paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sudden Impact Paintball Field / Sudden Impact Paintball Field / Sudden Impact Paintball Field / Sudden Impact Paintball Field

Sudden Impact Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
40Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 309-874-3338
Address: 7290E 550N Rd
McLean, Illinois 61754
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
olymidget187 Saturday, August 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
area 52( not as good but it was fun wen i went)
Review: as far as it goes for me, this feild is great, ive only been paintballin 2 times but this wus alot of fun, for newbys they make u take an oral interview and they make sure rules r inforced, such as barrel plugs in at all times untill ur on the feild and mask on on the field at ALL times, and on sundays u can bring ur own paint. so i give this place a 10, cus for $20 u get 500 paintballs and ur gun is free and ther r quite a few courses.
Last edited on Saturday, August 23rd, 2003 at 8:23 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Guillotine Sunday, August 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
some indoor place in Peoria that closed down...i'm from out of state, so I mainly play at apocalypse in madison, WI, The Edge in Janesville, WI, and there are a few others in WI that I have been to
Review: Well, I had come down to sudden impact from out of state. I normally play in wisconsin, so as I was visiting relatives, I decided to check out a new field...and I looked at the website for it on here and didn't want to go initially, but the website is far outdated and they have much newer things now.

Upon arriving to the field, it looked fairly nice...a good possibility that I was going to have fun, but it was also 93 degrees...but thats not the fields fault...anyways, when we got up to the counter to pay, they didn't accept credit or debit...which is a shame, every field i've gone to does accept...so they got docked points in my book for that, and so we had to drive out to find an ATM(in which the nearest were in Mclean about 10 minutes off and both ATMs were down...so I had to bust out the spare cash and just hold back on my trigger finger a little for the day)...the field fee is very nice though...5 bucks for field fee and you get all day air included, a definite bonus, except they only fill to 3000 psi...the paint price is average...72 bux for a case of mid-low end paint...pmi premiums, not bad, but could be better...

the staging area was probably one of the better things about the field, picninc tables and spools all shaded by small tents...although the staging area was small(understandable for the small amount of traffic that comes through there) it was still very nice...with a woodchipped ground covering.

the airball field was nice...a good grassy field, nice bunker layout...but the hyperball was not...the set up was ok, but they used woodchips on the ground...I abused my elbows a little crawling in the snake, and there is not chance to superman slide or knee slide without fear of impaling yourself or ripping your pants or jersey...

they need an instructional video for all of the peopel who have never been there before, instead of having one of the refs do it himself, no offense, he did an ok job, but a rehearsed video would get people's attentions better...and they talk about no dry firing in the staging areas and whatnot...but there were people dry firing into the garbage cans and one kid had the audacity to start dry firing his imp without a barrel condom on...sure, there wasn't paint in the hopper, but he was just walking the trigger in the open...and the refs just sat by and let it happen...but they refs were very strict about keeping masks on in non-staging areas...

all around...ok field, need more speedball fields, a credit card machine, a megabooster, and some sand for their hyperball field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

legion Friday, June 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Challenge Park
Realms of Ruin
Review: This is my home field and I have been playing there for three years. During the last year all of the fields (3 wooded and 3 speedball) have been reworked to some degree (the speedball fields don't even resemble last year's set up). Paint price is on the high end of the scale, and the paint sold varies from week to week. Some weeks its this horrible unbranded stuff from Canada, other weeks it is RPS Premium or Inferno. The funny thing is, I find that I spend less money and play more at this field than other fields with higher admission and lower paint prices.

Safety and having fun are the primary concerns of the staff. The results of this are strict adherence to rules like barrel plugs must be in in staging areas and goggles must be worn in playing areas. Also, the staff is concerned about new players being dominated by seasoned players and attempts to segregate playing groups accordingly. Because most of the money is made from paint, the staff is also concerned about keeping you on the playing field for as long as possible.

On any given day, you are likely to see a church group, a pro team, and a pickup game going on all at the same time with the various groups discussing equipment and strategy between rounds.

The rental equipment is G2 Piranhas or PMI Trracer Pumps.

This is by far the best field I have played at, but there are some minor areas for improvement.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ocdp09 Monday, May 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Patriot Paintball, Operation Paintball, Country Club Paintball, Huntington Beach, Badlandz, Fox Paintball
Review: AWESOME FIELD. they have a few hyperball fields. THERE AWESOME, and if you want to play like pro teams and all, they have a bunch of awesome airball fields! ONE OF BEST FIELDS IVE EVER PLAYED AT...even though its in the middle of nowhere, its worth the drive. its awesome!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballa009 Sunday, May 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 52 (blows), Challenge Park Extreme where I wasted my money to sit around all day, Pekin which was pretty good, and Peoriabut it is closed now, and Chillicothe which was real good. Sudden Impact is probably the bet paintball field around because they have nice fields, good refs, and a very nice owner. The best thing about the field is that it is very safe and there are hardly any accidents.
Review: I'd have to say that this is my favorite field I have ever played on. The game types there are varied so your not just playing speedball the whole time or woodsball the whole time. The atmosphere is very nice also because everyone is very nice and it's not very intimidating. I know I sound like a big panzee saying this but eh, o well.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JBudmanPBaller Sunday, May 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at Chilli Paintball pits, which was really sweet, Action Park in Joliet, which was ok except we had to sit around more than we played, Pekin, which was ok, Area 52 in Mackinaw, which is too small and boring, and that's about it.
Review: I think that Sudden Impact is the best field I have ever played at. Some of the other reviews say how the fields aren't that great, but they must have changed since the last time they went, because they now have an airball field and a hyper ball field as well as a speedball field. I think the woods fields are great too, because it's a lot of natural cover mixed with spools and the like. The refs are all really great, and the owner John is a nice guy. They do a good job spliiting up the different levels of players, unlike most fields. The field is also very safe. When I went to the Area 52 in Mackinaw, people were walkin around w/ their barrel plugs out, shooting in the staging area, and none of the refs cared. At Sudden Impact, they make sure that everyone's safe and they do a good job letting everyone have fun at the same time. They also have been having a Big Game the past few years which is a lot of fun, and they host quite a few big tournaments as well. All in all it is a great field that I have been playing at almost every Saturday for the past 3 years and I encourage everyone to go there and play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

x96riley3 Monday, May 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
wacky warriors, bayou paintball, Grand Rapids paintball
Review: This place sits on around 100 acres and has new and updated fields. It's one of the better fields I have played. It had great parking and nice places to rest up. Clean picnic tables and clean grounds. The refs seemed pretty good too. It has a creek that runs through it that offers some nice landscape with a bridge over the creek. It had a very professional atmosphere and the owner John seemed pretty nice. Fields include a brand new speedball course. Go there.....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

junebu5864 Monday, April 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Country Club, Paintball Blitz, Challenge Park, BFG, Rns paintball, Badlandz, Rockford PAintball Games, Fox PAintball, Paintball Sams, Promised LAnd, and that's all I can think of right now
Review: Awesome field! New AIrball field, NEW HYPERBALL FIELD! John(owner) and his son Jason are the nicest, most hopeful, most paintballknowledgable people you will ever meet.Cool woods fields, and you might even run into TeamPsycho Circus practicing for nppl super sevens. You have to play the new hyperball field they just finished, one of the best I have ever played.Play this field!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HitmenPaintball Sunday, April 6th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
There has been another field in bloomington, it was an indoor speedball field, and a lot of fun, but it closed down, i have also played in a place at peoria. Comparing to those two this field is great.
Review: This place has been a lot of fun, I've been playing her since i was like 8 or 9, and every time i go it's still a lot of fun. They also got a new blow up speed ball course which is a lot of fun.The only down thing about this course is you have to buy the paint they have. Which can be pricy, It's $80 for a box of 200, and $20 for a bag of 500, which is very expensive. But other than that it's a lot of fun cause they have nets set up where you can watch people play speedball with out having to wear a mask, which is very neat. The three big fields are a lot of fun, because they have a lotta bunkers and it's easy to sneak up on the opponent.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ProfRyan Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Not too many fields that are close to this one. There is a field in Chilicothe (north of Peoria), there is Challenge Park Extreme in Joliet but these fields are near two hours away.
Review: This field is ok. The staff is friendly and the Owner John is good about making deals for the players who show up. The speedball fields are a little warn down, they use wood planks and logs but it works. The woods fields are fun...when they are all open. There are usually only two woods fields open and one speedball field. The paint is some of the worst i have used. This stuff must sit around for a looong time because it is dimpled and warped. I use practice paint at home that is more accurate than the stuff i use on the field. It is annoying and frustrating to see your shots arc or have paint break in your barrel because the paint is of such poor quality. Oh, and did i mention price? Their paint prices are outrageous. $20 for 500 rounds. $80 for a case. I can order premium paint (marbelizer) for $65-70 online. I guess most fields have similar prices though Too bad they don't let you use your own paint. Yep, thats right, field paint only. Oh, and there rental guns are some of worst guns i have ever used. After renting once, i went out and bought a new gun the next day. What's funny is as much dogging i have been doing, i play there fairly regularly. Mostly because there are no other fields close. I keep waiting for some new fields....*sigh*
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media