paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Jokers Wild Paintball Field / Jokers Wild Paintball Field / Jokers Wild Paintball Field / Jokers Wild Paintball Field

Jokers Wild Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
18Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 12457 Y-Camp Road
Burlington, Iowa 52601
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Ace8904 Thursday, January 20th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
only a couple ( #1 Course TIFFIN)
Review: i bought my first gun thier it was a spyder Extra ( sucks) and everything was fine i got way over charged though. I paid $150 for the gun and $70 for a cheap JT spectra. I was treated fine until i got a diablo mongoose 2. Jack (the owner) will automatically hate you if you have anything besides a Spyder or anything bought anywhere else. The last time i went then were about to close and we wanted to get a few games in. My friends gun was shooting at 296 and he was not alowed on the field. Jack wanted him to pay to fix it (cut the spring). I said i would do it and he wouldnt let me use a pair of side cutters. I got it fixed, while Jack is bi*chin about it not gonna work. It did, but too late they closed and we left. the end. I WILL NEVER GO BACK!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

SOGVET Thursday, January 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I write this review after having played at other fields before and since. I am an experienced player who is a NRIPA member ref. I work with people for a living. I played along woth my three sons on several occasions during summer of 2004. The field was ok from the standpoint of an outlaw mom and pop field. The prices are much higher than other fields in the area, the equipment prices are way high and Jack has a habit of berating and trying to intimidate others into ONLY buying friom him. He is down right disrespectful if you show up at his field with something that he obviously does not sell, and he will go to no end to let you know about in the most rude way possible.

I am a 53 year old professional who plays with his sons for fun. I spent over nine hundred dollars in a few days at his shop only to be berated and treated with extreme disrespect as a result of buying a nitro tank elsewhere for half what he charges for the same thing. The shop charged me $2.00 for an O ring and I got 100 from the internet of exact same quality for under five dollars!

I recomend this field to you IF you like being treated badly for not making ALL your purchases here, and for not playing exclusively here, and if you enjoy paying fifty percent more for every thing you use. THis is just the field for those who enjoy being berated and treated with disrespect other than this--RUN don't walk away from here and to any other field! It is also a fine place if you like to have someone undo all of the mods you've made on your marker just so your marker doesn't perform any better than his field rentals! Jack insists on detuning every marker so they "chrono" to 170 psi. Problem is, he doesn't take the time to be careful of exspensive equiptment.

There are any numbe rof fields located within driving distance of this one. Chose any but this one and you will be well paid fo ryour time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RobJ Saturday, December 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Vinton-very good and affordable, I can play an entire day for about $50.00
Salem-nice when theres someone there to play, usually new kids but fun
Review: I've read some good and bad reviews about Jokers Wild Paintball Fields. I've played at Jokers for almost 3 years or so. In that time I've become pretty good friends with the owners, and on occasions caused some irritations, all of which were cleared up by talking with them. As for field play its pretty good its not the biggest field that I have ever played on. The refs have always been good : safety, chronoing your guns etc, come right to you when you yell paint check, they are always quick to check my xtra and my speed when the kids think I have it set to full auto (ya cant do that on a speed and my xtra its not turned on). Prices ya are a little high for equipment and paint. But anytime I have taken my Spyder Xtra with electro grip to get serviced Jack has always done a great job and stands by his work, and I have had no problems with any of it either. As for prices on paint........take a trip to other parts of the United States, I traveled out to New Jersey last January. Most fields you cant touch a case of paint at the field for under $100.00 usually $10.00 field fee and $10.00 allday air unless you know someone. Some possible improvements could be to have an allday air/co2 fee, lower paint prices if possible ( Tami and Ginny always try to get the best paint they can)
oh and a big improvement for the public GIVE JACK A BREAK sometimes he's the only tech working plus having to handle gun problems, air fills etc when there are many people at the field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lawdog30 Tuesday, July 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: I have played paintball for a long time and have played som semi-pro tourney's in my time. I love to educate players about paintball and even promote them learning how to work on their own equipment. Joker's Wild does none of that. They dispise you if you buy equipment from someone else and treat you even worse if you work on your own equipment. I was swore at in front of my wife and six year old son when we went out there to get my tank filled and try out my wife's new Spyder Fenix I bought for her. I have never worked on a Spyder before and wanted Jack to show me how to field strip the gun down to bare frame. He talked bad about the marker in front of us and stated he had sold one and would never sell another one like it because it had too many moving parts. News flash...Spyder's have very few moving parts..I found this out after talking to Kingman. I have NEVER received such discourtesy and rudeness from a paintball field in my entire career as a paintballer. I was also told, the local clientel does not like electric markers. Really? I find that hard to believe considering even Wal-Mart carries a line of electric markers made by Kingman now. Joker's Wild charges too much for paint and equipment. I would never buy a marker from them when I can order it on-line or through a store in Colorado I am familiar with knowing I won't get bent over a barrell. Future paintballers...when I buy my next house in the next couple of years, I will be opening a FREE paintball field and will NOT charge for air..that includes CO2 and will charge bottom dollar for good paint. I hope to do this to show Joker's Wild how family oriented the sport SHOULD be.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Hippos333 Thursday, December 25th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All around ilinois and missouri
Review: When i came here i thought it was gonna be great, by the days end it was very irritating. The staff thinks they are gods of paintball and are very rude to customers they yell and r just plane rude and By saying your stealing or using illeagal stuff and if and just are plan rude they need more fun theres is none. so i would recomend this place if your a rookie or like being yelled at. so i give the place a 3 out of 10 P.S the course is not to bad its small but fun when the staff is away from u.
Last edited on Thursday, December 25th, 2003 at 8:28 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Klinty Wednesday, November 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Velocity Paintball (GREAT) Action Jack's (GREAT)
Review: Joker's Wild was the 2nd feild I had ever been to, and it was ok the first, time, I got irritated a lot, but It was decent. After I went to other feilds I noticed how bad Joker's Wild was! I continued to go every once in a while, and every time something bad happened.
Once when I went, I came with an Egg 2 hopper, and I brought a friend who had his tippmann 98 not working right, so he had to rent a gun. His hopper fell off when he turned in his gun and they came and accused me of stealing the $4 hopper that was on the rental gun, when I was walking around with my $80 Egg 2.
My team also went to a tournement, and was told it was elimination, but when we came they decided to switch it over to a round-robbin, meaning we'd have to stay for hours longer and buy tons more paint, but we stayed to find out it got worse. The feild was nothing more than about 7 bunkers and it was half the size of a normal 3 man course, meaning that there was no stratagy involved, just point and shoot and hope you hit them first. The refs also had no clue what they were doing, I give them credit because they volenteered, but they would pop out of bunkers wearing nothing more than a small orange overshirt, everything else, mask, pants, cleats, made them look like a normal player, and drew a lot of attention. We left early because of the bad conditions and found out we were in 4th place after about 10-12 games.
I wouldn't recomend this feild to anyone, they overprice, they fill tanks horribly, and their staff, who think they are gods of paintball but have never won a tournement outside of their own feild, are all horrible at their job and are disrespectful to many of the customers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gsf1980 Tuesday, November 4th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
was my first field
Review: The field is good, the speedball course is well set up as is the town. It's a pretty big field, several acres. The only thing i didn't like about this place was the staff. The first time I went they accused us of using illegal paint, and searched everybody's markers...they were very rude about it. The second time I went back with my own gun and they were giving me fits about not buying it there. Several people that I played with said they charged for a full tank of air and would stiff you a few ounces.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pEpSi DuDe Thursday, July 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Jokers wild is a great plce to go paintballing if you are in the area! It has two fields, the first one is there speedball cource, it is a medium sized cource. Then there is a town. It has probally a good 15 or 20 little wood buildings to hide behind and a couple of other things too. The people there are friendly and the pro shop is great. It has anything a paintballer needs if you are just starting out or you are an experienced player.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media