paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Dothan Survival Games Paintball Field / Dothan Survival Games Paintball Field / Dothan Survival Games Paintball Field / Dothan Survival Games Paintball Field

Dothan Survival Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
36Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (334) 793-8202
Address: 141 Cowarts Rd.
Dothan, Alabama 36301
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Murf425 Monday, April 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No idea; I'm not a local
Review: I just played at this field for the first time yesterday. I drove up from Pensacola for the Habitat for Humanity charity tournament.
THe field was very clean, well kept, and had good location. The pro-shop is exceptional.
I liked the set up for the airball field during the tournament.

Above all else, the refs stood out to me the most. THE ABSOLUTE BEST reffing staff I have ever played under anywhere.

I will definitely be back to DSG in the future. I only give it a 9 because I don't feel like I experienced enough of it to warrant a 10, seeing as I was only on the airball field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fragglephil Sunday, January 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
dont worry about them...
Review: Dothan Survival Games is one of those fields that absolutely know what paintball should be like, and how a paintball field should be ran. By far the best run field in the southeast area.... I am basically spoiled, everywhere else I go just doesnt really compare to there level of field.

GREAT proshop, you could show up with nothing and leave with everything you need to play.

GREAT fields, 9 including the famous dodge city(hometown favorite) and speed and hyperball....

GREAT refferies, dont worry parents these guys keep it safe and fun for everyone.

GREAT owner, by far the nicest and generous field owner, who's biggest goal is for you to be On the field as much as possible.

IN conclusion, no worries if your driving a few hours to get here, its worth it... plenty of shelter, plenty of fields, and plenty of fun....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballover44 Monday, June 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ft. rucker not even close to D.S.G.
Review: It is a very good place to play paintball they have 9 feilds speedball,hyperball,airball(on rare occasions),dodgecity,maze,woods,the mounds,castle,and little veitnam.Speedball is peices of plywood standing up in laydowns and stand-ups.Hyper ball is drainage tubes made in to bunkers in a 50yd feild.Airball looks like a normal tornament setup.Dodge city looks like a little city.Maze is a big woods feild that has walkways that can get you lost very eaisly.Woods just looks like a normal woods feildwith tree limbs for bunkers.Mounds is my favorite feild it has three huge monds running up it through the center and has plastic L T U + shaped bunkers.Castle revolves around a lake in the center of it and the object of this game is to touch an orange pole you divide up in to two teams and one is defending the castle and the other is attacking it.Little veitnam is pretty much a marsh land when it rains. The reffing is very good they stress head gear alot. They allways greet you with a friendly smile and are willing to answere your questions. i give it a ten out of 10 becase of their friendly attitude and very good feilds.
; )
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShooterATC Thursday, May 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The place in Ozark and on Ft. Rucker are not even worth mentioning
Review: There are alot of things I can say about this place that are good.

First and foremost in my mind is competent refs. While some of the younger guy's there serve no further purpose than to clean your goggles and squeegee your gun after a game this field is very well reffed. There is always at least two refs on the field that really know what they are doing and always have safety first and foremost in their minds.

Upon arriving at the field you enter an air conditioned pro shop (very well stocked) where you sign up and/or rent your equipment. After that you go to the covered staging point where you receive your field briefing, safety emphasized, and crono your gun. The crono area is at the main entrances to the fields so that no one is going onto the fields shooting hot. Prior to every new field the game is described for those who have never played there before.

The fields are all very good. My personal favorite is the hyperball field but the only time you really get to play there is when you have a smaller group with more experienced players, it only supports maybe seven man games but it's very well designed and very fast. The only field I think they are missing is airball which isn't set up except for on Sunday mornings when the team is practicing and for tournaments.

Prices aren't bad at all, $10 all day air or $1 per 1000 psi for hpa, I don't know what CO2 prices are. $10 field fee. I think its $15 rentals with free air fills. The paint is pretty fresh and they sell most of the RPS paints along with a few unknown name paints that have been excellent over the past few months. The paint prices are good, they usually run about $10 more than you would pay online SHIPPING NOT INCLUDED, so that it kinda evens out. The maintenance there is excellent, they set up my cocker for the price of parts alone and have been helpful to anybody who has a question or problem.

Field times are very convenient, 10am to 5pm on Saturdays and 12pm to 5 pm on Sundays. For more experienced players Sundays are better, there are definitely less new players and better competition.

I have more good things to say but this is already alittle long winded and I think you get the point.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

doug17 Monday, May 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at several fields in North Florida as well as the North East US and Europe. This place is head and sholders above the rest!
Review: AWESOME…………..TREMENDOUS……....…..WOW………………GREAT!!!
My words here cannot accurately describe this fantastic facility. I came in from out of town on business and chose Dothan Survival Games based on the reviews posted on this, and other sites. I could have driven to at least 3 or 4 other fields that were closer, but I trust (for the most part) the opinions of other paintball players, and in this case they were right-on. You’ll know this place is different from the rest as soon as you pull into the parking lot. Two gorgeous spring fed ponds teaming with bass are the backdrop for the pro-shop/registration area. It’s a large, permanent, air conditioned structure with plenty of room inside and places to sit. It has an indoor bathroom, kept clean through out the day, a major bonus! (I hate porta-potties) Once inside, you’ll be greeted by professional, friendly, competent staff who will get you out and playing in no time. They have a well-stocked store and skilled, expert technicians to work on your equipment, if needed. I personally saw Keith repair a marker that was said to be non-repairable by a tech at another field. Field fees and paint prices are very reasonable. Rental fees are very affordable and they have decent rental equipment, including several “high end” markers. In back, there is a very large covered staging area with plenty of big fans, tables and places to spread out and relax between sets. The refs are knowledgeable, helpful, safety conscious, fair, and ugly (just kidding guys!). It’s very apparent they have all been well trained and enjoy working there. Now what really sets this place apart are the playing fields. Some of the best I’ve ever played on. I loved the concept fields such as Mounds, Dodge City and Fort. They also have a few great woods fields, an outstanding hyper-ball field, a smaller but nice sup air field and a perfectly measured and mirrored speedball course. All of the fields were very clean and exceptionally well manicured. Each playing field has it’s own neutral area with tables where you can relax, have a cold drink and reload paint between games. I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to introduce some new people to the sport during my short stay in Alabama. They couldn’t have had a better first impression of our sport, thanks to Keith, the Dothan Survival Games staff and the other players at the field. Since playing there, 2 have all ready purchased their first markers! The local players really are terrific and I left there felling like I made some new friends. Bottom line, Dothan survival Games has to be one of the nations top 10 paintball facilities. It is no doubt, one of paintballs best kept secrets. Keep up the good work Keith and crew…….I’ll be back!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

energystar Tuesday, April 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Panhandle Paintball / Doesn't Compare
Review: This place ROCKS. The Staff there makes sure that you have a great time with safety as the first priority. The fields are GREAT. They are well manicured and well set up. They take good of there customers whether your in the pro shop or on the field. If your reading this and have not been, GO! You won't regret it. It's easy to find and the locals are friendly.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

venger32311 Sunday, March 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: dothan s.g. was one of the best experiences i've had at a professional field. the refs are more than adequate in number, ON TOP OF THE GAME, as well as very safety conscious!!! i had the pleasure of playing at this field three times - enjoyed it immensely every time!!! excellent proshop as well.
Last edited on Sunday, March 21st, 2004 at 5:12 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SolidusRaiden25 Monday, February 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
No other fields so far.
Review: GRRReat field. Alotta pros and beginners there. I myself aint really a Beginner nor a Pro. In between. This field is my only local field for a while. Owner is very nice. Although there shop is well stocked, its very small at some times. I went in there one day and like twenty people were in there ( as a church group) renting guns. AHH CHAOS!! There orentation room is very instructive. They have a big deal with headgear, since there is no limit to how much u can sue someone in Alabama. Well, the refs are very very very cool, i like to talk to the refs after each game and ask em what im doing wrong. Most of them tell me what i do, and i correct myself. There fields are nicely layed out. There woods field is nice and there Castle field( a field surrounding a pond where one team is to touch a pole in order to win the game) is nice also. Overall, Refs get a 9! Store gets a 7. Manager gets 8. And fields get a 10!

If u live in the Dothan, Alabama region, and are interested in contacting me, Instant message me at RehabEscapie420
Last edited on Sunday, February 29th, 2004 at 4:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JWLyl Sunday, January 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
FT Rucker- No comparrison; and a couple of others but they don't even come close.
Review: This field just dominates the one at Fort Rucker. The Fields are very creative. The refs are very good they ask after every game they ask you if you need your goggles cleaned. If you don't have a barrel squeegee but you broke some paint last game just ask them and they'll clean it for you. They are very good with safety. I mean once I pulled out my barrel plug to get my barrel cleaned and a ref immediately put his hand over the open end of my barrel until the other ref cleaned it to protect every one else. Overall this is the probably the best field I know of. The regulars there have great attitudes and are almost as helpful as the refs. The refs really know how to keep the team's even they will also tell where you messed up in a game to help you out. The refs also do their best to keep you from calling your self out if you get a bounce. For instance there was this one game where I got shot repeatedly because of my stupidity and for some reason I kept getting bounces and the ref would call it before I could even look at him(of course if the shots were actually hurting me I could call me self out at any point I wanted to). They have also sponsored FREE paintball let me say that again FREE PAINTBALL at a Jesus Fest event at the Geneva River Junction which is now a annual event and they have done this for the past 2 years (since the Jesus Fest began). The refs are very self conscious about the new players at these Jesus Fests too. I mean there were several occasions where I was about bunker some of them because they couldn't hear me when I asked them to surreneder and the ref would throw himself between me and the players and let them know what was about to happen (before I even pulled up my marker to shoot) and they would quietly walk off the field.(at these Jesus Fests they will supply you with free rentals and free paint; you can bring your own but they do not bring their fill stations so bring your tanks prefilled) Overall i give this field and the staff a 13 out of 10 they're that good people I'm not lying!

oh yeah here's the names of their fields: Dodge City(urban type play), Castle(attack and defend game), Hyper Ball (elimination), Speed ball (elimination), Mounds (speed ball w/ 3 huge mounds of dirt in the middle of the field nice twist), Woods (Center ctf), Little Vietnam (woods field no man made bunkers haven't had the chance to play this field every time I go its closed cause of recent rain)
Last edited on Tuesday, July 4th, 2006 at 1:46 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dadofjay Friday, December 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Arkenstone, Ga paintball 2.0
Review: By far the best of the 3 that I have played. The refs are helpful and do their best to ensure that all have a good time. 7 well designed fields. Attempt to keep their groups small. Stress safety. Pro shop is adequate. ALL PERSONNEL ARE MOST HELPFUL. Prices are excellent renting or buying. Instructions before games are complete and after games refs offer to clean masks and barrels and wipe paint from players. Games are well organized and paced well. Time between games is adequate. Have had a great time evry time there, regulars seem to have good attitudes. Highly recommended
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media