paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fort Paintball Field / Fort Paintball Field / Fort Paintball Field / Fort Paintball Field

Fort Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
40Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 972-442-9777
Address: Dillahey Rd
Allen, Texas 75002
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
pheonixaurora Monday, March 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Forney- MUCH BETTER
Paintball Factory- Better, but more expensive.
Review: OK, when you first drive up into this field, there was no signs saying anything about goggles on and barrel condoms on or what-not. When you go there, you basically pay 20 bucks for air, beacuse the refs just screw around, like retarded little kids. The refs dont even ref, they shoot at other people on the field and shoot at other refs. There was NO safety speech at all, so we don't know where to do what. The Refs also look like they are from Middle school. There was just one person that was acually doing his job correctly and not screwing around, and that was the guy that fills up the air and fixes the guns. When I busted an O-ring, I asked one of the people, and they said another one was 2 bucks, then I asked that guy, and he gave a whole ziploc bag of em for free. They have no chrono, and they have no 10 foot rule, Everyone was shooting at like 350 and bunkering other people. The refs didn't do jack. Some guy had the velocity adjusting screw on the back of his pilot all the way in, and no ref even gave a damn, they were too buzy throwing paintballs at rec players. I Highly DO NOT reccommend this field for newbies. If you are more experienced and play fair, then it might be alright, since that feild needs people that acually play fair, and new refs since they are all little kids. Also the Fields have absolutely NO NETTING, NONE NONE NONE, and the spools field was right next to the staging area, someone could lose an eye. all the inflatible fields were 90% deflated and everything else was un-original, just like a snake, and some bunkers. I Definatly recommend OPGT over this one.
Last edited on Monday, March 7th, 2005 at 3:36 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

dyedude22 Sunday, November 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Official, in Forney, if you can call that in the area....
Review: Well, this is basically the closest place nearby, a good 15 minute drive at most. Official is a good hour and a half. So you see, I was quite excited when I found this place. I went to play the next week. I arrive, sign the waiver, pay my 20 bucks. Thing is, the people working there were younger then me, now note I am a student in high school, these would qualify as middle schoolers. Now how to do respect somebody that young? You don't really... The fields are unimaginative and poorly put together. There are extrememly long walks from the field to the staging area, and the ground is hard as a rock, killer on the knees and arms. Now one day, they were throwing fireworks at people and their gear in the staging area. I honestly hate the place, I ref when I get too tired to play, I do a better job then the people they pay to ref. The place is run by a bunch of immature little kids who havn't even gone through puberty. I would go to Forney if I had a ride, and plan on going up there instead of here in Febuary and then on out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

colemanchase Saturday, August 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have played at fourney but it doesnt even compare to the one i played at in ft. paintball
Review: i have been playing at this field for two years now and i have really made big improvement on my playing. I have made these improvements from two very nice people; Breanna and Josh. I Love going to Ft. Paintball b/c everyone is very nice and willing to help eachother and work as a team to become successfull. The owner is so committed to letting kids have a good time that she even sold her own house so she could aford to allow kids to have this fun. Out of 10 overall i would rate this field a 12. I would recomend beginner paintballers and very experienced players to come to this field, you will have a great time and no other paintball place gives the discounts like Ft. Paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

killapirate Thursday, August 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
all.... this field is NOT for newbs...
Review: i have been to all the different fields before, i kinda like this field cuz they let you do your own thing you dont always have reffs holding your hand trying to start the games and stuff....If your a newbie you wont like this field but if you just want to get out and practice with some very good players this is the field to go to because they are the home of bslap and licid two of the best teams in dallas i think cuz they shot up a lot of people and hopefully i can play more with those guys some times if i go back out to the field but the fields are just ok, its more laid back tho you dont have people breathing down your neck.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bunkermonkey8 Monday, May 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
DFWAP-Much better OPGT-Much Better Farmer's Branch-Better Fun on the Run-Much Better Just about the rest of the Dallas-Ft Worth Fields are better that this place
I have played at over 20 different fields, all better than this one.
Review: To say the least, I was very disappointed in this place. Myself and 2 buddies decided to try this field out b/c we had heard some good things. The only good things about this place is its location and the field layouts. Now let me list the main things that are wrong with this field: NOTE. This review only covers the main problems that I saw, I could write another 2 pages on the other problems.

1. Safety - There was no safety speech or ever a list of safety parameters laid out by the field. The gun range was not netted nor were the fields(okay, the xball field had TORN netting). I saw 6 refs when we arrived at 11, by the time we went out to the fields I did not see 1 ref. They had all decided to play. This meant that all the fields were basically unreffed. This is fine for a experienced players having practice but there were at least 2 groups of rec players out there.

2. Price - Now the price of $20 may sound like a good deal, but when you can only fill your nitro tank to 1600 psi and can only play 1-2 games without getting another fill, it is ridiculous.

3. Management - The above two issues can be blamed on the management. Safety should be the number one issue in regards to any field, unfortunately this field does not adhere to that principle. Even with a compressor, the field should have back-up tanks just in case. 1600 psi is unbelievable. Perhaps when someone lose an eye or worse will the management sit up and take notice.

This place is nothing more than backyard paintball, except you have to pay $20. I would rather go to work than go to this field. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

original_skoote Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
OPGT (cant come close)
Review: I start with the good things since there are a few. The guys up front taking the money and handin out gear were pretty cool. Pretty laid back and a good attitude. The speedball field toward the back are the best fields to use if you are used to handling yourself.

Now on to the bad things. The netting around the place is ripped and falling apart. I got nailed several times walking back and I was about 15ft from the field. The xball field was half deflated, dirty and covered in old paint. There were a couple of guys riding around like retards in a golf cart trying to spin out. Several times I saw them almost run into rec players. If you want a ref you will have to settle for 1 or 2 kids standing around talking to each other.

I remember after two games thinking I wasted $20. I was ready to leave after the first game but stayed to give it a chance.

If you have a chance to go to another field do so. Use Fort Paintball as a last resort.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thorshammer Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fun On The Run
Extreme Concepts
Madd Dogz
Official Paintball

All of those listed are far superior to Fort Paintball.
Review: This is not a good place to play. I am convinced that the only reason this field still exists today is because of the Garcia brothers. They are outstanding ballers and outstanding men but this field is garbage. If it was not for the Garcia's, their teams and those that want to practice against them this place would collaspe.

1. Not only does the ground look like a fleet of M1 tanks just rolled through, there are more rocks than at a gravel quarry. Bring 2 sets of knee pads, you will certainly need them.

2. Refs? Are there any? The chrono station is out in the open with nothing but good intentions preventing someone in the parking area from getting shot. There is little to no effort made in checking guns, checking people, or paying attention. Now when the Garcia's are not off practicing the ship runs much tighter, but those guys can't always be there to run the show.

3. Fields are ok, the bunker layout is not the worst I have seen but there is no netting between them. Paintballs routinely fly between fields but thats not much of a concern because there are not many people that call themselves out anyway, and no refs to do it for them.

This place has good potential, the location is great in that there are lots of ballers in the area and not another field real close by. However, the field conditions are on the low end of poor, the refs all think they play in the NXL too so they don't need to bother with you and the owner just kinda walks around in a daze. Anyone that plays there often will notice that the big time practices are played on the far end of the joint, away from the horrible fields, poor reffing, and errant paintballs. There is no good reason to go here, unless you are itching to play xball because this is the only place in the area that has it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DynastyPaintbal Friday, March 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ANY WHERE BUT HERE..............
Review: It really doesn't depends on what kind of atmosphere you like to play in, to determine whether you workshop, or spit on this field... This is the WORST Field i have ever played on much less heard of!

There are no reffs there whenever you need them, and where you do get to interact with the reffs they are the biggest jerks I have ever seen.

They now have 2 Xball feilds now(but they never air it up, and they blame it on something stupid), you can bring your own paint without an extra fee(be careful, they might accuse you of stealing it..ill get to that later). and you get free air all day long(but be prepared to go back for fills VERY often, b/c they dont fill them full at all)... The fee to get in is $20... but their so layed back they dont know if you have payed or not (they dont give you a bracelet, or stamp or anything), unless of corse you rent a gun from them... which by the way are 98 customs, and icons that look like there a million years old, and they break on you right and left.

Another bad part about this Field is that on some of the feilds there are little holes on some of the bunkers and if your not on this side then, your getting shot at without they presenting a target....

READ THIS!!!!!!!!...I buy my paint in cases of the internet, so the other day when I as at this place they acused of stealing paint... I told them that I dident buy any from there ripoff store.. They told me I had to have stolen them because they told me that they were the olny one to sell Draxxus paint. The owner claimed that they owned cameras and that the would go look at them. I told them go right ahead...They would never show me them ether.. So after all the getting cused out, and yelled at by everyone that worked there i left and I NEVER EVER GOING BACK!!!!!!!!!

So I hope my review has changed your mind about going here, and saving your money...

Last edited on Monday, March 22nd, 2004 at 7:09 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lurking Shadow Friday, January 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Any abandoned lot. This place has no refs!
Review: The place is actually not bad. I like the different speedball fields and the different types of bunkers. However, there are a lot of things that I did not like at all. Two of them are pretty big so I'll just state those.

1- NO REFS!!!
They are hard to find on Saturday, and extremely rare on Sunday (The place is only open on weekends). If you are lucky to find a ref, they are usually younger than 17 and don't really care about the game. They "may" call people out if they see someone was shot, but that's the extent of their aid. They don't help out when you call for paintchecks, and all they do is shoot other refs while trying to be funny. Is someone shooting hot? Who cares, its just a welt and it will go away in a few days, right?

2- HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT!!!
Seriously, this place is so laid back and under staffed that you could walk in and start playing paintball without paying a single dime. In fact, no one would notice that you were even there. One time the Chrono was not working, and they told this kid to just go play anyway, WITHOUT CHECKING THE SPEED of the gun!! There is no one there to enforce the safety zones. In the "parking lot", it is not at all uncommon to see people shooting things on the other side of the dirt road. A friend of mine said that once two "refs" were shooting eachother's vehicles, and they were very close to people who had no masks on, even little children (they were watching a tourney, I believe). Shooting like a maniac close to others, especially children, is waaaay passed the line.

To sum it up, this place is fun, but that's about it. The prices are average, although they rip the hell out of you when it comes to food and drink. I'll be nice and give this place a well deserved 2.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

96EvoCocker Sunday, October 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Official Paintaball (much better)
Mad Ivan's (not really comprable)
Paintball Games of Dallas (R.I.P.)
Review: The price was okay, considering. ($20 walk-on... all day air... brought my own paint)
That's about it.

At lot of the complaints about this place are correct and very valid.

First, there was no safety speech. Not that I'm a fan of safety speeches, but there were definately some players there who didn't know the rules. Additionally, there were no clearly posted field rules, IE ... field chrono limit (300fps? 285fps?). "20 Foot Rule?".

The fields were lacking. Very uninspired designs, but mirrored well. I felt like it was hard to get good angles and shots out of most bunkers, not a real wide variety of bunker types. The fields are stacked next to eachother and several times I got hit from errant paint from other fields. No netting to protect the player's area from the fields... no netting to separate fields from other fields.

As someone mentioned, people are firing off their guns all over the place, no barrel plugs in the guns. It makes me very uncomfortable. Especially since there was a bunch of little kids running around. I can't tell you how many times I've seen people accidentally fire their guns. And w/o some type of plug or barrel condom... what's going to prevent an bystander from accidentally getting shot in the eye?

What reffing? There were no chrono checks to make sure people were playing it safe. (I have welts from shots all the way across the field that look as bad as the ones from getting bunkered.) The "refs" didn't do paint checks or even act like they were interested in watching the game. They just stood on the sides trying not to get hit.

The staff was unimpressive. You had to actively seek out a ref to get your tanks filled. Nitrogen only filled to 2000 the first part of the day and 3500 towards the end of the day. A lot of people shooting nitro had to play 1 game and go back to get air.

I was also disappointed in the quality of players out there. Most of them (tournament players included) would sit in the same bunker in the back of the field shooting off hundreds of rounds. No skill at all. I'm also convinced players were wiping and since the refs weren't calling paint checks, they weren't calling themselves out.

I have to agree with the post about players cheating... I saw one instance where a player wiped his hopper after I clearly shot it. Another where a kid called himself out... started walking off the field and then stopped behind a bunker and started playing again. Also very confusing was that a lot of players didn't put their gun over their head or barrel plug in to indicate they'd been hit. Part of that was the refs not reffing the game and doing paint checks and the other was players who obviously didn't know what consitutes a "hit". Hence why a safety speech might have been a good idea.

Overall, I didn't think too highly of this field and wouldn't go back if they paid me. I missed watching the Cowboys vs. TB game for that and I regret it. Find somewhere else to play where the staff cares about the safety of their customers and wants everyone to have fun because this place doesn't. I recommend trying Official Paintball in Forney.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media