paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball of Victoria Paintball Field / Paintball of Victoria Paintball Field / Paintball of Victoria Paintball Field / Paintball of Victoria Paintball Field

Paintball of Victoria Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
15Edit this Field Listing
Website: N/A
Email: N/A
Phone: (361) 579-0319
Address: 6560 Hanselman Rd.
Victoria, Texas 77905
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
dan77904 Saturday, April 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 24th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mission Valley Paintball (See my review there)
Extreme Paintball
Review: POSITIVES - First of all, the Staff here is great, they will try their best to make your day fun. The ref's are fair but will occasionally make a bad call ( unintentionally of course; none are perfect). They have many courses that will cater to any rec player.

NEGATIVES - If you are a tourney player or serious speedball player: DON'T GO TO ABLE'S (PB of Victoria)!!!They do have some good woodsball fields but I found their speedbal courses to be poorley thought out and hard to successfully navigate. EX. There may be a crowded section of about 20 ft. full of bunkers and one lonely one several yards over. I felt that your success in a game depended on the side you were on.
Another factor that was displeasing about Able's was that there were a couple of regulars giving some of the younger guys a hard time (ex. calling them "pu$$ies" and ofther names that I won't repeat if they weren't a good or agressive as them). I know that before I said that the staff was great and they are, but for some reason, they didn't stop this childish bullying.
Also, I noticed that they didn't enforce chrono-ing PERSONAL markers.(I have been informed that all rentals are chronoed)
In conclusion, if you are almost exclusively a woodball or scenario player, this is your field, but if you like speed ball and a more friendly, safe and proffesional environment, GO TO MVP!!! I give Paintball of Victoria a 6.
Last edited on Monday, February 27th, 2006 at 10:22 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zyxistal Thursday, April 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mission Valley Paintball-Refer to my review there.
Review: The field is being constantly updated with new fields being added every few weeks. The current field setup is: 1. Speedball field. 2: A larger speedball field for big groups. 3: An Alamo type field. 4: A maze/woods field. 5/6: Two speedball/woods fields. 7: A regular woods field. 8: A deep woods field.

The paint there is PMI Premium and from my expierence is well worth the prices. And the rentals are kept in really good shape.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kenndogg Monday, February 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Petty's:awesome field in Austin
Paintball Zone: okay field, average refs
Review: This is a great little field in Victoria. The owner, Abel is one of the nicest person I've comes across. He goes out of his way to make sure you are having fun. The refs are all cool and do there job. Safety is strictly enforced, refs aren't shy about raising their voices if they see masks up or barrel plugs not on in the staging area. Paint prices are competitive with all the other places I played at. As for the field, theres a couple of dense woods, an Alamo fort, a few woods/speed combo, a small 3-5 man speedball field, and a huge speedball field to accommadate larger crowds. Theres a few experience tourney players and some scenario guys for those who rather play against experienced players. This place caters to newer players so you don't have to worry about playing some $1000 gun totting tourney player and getting bunkered on your first day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JORDAN FRIES Saturday, December 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have not played on any other fields.
Review: I agree with the below review that this is a great small town field. I will review based on three things; Fields, People, and Price. First of all, I think the fields are great. They have speedball, capture the fort, woods, and another large field in construction. I think the variety of bunkers like washing machines and tires is cool. The woods needs some work though. The owner Abel is a really nice guy. Sometimes he'll make some food for you there. He refs games himself and always makes sure your alright and you get what you need. The refs there are cool and are really enthusiastuc about the game. They are mostly just regulars or friends of Abel's. The prices there are good cause of package deals if you need to rent but I got a Tippmann A-5 so i just have to pay the $12 entry fee. Paint is a little expensive though. i would recommend this field to anyone in the area but I suggest buying paint at Walmart or something cause it is cheaper.
Last edited on Saturday, December 20th, 2003 at 6:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chjoak Wednesday, December 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in area but have now tried a few in the Houston area
Tank's Paintball (Katy, TX) - Paintball of Victoria is far better based on overall experience. I am somewhat partial to woods ball however (Tank's has no trees)
Paintball Zone (Pearland, TX) - Cool fields, pretty good staff. I still like Paintball of Victoria better for overall experience
Paintball USA (Cypress, TX) - Hands down the best field I have ever played on. They have a lot of fields and the best refs I have ever had
Review: Field_______________________________________
2 speed ball
3 dense wooded
3 wooded/bunker mix
* I think thats it

Positives - POV has a large variety of fields and Able always has new fields in the works. I am somewhat partial to woodsball and POV has an abundance.

Negatives - Many of the existing fields need some work. The bunkers tend to be a bit run down and most of the fields have had the exact same layout for the 6+ years that I have played there.

Score: 8.0

Staff_______________________________________

The owner, Abel, is a great guy. He has always treated my friends and I well over the years.

The refs are generally Abel's younger friends and/or regulars at his field. I have only had a couple bad experiences with an arrogant one. All others have been helpful, attentive and fairly courteous.

Score: 9.0

Prices_____________________________________

From what I have read about about various other fields, these prices are pretty good. He has various package deals including:

$15 - Gun, Mask, CO2 & 200 balls
$25 - Gun, Mask, CO2 & 500 balls
$12 - field fees (only if you have own equipment and BYOP)

I can't remember his paint prices. Again compared to the reviews I have read, I would say cheaper than some but maybe more expensive than a few.

I will say however, I have never payed full price for anything. Abel always offers me/my group prices that are below his posted rate. And I only play there 2-4 times a year.

Score: 10.0
_______________________________________

Overall this field has been a good experience. I have played on only one field where I had a better overall experience (Paintball USA), but I have never played anywhere that was better on my wallet

Overall Score (Not intended to be an Average): 9.0
Last edited on Friday, September 17th, 2004 at 6:40 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media