paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Red Fox Games Paintball Field / Red Fox Games Paintball Field / Red Fox Games Paintball Field / Red Fox Games Paintball Field

Red Fox Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
47Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 864-386-7304
Address: 1 Red Fox Run
Woodruff, South Carolina 29388
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
ndanl023 Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't played at any fields in this area. I'm not from this area.
Review: Red Fox Games if a great field. I was there for about 7-8 hours and I didn't feel like this field was bad in any way. Red Fox Games has a really good setup. You have to use their paint, which is actually pretty decent, and the fields rock! If you are a serious paintballer and haven't been to their field, then you should because you're missing out. No paintballer (beginner OR serious) should overlook this field. It's a great place to play and is really cheap to play there. It costs $10 to enter if you own your own gun and you can buy 2000 paintballs for $50. I highly recommend this field. I give it an A ( I can't give it an A+ because it's not as good as some of the higher-end fields I've played at, but it is a lot better than most that I've played at). I think all paintballers should check this field out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Durin S Day Saturday, February 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Two outlaw fields and my own property
Directions
to the Field:
It is off hwy 290
Review: Safety: They do not have nets. At each field they have a 'safe area' in which you are required to keep your mask on and barrel either plugged or socked. Rental guns have plugs. Areas between fields you are not required to wear masks.
The day I went, there was only one Ref per field. I would not rate the safety very high. You are pretty much own your own for safety.

Fields: They have a number of fields. I played on their junk yard. This is pretty fun, but crowded with cover, but their best field. Paul Bunyan was a field with some metal boxes in the midst of a pine tree forest. They also have a 'city' field. This is pretty much a waste of paint. There is very little ability to capture the other building and the one game I played was called on time. Also played their bunker field, a hill with a trench system at the top and one team defends, another attacks. Best bet, junkyard.

I've not played on any other fields for hire, but this place seemed high to me. $10 per person. They wanted $30 for 1,000 balls of Voodoo, which broke a number of times in my A5 and even more so in my son's A5. No option to use your own paint. I did not buy CO2, but a friend did and he believes he did not receive a full fill in his 16 oz. tank. Another friend uses compressed air and seemed pretty happy with their filling station for air.

Rules were mentioned. The one ref would let players that didn't plug/sock their guns know. Again, for your own safety you really need to be your own toes.

Staff seemed okay. We played with one ref all day and he took out good natured complaining very well, only once saying we were the whinniest group he had ever seen! We all work together and we have a good time complaining.

Best part of the staff/facility would be that they opened the day with a prayer.

Conclusion: This was not my cup of tea. I don't like having to buy over-priced paint, even thought I know this is how the place makes a living. I felt it was really kind of expensive. However, there were lots of people there to play and all skill levels, even air-soft group.

If you don't mind being your own safety guide and have no other places to play, not a bad place.

Me, I'll stick to playing outlaw ball in the woods.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Goalkeeper610 Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: December 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Planet Paintball is awesome and I recommend it over Redfox any day.
Directions
to the Field:
Its in the middle of nowhere.
Review: When I first went to Redfox I heard great things about the place. When I showed up the facilities werent the greatest in the world, but they were adequate enough for me. The next thing I did was go inside and pay for my field fee. They do not have a "Bring Your Own Paint Fee" so you have to buy from them and the only good paint they have is the top dollar stuff (Proball $60 per case). Their rental packages arent very good at all. The standard rental gun is a GTX2000 which is heavy, slow, inaccurate and it takes away from the overall paintball experience. Luckily, they do have Tippmann 98s which are ten dollars extra but worth it. The staff is very shorthanded, however, and it is not uncommon to see one referee responsible for a group of 20. The best part of the whole experience is the fields. The head man, Vaughn, is an engineer and is constantly coming up with new and interesting things to add on to the field. They have two city courses, and uphill bunker assault, a junkyard, paul bunyan speedball (very interesting), and a terrorist hideaway to name a few. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THAT YOU LET VAUGHN WORK ON YOUR GUN! When my Spyder MR 1 was experiencing velocity spikes he wanted to snip the spring on my gun, but luckily I didnt let him do it because it really can mess up your gun. But if you have your own equipment and dont mind spending extra money, Redfox isnt a bad place to go on the weekend.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fulongpole Saturday, December 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First time I've played since moving to Greenville.
Review: I haven't played paintball in over a year due to a torn acl last year. So I jumped at the chance to play with some friends this weekend. We went to Red Fox, and at first I wasn't impressed. It's not a brand new field and it's not the setting for someone who enjoys air and speed ball such as myself. The staff were very nice people, however, we had 1 ref assigned to a group of 26. She blew the whistle to start the game, and she blew it to end the game. During the game she just chilled in the deadzone with everyone who got shot out.

Safety was another issue. There is no netting on any of the fields and many are very rocky. Some fields are littered with rusty metal, one field, which was fun, was a junkyard, and just not all that safe. They don't use barrel socks, just plugs, and yes a friend of mine shot his out of his rental gun. They never chrono'd us, and they weren't too particular as to when and where we had to wear our masks.

I know they have a lot of fields at this place, but I only played 5. They were all good concepts, but only 2 were well designed. The first field I played, the city, was horribly designed, it's virtually impossible to move from building to building.

The next was called Mile High. Awesome concept: five 3-4 story towers, and you have to capture the towers to win. Virtually impossible to do as the towers are the only available cover.

Field 3 consisted of a series of foxholes on the top of a hill. One team had to hold foxholes and could not leave them. The other started at the bottom of the hill and had to get one man into a foxhole to win the game. Again, not enough cover to become anywhere near successful.

Field 4 was the junkyard. Like I mentioned earlier, it's probably not the safest idea, but it was fun. I could play speedball and there was ample (possibly even too much) cover on the field.

Field 5 was in a man made forrest, so all the trees were in straight lines. I had no problem with this field, it would have been awesome could I simply see through my old goggles. A lot of fun to zig and zag in out of the trees; it makes you a difficult target to hit.

I didn't play any other fields, but I hear they are great for woodsball people. I saw a lot of guys there in cammo and havin fun in the woods, but just not a good place for anyone who plays speedball. Paint was reasonbly priced, and the staff were friendly, though the reff staff were less than competent. The fields I played were some really cool concepts, but in the end, just not put together all that well. I doubt that I will ever play there again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

campsitedog Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: Awesome!!! Over 160 acres dedicated to woods-ball! The owner is very nice. 2000 balls=50$. They have some awesome courses here! They have some with underground mazes, some with tens of buildings, one with a marine fire base(desgined by a marine), and many with multi-story buildings including one with multiple 3 and 4 story buildings. There are also courses for speed-ball. There is this course called the Junkyard where there are many vehicles etc. that you can get in to. There are also some many with creeks running through them and a couple that are well over 50 acres. Some games are: Elimination, Capture the Flag, Attack vs. Defend, Left to Right, Capture the tree and KIng of the Hill! A great place. Short on refs sometimes. Note: They are very strict on no firing out of game(except at firing range or for chronoing) also on keeping facemask on(during game and dead zone) Overall a great place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheRealDoughboy Monday, March 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Idk. Triggertime, ballbusters, adrenalinrush.
Review: Ok, i went there with my friend's church group just because i didn't have anything else to do. I am a speedball person, so i didn't expect to play woods/scenario, but i didn't really care. There are no nets, not even on the field right at the entrance road. This place had one handheld chrono that was with the ref at all times. never left at the chrono station, which really messed some of us up. There were like, 2 refs there too.c Paint was expensive as hell. 50 for zap, 60 for Draxxus blaze, and i don't even wanna know how much Pro Ball was. The rental guns are very poor quality. There is only a little set of scuba tanks for compressed air users. He only filled my tank to 2000 and less psi. i have a 68/4500 tank. Not many tables to put gear on. The owner is kinda mean. He wouldn't let kids shoot off the last of their paint at the chrono. He made them turn in the rental guns.

The only good part about this place was some of the Fields. They were ok. the Mile High City fie;d was my fav just bcz it has almost no trees and resembles speedball somewhat, and also, i got the most amount of people out on this field.

The refs were really bad, and i don't think that the rules were explained thoroghly, because we had people playing on through 5+ hits, And the refs never checked anyone, i don't think i ever saw a ref in any of the games.

I'd say not to go here just because it is very unsafe and not very organized, or imo since i play speedball, but i think all fields should meet the public's opinionated(yes, it is a word) standards.

But for serious scenario players and woodsballers, go ahead.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ugly112 Sunday, March 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
nothing besides speedball fields
Review: Well i have to say some of the reviews already written got me worried. The safety procedures are good in some respects and horrible in others. They are very adament there about barrel covers and masks on, but that is about it. No netting, only chrono guns that arent theres (even though the rentals are horribly maintained and seemed to be shooting hot)and the junkyard field has lots of broken glass on the vehicles that would be easy to step on. They also get mad about strange stuff. My friend had two balls left in his hopper after a game and shot them out and they yelled at hime for not having a barrel cover (he put it on after he discharged his last two rounds) The fields were nice and very enjoyable and the ref did a good job of taking us on an inteligent course through the fields (they picked where we played). One big problem was cheating. We had a group of about 60 players and at the most we had 2 refs, so if someone didnt call themselves out, they werent going to be called out, and not many people did the first time they were hit. The prices were funny to. We got oily, dimply zap for $50 but my two friends who had an angel and a shocker got draxxus for the same price since they had nicer guns,( which i thought $400+ autocockers counted as). all in all a decent paintball experience that i would suggest to fans of big games on large fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rfreff517 Sunday, February 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 22nd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
weekend warrior
Review: I used to work at red fox as a referee. Some of the referees i worked with didn't do their job right. My friend, who was also a reff there, got fired one day and i quit that same day. vaughn is a very strict man and he means buissness(sp?) . haha.. Overall, i had a lot of fun working there and i met a lot of awesome ppl, especially the army dudes. vaughn is probably looking for some very good reffs who know what they're doing and dont fool around all day. i fooled around a little bit, but i was strict on fairness and safety. The best day of working there was the scenario game on Dec. 26, 2005. I didn't do anything that day but everyone had a great time...and there was 1 or 2 fights b/c ppl got really pissed at each other... yeah that was an exciting yet lazy day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

transu27 Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball atlanta
Review: The fields are great they have fields both big and semi small and easy to find your way around, my favorite so far is silverodo city it one of the smaller fields. They have fields that go anywhere from wide open the some pretty dense brush. I have not played all the fields but I definetley plan to go back. The people are all great and we all had fun great sportmanship. The prices are about what you expectfurther out of a city and the paint was 'n bad but not good. I only busted like 5 balls in the barrel. Overall it was the best field I have ever been to and it is worth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AtreyuSK Friday, January 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: December 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
New Generation
Trigger Tyme
Review: Introduction: I am 15, and have been playing paintball for 5 years now. Red Fox Games was the first field I visited, and to this day one of my favorites to get out of the house and visit. This review is not biased (like most reviews) in any way, I love scenario paintball, but play with a Dye Matrix - and enjoy a nice bunkering every now and then.

The Owner: The owner of Red Fox Games is Vaghn(SP?) Smith. He's a great guy when you're on his good side. He ALWAYS introduces the idea of paintball and goes over ALL of the rules of the field in the EXACT same manner every time you visit the field. It is mandatory, non matter how many times you have been there in the past. He ensures that EVERYONE knows the rules and newcomers understand how to fire their rentals. He also states CLEARLY that if your GTX2000 or Model98 (The rental guns) malfunctions in any way, that you can come back and get it replaced or have him look at it. Before the games begin, he gathers everyone together and gives a prayer, asking for a great time, good weather, and safety. Overall, if you haven't seen him angry, hes a great person. (7 of 10)

The Rental Guns: WOW, I strongly suggest you bring your own gun or try to borrow one from a friend who may have more than one. The GTX2000 is a terrible blow-back gun that I would not recommend even bothering with, unless you're on a love budget. This gun shoots the paint inside paintballs, considering they don't oil them. The Model98s are fairly good. You can expect the excellent durability in these rentals as you would with any Tippmann product. It's reliable, but yet again, nothing special; however, highly recommended when compared to the GTX2000 - Even though it will cost you a small amount of extra money. (5 of 10)

The Fields: The fields are excellent for all ages and all types of players. If you consider yourself a "speedball" player or a "woodsball" player, when you're at Red Fox, you're going to realize it's ALL paintball. Their many fields come in all shapes and sizes. Personally, I like Silverado, it's loads of fun. Some of their fields are a good long walk away, but the way I see it... No one comes to play paintball with plans of chilling in their lawn chairs. The walks are worth the play. If you are walking a long ways, the reffs explain that you should bring enough paint to play for at least 2 games because you will visit several field and play a few games during your "adventure". (9 of 10)

The Reffs: There is nothing worse that a bad reff. If you have a bad reff, then you will have a TERRIBLE day. There are a lot of TERRIBLE reffs at Red Fox. I believe that Vaghn should do a better job of looking out for who he hires. Also, there is usually only one reff per group, no matter how large that group may be. You might have about 15 people per team and still one reff. Don't get me wrong, sometimes you get an EXCELLENT reff, and you will have an EXCELLENT day. The reffs are required to explain the rules of all the fields you visit, issue red tape for one team, ensure safety, call people out, paint check, and throw people from the game on the count of rule breaking. If you lift your mask, they DO throw you from the game immediately. All the reffs that I have ever had have only paint-checked someone when they are asked to. Very seldom do they do it on their own suspicion. The have always ensured that hit players got off the field without being bonus balled like crazy, which usually starts confrontation. (5 of 10)

The People: Red Fox is a great family place for people of all ages. (10 of 10)

The Facilities: Suck it up guys, the portable toilet they have there isn't as bad as it is thought up to be, they do empty it and clean it regularly. Ladies, there is an indoor bathroom inside the building where you buy paint, it's the one they used to use before they got the outdoors toilet. I am sure Vaghn would have to problem being a gentlemen. Once again, guys... suck it up, you play paintball for crying out loud. Expect the worst conditions. (9 of 10)

The Paint: The paint is terrible as far as quality and price goes. It's overpriced, no doubt in my mind. Considering you can bring your own paint (Experience: or Vaghn will dump it on the ground straight out of your hopper) you're going to HAVE to buy the most expensive paint there, which still isn't premium quality. Just keep a squeegie close guys, you might be needing it with this paint --- Keep in mind that certain paint works better with certain guns, this section might not be a problem for some. (3 of 10)

The Air: Vaghn needs to teach his reffs how to fill tanks better, because you aren't getting a full tank with every time you pay for a fill. When I was using an Armotech WG-75 I was out of Co2 in a 20oz tank in about 4 games. I suggest all day air for $8. (4 of 10)

Prices: (One word) Overpriced.... Be prepared to spend some money, bring around $60. (1 of 10)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media