paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sudden Impact Paintball Field / Sudden Impact Paintball Field / Sudden Impact Paintball Field / Sudden Impact Paintball Field

Sudden Impact Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
40Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 309-874-3338
Address: 7290E 550N Rd
McLean, Illinois 61754
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
MobileOak Monday, May 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Challenge Park, The Badlandz, and Timber Games.
Review: I played there this past weekend (5-8-04), and had a great time. I only place a few times a year nowadays, and am disappointed when a few people with expensive, tricked out guns ruins the day for those with rentals or low end guns. For the most part that didn't happen.

Pros:
- (Mostly) friendly, helpful, and professional staff. They were very courteous and tried to move things along as fast as possible. They were very accommodating - when my wife got a headache from using a mask that was too tight, they gave her a better mask and some aspirin. When the 5 of us wanted to separate from the main group to go play on their speedball course, they gladly hooked us up with a ref. Considering how many little kids were trying their patience, they were very good at their job.
- Pricing. While Badlandz would have allowed us to bring our own field paint, the walk on fee was $25, with rental being $10 more. I was bringing a few friend who had never played before, and SI's pricing was $5 to get on the field, and $5 more to rent - although they let one guy in my group rent free since it was his first time ever playing paintball. With my wife coming along, I more than welcomed the $40 difference in cost to play here.
- The fields. While not elaborate, they are pretty good fields. Living close to Level-X paintball, I've had a good chance to see their fields, and they don't compare to Sudden Impact's fields. I like having a good woods with large trees and some underbrush to play in. The two fields we played on this weekend were in good condition, and fun. The speedball course they have set up is also nicely configured.

Cons:
As with any experience, there are some disadvantages. These were minor enough to warrant a rating of 9/10, however:
- Poor website. I tried finding good information before the event on the Internet, and unfortunately their website is at least 3 years out of date. It wasn't until I scanned reviews here that I was able to determine accurate pricing. The map on their site is accurate, but blurry. The phone number on their site does still work, and I did mention the website issue to the owner - he said they have something in the works - we'll see.
- Large breaks between games. This was more the fault of the people attending than anything else. The refs were trying to get as many games in as possible, but several people took a long time getting ready. In addition, there were a couple of times when people shot so much paint in the first round that the second wasn't played. This is something that will be dependent on the crowd present on a given day. Fortunately, we were able to go play own our own, and only having 5 people in the group, we were able to get about 10 rounds of speedball in in the time it took the large group to finish a round.
- No credit cards accepted. This is a matter of getting power and a phone line to their fieldhouse, and unfortunately they haven't done it yet. If you plan on going to Sudden Impact, remember to bring cash.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

P8nt13aller Sunday, May 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 52- Only 3 fields that aren't nearly as big as this one, more expensive, and not as good reffing.
WoodsBall at Friends- fun, but nothing compares to organized paintball
Review: I went to Sudden Impact with about 8 friends on a Sunday. Right when I walked onto the staging area I noticed 3 other fairly large sized groups. One was a church group of ages 10-40, another a group of high school kids, and another group of what looked like regulars. Their paint prices are fairly reasonable with only 72$ for a case of 2000. It was pretty good quality paint too. The admission fee is 5$ which also includes free air fills at the end. They had more than enough benches set up to put our gear on and 2 large tents to go under when it rains. I just bought some new equiptment and was eager to try it out. Our grouup of 8 joined the church group and we versed the high school kids for about 7 games. They have 3 different types of games that they play, capture the flag where the flags in the middle; capture the flag where you have to get to your opponents flag and bring it back; and elimination paintball. We only went on 4 different fields they have there. They have one really large field, which is their biggest that had plenty of area to move and not be seen, and to do all kinds of tactics. That field also had plenty of large trees to hide behind and also different objects like giant wooden spools, a van/helicopter, a satellite dish, a big pole set up like a gun w/ camo netting, and much more on the other side of the field. Then next field we went to was in the shape of a triangle and had a giant ditch which split the triangle in two, that was a fun field. Then we went to one of their smaller woodsfield that had lots of wooden spools and still lots of tress. They also have there, a hyperball field, speedball fields, other woodsball fields and probably a few more way back. In all Sudden Impact has about 80 acres or more of land to play on and its all fun. The refs let us play for a while, then take us back to the staging area and give us 10 minutes to refill and clean before we go back out. So you play almost the whole time your there. I had a great time w/ my friends until it started to poor down rain and we had to sit out. The only thing bad about this field is is that it doesnt have any running water, which means you have to go to the bathroom before you leave. I brought along water and was fine with that. This is the best field i've ever been to and will be sure to go there from now on!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pyratt Tuesday, April 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Level X - disliked this place because of cost and the place in general
Challenge Park (old and new) - new CPX is too big and expensive and commercialized
County Club Paitnball - dirty cramped not a good place in general
Review: I paintball at my grandma's woods a lot and have been to a few fields.

Sudden Impact is by far my favorite field I've ever been to.

+ Cost : the cheapest paintball park I've ever been to at $5 flat admission/rental for college students and $72 for a case of 2000 paintballs

- no BYOP: I wish they had an option where I could pay more to be able to bring my own paintballs because I have a flatline barrel which requires smaller high quality paint

+ Refs : Laid back, helpful, safety oriented, skilled, friendly, the best!

+ Atmosphere: I enjoyed the small-ish park atmosphere here

+ Management : John was really nice over the phone in helping me set up reservations

+ Fields: the fields were pretty cool in general even tho there aren't that many that we played on. I enjoyed the "snake" which is a series of tubes on their sides that you can crawl along.

I liked this place so much when we went for my friend's 21st bday that I set reservations for us to play there on my 21st birthday!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ozmo Monday, April 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Out of state and a small field in IL no longer available-SI was way larger!
Review: Went to the "Big Game" on 4-24. The theme for this event was "Command and Conquer". I do not the exact number but I bet there were upwards of 50 people there (Rain was expected but didn't hit us until the last big 45 minute match) and I had a blast.

The refs were on the ball and even though I was an hour or so late, I was able to catch on to what was going on (scoring, etc.). They had plenty of people on hand to help out with equipment repairs and purchases. As for the field structure...its a good sized field. They have a fairly good size Hyper ball field and I saw a smaller speedball field as well.

The woods area was huge. Even with the Illinois Spring weather, the foliage in the woods was awesome. Tons of trees, bushes, and other types of foliage and props. I felt the field was well constructed and layed out. The best part was that I was so used to boundaries for outdoor fields....here there seemed to be no boundaries in the woods play, which helped make the scenarios/missions they had for the subgroups of each team.

I gave it a 10 because I felt that my overall experience was one of the best that I have had playing. Usually I play with a set group of friends or the bring your own party-style of play...with the walk-on team play, everyone seemed to get along well and it went smoothly IMO. If you happen to be in Central Illinois, check this place out.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Builtaboy Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
area 52(blows)
Review: sudden impact is the best field ive ever been to ive only been to 2 fields but this was deffinetly the best they are all about safety and they are really patient with newbies they help you with your gun if its broken and stuff also the refs are great they make sure no 1 cheats they watch very carefully for wiping they got plenty of fields like airball hyperball barrels 2 woods courses(of course cause it in the middle of no where) and well thats all i got to say but if i were you i would definetly try this field at least once
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RatImp9 Wednesday, April 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 52 - Definetly not up to the standards of Sudden Impact yet...Still, a nice pro shop
Review: Sudden Impact was where my first paintball experience began. The only downside to playing at SI was the rentals. Still, they are pretty nice for newbies and I know I didn't care when I was out there. The reffing is great and emphasis on safety is huge. I've never had any real problems out there except for a time when a kid constantly wiped paint. They took care of that though. Also, there are always friendly people out there willing to help you out with your marker and, overall, create a great experience. If you're in the area, check out Sudden Impact.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bushmasterpb Sunday, February 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 52- I have'nt played there but upon first glance it just does'nt look like a good field to play at at all.
Review: Sudden Impact has great service and good field settups which is one reason why ive never go anywhere else to play. Although most fields are good for playing ctf they do have 3 well set up speed ball courses. Refs. are well trained and will help you on whatever you need. I especially like the once a year scenario game.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 7th, 2004 at 6:55 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

polen Sunday, January 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Good service everyone is very friendly. has about 8 feilds all very fun to play on. over about 80 acres. Great field. The fields are very nicley set up from spools to barrels to airball. They have a very nice hyber ball feild which is great to play on. Now remember this report was comin from somone with over 20 years of experience. i have been playin there for about 9-10 years or whenever it was opened very good friends with the owner and i think it is one of the best fields i have ever played on.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannluvr Thursday, November 13th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Pekin Paintball, friends homemade field.
Review: Sudden impact has changed dramatically since I first went there. Now it has about 8 awesome fields. My favorite is hyper ball. Now they even extended that field. My friend filmed us battling it out on that field and it was sweet. It has perfect light, no trees making it hard to see people. It has a good amount of bunkers and has about even sides. You can definitly prove your skill on this field. They also have an inflated bunker field. They have some large wooded fields. Another field soon to come is an Xball field, so it helps tounry teams practice it out for future tourny's. If you are into senario play they have great wooden fields with plenty of room to run and snipe or whatever you want. The people that run it are great people, the refs are serious and they help keep it safe around there. The owner and his son are some of the coolest people to be running a paintball area. It isn't extremely expensive either, and they have some items you can buy right there, like speed tubes, squeegies, swabs, keychains, o-rings, stickers, sometimes they got nitro tanks, and they can even help fix any broken markers or hoppers. One of the only drawbacks is, you have to buy there paint. There paint is alittle more expensive but hey they gotta make money somehow right? I heard its going to change though that paint prices will go down. It would be a nice thing, plus it'll proabably help there business. People can range from 150 to 4. I've been there when its been both of those. Another drawback is that they don't have a shop or take credit cards. They have no electricity out there so be sure to either have a check ready or cash. One good thing if your on a team they even have sundays when teams can come in and practice. I've seen team Pshyco Circuis out there and its fun to watch them play. It's a great place to paintball, even if your beginner to pro.
Last edited on Thursday, January 8th, 2004 at 5:22 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

LiLpballa888 Tuesday, September 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paint'n Place (closed) Area 52 (blows) Sudden impact(oh ya!)
Review: Sudden Impact is so awsome! They have a newer field which is very cool! its called

HYPERBALL, its a speed ball course, which uses huge black plastic pipe things for

bunkers. this field is very fun with aloy of people because its a big speed ball field. its a

really nice field. They also have an airball course with inflatable bunkers which is a fun

course also. they have 2 woods fields, im not into the wood fields i think its just a waste

of paint( i like the speed ball better) but for the people who like the woods games then

sudden impact is awsome for that. one course is called the command and conquer

field... it has a huge van which looks like a helicopter...they have sand bag bunkers. this

course holds like 60 people! the other woods field is a bit smaller and it is usually

used for center flag or captur the flag. All the players that are there are all very cool and

the refs are cool too. they know what they are doing and they let u have fun at the same

time. you get to know the refs very easily also adn they are all really nice.

THESE FIELDS ROCK
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media