paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Dothan Survival Games Paintball Field / Dothan Survival Games Paintball Field / Dothan Survival Games Paintball Field / Dothan Survival Games Paintball Field

Dothan Survival Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
36Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (334) 793-8202
Address: 141 Cowarts Rd.
Dothan, Alabama 36301
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Theman420 Thursday, July 22nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 21st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A
Directions
to the Field:
On Highway 84. Very easy to find.
Review: I'll start it off with saying, Dothan Survival Games was Awesome!!!.
A group of 15 friends and I played on the 21st of July 2010. Everyone had a blast, and only three had played paintball before, myself included.
There number one thing is safety. And mainly facemask protection. Very maticulous in the precaution in which they take to make sure no one is blinded. I apprecaite this because although I know how to use a safety, and barrel condom, dosnt mean the other guy does.
There number two, which is only supersieded by the frequency of number one are the fields. Their fields are great. They have (9) nine fields on 33 aches. If you want cool fields that arent focused just around (speed)ball settings this is the place. They have a cool castle setting with great terrain. They have a awesome western setting with nice bunker placement and sizes. Jungle setting was great with manmade natural bunkers. Again the terrain is unbeatable at DSG.
These are just my three favorites. We played all of them and they were all aweome!
I cant give them a number three because there staff are worthy of a ten! Owner and operator Keith Daniels is a player himself and a real stand up guy. He treated all of our group to free bottled water for the day just to show his apprecaition for us coming out. He was also very accomadating to our group. They refs were right on. If I called out for a paint check (which was often) they were literally running to the mark. Good calls. Very cool. Gave pointers when asked for some help. The younger of the two refs gave us his water on the field in between games so that we would stay hydrated!! My mask came off in mid run to a bunker and the ref ran up and threw his body around my head to give me time to get it back on. Safety definatly number one. lol
The paint was fair priced. 55 for a case of heat. All kinds inculding marballizers. Lots of equipment. Barrells, Markers, Plugs, pretty much everything.
Some candy bars and stuff for snacks. Nice bathrooms.
There only downfall are there hours. Just get there early is all I can say. Not enough time for all the fun.
If you were debating on which field to go to or if you would like this one. This is your field. It was awesome and I can guarantee you will love this place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

vudooballer Saturday, July 25th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 11th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dothan Survival Games just obtained the contract for the Fort Rucker area on base and created 4 fields and on site shop.
Directions
to the Field:
They are on Facebook and myspace and they have forums on the website all have directions and phone number.
Review: Proshop, staff is some of the best, drinks and snacks sold and nice fields shows the time they put into keeping up and creating new fields. Safety is high there there are restrooms instead of the oak tree I have been told on another field and the prices are great the hours of operation I would like to see extended by 1 or 2 hrs more.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rawdude334 Thursday, July 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 30th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none but because hotshots is out if buissness
Review: Dothan Survival Games is a really great place for the whole family. I've been playing paintball for 2 years and ive been going to DSG for 2 years. They take safety VERY SERIOUSLY!!! If you take your mask off yiu have to sit down fir a game and if u take it off again you cant play paintball the rest of the day at DSG. DSG use to be a water park. When you play in the woods be careful cause there is alot of roots sticking out of the ground. Ive had my share of tripping over them and loseing a whole hopper of paint. If you are a begginer they will show you how to play and what to do in different situtations. Before you step onto the feild they will chrono your gun so the FPS ( feet per second ) is below 300 but no higher than 280. They wont allow full auto. well almost all paintball fields dont allow it. But over all i would give DSG a 9.5 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadowfox2011 Friday, May 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 6th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have not played on any fields in the area.
Review: I have been to DSG at least six times. I go on Saturdays usually and there is normal a lot of people to play with. They allow players to run up a tab and pay before you leave. Like when my X7 had a part break they fixed it and allowed me to pay them at the end of the day. I your gun cannot be fixed quickly they will give you a rental to use free. They will charge for only for parts usually. I really like this field because the referees will sometimes give you hints about the field; they are really friendly and player friendly, and you only have to use the field paint if you use a rental.

They are strict on headgear. Watch the refs, and when they take their headgear off you can too.

They do sell snacks and drinks.

Entry Fee $15.00 per person
All Day Air $10.00 per tank
Field Paint* $50.00 per 2000 paintballs
Rental Package** $20.00 per person

* Required for rental markers
** Includes entry fee, all day air, marker, mask, and 100 paintballs
(Prices listed may have changed call 334-793-202 to find out)

Sunday 1:00 PM until 5:00 PM
Monday Closed
Tuesday 1:00 PM until 5:00 PM
Wednesday Closed
Thursday 1:00 PM until 5:00 PM
Friday 10:00 AM until 5:00 PM
Saturday 10:00 AM until 5:00 PM









Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sleeves411 Thursday, March 26th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
I am not sure of the other fields in the area. I hear HotShots is a good inside field though.
Review: You arrive with your group or by your lonesome. You walk into the nice office room with Paintball on TV and a couch on your right. Entry fee is $15 all day air is another $10. If you have brought all of your own paint and equipment, that is all that you have to pay. A rental package that includes entry, gun, mask, all day air, and 100 balls is $25. 2000 balls/$50, if you plan on shooting a lot. After you have finished paying you can go around the back of the office and lay out your gear on tables to get ready (fill you pods, hopper, etc...) When everyone is there, a person comes out and gives an orientation about safety(Keep your mask on until told to take it off.) and to always have barrel plugs or sleeves on when told to do so. The word of the refs are final. One infraction and you get a warning and sit out a few games, another and you have to leave.

After the orientation the refs take groups to different fields: air ball (if set-up), Dodge City(city with plywood bunkers), Speedball, Hyperball, Woodsball, Castle, Mounds, and Maze(only heard of it not played)

Usually you do one round switch sides, then go to another field so everyone plays what they would like.

During waiting times between games, refs clean your hits, splatter, any paint that is on you.

Everyone including the players are caring and help you if you need it. If your gun breaks and it is fixable you take it up there and they will fix it and get you out and playing and you don't have to pay right then and there. If not they may let you use one of their rentals.

It was my first time playing paintball and I like it, great staff and refs, everyone is friendly and I had a great time. Nothing to complain except I had a not so accurate gun, but that was my fault.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint Slanga Wednesday, January 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Have played only Fileds in Florida
Directions
to the Field:
See Website, east of dothan
Review: The fields were excellent, very diverse. My only complaint is that I didn't get to play all the fields.

The referees were exellent. I must say this is the most customer oriented paintball field I have been to. From wiping down marks to defogging your goggles they were excellent. This is the only field I have ever been to where everyone does an orietation before going on the feld. My only complaint is that this really held up getting from the car to the field. Refs were everywhere and were very aware of what was going on. Having a young son with me, I was glad to see that. They were right on top of the action. Safety can seem like a hassle but I don't complain unless it detracts from the game. Once we were on the field, I had no complaints about the safety.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BOXERofGODSPEED Sunday, December 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hurlburt and Niceville
Review: I usually play at the woodsball field in Hurlburt. I cannot put that field down because it is the best of what we have around. It is a simple field. You go to play and thats what you get.It has great players and "Stick" is a great manager. This Saturaday Dec. 20th 2008 I played at Dothan Survival Games in Dothan AL. I have to start by saying...Outstanding!!
This field is anything and everything you want in a paintball field. The field owner/crew will ensure you are haveing a great time. You do not have to wait 30 mins for the next game to start beacause as soon as the game your on is over you will then walk to the next course and get redy for the next battle. And here is a fun fact. When the game is over the refs actually will wipe the paint from your gear and clean your goggles if you got hit in the face!! Where else do you see that?!!! They have plenty of fields to play and the best safety. I am 150% satisfied with this field and its crew and I will tell everybody I meet in the sport that they have to come to this place! Our team GODSPEED will be playing there as much as possible. I have given this field a ten because it has to be all-around the safest and most diverse field I have played at. It has one of the best reffing teams I have seen, and the owner/Manager will ensure that you are satisfied to the best of his abilities.This field Is one of the reasons Paintball continues to thrive!!!
Last edited on Sunday, December 21st, 2008 at 3:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

baller1280 Sunday, February 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Zone Paintball (Albany, GA) great place not sure if its still open just airball and speedball
Ive played at several tourneys but im not going to list them here and they were all airball anyways
Directions
to the Field:
Get on 84 west (main st. through downtown) going towards the medical center youll pass a metal recyclying yard on the right keep going about a mile past the medical center youll see a sign its on the left
Review: I have played there a few times and all the refs are real fair and nice. the pro shop is well stocked with new equipment and parts they sell good paint but you can bring your own if you have your own equipment. the refs can be a little annoying at times but there looking out for peoples safety so im not going to complain they have several fields including:
Dodge CIty-large field with ply wood buildings and bunkers
Castle-one team defends a castle while the other team tries to make it around a pond and touch a post beside the castle
Woods-in the woods bunkers are made of piled up sticks and logs along with anything you can fit behind
Hyperball-typical hyperball course
Speedball-plywood bunkers
Mounds-pretty much speedball with three large mounds in the center
Maze-didnt get to play on this one b/c it had flooded but its supposed to be thick woods with trails running all through it
Little Vietnam-flooded also, supposed to be really thick woods
Air Ball-they rarely have this set up so i havent played it yet, but im sure its a typical airball field
The only thing i dont like about DSG is the fact that the air ball field isnt always setup
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShiverInfinity Saturday, July 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: July 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
HotShots decent indoor field with control freaks in charge too concerned with money and what they can get from the player but an ok field
Directions
to the Field:
Head east on Hwy 84, just past Beverlye Road start looking to the left for a road that goes off to the left at an angle and the field is in that angle.
Review: had a great day of play today. owner is a bit safety overboard but who can blame him in this sue happy world. Refs were friendly and always on the lookout for anything that might harm anyone. they carried mask cleaner and all that kept you from having to carry your own stuff or walk back for it. Owner kept offering us water, free, because of the heat and that's a great thing because it was HOT! He didn't mind that we kept having to leave to go check on a friends car then come back to play. The ref staff wouldjust fit us back into the next game. Another cool thing is that i'm a tourn y player and he didn't treat me like a disease on his field. he was glad tohave me and my teamates there. there was a place to get outa the heat, a guy that could work onthe guns and good paint. what more could ya want? oh and he had the lense i needed as well as some other stuff the other guys needed. he had it there on hand. u need to check this place out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chalker Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: January 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
84 East about a mile from Ross Clark Circle on the left across from American Inn Motel
Review: Where do I begin..... I enjoy myself every time a visit the guys at DSG. They are always helpful and interested in thier customers. It is a very nice setup with 9 plus fields to choose from, a nice orientation area and overall layout. I have played here off and on over the past 10 years and I cant help but go back again and again. I have noticed recently that some people choose to bad mouth the field because the are fair to all players, not just the hotrods with umpteen thousand dollar equipment, thats unfortunate. I have played everything from woodsball pump all the way up to 5 and 10 man speedball tourneys over the years and I really like all of it. This field is a great place for beginners and tournament players alike. They really have a top priority for safety at this field and it is a place where you can trust youll be treated fairly for your dollar bill (rare these days). They have a fully stocked pro-shop that has up to date gear as well as some hard to find parts and pieces. They have small snacks and an assortment of drinks avail. if need be and thats good for those long days of paintball. Ive been to tons of fields where the safety rules are very loosely enforced but these guys are the best---Headgear is the most important peice of equipment you buy no matter what level or experience you are. And here you can be confident that your safety is very important to them. I am not in anyway affiliated with this field or its owner but I can say they have always treated me right and done it safely. I hate to see comments on this website that are biased because someone thinks they can roll in and play and act how they want with no regard to rules and then complain when they are not the only person to take care of...its truly a shame. Matthew Chalker
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media