paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Red Fox Games Paintball Field / Red Fox Games Paintball Field / Red Fox Games Paintball Field / Red Fox Games Paintball Field

Red Fox Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
47Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 864-386-7304
Address: 1 Red Fox Run
Woodruff, South Carolina 29388
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
LT-Infyrno Friday, December 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 23rd, 2003
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Upstate
Badlands
Review: Pros: Large area
Good management
Lots of different fields and scenarios

Cons: pretty expensive
no real speedball

So basically i've been here two or three times (don't get to play much, that's a lot for me) and it was lots of fun each time. I especially liked having the large variety of courses and scenarios to choose from. One of the best things was that the staff and management was very nice, and religion-oriented. They actually tried to help out and watch out for the players' safety.

My only problems were the very high price of paint and lack of speedball fields. Yes, they do have one speedball field, but no airball or anything to that effect. (Paul Bunyon is too large to be considered speedball in my opinion). The field fee was just as cheap as any other place, but $70 for paint was just too much for me to pay more than once or twice a year.

I give this field an 8 because of its lack of speedball and the price, really the only 2 flaws.
Last edited on Friday, December 9th, 2005 at 9:05 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lars1y Tuesday, September 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
This was the first
Review: What a great time my 7 year old and I had. I took a crew of young boys average age 12, and spent half a day. We played three of the eight fields. One boys gun would not work and the owner let him have a rental on the house! The referee what attentive and helpful. we had about 40 people playing on a Saturday afternoon. My son started asking me when we would return before we ever got to the car, and has not stopped to this day (one and a half weeks later). We will retur soon.

Cons: The paint was expensive $50/case

Pros: CO2 was not that expensive, good ref, nice owner, great variety of fields to play on.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

stoke_em_slocum Saturday, July 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: This field is great! I love it. true, it is the only one I've ever played at...but, I really enjoy the atmosphere there. Vaughn, the owner, is a really nice guy. He treats his customers great and always makes sure they have what they need. I really enjoy using this field. It's a great place to just go and mess around for the day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyder400SC Friday, July 8th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
only RF, played there 6 or 7 times
Review: Red Fox is an awesome place to go if you're a woodsballer. If speedball is your thing then this isn't the place for you. With 164 acres of woods and 13 different fields, expect to walk a good bit for some of the fields, but what do you expect when you have so much land. The fields are awesome and saftey is reviewed at the start of the day and before every game. There are no nets but this is woodsball and more than likely don't need any, only for Paul Bunyan because the driveway into the place is right next to it so be careful coming in and out and windows up. As far as netting on other fields it's really not nescisary because the refs know if and when you could get hit between fields and tell you to wear your masks or not, same goes for the dead zone. And i'm sorry to say but if you take your mask off when instructed not too.......well that's just your dumb mistake.

Paint is priced way too high. A case of Draxxus Blaze (top paint sold) goes for $65 a case(2000) when normally bought $20 cheaper

Field fee is reasonable whether you have your own stuff ($10) or not ($20:includes gun, tank, hopper, and air. There is an upgradable package (tippman) for extra price.

Air is just ridiculously priced. $8 for all day air, $5 for 20oz. tank etc.
Should be included with the field fee, not separately priced.
Tanks could be a little better operated and could fill tanks all the way

Rental guns could be better upkept and cleaned. I suggest if you can bring your own or borrow a gun from someone else I HIGHLY suggest you do so. Never had to rent one but i've heard almost nothing but complaints about them.
Masks........$30 for full headed JT at Wal-Mart.....good buy, smart investment.

Food and Drink.
BRING YOUR OWN!!!!!

Facilities: one porta-john that needs seriously cleaned or changed out. Though I think he got it clean finally. the "house" could be a little bigger and maybe stocked with a drink machine or even a bigger patio with picnic tables and chairs for shade (do have tables but at times during the day are in complete sunlight)
A pro-shop might be good but not needed entirely, just would be nice.

Staff: the owner Vaughn seems as though to be a nice guy and "christian" but I reeaaally don't see where he seems he is. He is nice as long as you spend some dough and a good bit of it. He makes a killing at this field, yet I've never seen any improvements to the facilities, guns, or even maybe some fields.....or even cut down prices any (LOL) like that will happen. More fields go up but no improvements
The refs are supposedly properly and professionaly trained. If so they either need a review every now and again or just don't care sometimes and are lazy. Overall they do a good job but could do better.
At times the field seems understaffed, especially with big crowds or groups, and will take forever to get air, paint, or chronoed.

Driving the distance out to it doesn't bother me too bad cuz hey........the lake is 1hr. away and i'm willing to drive that long because it's the best lake (my opinion) and only lakes out there, ever waited 1hr or more for a ride that only lasts maybe 2min? So i'm willing to drive maybe 20-30mins to come to the best woodsball field around here. I guy I play with drives from Easley to come play. Love the sport enough you and won't mind driving too far.

Overall i'll give the field an 8 strongly supported by the fields and types of scenarios. the facilities and staff could use some work though.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

sir_ash_wipe Friday, June 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
badlands, quality (which is closed now) and new gen once or twice
Review: i have been to red fox tons of times as a newb i didnt mind the lack of safety or netting but after playing at a more organized field i can tell it is not near safe enough. He overcharges way on decent paint he gave me a case of paint that was incredibly dimpled and i brougt it back to him and HE GAVE ME THE SAME BAG BACK the rental gear is horrible but i have my own it costs 20$ to rent a gun that shoots about 60 feet he sells seconds paint and charges above full price of the good paint. he (vaugn) is a very big stickler about money. The fields there are incredible if your into woodsball paul bumyan os ;ike a woodsball /hyperball fusion and it is incredibly fun silverado is awesome too. The final straw on me going there was when i was driving in and my CAR GOT SHOT people were playing on paul bunyan and it almost gave my grandpa (who was driving my car) a heart attack. the fields are good refs are good and safety is bad and prices are just horrible
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

drksid Sunday, May 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlands, J&J, New Gen
Review: Fields were excellent. The best was the junkyard followed by the woods course. Need to be in shape to play the woods though....it's pretty big. I have my own gear but Red Fox's was old and should be replaced. Owner and staff were very friendly. Pricing of paint was very high especially when you're forced to but theirs. $17/500 rounds and you can buy 2000 at Archon for $35. This guy's making a killin. They were very organized. Safety, when I've played, has been very good. The ref's are helpful and do a pretty good job.
Overall I give Red Fox a 6. I always have a great time there, just a little far to drive and high on their paint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sexyrexy Saturday, April 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
New Generation, VHA/Badlands, Golden Park (defunct)
Review: There seem to be several main points that everyone is interested in when it comes to this field, so I'll touch on my experience with each.

The owner seems to be very nice, but is definitely a stickler for making money...

He overcharges for everything (Proball at Archon [formerly NPS, Paintball Inc] is $35 a case... 20 minutes of driving to Red Fox, it is $65 for the same case). His air stations are flat out terrible, never get enough pressure. The rental equipment is the worst I've ever seen... thankfully I play with my own stuff but I have used his before and it is terrible. Speeds were all over the place - some were shooting around 220 and I got hit with one that was at least 310, cause I still have a mark 6 months later. The masks are... well, let's just say that if you are planning to rent at Red Fox, stop at Archon first and buy yourself a mask. Your eyesight is worth more than the cost of one.

The fields are great, if you like woodsball. Every single course is a load of fun, though a few are unbalanced (Silverado city is definitely one of the most fun, but the red side team will win every time). The fields are not netted though, which is a little unnerving when you hear people playing a hundred feet from one of the staging areas. The edge of one of the smaller speed courses is the driveway to the whole place, and it is not netted. So, when you're arriving and leaving, make sure your windows are rolled up... there are kids playing no more than 15 feet from your car.

There are always tons of people out there, ranging from families with kids to very experienced, 18-30 age players. If you just want to go by yourself it's never a problem to join up with another group. One annoying thing is the number of little kids with Angels. Greenville is a very wealthy area and alot of 12-year-olds' parents buy them three grand worth of gear and they think that makes them "pro". One or two kids like this every now and then isn't so bad.... everyone has to deal with it from time to time. But they really seem to congregate at Red Fox.

Some of the refs are very laid back and don't really care. Some of them are great, experienced themselves and very attentive and active. Usually, if you respect the ref, he will respect you. That seems to be a reasonable rule of thumb.

The facilities are not the most comfortable. It seems to be laid out to make backwoods South Carolina families feel welcome - picnic tables, mostly outdoors... a Porta-Potty(TM) for the bathroom. It's kind of a pain to reload because there are so many people there, so many picnic tables scattered around the large area in the middle of all the fields, and there's no real "place" to leave your stuff except at your car.

Overall, the fields themselves get a 10. The facilities and equipment rentals get a 0. Overall - 5
Last edited on Saturday, April 30th, 2005 at 1:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WB98custom Thursday, February 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Havent played at any others cause there are not many nearby.
Review: When I went to go play at red fox the first time it was the first time i had ever played paintball.Ever since that first time i played there i was hooked on paintball it was all i could think of and still is. Even though the paint is a little bit on the expensive side the 12 awesome fields definitely make up for it! Also the guy that runs red fox is very nice and cares about the safety of the players. He said that for punishment if they took their masks off that they would get to shoot at you but they never did that and i think they said that so nobody would. Paint and co2 are kinda expensive but paintball is an expensive sport. I have played at Red Fox 2 or 3 times and i reccomend it to anyone in the area. I stand behind them 100%. So in conclusion Red Fox is a great place for families, church groups, birthday parties, etc. I give Red Fox a 9 and i will continue to go back when i get the chance.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paint magnet Thursday, February 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Upstate Paintball (formerly Alamo) - much better prices, more professionally run, owners are actually nice
Planet Paintball - cheaper prices, better owners
Quality Paintball - field is no longer open
Dutchman Creek - better owners
VHA Paintball - similar to Alamo/Upstate
Gold Dragon Paintball - run better, better prices, fields are somewhat comparable

I've played at other fields as well, but these are about the only ones in the same area.
Review: Well, I'll start off with the good aspects:

The fields, for the most part, are awesome. Great variety, centered mostly around woodsball / scenario ball.

It's one of the best known fields in the area, so there are always people there to play with (most of them being new players).

Unfortunately, that's about as far as it goes. I have played there a few times over the course of several years, and I have had to put up with the following:

Extremely high paint prices - This wouldn't be so bad if there wasn't a field fee, or air was included with the fee, or you could bring your own paint. But there is, it isn't, and you can't.

Extremely crappy paint (of questionable origin) - After noticing that the exact same brand of paint at Red Fox shot horribly out of several different markers that I shot (in which the same brand had shot fine before, when I bought it at New Generation or Alamo), and that he charged nearly double the price per case as everyone else, I got to thinking and realized that hmm, all this paint comes in labeled cases, but in clear bags. White box paint (seconds) also comes in clear bags. Higher grade paint, like RPS and Draxxus/Diablo almost always comes in labeled bags. Makes you wonder if he's passing off seconds as high grade paint for prices that would be outrageous even if they were for legitimate premium paint - it would explain why it shoots horribly.

Lack of Speedball Courses - Okay, there are two "speedball" courses, but in both courses, all the bunkers are exactly the same, except for one or two, they are never rearranged, and there is no snake.

Distance between fields - Expect to do a lot more walking in between games than you do while actually playing. This wouldn't be so bad except for the fact that everyone wants to go reload after every game, so you either have to carry a case of paint (and an extra tank or two, someone will undoubtedly run out of air) half a mile or walk half a mile back to the staging area and then another half mile back to the field.

Crappy Reffing - The refs rarely, if ever, do a paintcheck. They just sit in the dead box the entire game, even if you call for a paint check. Even with the ref sitting in the dead box (which is not netted and often directly in the line of fire), some new players still take off their masks while the game is going on, and the refs either notice it several minutes later or don't do anything about it.

Horrible Concern (or lack thereof) for Safety - The aforementioned problems with new players removing their masks in the dead box, people lifting their masks during the game because they fogged, rental guns that shoot hot, lenses in rental masks that are probably long overdue to be changed, CO2 tanks on rentals that are probably not the safest (rusty and ancient), the list goes on and on. There was one particular incident where after a player that had never played before took off his mask during a game, the owner had him taken out on the field and let everybody shoot him (with his mask on) as a punishment. This is definately not the way to enforce safety. On the junkyard field, there is often broken glass from windows that have been shot out. One of the fields has a house that's used as a fort that looks like it's about to cave in at any minute. There are several fields (none of which are netted) in close proximity to the staging area. It would not be hard at all for a stray shot to find its way into there, where someone could be sitting down eating lunch. In addition, he's not insured and makes you sign a waiver every time you play there.

Compressed Air - He charges you $8 for all day air, which he provides from a few S.C.U.B.A. tanks. The highest fill I've ever been able to get was 2300 psi. This wouldn't be so bad, but it takes several minutes to fill the tank from a S.C.U.B.A. tank, and when you have to walk half a mile in between fields, it gets old having to go back for air. By the end of the day, you're lucky to get 1500 psi unless you're the only one there using compressed air. That's if he remembered to get the tanks filled.

No Store/Pro-Shop - While not necessarily a part of the field, it would be nice to have one for those individuals that need parts for their markers.

Hit Zone - Only torso/head shots and shots above the knees and elbows count. I guess that's ok for new players, but it makes for arguments (for example, if you get shot right below the knee, you're technically still in the game. But kneel down, and the hit is now above the knee). Also, there is no bunkering, which leads to more "surrender" arguments.

Lack of Facilities - One port-a-potty that hasn't been serviced in quite a while doesn't exactly qualify as a bathroom. Upstate Paintball has two bathrooms (read: running water), which is nice for people who bring their girlfriends to play or for the little 10 year old's moms that come to watch them play. They shouldn't have to use a dirty port-a-john that's been used by a bunch of sweaty paintballers for 4 months.

And to top all that off, the owner is a jerk. He doesn't care about your playing experience, he's just in it to make money. He overcharges you for paint that doesn't even shoot straight ($80 a case last time I went, for TC, Vortex, Proball and the like, which usually sells for $45 a case), air, in addition to charging a field fee. He also overcharges for drinks and pizza (who tries to make a profit off of a pizza they ordered?).

He claims to run a field in a Christian environment, but I have talked to several people who would agree with me that this is definately not the case. He cussed out one group of players from NC (that had never been there and didn't know where to go) after they pulled up in front of the trailer across the street instead of the staging area (an understandable mistake given the fact that there is a giant red mailbox that says "Red Fox Games" right in front of the trailer and many fields use trailers as staging areas). He yelled at one kid's dad for filling out the waiver for him (he was under 18), even though he let him sign. He said that the kid had to be the one filling out the address and phone number.

It's sad, really, that all these things have to ruin the experience, because Red Fox has some of the best fields I've ever played on. I would give it a 1 if it wasn't for the fields.
Last edited on Thursday, February 10th, 2005 at 7:56 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

cdwilliams Monday, February 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: This is a great field, they take safety very seriously, and they make sure everyone has fun. Vaughn up there is a great guy and so are his refs. There is a porto-privy for bathroom needs and nothing else really there.

The fields are awesome. No other word describes it, my favorite field is silverado city.
He has a nice "house" that he could throw some vending machines in there, and some tables so player could get out of the weather, but that is just a suggetion more than a complaint.

Anyone that wants to take someone for their first time really needs to go to Red Fox for their intro into the game, trust me it will get them hooked. I takes us 2 to 2.5 hours to get there, and its well worth it for the day.
Last edited on Monday, February 14th, 2005 at 3:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media