paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Red Fox Games Paintball Field / Red Fox Games Paintball Field / Red Fox Games Paintball Field / Red Fox Games Paintball Field

Red Fox Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
47Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 864-386-7304
Address: 1 Red Fox Run
Woodruff, South Carolina 29388
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
p8ntvictor16 Thursday, December 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just Red Fox
Review: Me and my friends drove an hour and a half to play here, and it was worth it.

The fields were AWESOME. Its mainly woodsball, but they have one speedball field called "Paul Bunyan Speedball." Personally, i wouldnt even call it speedball. But if ur a speedball kinda person, i would recommend goin somewhere else. They have a field called Silverado City, where its basically like a western village, with little huts and buildings everywhere, and an awesome underground lighted mine that goes from one side of the field to the other. They also have a course where its basically a junkyard, with old cars and buses and towers to hide in. They have like 162 acres of fields, and in one day, we only played 4. The bad things: U have to buy their paint, and it SUCKS. I would love that field so much more than i do now if u could bring ur own paint, or if they at least sold better paint. And another thing - the price. I ended up spending 60 bucks because you have to buy their paint, the all day air, and the field. There shop could be a little nicer too. Its basically a storage room for fire wood. But paintball isnt about the shop, its about paintball, and the fields were awesome, so I give it an 8.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

playwithacocker Wednesday, December 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Palmetto Hills
Review: i played at this field with some friends this past weekend... and it was a FUN field.. BUT.. i came with 80 dollars.. and i left with -10 because i had to owe one of my friends some money because it's so freaking expensive!!! a case of crappy paintballs was 45 bucks!!! i'd rather throw rocks!! and i thought the owner was nice .. until my friends and i wanted to order some pizza (which the local pizzeria delivers constantly).. and he wouldn't order a pizza!!!!! how stupid!! i then lost respect for him......

the sucky prices i paid were:

45 for a case of crappy paint (broke at least every 8 or so balls.. if not less)
10 dollars field fee
8 dollars all day air.. no.. it's NOT included in the field fee.. you gotta pay for it!!
and then gas to get there was like.. 20 bucks because i drove an hour and a half!!!

don't get me wrong.. it was a GREAT field and the staff (minus the owner) was pretty great... i just don't think it'd be worth the drive everyweekend..

To improve:

the shop- had no extra parts.. you'd be SOL if you broke something or needed something other than.. "paintballs"

the condition- seemed a little run down in places, there was 1 porta-jon.. that's all that i saw, extra wood was everywhere... at least put that stuff somewhere else... and you could barely walk around inthe shop because of it!

the treatment of new players to the field- yeah he seemed nice.. but my friends and i were starving and he wouldn't order a pizza!? (of course we'd pay for it) thank God i brung along some chips and crackers... still.. we were dying of thirst...... very stupid


and that's pretty much it.. all those reasons is why i'm giving this field an 8.. because there's no 7.5
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghmrodeo Monday, May 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gold Dragon
A speedball field at our church
meaning to check out other fields in the area. (slow money flow)
Review: I have been to Red Fox 4 or 5 times. It is a very good place to play. They have 11 or 12 fields. Some of the cooler fields are kind of far away. They are not even in walking distance. U have to load up in a truck and drive on this trail over there. It only takes a few minutes though. If U like woods ball this is the best place in south carolina. They have a sucky speedball field. They have one call Paul Bunion speedball. It is a field with hundreds of skinny trees which make up the field. there are giant cubes scattered about.I personally would not call it speedball. The closest thing they have to speedball is actually like a scenario speedball. well at least it's in the speedball format. I recomend this field to all woodsball players. I don't think a speedball player would enjoy this field. I didn't even like speedball till i played silvirado city. after i played it all of the sudden i got an interest in it. now i play it all the time. In conclusion this is a great place to play. nice owner. good refs. only bad thing is U have to walk kind of a distance between the fields and the shop where U can get more paint and stuff.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bigload6200 Thursday, March 11th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
new gen. gold dragen. both places are nice
Review: Well where do I start.I know the owner Vaung this guy is great .I like that safty is his no#1 concern. He talks to you like he's knowen you all he's life like a good friend.Both to the new comers and the reg's. Every time I go there he put's his hand out to shake and I like that about him.He make you feel welcome there. 2.the feilds. there is know other place like red fox around here that is for sure. This place has it all. some are small and fast pasted some are big and a little slower .but you cant beat'em with a big stick for fun.you know what I mean.I go out to red fox 2-3 a month if I can.I have never got bored from playing here NEVER!!!. . It is a little bit of a drive for me to get about 40 min's but I dont mind at all.I have got to know a lot of great ppl who play there on a regerler basese. I look forward to seeing them when I go there. the ref's are vary good at what they do and like I sayed early safty is no#1 concarn with them. 3.the price's. well they are a little high but he'sgots to make money some how he has to pay the ref's and keep up 165 acers so it is understandbly.Well folks it is getting late and I'm tired.All I cant tell you folks is if you want to have the best time playing woodsball you ever had go to red fox oyu will not be disapointed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ALLGROWNUP Sunday, February 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
VHA is now where near as good, but much more affordable on paint.
Review: The fields are awsome, especially Silverado City and the Junkyard. I think he has like 12 fields or somthing, some require a long walk, but my favorite are close to this double wide trailer he has in the middle. I love woods ball, and this is what they specialize in, there is only 1 speed ball field, and it isn't used much at all. I don't rent but the rentals are GT 2000 and Tippman 98's.

The paint he has been selling recently has only been Blaze and TC Venom. He used to carry more options, but this changed since Paintball Inc has gone out of business.

Field fee is $10, rentals is $10, all day air is $8. These prices are fair, but the Paint prices suck. $5/100, $20/500, $75/case. You cannot bring your own paint for a fee either. I know people sneak paint in because regulars just cannot keep paying this much. Personally, other fields in the area sell paint for around 40-50 a case, and some give choices and different prices per grade you buy. Red Fox is old school, they have been there for like 15 years and the owner, who is very nice, needs to lower his paint prices and carry better brands of paint and charge a lot for those. Suggest this to him if you go.

Most of the times the refs are very good, they are typically 14-18 years of age, and have been very fair while I have been there.

Conclusion:
The best wood fields in SC, super nice guy running the place, Bad paint prices and choices. Giving it a rating of 7 because of the bad paint prices.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

astomonte Thursday, January 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Firelake has great woods fields, NewGen has great tournament fields, Gold Dragon ddin't like that much.
Review: Several kick butt scenario fields. These guys have spent a great deal of time and effort to make this place what it is. Prices are on par for the area. Reffs do a great job on safety! I like the faster paced tourny type games but you can't beat an old fashioned 20 vs. 20 player all out battle. There is never a shortage of players at Red Fox. One of the oldest and best run fields in the Carolinas.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

scott williams Saturday, December 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
firelake
Review: red fox was cool the best feild was the city he seen like herealy care for the game the paint was a bit high but it was good quality his refs were ok one was a bit rude but we all have days like that they put our team against a team of pros
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Z102853 Saturday, November 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
VHA (old field) by far the worst paintball experience, EVER!! The staff was completely unprofessional. I think the staff that was on hand that day has since moved on to other careers.
Paintball Charleston- Pretty nice paintballing(in the woods), especially considering how close it is to everything in Charleston.
Review: I've been playing at Red Fox for 3 years now and I'm still amazed at how much fun I have, every single time I go out there. Vaughn and his staff have a way of making you feel at home, everyone from the Newbies to the Pro Tourney players, and one of the best things is that everyone gets along, mostly! We have brought several medium sized groups out, some of them experienced and some not, but the common denominator is that we all end up having a great time.

A few people get turned off by the fact that, 1. Paint prices are higher(and the paint selection isn't always the best) 2. There isn't a pro shop on site(or an air smith), and
3. There isn't much in the lines of speedball. Well.... lets face it, 1. He has to make a little money somehow, and its not by charging huge amounts for field fees/entry fees(if you play tourneys) And lately he has been carrying a better selection of paint. 2. If you wait until you're at the field to do preventative maintenance on your gun, then it's not Red Foxes fault that you have to sit out the rest of the day, because you don't have spare parts. The good thing is, someone out there usually does and most people would be happy to help you out. And lastly, #3 There's a time and a place for speedball, and since you just stepped out into the backwoods, you better have an idea how to play in the country.

The last time I counted he had 12 or so fields, with plenty of room for more. If you ride out , be prepared to walk, THIS PLACE IS HUGE!!! It's a good thing too, you might have to use part of it for a bathroom(my only complaint about Red Fox are the ammenities, or the lack of!!) THERE OFTEN IS NO WORKING TOILET and the nearest gas station is @ 5 miles away.

Overall, THE FOX is a great guy and his field is by far, the best "Woodsball" field that I have played. Great place for groups or the individual player, and you won't be bored with the same old, 4 or 5 fields all day long. Just don't make the drive if you're looking for speedball or you're too tight to spend a little more for paint. I justify it this way, I'm not paying too much for the paint, I'm paying for the entertainment and AMAZING selection!!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

osoka68 Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I havent played any proffesional fields or entered any tournaments so I dont have the greatest pool of knowledge to pull from. Nonetheless I was suprisingly impressed with the layout and detail that had been put into the fields at reds. My friends and I had only been into woods games in the back yards and fields of our neighbors so going to a big field was kinda intimidating.
The nice thing about reds is that you have a selection of everything. During the 5 hours that we were there we got to play:; the junkyard,hamburger hill, Speed ball in the jack pines, a woods match at the bridge, and a huge game in silverdollar city where there were 72 of us on the field at once. That was wild, the biggest group I had ever played with was 14.
The refs are easy to get along with and pretty fair about everything including doing what ever they can to keep your group together if at all possible. Everything is well organized and downtime is cut to a minimum.
To cut to the chase if you want to try playing on a real field but dont want to be looked at like you are an idiot for not knowing all the little things to do then red fox games is the place that I recommend you to try 1st .
Hey if it is worth me driving almost 3 hours to get to then that says enough!!!!
LOVE THIS FIELD CANT WAIT TO PLAY AGAIN
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Your_Mom Thursday, October 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlands, New Generation, Golden Gate Park, and Ground Zero. I really like Red Fox Games. It over all has every type of field I like to play. However, on some occasions, i like tournament fields over wood fields.
Review: Just like many other people, I love to play sports. Of those sports, my overall favorite is paintball. Even when I was little and I would watch my dad play, it excited me. More now than ever seeing how I can finally play. Going around from backyard to backyard, I finally got tired of normal games and decided to play at a field like Badlands or Golden Gate Park. However, just like the backyards, they became boring. Then one day, I heard of a field called Red Fox Games, because there was not any where else to play, I wanted to try it out. It was fantastic! 162 arcs of intense paintball games where people of all ages and skill go. Not to mention but 12 different fields to play on, making it a field I could never get bored over. From Junkyard to Marine Fire Base, this place is indeed a paint baller’s “must try” type of place.
Almost every Saturday, I would go and play, meeting new people every time. One day, Vaughn Smith, the owner of Red Fox, told me about a Fall Festival he was going to make for Red Fox. Immediately, I decided to go. I mean what paintball lover wouldn’t want to play for 2 days (8 A.M. – 6 P.M.), get a case of paint, four free fills on CO2/Air, and a ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT-BUFFET? The Festival was awesome! Many people showed and there was as large as 17 on 17 games going on with three different groups playing. The paint was very good, and so was the food. I have never tasted such good smoked turkey and BBQ pork.
In conclusion, Red Fox Games is defiantly the place you would want to go if you love paintball or want to try it out. Oh, and Red Fox will be holding another festival on the first weekend in May (1st and 2nd). For more info on Red Fox, Visit their website. I hope to see you their.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media