paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Big Sky Paintball Field / Big Sky Paintball Field / Big Sky Paintball Field / Big Sky Paintball Field

Big Sky Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
21Edit this Field Listing
Website: N/A
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 5364 SE Elm Court
Cameron, Missouri 64429
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
DarkAng3l Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
WW Paintball, Jeagers, Splat City, Drop Zone,
Review: Guys This field Is AWSOME it has the best prices in kc or mo you can come out and play on sundays on a air field with air and 2000 paintballs for 45$ where else can you do that? The Refs are awsome, Barry is a great guy and the teams that play that give you awsome practice. I advise everyone to come out and play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

vaporshorty10 Tuesday, August 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: i love this field. what can i say. if you go there when its not muddy or hot its great. the prices are the best ive seen anywhere. plus getting to practice on sup air is sweet. the only part i didn't like is the huge shooting lanes on the field. but overall id go there as long as i have money. the staff is awesome and friendly.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nharms5 Monday, June 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Our team went to a tourney at Big Sky in early spring 2003. We were not real impressed with the place. First off this place is in the middle of no where and only partly visible from a gravel road (Signs of ANY kind would have been great). Not that this is a bad thing, some of the best woods fields are this way (D-Day for example)... but this is a speedball field and we were playing a 5-man tourney. The one thing the place did REALLY well was their club house/air house. It really was a house. Some places have shacks or large trucks/vans... this place had a house. It was heated, had a good air station (HPA up to 4000 psi if I recall) and the staff were real friendly. We as a team really had no problem with the place until we saw the fields. The surface of the fields was mud. Now... this isn't you run-of-the-mill mud holes here or there thing... the whole place was one big mud hole. For those of you who know anything at all about Missouri... this also means clay. So there we were, playing 5-man, in mud up to and past our ankles... thank God it was a short field because you were not going to be running anywhere. More then one guy on our team lost a shoe during play (got to love that Missouri clay). The playing surface that day was later described as "the nastiest field I have ever seen" by our team captain. Finals were played on a slightly more grassy spot just down the hill from the main fields. It wasn't netted and the bunkers were so small and far apart we had trouble finding them. Overall, unless some MAJOR improvements happen, I won't go there again. The people were nice and the reffing was good... but the field surface makes the field and it was the pits (litterally).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Anghellic21 Monday, April 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
BattleCreek Paintball, paintgames plus
Review: I have to say Big Sky is the Best field i have been to. As soon as I came to Big sky everyone there is is so nice and out to help you with anything possible.

Now the Shop is nice with Food,drinks,microwave, and even a Tv. And anything you need to borrow or somthin they have in the shop. Nitrogen and C02 there and its even BYOP, the paint is cheap to buy anyways. The fields are also very nice, if your a Noobie or a Tourney Player. Full Diablo Airball Field. All the refs do a great job and nice as well.

The only bad thing which isn't really a bad thing is the weather...Seems like it always Rains...lol
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DavidRoach Friday, April 11th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: I came to Big Sky over a year ago as a walk on player looking for a place to play with a couple of friends. After chatting with Jacob and Soph for a while I began to return more and more. It took very little time before Barry and Jake were kind enough to add me to the roster of Explicit Content. As of that day I have never met a kinder bunch of people. Barry and Dana have been the best "parents" a team could have. They always take good care of us on the team, and even better care of the walk in customers. There have been times when Barry has put in a 12 hours shift and still kept the energy to crack a smile to a walk in with Spyder problems. Barry and Dana were even kind enough to loan us their personal vehicle so that some of us on EC could make a recent trip to Kentucky.
Barry, Jake, Soph, and the rest of us on Explicit do our very best to keep the field in tip top shape during tournament and rec play. Barry puts his financial neck on the line more than any sane person I know to give us the latest and best practice facilities in the area. Jake and Soph have spent more time hauling tires around by hand in the cold than anyone could imagine. The rest of us on Explicit do as much as we can to help out by reffing on weekends and cold and rainy tournaments, moving fields around, and performing basic upkeep.
I could never imagine a better group of guys to work, play, and hang out with. The humor and friendship seems to flow through everyone who is associated with Big Sky.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dddtt22 Thursday, April 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jaegers, Splat City, Purple Heart, Drop Zone,
None of the above fields are as friendly or cheap as BIG SKY!
Review: The field is great, they have a Diablo Sup Air Field, a ball wall field, and a tire field that is great for kids and beginners! They are super nice people, they help out in every way they can. The field is run great. There is always paint, CO2, and most importantly Nitro. They are overall just nicer people and run the field much better than other fields around.
If your looking for a new field to come play at, make sure you come try this one!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ANS ShooteR Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Battle Creek and Xtreme Paintball Park. Lol Im all over Missouri
Review: First off I would like to say Barry is the nicest Field Owner that I have met. He is always friendly and cutting people deals when he doesnt have to.

Secondly if you like speedball this is the place to be on Sundays. Barry always has a lot of good players and teams practicing at Big Sky. I will be living in St. Louis over the summer and I am going to travel to Big Sky (North Of Kansas City) two times a month just to play there. That right there should tell you how I feel about the place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DaBanshee Tuesday, April 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jaegers, DropZone, Battlecreek Paintball, Paint Games Plus North and South, Xtreme Paintball Park
Review: First of all let me start this review out by saying that I was not the original review writer as everyone at Big Sky thought, and I believe that I am owed an apology. But now I am going to write my honest opinion, and you can keep the apology. This review is based on my personal experience with Big Sky Paintball. Due to opposing personal opinions and values, I, as well as my team refuse to associate with Big Sky Paintball. No one has influenced my review in any way. My user name on all of the forums I go to is DaBanshee.
I write for five print paintball publications and two online publications. I am exercising my first amendment rights. I am the captain of an all female team. Everyone knows that no matter the gender it is very hard to build a team. The review that was posted by Shawn (a player/shop worker on the owner’s team) said I was slamming the field because I was cut from a team. I can’t be dropped from the team I own/built/continue to build.
And as for the review comments by Chris Cotten (close friend of the Barton’s), my future and the future of my team was never to be at Big Sky Paintball. I never chose Big Sky for our home field due to the fact that there are girls on this team from Missouri, KS, and IL. Barry offered us parts, accessories and paint at cost as his part to help out the team. Even though it was 2 hrs away for most of us we practiced anyway at Big Sky because it was easier for the owner’s 14yr old daughter who was going to play with us on the team. I told them from the beginning what my plans were for the team and that we would be traveling and attending tournaments all over and not just locally.
Let me give you a few examples of what they did. As I was building my team, I chose players. I chose the owner’s daughter. She is a wonderful player and is no beginner by any means. When the up coming KC Parks and Rec Tournament came into view as a possibility for us girls to play, the field owner wanted us to enter as a beginner team. (Most of us on the team have been playing 1 ½ to 2 years, more than a beginner don’t you say?) It was even arranged by Chris that we could enter as such. But I refused to enter as a beginner team.
I have been playing for two years now; I felt that entering into a beginner tournament with 4 of the 5 of us playing for over a1 1/2 yrs and with more than 3 tournaments AND with higher end markers would be wrong. According to the official entry form, the beginners division stated “Beginner/recreational division- great for the true beginner and open to anyone with less than one year of paintball experience and/or three tourney’s or less under their belt” We had played two tournaments as the female team and the owner’s daughter had played the previous two seasons with her brother’s team, Explicit Content. I stood up for what I thought was right and found out through a thread on PBNation that they had convinced (taken) 4 or more of my players and started a new team that would be entering the tournament as Fatal Attraction. (Just so that you don’t get them confused there are a total of 3 Fatal Attraction teams and 2 Explicit Content teams on www.paintballteams.com) Upset, yes. Humiliated, YES! But that is how things go in paintball, it just happens. Life goes on and you rebuild.
On my very first trip to Big Sky, Barry pointed out that to win at the big tournaments you have to cheat. He even told my then Co-Capt. and myself how to go about wiping. “if you get hit in the shoulder rub up close to the bunker, kneel down in paint, slide head first…” etc. I know that wiping happens. Sometimes more than it should, but to go out and encourage a rookie/novice team to do this is blatant cheating and I know I would not want to have my children learning this type of paintball.
We were also told repeatedly that we needed just to play small tournaments for a year or so and shouldn’t even try to go to some of the bigger tournaments. I was told by a couple of close friends that in order to learn to play better you need to play better teams and that winning isn’t everything, playing fairly is. So the new team is rewarded for their cheating by getting a Paintball Junkies sponsorship. Is that something paintball wants to promote and present to the world? I think not.
Furthermore I believe it takes a very strong person to stand up to people who I thought were friends and do the right thing. In October we attended a charity event thrown by Big Sky. My boyfriend slid into a bunker and seriously injured his ankle to the point to where he had to undergo reconstructive surgery and was off 14 weeks WITHOUT pay. Did we sue Big Sky? No, but we could have due to the fact that NO ONE signs waiver forms at Big Sky.
I had great respect for Barry and Dana up until the point where they didn’t even have the gall to call or email me about forming the new team. "We were just going to tell you when you came up here for practice the next time" is what they told me in a reply to an email I sent to them inquiring about the "new women's team". I was invited to continue to come up and practice at Big Sky, but I declined. Yes, on Sundays it’s great to visit there due to all the teams that come up there and practice, and you can bring your own paint and they have all day air for $5. One field, the air field, is on an incline and can be challenging to play if you are in the end that has to run upfield, but to be a better player you must overcome challenges that are put before you. But I do believe that Barry had plans to build an indoor field in the future there in that spot. The wall ball fields are too small for 5 man and maybe just a bit short for 3 man but still do the job. They are built very well though and they have made an interesting “zipper” snake from hyperball material. They only have one porti-pottie and it sits somewhat uneven on the ground. The shop itself is tiny but does the job quite nicely. They have a few things in stock and yes they can order it for you.
This brings me to the next issue. I myself am an E-Bay addict and I buy quite a bit off of it. But when you have a customer who sees this pro shop, is under the assumption that things that they are ordering from the shop owner is from a wholesaler, when really the owner is getting it off of E-Bay for MUCH less, this act itself is quite dishonest. On several occasions we have went to get paint and had to pay a different price.
We were told in the beginning that they would give us practice paint at a particular low price. The first few times we were given PBJ Joker paint at that particular price. (The first bunch was bad paint. It chopped A LOT!). The next time it was a different PBJ paint, then Kick’n (it too wasn’t that great and chopped a bit), each time it was a different price. A couple of times they ran out and we couldn’t get paint.
Now I ask, to everyone that posts a negative review, are they going to get an email from the owners threatening to sue because they call it slander? The original review writer was sent an email by the owners saying that he would be hearing from their attorney’s, that you cant write stuff about fields like he had. I am sorry but its called freedom of speech and yes we can. It’s called having an opinion.
I urge everyone who reads this not to take my advice or my opinion but to go experience for themselves, go and play there. See if you like it. Come back here and write about your experience. Now to you the field owner’s, their close friends and currently sponsored teams, take the reviews as customer comment cards like you would see at a restaurant and improve on what the person thought was bad and then take what is good about the field to a higher level.

I would rate this field a 3 maybe even a 4. Even the best fields in the world have room for improvement. Again, I tell you do not take just my word for this field. Go and check out for yourself. You may have a better experience than others have had. Good luck and play hard.
Last edited on Tuesday, April 8th, 2003 at 4:56 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rush4 Tuesday, April 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
jaegers,drop zone
Review: My friends and I have played the majority of our paintball at big sky. We've done this because of the people Barry is one of the nicest people I have ever met always willing to help anyone that needs anything to have a better paintball experience at his field. You really can't find this at any other local fields. He's works hard for his tournaments to be the best they can be, and are always fun (even if the weather is terrible.) He is very knowledgeable when it comes to paintball and paintball equipment I usually always get Barry's opinion before any major purchases. Thanks Barry and Dana for all your help. and Good luck in the future.
Last edited on Tuesday, April 8th, 2003 at 4:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

LostGenCapn Monday, April 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jeagers, Splat City, WW Paintball, Dropzone's parks, you name it, I've been there......
Review: I'm going to keep mine simple and precise, without a lot of wording. Barry runs a great field. He's ALL ABOUT THE PLAYERS, not the profit. He's trying to get his feild up and running well. It's not perfect, but he's trying to improve constantly without trying to ruin our wallets in the process. He allows team players to come up on sundays to play at a VERY reasonable price and that makes for a great time and place for teams to practice. I personally haven't paid attention as to how many rec players show up, but I know those that do, leave happy most of the time. They have a sup air field for anyone to play on which makes for great play, since 99% of any quality tourney is played on those types of fields. Any questions, feel free to email me or contact me for more specifics.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media