paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Splat Paintball Field / Splat Paintball Field / Splat Paintball Field / Splat Paintball Field

Splat Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
35Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 330-323-7706
Address: 333a Lafayette
Canal Fulton, Ohio 44614
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Josh Lehman Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Intense Paintball
Review: Splat paintball is the best place, in my opinion, in north Ohio to play.

Good things about splat:
It has the lowest prices you can find anywhere form $35-$60 for 2000 paintballs.
It has a very nice speed ball field for the more experienced adn 3 very nice woods courses.
It now has a fill station at the field, not for C02 though.
The refs are very nice at splat.

The only problem i can find about splat is that there is a long walk to get to the field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Coyote -Genius- Sunday, October 24th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Intense Paintball->Much better field than Splat
Indian Springs->Better field than Splat
Review: Well I decided to go here for a change after seeing their website. That was a big mistake.

---PRO'S---
1) The paint prices are pretty good. Its only 55 for a case of metalix and 44 for recreational grade.
2)Decent size shop.
---CON'S---(Where to start...)
1)First of all the walk to the field from the store is the longest I have ever seen. And they don't have neither CO2 or HPA at the staging area by the field...You have to hike back 1/2 mile to get your tank filled.
2)There is absolutely no respect for safety rules here...People fire their guns into the woods in the staging area...Ref would just sit in the staging area just watching the game not even making paint checks or anything...
3)They advertise 6 fields on their site but they had only 1 open and that was a crappy woods ball field the worst I've seen at best. Its a deep canyon with couple of mesh and tire bunkers. Mesh bunkers had huge rips in them so all one had to do was get behind one and stick their gun barrel through it and just pull the trigger no way of hitting the guy unless you flanked them which was impossible due to the 50 degree slopes you had to run up to flank them.
4)I was told that if I didn't play as many games as I would like to I would be given a free field fee voucher. Well after a whopping 20 minutes of total game play and hour and a half of waiting so other people would hike the 1/2 mile trail to the shop and back to get their tanks filled I told them that I was unsatisfied. They told me I was out there for more than two and a half hours(yep they can't subtract) and would not be given a free field fee voucher even thought I told them that all that time I was out there I shot only 2 hoppers of paint in 20 minutes of gameplay.

They get a 3 only because of the size of the shop and their paint prices otherwise its a unsafe false advertised and crappy field at best.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Swank8 Tuesday, August 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Back Yards - Larger, but not as fun as Splat's woodsball fields
Home-made Speedball (w/ trash cans, etc.) - Totally crappy, especially compared to Splat's AWESOME X-ball field
Review: Since you are probably looking to go here, and that's why you are checking this site to see how other people's experiences were, I'm going to put bullets, and sort into pro and con.

PROs ------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------
-Accomodating and kind staff in the shop
-Very competitive prices (on stuff mentioned below)
-Huge selection of markers, aftermarket parts, clothing, hoppers, etc.
-Different fields for players who prefer different styles of play (Air X-ball, Fantasy Land (woods), Barrels (woods), and Tires (woods)
-X-ball field is HUGE!!!
-Refs who pay attention, and judge fairly
-THE CHEAPEST ENTRY FEE ANYWHERE, INCLUDING PAINT
-The monthly specials for paint and entry are great
-Good, clean, rental equipment
-Great range of competition, from people who have never played, to pros

CONs--------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------
-There was one ref there who was kind of testy
-A pretty long walk from the shop to the field
-Once you go here, you won't want to settle for anywhere else

This place was great! I went a bunch of times with one of my friends and his two brothers, and we had a great experience EVERY time. After that, I figured, why not bring my dad to this place, and help him get into the sport. He had a great time, and recommended we do it again, but I wasn't successful in getting him hooked on the sport this time :( but there's time for me to try again. So, the fields are all GREAT, and everyone I played were great sports, win or lose, and I'll be there again soon!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Grimm Sunday, July 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rush Paintball, I-70 Paintball and Hueston Woods Paintball.
Review: So I'm looking for a new field in Ohio to try out so I come across Splat Paintball. The website made the place look awesome, but things can be misleading.

First the Pros:
Paintball prices were cheap and have very good monthly specials, but that is it.

Now the Cons:
Oh where to start. Well the website said there were a total of six fields. So far there were only two where I got there. They advirtised:

* 19 Piece Ultimate Air Speedball Field
* 19 Piece Xtreme Air Speedball Field
* Ultimate Air X-Ball Field
* Tire Field: 150 + tires stacked and arranged in different shapes and sizes.
* Carnival Field: Props from old Mother Goose Land.
* Barrel Field: 50+Barrels with jungle background.
All that we played was an Air-Ball field. There was a woodsball field, but we weren't able to play it. Next is the reffing. There was one good ref, the only was just plain lazy. He never really did anything other than watch over the games, and call me out for bunker rub. We stood around for 20 minutes waiting to play once while the good ref was helping a customer. It was the other ref's job to start the game. Well where was he? Oh there he is, taking a nap behind the snake! Luckily enough we had already picked the teams and were ready to play once the other ref came out. Another thing is there is a freakin 1/4 mile walk to the field! And anyone with co2 had to hike that whole thing back and forth. There were no places to put your stuff, you could only just throw it on the ground and sit there. No picnic tables, nothing. Every other place I've played at has somewhere to sit, but here.

In conclusion, I give this place a 4/10. There were nice prices, but bad reffing, long walk to field, 2 fields as apose to 6 that is stated on website, and no place to sit. I certainly will NOT be returning to this place.

EDIT: After recieving an email from the captain of the splat team and my buddy recieving an email to it looks like they are taking the measures to get these fixed. I am leaving my rating a 4, but I'm not gonna say "Don't play at Splat". In my buddy's email it stated some things and why there was only one speedball field. It turns out the combined 2 speedball to make one big field. To all go ahead and play at splat. My experience was a 4, but maybe in the future it will be different. The captain was gracious enough to email me and my buddy and take measures to get these problems fixed. Now I am editing my rating to tell you all.
Last edited on Friday, July 30th, 2004 at 12:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Caleb98 Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 17th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Intense-sucks
Review: great place, we played on the speedball field and the tire field in the woods, my dad had to rent a mask, it was covered with paint. Cheap prices, nice people. the walk to the field sucks. There is no vending machines or anything in the park.
I love it!.
Can't wait to go up next month!

would have got a 10 if the mask was clean and they had vending machines.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~`Edited after playing there again`~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Me and 2 of my buddies go up one hot saturday morning, we get there pay our entry and crap, the staff are cool dues, who joked with us, even got in teasing my buddy for wearing paintball pants that wern't long enough for him.
Splat's home field (from what they told me) were there, they were ok dudes, for the most part. Accused my buddy of playing on with a hit on the front of his hopper he didn't see, then one dude spun on him and called him "a cheater who plays on" after my buddy bunkered him, after a bit tempers cooled (not that they were ever too heated in the first place).

Refs are great and the atmosphere is always cool up there, only bad thing is lots of time between games, maybe this was because the majority of the dudes we were playing against get to play for free and so they feel they don't need to get their moneys worth, but other than that, good field.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 7th, 2006 at 3:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

gogo_thrash Wednesday, October 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball madness, intense
Review: this is a reletively new field, and it is great already, it will only get better as they add new features

Proshop- Bruce is the most accomadating owner ive ever met, when purchasing my first high end marker (red 03 shocker) i spent many hours talking with him and he never once got annoyed with the stupid questions i asked, and he got me a killer deal, he also ordered one from a different supplier and had it overnighted (for a bit of a cost bump) to make sure i had it by saturday (ordered it on thursday) who else does that for their customers. When the marker came in, i bought a halo b, he even helped me sand it and went out and bought sandpaper for me...now thats service, he also helped me configure it so that it shoots like a dream, their prices are the best ive seen, he will match prices from darn near anywhere, and hes a stand up nice guy.

the fields

i only play speedball anymore, and their speedball field is absolutely fantastic, its cleaned and the grass is ultra nice. (great slides)

there is a bit of walk to the fields but they now have air and co2 on the fields, 10 bucks for all day air, which isnt too bad, considering their field fee is the lowest ive seen.

Rentals- they rent tippman pro carbines, and the rentals are meticulously cleaned after every use and in fantastic shape

paint-field paint only, which makes sense, its kick'n rec is like 13 for 500, premium is 15 for 500 and metalix 17 for five hundred( maybe 16)

Refs-true some of the refs are younger, but thats ok they will learn, Travis is an amazing ref, and he keeps the teams fair, which helps noobs wanna play more, and we all want paintball to propagate as a sport,

Safety- Safety is stressed a lot, barrel plugs, condoms and masks are to be used when appropriate and disciplinary action will take place if not used, bunkering can be disallowed if their are younger players or new players, theres also penalties for overshooting...these measures keep it fun for newer players, so dont complain cause those players will get good and tell their friends so all our fields dont go out of business


overall splat is a great place to buy equipment and to play, hopefully in the future well see a hyperball field or what im really hoping for, a mounds field, cause they are super fun and we dont see em all too often...



A+ splat keep it up
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

luap119 Friday, August 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
intense paintball-SUCKS BALLS
black hawk-SUCKS
Review: 3 words SPLAT FREAKING PAINTBALL.

They have everything from 2 airball fields to like 4 woods ball fields to a sweet pro shop with sweet deals. i bought a gun from bruce the owner and let me tell you what he is freaking awesome. he gives you GREAT deals. He is SO nice. I bought my impy there and i get the best of the best. He has a good line of all kinds of guns. He has just about anything you need or want. Now time for the fields. THEY ARE GREAT. on Fri and SAT they set up one BIGG ASS air ball field. which is totally FUN. on Sun they set up 2 seperate fields which also kicks ass. there woods ball fields are off the hook too...they are making a new pipe field too. they making awesome changes to the field. The refs there are awesome too. They do their job GOOD. Up at the field there is a chrono and co2 and nitro refills which is very nice. Everyone who comes to splats is super nice.

SPLATS PAINTBALL IS SWEET

dont forget to goto there site and check it out... www.splatspaintball.org
Last edited on Sunday, April 25th, 2004 at 9:27 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilljova Friday, August 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pinnacle woods, 3D, intense, this one is better and better pricing than pinnacle
Review: alright the cons first:
too far of a walk! we need a parking lot or somewhere where we can just pull right up to the field!
air out at the field is a must, its too hard to walk back and forth everytime for air and paint
it would have been nice to have 2 refs so the group that was there that wanted to play woods could have played woods, we only played once for them because everyone else wanted to play speed ball,
there were some kids (about 14 or so?) out there talking to us, I think they worked there too? but some of them were kind of rude, but not too bad as long as they didnt ref our games I was fine.



alright the pros:
Reffing is outstanding! keep it up Splat you have good refs compared to everywhere else!
one of the refs, i didnt catch his name but he wore blue shorts and had a blue spectra mask was very helpful in fixing my spyder, I watched him fix rental after rental and he even found out the problem with my gun and I was out on the field the very next game, thanks alot! he always made sure people had barrel plugs in, he was a bit annoying about it but its very good to know that its safe when he tells people a million times to have a barrel plug in, he chronoed me twice and after he fixed my gun to make sure he didnt mess up the velocity I guess when he took it apart... masks HAD to be on in the field, the ref was very stern about that too with barrel plugs in after every game. I would have liked to take my mask off at the field because it was warm but I think its the rules to keep it on in the netting so thats another plus for our ref for the day, I think I would come back to play at splat just because of the reffing there and because bruce is a nice guy and fixed any problems me and my friend had.

I also liked the airball field it was clean and a very good set up, the refs do high maintinents on them always checking them to see if they are expanding in the heat I think.

Keep it up and make sure all the refs are as fun to talk to on and off the field as our ref and make sure your refs know how to fix guns because I have to say it was a huge plus for me that day since I had to drive far to get here. he was a little slow making calls but I think he just couldnt hear me from the other side of the field when he was fixing someones rental behind their bunker but thats about all that was wrong with the ref that day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

pballer99 Sunday, August 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Intense, Indian Springs(havent played at but in the area)
Review: This arena was great. It consisted of 3 wooded fields and an sup'air field that was not up due to weather conditions. They had a carnival field,tire field, and barrel field. They carnival field consisted of alot of brush and had plywood,pipes, and large odd items such as giant mushrooms and large gnome heads. It also has a hidden path by the lake which u can u use to flank the other team. The tire field was the best and it had the best bunkers. It was on a hill though and u didnt have much traction. I would STRONGLY reccomend wearing cleats. We played on the hill probally 4 times and the right side would always win even though we mixed up teams. The barrel field was the worst. There were hardly any bunkers and one side had alot more than the other. Also all the water drained down there so it was a swamp. And it was infested with mosquitos so bring bugspray. I didnt and i have about 20 bites on me right now. The older ref Travis was sweet. He was always was watching the games and enforcing the rules. If u chopped a ball he would come down and let u use his squeegie or if u had a problem with yur gun he woud fix it. When he took a break the 15 year old refs came and sucked. They only watched the game for about ten minutes then started shooting paintballs at each other. They did chrono before every game. The walk to the field was long and annoying. The proshop is kinda small but Bruce the owner will order any part for you and fix yur gun( 15 plus parts).
Last edited on Monday, August 4th, 2003 at 7:34 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Plaman Sunday, August 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: This field was awesome, I had a great time going, it was my first time at an arena. The fields were designed really well and it was awesome.

Woods Ball Field on the hill-Pretty fun the team on the right seemed like they had the advantage. This field had no brush and was just skinny trees with bunkers. The hill was slippery because it had been raining earlier that day and I would Highly advise you wear cleats. Just better traction and best way to go. The bunkers consisted of crates, tops of tents on their side had holes in them you could poke your barrel out of and tires stacked up to make bunkers. This field was pretty square in shape.

Carnival Woods Ball Field-This field was layed out long ways and very narrow but nice and long. It runs along the lake and has a secret path to help you flank your enemy. This field was fun and it makes you pair up and have someone watch your back.
Bunkers were consisting off old giant gnomes, more crates, and this field had some brush.

Woods Ball 3 The Valley-This field was a valley and we only played on it once because there was a lot of standing water from the rain and there was tons of mosquitos. This field had a lot of brush and the only bunkers were blue 50 gallon barrels. There was several of these setup in a few different formations.

Air Ball-I didn't get a chance to play this field due to the weather conditions.

Pricing
Field Fee-10
Paint-13 for 500 Kick'n balls
Air-3 for 20oz anything smaller is 2
12oz can of soda-1!! Bring your own drinks
Rentals-Vforce mask of some sort, Procarbines /w plug and slings on them, 20oz tank-5!! Great Price!

Proshop prices were awesome, Bruce the owner will order things for you and they pricematch!

The refs were great, they made sure we were using safe procedures but still let us set our own rules for our games. They were in no hurry to end the games and were patient with us all being newbs. The people there are great and if you rent or never played before they don't make fun of you or make you look dumb, very nice people.

Overall this field rocks and I am going back next weekend hoping for some nice weather!

*Update*
I went back yesterday 8/16 for their Weekend Maddness, what a trip. It was awesome, tons of people, they had 6 refs at least for the one speedball field. We had massive games like 11v11 it was so fun. Then Bruce, best owner ever, ordered pizza for all of us. Thanks again bruce! So after me and my friend chomped on our pizza we went to speedball to finish the day away. Their speedball rocked, 38 bunkers, very cool. First time playing speedball and I love it. It was also cool to play with/againest guys with flatlines, autocockers, and a guy had a mag. Very cool guns. Another great day at Splat!
Last edited on Sunday, August 17th, 2003 at 6:52 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media