paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Dothan Survival Games Paintball Field / Dothan Survival Games Paintball Field / Dothan Survival Games Paintball Field / Dothan Survival Games Paintball Field

Dothan Survival Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
36Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (334) 793-8202
Address: 141 Cowarts Rd.
Dothan, Alabama 36301
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
p8ntspunge04 Sunday, January 14th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Going to check them out for sure
Review: Ok, so where do I begin?

DSG, definitely is a nice site for the rec-ball or airsoft community. Definitely what I would expect for lower Alabama. I've been playing tournament paintball for almost 5 years now and was hoping to play some speedball since I heard so much about this place. Well upon arriving at the field a little before opening time (pretty standard at most fields), I found I was the only one there to play. I was also shocked to find that the sup-air field that they have as the main page of their site wasn't even put up. They apparently only put it up 2 times a month. So I venture inside to check out prices and come to find average paint at somewhat high prices. Not exactly highway robbery, but it's hard knowing what the paint costs for dealers and then seeing what they charged. Anyway, I digress. So I fill out the paperwork and am told to be ready for an orientation. After I sit through this 10 minute long rant from the owner, I realize that I just lost 10 I.Q. points in listening to him explain that a paintball to the eye is a bad thing. Thanks for the scientific breakthrough, genius. Well after the hour and a half I wait to get on the field, we finally have a group ready to play. I ask to go to the hyperball field and am told that we have to do dodge city first, and it's a 2 game rotation. Well I sit through the first 2 at dodge city (approx 20 minutes total) and finally we get to the hyperball field. So we play the first game and after walking off the field, the reffs have us raise our barrels and I take off my mask. Big mistake apparently. The 15 year old with the whistle says that I had a "head-gear violation". Excuse me for seeing that everyone is in the staging area has their barrel plugs in and having the initiative to take my mask off. Oh, and it's a mask, kid. So now after 2 hours and 1 game, I'm told "sorry but you have to it out the next one". Well, alright. Your field, your rules. I decide to walk the 1/4 mile back to the staging area and refill air. It was at this point I realized how pointless it was to even try to play here.

Sure. Reff staff talked way too much trash for guys never having played anything but local 3 man tournaments, were unwilling to check for hits, and generally annoying. I'm there to play, not have you oogle my equipment and have you ask retarded questions. Definitely won't be returning here.

So if you've played any kind of national event involving speed-ball, this is not the place for you. Rec-ball?
I gave it a 2 because they sold gatorade.. I couldn't find much else to my liking.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
11 Comments - Add Comment

raiders024 Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
n/a
Review: This by far is one of if not the best run fields I have ever played at. Thia was the second time I played there. The first time I played there, I got there late, we had about 2 hrs to play, we got in a unprecedented 7 games in. Were most places you would get in about 3-4 games with that amount of time left in the day. The refs help clean up your gear and help the wait in between games go by alot faster. I have played in 4 different states, Ca, Tn, Va, and down in Al, and again by far this is the best run field I have played at. The guys in the Pro Shop I cant say enough about them, they are very knowledgeable. This is a must play field if you are in the area. Very friendly and very helpful to all levels of paint baller.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hamchewie Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Yahoomap it or call them. They were helpful about giving me directions.
Review: I brought my boyfriend here for his birthday and neither of us had ever played paintball but wanted to try it. For our first time, I don't think we could have had a better experience. The staff was more than helpful with getting us started (and calming me down cuz I thought I was gonna die!) and showing us the ropes. They're big on safety but not to the point where it sucks all the fun out of it. The refs were fantastic and the other players were suprisingly nice. I had this idea that since we were beginners (and I'm a girl) no one would really want us on their team, but it wasn't like that at all. All the players were giving us pointers and teaching us strategy. The fields were awesome. I liked Dodge City but my bf's favorite was the woods (don't remember the name). He liked hiding behind trees and logs and under brush and such. So to any virgin paintballers or "seasoned" players that might be passing through or around the Dothan area, go check this place out. Very worth it and reasonably priced.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chipperzc Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: October 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ozark field forgot wat it is called it sucks bad compared to dsg
Directions
to the Field:
umm.... parents take me :p
Review: Oh my god. These guys are the best. ive been playin there for bout 4 years i learned everything bout p ball from them. They have such awesome refs and guys are so cool there. Like joe and kieth :p. Ya, but they have an AWESOME pro shop. Its got everything u can think of. The fields are really cool, my favorite is hyperball in a close 2nd is dodge city.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

extremeion Saturday, November 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
get on 84 east. it will be on the left side
Review: im on leave. currently in the army. i went to Dothan Alabama to play paintball. let me say i had the best time. great staff. clean. great pro shop, plenty of players. a ton of fields to play on.
from air ball,hyper ball,castle,woods, dodge city and many others.
the staff really took care of me..
next time i'm in town i will be playin again.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

donalson Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
-Panhandle paintball (this isn't even in the same league... make the drive elsewhere, anywhere)
-Tyndall AFB paintball field (requires military base access, primarily a family/rec oriented field... this is my home field but it's an all volunteer based field we don't pretend to be competition for something like DSG)
Review: THIS IS HOW A FEILD SHOULD BE RUN....

I went there today as a chaperone (SP?) w/ my church youth group...

You pull up and it's clean and well kept... lots of parking available... but you don't see much in the way of paintball.

Unload the car and head to the proshop, very nice size, couch to sit and watch paintball vids which are rocking on the TV, they had everything from PL imps, to the newest dm6, prices are reasonable for a field. You can walk in w/ nothing but the shirt on your back (er and hopefully your shorts on your bottom ;-) and a credit-card and walk away fully decked out ready to hit a tourney (unless you are fat like me in which case they don't have (or didn't) have pants large enough for me in stock DOH.

$15 for play... another $10 for all day air... 4500psi fills are a nice thing (er ok so it was down to about 4100 when I got there, was still over 3500 when I left at the end of the day) from what the ref told me they will be getting compressors soon for consistent 4500psi fills SWEET :twisted:

paint prices aren't to bad for a field and have good high quality stuff (draxxus woot), but this is a BYOP field for most events (unless you are using rentals) I'm a cheap guy so I'd prob use the BYOP option, but if you are going w/ out paint don't worry about them only selling Taiwanese crap paint that you've never heard of (and hopefully won't ever again after you shoot it) like some other local field to the panama city area.

as a party of about 20 the registration and rental gear and such was handled very well, very organized and they keep good track of who got what (not that it mattered to me personally)

after registration you walked around behind the "store" to a nice pavilion plenty of seating but it could use a few more tables to help you get ready for the day ahead IMHO... back here there are all the standard rules on huge boards and the typical "use your barrel plug you idiot" signs

after a little bit of time out here they have the meeting or whatever you want to call it, the head manager (owner?) went over all the rules in detail, he emphasized the head gear rules and the barrel plug rules more then a few times, he made some nice jokes about how bad his vision was and didn't want it to get any worse, or have anyone leave w/ even worse vision thanks to an opportunistic paintball flying while you managed to not bother having on your head gear at the proper time.

In short they are VERY strict about the head gear rule... the ref says put it on you put it on, he notices ANY violation before he says to take off the headgear you get your little name over the radio for the main office to write down... then sit out a few games, another infraction and you get to sit and enjoy that couch and TV I mentioned earlier until the rest of your party is done... YES we had a girl in our group that ended up doing this... they aren't kidding... and you know why I LIKE IT.

As a group you are given your refs at the beginning of the day, every ref I chatted with was friendly, curious, and helpful, they obviously all enjoy paintball and where eager to check out my "odd" guns (alien interceptor, Y framed mag, and the sterling pump).

first thing the refs did was go BACK over the rules really quickly... then it was out to the trail... head gear on and over the chrono station... once THEY chronoed your gun up you walked along the trail to your beginning rotation of fields... they have 7 or 8 fields, you play once, flip it, then move onto the next field, except today when they had 2x as many people as they had expected (according to the SDG forum today was a new record for them) so they (with the permission of the players) would play a few more times until the next field was available)... considering how many people there where things went very smoothly this way.


my critiques of the field... expect to do some walking, ideally setup your NESSASARY gear to be fairly moble... you hike a little bit (not really that far but good distance just to grab a drink or some paint) to get to the fields... thatís about it for the bad and thatís not an issue unless you aren't expecting it (like I wasn't doh)

After the games the refs are ready w/ rags in hand... and a spray bottle for those pesky goggle hits.


like I said before... this is how a field SHOULD be run IMHO... at least for the rec type field for the hardcore speedballers it might need some work in how things operate but they prob have something worked out around that also :)

If you've got a group of friends you want to take out for paintball the 1st time... this is DEF the place to go...

Iíll be back and Iím taking friends :)

Thanks DSG field we had a great time and you did an outstanding job.

I'm rating a 9 only because things can always improve somehow, Iíd love to see the airball up more frequently (and I hear thatís currently in the works :) maybe I should rate it a 10Ö
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pumper matt Monday, January 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 30th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Panhandel Paintball -- Way better
Review: I hated this place. I when on a Saturday and this place was loaded. There were 36 people playing in as one group because the refs would not break them up into other groups. You cant chrono by yourself, you cant leave the playing area without notifying the head ref, the refs clean you, your gun, and your goggles, you get kicked out if you take your goggles off twice without being told to, basically you cant do anything without being told.


The only good thing was they had a very well stocked pro shop and were very helpful. It was $15 for me because i play stock class and didn't have to pay for air and had my own paint. Paint is a little expensive (the cheapest was $20 for a bag of 500)


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

QAZ123 Monday, September 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None that I know of.
Review: I played in Dothan for one day while I was in town. The pro shop is heavily stocked with the right part's/accessories. The ref's do there job and get involved in game's and we had a ref for each opposing team which is something you don't see. The field's are some of the best setup's I have seen they have something for everyone!

All in all I give this field a 9.5 out of 10. The other .5 is just there cause there's alway's something to improve but if your in the area or passing through I would definitely stop and spend a day here!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lllSIXSIXSIXlll Thursday, August 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none worth mentioning
Review: Awesome fields; 9 of them total most notable being Dodge City, Hyperball, and Mounds. Refs are top notch and really really stress head gear and safety at all times. so mothers can rest at ease.

VERY NICE!! the pro shop is great. the owners and employees and refs are really nice.

they have people who really know what they are doing working there in the pro shop. i had a problem with a leak in the 3 way of my old 2002 autococker. they fixed it and had me playing again in about 10-15 minutes and fixed my gun free of charge. i guess that's what really won me over. they do what they can to get you back out on the playing field. THESE PEOPLE WILL TAKE CARE OF YOU!!

AWESOME SERVICE. I had them do some upgrade work on my old autococker. i think i paid $40 for a ton of work and service and i was very satisfied with the job. my gun worked and performed incredibly!!

GO TO THIS FIELD!! WELL WORTH A LONG DRIVE OR INTENSE SUMMER HEAT!!

I GIVE THIS FIELD 10 OUT OF 10 NO DOUBT!!!
Last edited on Thursday, August 18th, 2005 at 8:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigpapapump Saturday, August 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Haven't played any in Dothan area other than DSG. I am from Atlanta and play at Arkenstone, Paintball Atlanta and Ultimate Paintball.
Review: I came down to Dothan for my wife's(who is from Dothan) baby shower. So I went out to DSG all by myself and I have to say when I come to Dothan this is where I will play at. My atlanta paintball experience is the best, but for a small town, DSG rocks. I only played on 3 of the fields. One was a spool/hyperball field, which was very nice. The second was called castle. The castle field was my least favorite field. It was more of a shed that you had to defend. The third field was called Dodge CIty and it was really cool and extremely large. It would be great for 10 man teams. It had tons of bunkers. Now it was really hot, well because it is August in Alabama. So I only played with the walk on group. Most games were only a handfull of players, usually playing only 2v2 or 3v3. But in the fall I can imagine a lot more people here. This place has been open for 14 years and the customer service was awesome. They treated me like a customer which I really appreciate. The refs were awesome too, especially with safety. I'm expecting a kid in Novemeber, and when he's old enough we will come here when we come to Dothan. Best of all its Bring your own paint if you have your own equipment. If you rent there equipment you have to buy there paint. I played for 4 hours and walked out only playing 23 bucks cause I had paint. They didn't have any airball set up. I love airball, so I was a little dissappointed about that but overall with customer service, good refing, ability to fill Nitro and nice fields, I GIVE IT an 8.5 out of ten. The reason they don't get a 10 is because the fields are a short walk and they didn't have airball setup.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media