere in the staging area looking out for barrel blocking devices. They don't allow any discharging of guns in the staging area at all. They are very strict about mask use in the field. They start all of this out with a very good safety briefing to start the day. They also have warning signs everywhere to remind you of the safety rules. Safety gets a 9

-The Layout: The whole area is layed out in a very convenient setup. The staging area has overhead cover to protect players/gear from the elements. The chrono-range is well placed, well staffed and easy to find. The pro-shop where you can buy/rent equipment, fill air, buy food/drinks is up a set of stairs with a porch that overlooks the entire staging area. Mask cleaning station is right next the entry gate to the fields. Porta-potties easy to see and close to everything. Layout gets a 9

-The Fields: Great places to play. They have a great selection of different types of fields. What is also nice is they are all netted so you can have two games running right next to each other with no interference. They are all well maintained and fun to play on. Fields gets a 9

-The Staff: Friendly, knowledgeable, safety conscious. These people from the refs to the girl that serves the food (yeah you Katie!) are all concerned that you are having a good time. My team has never had a problem with the owner. In fact, she goes out of her way to interact with us and to make sure we are enjoying ourselves. The Refs we've had were great. We request the same guys every time we go there. They work their butts off for us, listen to our suggestions/requests and are generally just great guys. We tip them well and they deserve it. The guys in the proshop as excellent as well. They know their stuff and do their best to provide you with great customer service. They are usually swamped with people but they always seem to serve you with a smile. Staff gets a 9

-Parking: Here is where AG suffers a bit. The parking lot is small and filled with roots and large rocks jutting out of the ground. They do, usually, have an attendant in there trying to make sense of it but they do have to double and triple park people to accommodate large groups. This can be a nightmare if you have to leave early. Parking gets a 4

-Bathrooms/Wash Area: They use porta-potties at AG. They are generally nice and clean (and if we all respect them they usually stay that way!!!) and easy to get to. No complaints. They also have a large sink with running water to wash your hands/gear/whatever. Bathrooms/Wash Area gets a 6 (always room for improvement when PP's are used)

-Pro Shop: The proshop just got a facelift last time we were there. They built a brand new area that is pretty nice. Selection is a bit lacking, though. Prices are on par with most pro shops I've been to. Online prices are generally better though if you plan to drop more than $50 bucks. Pro Shop gets a 6

-Prices: AG suffers quite a bit here. They charge to play. They charge for air. They charge for paint (no BYOP). They basically hit you everywhere you turn. While I don't knock a business that is trying to make money, paintball is already a very expensive sport. How many other sports do you know of where the balls are replaced after every throw/pass/kick/hit/use? I suppose here it is a give and take. If you want the quality of the other areas I mentioned, you gotta pay for it and this is how they get it. I have read many reviews here that complain about the paint prices. This one is no different. Close to $100 bucks a case for less than top quality paint is just too high. That combined with all the other costs of the day and you can expect to drop $125 - $150 easy just for a day of play (this includes admission, air, paint, food/drink). Prices gets a 3

Summary: All in all, AG is one of my favorite fields to play. I think all other fields should use this place as a basic model in regards to layout, fields, staff and most importantly safety. My team and I will take the 2 hour ride to this field several times a year. I will add a 1 to the total score just because it is my favorite place to play.

Suggestions:
-Paint Prices. Paint prices are just too high. Each time I've played there the paint was less than stellar. It was old and you could easily tell. If I am paying top dollar for paint, I would like to know what I am using was fresh and in good shape as well as quality paint. What I can't understand is why they charge so much? At 100 bucks, I will buy one case and shoot sparingly on the field to make sure I don't have to buy anymore. If it was $65 or so, I would happily shoot like a madman and buy a second case when the first ran out.

-Air Prices. Charge a bit more on admission and have free air all day. Or at the very least, have a punch card that gives you 5 free fills or some such thing.

-Selection. Not just on proshop items but on field paint too. If I MUST buy field paint, have a couple different brands/sizes to choose from.

-Bathrooms. Honestly I don't really mind porta-potties, but there is always room to improve. Why not start a plan to put in a decent flush toilet area?

-Parking. Clear that lot with a bulldozer and increase it's size. Not much else to say about this but something needs to be done especially as more and more people come to this great field.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media