paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Twisted Texas Paintball Games Paintball Field / Twisted Texas Paintball Games Paintball Field / Twisted Texas Paintball Games Paintball Field / Twisted Texas Paintball Games Paintball Field

Twisted Texas Paintball Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
56Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 832 372-7953
Address: 14590 FM 1314
Conroe, Texas 77302
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
PaintballBoi Thursday, July 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: This is the best field i have ever seen and been on.
the thing i love about this park is the fact that you can bring your oun paint.
on other fields you have to pay like 60 bucks for 2000 rounds of paint, but here you pay only 45 dollars. (and if you go to walmart or some thing you can pay less then that for 2000 rounds)
over all this has to be the best park ever!!!

<('.'<) (^'.'^) (>'.'>)
Kirby!!!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

davidr Tuesday, May 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Well I've been to a few others but twisted is the best by far.
Review: The Fields
First off is the speedball fields. All 3 are excellent. They're tires and spools fields are so much fun to play no matter the number of people playing or the position you play. IMO it's best to play front b/c you get tons of eliminations if you use your bunker right. The fury field is the other speedball field. I have had little experience with this field but from the few times I have played it I have come to the conclusion that this field is awesome. It may be small, but that's expected since it's primarily three-man. The other fields are desert storm, bank, and fort. Storm is pretty sweet for a large field, it's got a lot of room to move around and can be played with or w/o the woods section on the left side near the creek. Bank is okay at best considering the creek has been flooded as of late. But I can remember when it was dry and boy was it fun to make a huge run down that creek and pop up on the other side only to find you are too far in and your opponents haven't noticed you yet. However, the creek isn't the only thing to this field, the car bunkers and fireworks stand offer quite a bit of action them selves, just make sure you don't accidently expose yourself through a smashed car window. Fort, however, isn't exactally my cup of tea though, but then again it's a woodsball field so i can't complain. If you're one of those scenario type guys or just someone that enjoys some woodsball action from time to time you will enjoy this field.

The Staff
The staff is excellent. The refs actually pay attention and do their best to make sure you don't get nailed while trying to leave the field. The guys (sometimes girls) who work the stand are real good too. They do their best to get your tank filled so you can go ahead and get back to playing. Did I mention they sell freeze pops?!?! Those things pwn so hardcore.

The Prices
Even though I don't buy my paint from them I will give them credit for selling pretty good paint real cheap, only $40 a case for spank. Last time I checked that was better then any other field around here. Their entry fee is also awesome, only $12 for all day play and free air is a damn good deal.

Summary
In closing I would like to state that there are a lot of fields around here but I don't any of them can really compare to the total pack that twisted offers, I would much rather pay less money here and have more fun than go somewhere else and get ripped off for a mediocre experience.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Turbocharged Saturday, April 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tanks, Paintball USA
Review: This truley anawesome paintball place, they have some fantastic fields. I really had fun, this place is good for n00bs and experts. And soon to come a air ball field. I'm keeping it short but sweet, this place is awesome, free air all day, bring your own paint, or buy some there, friendly people. And the Refs always know whats goin on. And best owner EVAR Mrs. Kim, pizimp lady!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Metochoi Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Being new to the Houston area, I checked PBReviews on several other paintball fields in Houston. Thanks to this website and those who contribute to it, I made a good decision. As a youth pastor, I wanted to take my kids to the field that boasted the best playing field with the best prices and the best refs.

After playing Twisted Texas, I am thoroughly impressed with the strictness the refs put forth regarding safety. The head ref didn't just read through a list of rules, but emphasized the necessity of following them. He did a fantastic job of making sure everyone was listening (and there were many people there). One of my kids (new to the paintball world) took off his mask after running out of paintballs in the field area. Immediately, the head ref charged over to him and wrapped a towel around the kid's head, protecting him from flying paintballs. The refs are strict with the rules, which makes the game so much more enjoyable. When someone gets shot, not arguing is allowed. You're out! Plus, I must add that as the refs are strict, they're not jerks about it. They really do their best to make the games fun for everyone.

The fields are numerous and well built. My favorite is the tire field, but to each his own. There were so many people there, and all of them were talking about how much they loved Twisted Texas' fields (Operation Desert Storm, Viet Nam, Spools, the one with the Fireworks Stands, etc.). This place handles large groups with professionalism!

The other employees were very friendly and helpful. Everyone seemed to make time to answer questions, fill tanks, supply paintballs, all with no complaining.

The owner, who is a mom, is serious about kids having fun, but playing it safe! I definitely give this place a major 10! I'm sure there are other great places around Houston, but I'll definitely enjoy Twisted again very soon!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Weaseldancer Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action Village (avoid at all costs)
Review: Just went and played and twisted for the second time today and this is definately the best field I have played at. there are several fields to choose from, they're well laid out and well maintained. Prices are cheap, $12 field fee and free air! The refs do a good job of controlling the games and keep things moving. All and all this is a great field to play at.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alarick Tuesday, March 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mad Ivan's, Paintball games of Denton, Fun on the run, all in the Dallas area.
Review: The service and reffing at this field was outstanding, we where having issues with our markers, the ref's and owner let us use field tools and offered any help they could to us even though it was a very busy day.

The prices where great, $12 field fee and that includes all day air and CO2, and their paint prices where reasonable for Zap.

My only complaint was that the fields where small and more speedball oriented for my liking.
But that's just my personal preference.

Even though I like to have more options than speedball type games, the fields where well planned out for their size, and IMO would be great for the avid speedball fan.

Even though I personally won't be back, the field was still great, and the staff very helpful and professional.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

EckoUnltdKG Sunday, February 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Choo Choo's Family Fun Center - Nice place, 4 fields, 3 which are kind of small.
Review: My first time to this field made me want to go back again. This place was great. Five nice big fields which were nicely set up and fun to play. Prices are pretty good for entry and paint. Staff was good and friendly. Refs were on top of things and did a good job with safety, instructions and reinforced rules. Lots of cool and friendly people here. My first time there I noticed a paintball team named Team Fantasy played with the main group, nice people and nice place to come to watch and check peoples gear out. Thats about it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Qweezle Monday, January 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adventure Village, well set-up field, however they require the use of field paint, which is far too expensive for the average player(like me).
Review: Twisted Texas is an excellent field run by excellent people. That's the bottom line.

To get into a bit more detail, Twisted Texas is a field that has been around for a while, since at least before I started playing, I've known of their existence for 4 years or so.

There used to be an owner named John, who wasn't really very good, he had high paint prices(though still cheaper than Adventure Village), and he was not as serious about safety(it seems) as the current owner, Mrs. Kim.

覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧
I will first state the strengths of this field:

Currently there are 6 fields:

"Tires" which is a large speedball field.
"Spools" which is large speedball field.
"Desert Storm" which is my favorite, half speedball and half woods.
"Old Tires" which is a small speedball field.
"Bank" which is a medium-sized speedball field with a creek down one side and old cars as bunkers. This is located on the other side of a raised pathway from Old Tires, and the two are sometimes played together as one large field, one team starting on Bank and one on Old Tires.
"Fort" which is its namesake: a large wooden fort with 4 towers that cannot be shot into from the inside, this is a classic game of attack and defend, with a 2 attacker to 1 defender ratio on all games played there.
There used to be a field called "Vietnam", but there is now a large sinkhole in the middle of it, and it is unplayable. Vietnam, it should be noted, was the only woodsball field besides Fort, now there is just Fort.

The paint prices are as follows:

Zap Amp paint: Zap Tork paint:

$5 - 100 rounds
$15 - 500 rounds $25 - 500 rounds
$25 - 1000 rounds (1/2 case) $35 - 1000 rounds (1/2 case)
$40 - 2000 rounds (case) $55 - 2000 rounds (case)

Likely the cheapest field paint you will ever see, and it's not bad paint at all(especially the Tork, which is worth the extra $15 per case, trust me). The bore size on both paints is .689-.691, so check your barrels!

The staging area is very large, it's essentially a bunch of tables(both spools and plywood on logs sorts of things), however there is plenty of space for you and your buddies' stuff, and it is usually not too dirty.

Since the field emphasizes safe play(and the refs are so friendly), any parent worried about leaving their child there should not, he/she will be fine. The regular players are also very nice and helpful.

The prices for rental of a gun are as follows:

Tippmann Model 98 w/ 100 rounds and all-day pass $22
Tippmann Model 98 w/ 500 rounds and all-day pass $35

The price for an all-day admission pass is $12 if you have your own equipment.

These prices are cheap considering the quality of the field.

覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧
Now I will touch on the weaker points of the field:

Parking is sparse, but if you get there early there is no problem.

If you need to go to the restroom, you are going to have to use the port-a-potty, which isn't THAT big of a deal, but there COULD be actual bathrooms, or at the least, more than one portable toilet.

The staging area could be nicer than just tables in a big area, but it works.

Except for Fort(played usually just once a day), it's all speedball.

覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧
All in all, this is a wonderful field. The few things it lacks in overall polish makes the entry price and paint price cheaper, and the wonderful people who run it and play it are there to help. There could be a full woodsball field, but the speedball fields are so good there doesn't really need to be. The owner is going to possibly revamp Vietnam at some point, so then there would be something for everyone.

Bottom line: If you can make it out to Conroe, go to Twisted Texas. The drive is worth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pointblank21 Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
tanks paintball, paintball mania
Review: well now twisted got a new owner and it is alot better jon was to mean.The refs the are great,if you want to know anything they could help you.The people there are great.The feilds there are great, they just made fury feild and thats a great feild to play.There paint prices have went down alot.It's only 12 dollers to get it.It would be nice it the got real restrooms but for right now its ok.All i have to say it that twisted is great and thanks to mrs.kim for everything she has done to twisted.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

actornside Monday, December 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
CutnShoot Paintball ----sucks compared to Twisted
Review: Great Field, should have a higher rating than it has. Great fields, good refs (most of the time) but alot of them so they had good coverage of the field. They knew i was hit before i did...it was wild. Lots of people, big games, with alot of different style and level of players. The Desert Storm field and Bank and Tires was alot of fun. Will definatly go back, good prices as well.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media