paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Los Gatos Pursuit Paintball (Outdoor) Paintball Field / Los Gatos Pursuit Paintball (Outdoor) Paintball Field / Los Gatos Pursuit Paintball (Outdoor) Paintball Field / Los Gatos Pursuit Paintball (Outdoor) Paintball Field

Los Gatos Pursuit Paintball (Outdoor) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (408) 946-7676
Location: Boulder Creek, California 95006
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
tapecocker Saturday, November 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
T.A.G: Much better field, just good clean fun
Sunol: Field is better, better prices, all around better
Santa Clara: Hard to compare becuase they are two totally different styles of play, santa clara being speedball, bear creek being woodsball.
Review: This is the field I went to for my second time paintballing. At first I was very impressed by it, but when I look back on the field now, I realize it wasn't very good. Just to be opptomistic, we'll start off with the strengths.

Strengths:
Friendly staff
Staff knows what they're doing
The field is a nice change from the extreme speedball I'm used to
They do a lot of flag games

Weaknesses:
PRICE (80 bucks a case of paintball, although it is byop)
The field is one big hill, so if your team starts on the bottom, you kinda get screwed
If its rained in the past month or so, its going to be unbarably muddy, I've had it be so muddy there that my shoe came off because of the mud.
They make you hike up a big hill after every game (not a huge deal, but annoying after 5 hours of play)

Conclusion: This field is great if you go in the summer and bring your own paint, if you don't do those, your experience may not be the best.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mike Sage Thursday, June 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball, American Canyon, Diablo Venture Games
Review: This is my first time at this field, and if this is how they run their show every time, I like it!

Safety speech. I know, some think it was lengthy, but, it's designed for the first-timers! Not everybody knows these things that get taken for granted. I thought it was thorough, and he did a good job with it.

Safety rules. Excellent. You can't be too strict. Goggles on at all times on the field, barrels plugged or bagged off. Chronos EVERY game? I'm down. I've seen too many people shooting hot and didn't even know it. It doesn't take that long, and only costs you 2 paintballs per game. It turned up a more hot guns before games than you would have thought.

The field. It was a great setup. Between woods play and speedball. We were playing 8 minute games that day, I found that to be enough time for one side or the other to win. As for "sniping", just keep your eyes open. I was using the only pumpgun on the field and racked up 6 eliminations one game. 2 the first game, 3 the second..... You see my point. Just watch out for the steep slopes when you run downhill!!

The players. Like I said, it was my first time here, so I don't know if this is the usual crowd, but they worked in teams pretty well. There were some frustrating games when the team didn't work together and got spanked for it. But overall, it was a good day.

I really liked the use of cow bells on the flags. I wore my pull and hang around my neck!

Only things I didn't like... I got confused about their surrender rule, thought it wasn't allowed at all to shoot under 15 feet. Turned out that if both parties were aware of each other, it was allowed! 8 minutes between games. I run a lot, I need time to rest. But that stuff didn't make it any less fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Major Woody Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle, Field in Italy, Field in South Dakota
Review: Bear Creek is a fun place to play. I will definetely go back, after I try other fields in the area.

The field:
(~600ft x ~200ft): About 2 football fields long
Built on the side of a hill with plenty of bunkers and quite a few trees.
It is shaped like a rectangle and the long side runs up the hill.

The refs are very good about safety, and do a great job reffing the action on the field. Players are very good about calling themselves out when they are hit, I didn't notice any whipers, and the refs spoke strongly about what would happen to a cheater (cheater would have to leave).

Prices:
Paint is a little expensive ($80) and with all of the bunker to bunker action, you will go through quite a bit of paint as you try to take territory (you can bring your own paint). Air ends up being expensive too. The $25 for self-equipped players is about the standard rate in the area.

Play:
As I alluded to above, there is a lot of bunker to bunker fighting. More like a urban combat, as there are tons of bunkers (man made and natural), so teamwork is essential. Teamwork is also very important, because you only get 10 minutes to complete your objective (capture the flag, elimination, attack and defend). Turnaround from game to game was at times slow, but probably averaged 15 minutes.

Disappointments:
- At times the game turnaround seemed slow
- When the day was over, the refs/management kept yelling at us to leave (pretty annoying, considering it only took us a total of 30 minutes to get packed up and drive out of the parking lot)
- Safety briefing at the beginning was long (ref liked to hear himself talk)
- Friend rented a gun (piranha) and they kept jamming/having problems

Summary:
I give the field a slightly above average rating because of the quality reffing and concern for safety. However, the field is smallish and the length of the game does not give you much time to accomplish the objective (10 minutes is where you would finally start making progress). Also, the rental gear needs to be upgraded.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbpinche Sunday, March 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SCP, outlaw ball
Review: Bear creek is an awesome place for beginners and pros. I liked the old feild better but the new feild is pretty cool too. The refs are nice and make sure that everyone is safe and haves a fun time. The feild is on a hill and theres alottttttt of mud so were some ragedy clothes. I highly recommend you to try this place once, it awesome!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

metallicarocks Wednesday, January 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Santa Clara Fairgrounds, Tag
Review: This field is not my favorite. I will start out with the good info first then the bad. First off this place is not far from where i live. entry is reasonable. reffs are nice. now the bad:
1. chrono before EVERY game (this takes a while)
2. 8 min games (never get finished)
3. too many branches (cannot snipe at all)
4. about 15 mins between games
5. only one field
6. field is on one big hill (one side has up)
7. paint is $80

overall, i would rather go to TAG or santa clara if i were you those places are better. serously
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Wonginator Wednesday, October 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Bear Creek is a very nice place to go in the summer. Just make sure you make reservations. Usually there a lot of people that go there. The chrono speed is 270. Grenades and all that good stuff are allowed! Just make sure that you don't go on a muddy day since it's hard to run around. The field is located on a mountain. The best game there is attack and defense. Be sure to stock up on grenades if you going to play attack and defense.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pntball tuba33 Monday, September 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
santa clara, t.a.g., backyard.
Review: Since i do not like speed ball, bear creek is the place to go! Even though they only have one feild it's the best one i've ever been to so far. The refs are nice and the players are too, the price is a littlle on the money side ($25). But it is so worth it. We don't just play elimination like all the other fields i've been to so far. You ahve got to go here, its the best.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hamster Tuesday, September 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tag way werse than bear creek
Review: TAG is 30 bux u only chrono if they think u r shooitin hot and every few rounds Only white paint and barrel bags ONLY they are 5 lowsy bux there


Bear creek is super newbie friendly and if you are even on dynasty u will get the same amount of respect!
They have a great saftey prep for each day
they have upgrade rentals to minimags with HPA
they have super friendly staff one let my dad borrow his cocker!!
they know tons and will happily show u how to clean/fix ur marker
they know how to fill tanks
they Are extreemly good at reffing i had a ball half break on a tree thought i was out but the reff showed me that there was no shell and had broken on a tree
the only negative is retal paint is 20bux/500balls
yuo can order polish dogs or hot dogs they sell candy and chips also gatorade soda and water
they have rental pods and masks if u need them
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

soggybottums Friday, July 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
private land
Review: i thought this field was awesome! its the only field i have played at so i cant really compar with anything.the refs are nice and pay attention.besides i like woods better than speed.i guess the real reason i like it is becuase of the manegment.their big on saftey.so if your a newbie like me this is the place to go.i give it a 9 becuse i wish it was bigger.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vega18 Monday, July 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Santa Clara fair grounds
And Santa Cruz T.A.G
Review: Overall I would give the field a 6/10, Im used to playing a lot more speed ball than playing at the woods, so this was a new expiereance for me.
What I dislike about the field is that first of ll there is only one filed so when you get outyou hae to wait some tme till you get back in, secondly all skill levels play against each other so its kinda unfair when u get a pro player or a player with expiereance playing against a beginer. Third thing I would diagree with is that the prices they charge are way too much!!!!!!!!!
As far as the good things go..... The field is big so there is a lot of room to move around, and the people there are nice and fair. I also like playing here because they have a variety of different games that you play so its not just strit up elimination. so this makes it fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media