paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Liberty Paintball Field / Liberty Paintball Field / Liberty Paintball Field / Liberty Paintball Field

Liberty Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
104Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (845)878-6300
Address: Rt. 22 South
Patterson, New York 12563
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Mr Murderdoll89 Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: July 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogan's Alley Paintball-This field compared to Liberty would most likely be a much preferred choice for the hardcore and more seasoned tournament players as Liberty is more of a Scenario/Woods type paintball field.
Crazy Paint- See above. Small indoor field however.
Cousins-See Hogan's.
Champion's-Full size X-Ball Field.
West Point-Scenario based field. 5 miles by 5 miles sized field.
Directions
to the Field:
At the field's website, www.libertypaintball-ny.com there are directions available.
Review: I'd like to take some time and write about this review. First off, I work at this field as does my friend Mike (Fighting54th). I have noticed that many people complain about the refs that we have working at Liberty. Within the past 3-4 months we lost many of our more experienced staff members and refs to college/moving and/or other jobs. Safety is our #1 CONCERN. We constantly have to tell people to put in their barrel plugs and keep their masks on. Another problem I have seen here is cheating. Guys, unfortunately Liberty at times is very understaffed on certain days as on a regular basis we have 200 players each day of the weekend. It is extremely difficult to catch each and every cheater we have. I'll admit it there have been times where I let the cheating slide but please understand how hard it is for us to do our jobs as Mike stated that we are not allowed to sit or rest during the 8-10 hours that we work.

Thank you for taking the time to read this, I hope you understand.
Last edited on Sunday, July 23rd, 2006 at 7:28 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Fighting54th Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Hogans Alley, Cousins
Review: I Ref at liberty, and to all those ppl who say were bad, you have never reffed a game before, its not exactly easy. Most of the time you call for a paint check, we cant hear you, and when we go do a check for you, stop shooting. For the past 3 months we have had a run of new, terrible refs who were afraid, but that is changing now, because we have good ppl again. We always are concerened with saftey, have a barrel plug when you go and keep ur goggles on. Most of the refs know how to fix guns and will HELP YOU FIX THEM, we are not allowed to fix them for you if its a big job. We are always strict on cheating, if they are caught cheating, they are kicked out for the day on the spot. We try to chrono people, but our boss doesnt always let us because we hav other things to do, and people chrono, and then go raise their velocity. We Do Our best, most of the time, but we arent super human, we all have our days where were tired or overworked because we dont get breaks and we arent allowed to sit down all day. So Don't be so quick to judge.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Derek1135 Thursday, July 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Champion Paintball- Paintballs are cheaper and they have better rentals (Tippmann 98C and A-5 with response triggers) but their fields in no way compare to the fields of Liberty Paintball.
Review: Liberty paintball is a wonderful paintball field. Their fields are simply amazing and are fun to play on. I've been going there for quite some time now and there is usualy a ton of people there.

The refs there are friendly and informative. They do what ever they can to let the players have a great time. When they make teams in the begginning of the day, they try to keep groups together to keep every one happy. The refs are good and try to catch people cheating to keep the game moving along smoothly however some are to afraid to go in and do a paint check so i do find a couple people taking advantage of this and start wiping paint off throughout the day.

The fields are very good and are usually free of debris that u can trip on. However, i did find a couple patches of thorn bushes on few of the fields (I found out the hard way, i jumped to take cover in one of these and became entangled in thorns). The fields are huge and very well designed. They have many bunkers, buidings, little hiding spots, and many angles in which you can lay fire on the other team.

The prices are very reasonable. Its $70 for a case of paintballs and $20 for entry fee. The paintballs they use are "Origin Classic". They arent best but they shoot very well out of my Custom Products One-Piece Classic Barrel. These paintballs has a very good paint-to-barrel match to my barrel so i am going to assume that these paintballs are of .689 caliber.

The indoor facility is okay. They have a bunch of tables and chairs inside and some picnic tables outside. They also have some lockers inside but you have to bring your own lock.

The only thing i didnt like about this field is that alot of players keep their markers shooting above 300 fps. The refs do conduct a velocity check at the beginning of the day and after lunch however alot of people simply turn down the velocity when they go to check it and turn it back up when they finished which is very dangerous since the lens of paintball masks are rated to take repeated impacts from a paintball at 300 fps-not any higher. As well, these higher velocity paintballs hurt alot more and leave huge welts. I have three SCARS on my legs from getting hit by high velocity paintballs which i have gotten from jerks who like the flatter trajectory and increased range. They are just these circles on my legs. They are starting to fade a bit after a couple of months but none the less, i am pretty pissed. However, it's not the fields fault since they are doing whatever they can

Besides that one problem, this is a great field. I'm giving it a 10 because its not the fields fault because they do try to keep everyone shooting below 300fps.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bronx Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Greetings,

Ok, I have played ball here a few times and (for the most part) have had a good experience:

*the fields are great
* the indoor area is nice
*the prices are fair (70 bucks/case, 10 bucks/nitro all day, free CO2).
*friendly people

Although there are many good points about Liberty, there def. are some areas it needs to work on...

The last time I played at liberty was 7/2/06. I played as a walk on as did everyone else that day (there weren't many people... probably because it was 95 degrees). Got there at around 930 am and gased up, bought paint and got ready to go. I walked over to rinse my googles and upon my return to my table, my paint was gone. Im not blaming the field for this in any way shape or form, it was just a bummer and a bad way to start the day. I got another case, filled up, and locked the rest in my car. \
I brought my own gun, as did many of the players that day and none of use were tested( in the morning) to see how hard the guns were shooting. I checked myself and I was shooting at 292, 295,296,295....so I was good (they said you have to be under 300 fps)....we played till lunch. At lunch they said they were chrono checking (probably because some people complained)..but instead of having a ref in the testing area, they just told us all to check our own guns. When i got to the chrono there were a group of kids probably around 15-16) with their own tippman guns..I watched the first kid shoot 385, 390, 402!! The machine was beeping like crazy but nobody cared...I told the kid that his gun was shooting way to hard and he just looked at me and walked away ...the other kids in the group all were shooting well over 300, and after watching one of these punks shoot 350, and decide to turn the fps up on his gun I decided to tell the ref, who did nothing. Im not the type to snitch about people's guns shooting too hard, but this was outrageous. This was/is the major problem I have with this place. Chronoing seems to be optional.

The refs need work as well. I know its tough to ref a paintball game...ive done it before...but a little effort never hurt anyone. As I mentioned above, there werent that many people, the teams were probably around 12-15 people each and we didnt play many woods games...mostly on scenario type fields...but there was a lot of cheating going on. I myself watched as at least 2 balls I shot broke on some jerks mask, only to have this clown duck back behind a bunker and pop back up...HE WIPED A MASK SHOT AND NOBODY DID ANYTHING! I screamed at the ref who was over against the netting of the field, and didnt move before saying this guy was still in. I was pissed. There were a few people who worked at the field who were playing with us...which kind of explains things. this type of thing went on all day.

So thats it really, dont want to go into too many details here, but those were my major concerns with the place. I rate this place a 7-8. its fun, but the chrono thin needs to be worked out.

-J
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

tippo Wednesday, June 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in area
Review: Everybody who says liberty paintball sucks is sooooo wrong. The rental guns are custom pros, and mine worked just fine. Free CO2 all day!! Paint is a bit on the expensive side, but not greatly so. There are plenty of fields to play on, from a completely woods field with just a few bunkers, to a "western village" complete with a train and graveyard, to the supair ball course. The refs were very helpful and nice. For instance, I was experiencing some gun trouble, and the ref pointed out a problem with my CO2. He let me run back to the main staging area to get some more, then come back to the game. Sometimes people will cheat. I must have hit this guy like 5 times and he wiped and kept going. Cammies are 5 bucks to rent, and they have a great shop with a knowledgeable staff. Other players are really nice, and the locals are cool. (One lent me like 140 rounds in a tight pinch). I didn't get a chance to try out the supair ball course (Woodsball all the way!) but I heard it's great. Sometimes the refs won't make a call, but not usually. Fields are a short walk away from the staging area, which is kinda like a small cafeteria, with a shop, and food areas. Really strict on barrel plugs and masks. If you don't have a barrel plug and you're on the field or in the deadbox, you miss the next game, second time, you're gone for the day. Totally awesome field. Highly recommended
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Necrovantes Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins Paintball, HIgh Velocity, EMR, Skirmish, NYC paintball, LI paintball.
Review: While Liberty is generally good, their big game is the worst. I've played at other big games, some good some bad, but Liberty's was terrible. Ive played there before and generally like the fields and the other players. But their big game was so unprofessional, it was a joke. You had ref's that weren't calling any hits, some who wouldn't call hits on the other team because their friends were playing, or just not paying attention. And when it came to splitting up teams, they dumped a large group of little kids on one team. Let me tell you there is no fun shooting little kids. The reentry points were totally unfair. One team had its entry point 20 yards from the battle, while the other team had to walk thru three other fields to get to the battle.They even took away the general of one team, and left therm leaderless. On normal weekends , you only have 1 or 2 good refs, that actually do their jobs. The other refs are playing along with everyone else. Let me say this in favor of Liberty, they have great fields, the workers are friendly, the indoor facility is great. They provide food at a decent price if you don't want to leave. I have gone there and will continue to go because overall I have a good time. Each time I go, I bring more people to get into the game and regular players. They need to work on the big game and their refs.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Neishun Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Champion Paintball- Not as good rentals, bad refs
Review: When you first come to Liberty Paintball, it looks like any other paintball place.

I brought some of my friends who had never played before. Much to my surprise, a ref actually came out and helped them with speedball strategies (crossfire, etc.).

The fields are AWESOME! They have a lot of fields and especially a lot of speedball. Their woodball fields are HUMONGUS.

My only complaint was the animosity between the inexperienced and experienced players. Being a experienced player myself, I took note of this.

According to my friends, their rentals were Tippmann Custom Pros. They said they had no problem and even the ref helped htem with some aiming techniques.

But, the best part was when we were up against this huge team and the ref and I just ran up and took everyone out.

Overall, my experience was a 9.5 but my friends all say 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hawkman7 Thursday, April 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Strategy Plus: Messy staging area, general confusion, refs aren't sure of their own rules
Review: I've played 2 or 3 games there now this season, and their safety was top notch, as always. Masks and barrel plugs are always enforced, no matter what. They stress that even if you took your hopper off, don't think there is a round chambered, etc, it doesn't matter, safety gear stays on.

The fields were all awesome, and they've done alot of work in the last year or so. They trim all the brush back regularly now so it's easier to get to and from fields. They added a new castle and WWII fields, and the airball course is back up again in a different layout. The speedball course was open to walk ons all day.

The prices were high on paint, but overall it was a quality experience and worth it.

Their surrender rule is from 10 big steps away.

Staff had no problem helping with marker problems, and their proshop had an extensive selection of replacement gear.

They have an indoor facility to warm up, with indoor plumbing, and a small cafeteria.

The refs were all cool guys, when I went there was a guy trying out as a ref, it was his first day. He did an awesome job, made sure everybody understood what they needed to do, and towards the end of the day when it was just me and 4 other guys, took us to the speedball course and guided us through a game so we could understand the angles and everything.

Overall, awesome field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thenutjob Sunday, March 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I have read the other reviews some good some negative, and after playing there myself I can find no reason for anyone not to have a GREAT time there. The refs as far as I could see did a very nice job considering the people taking shots at the from behind (they should have tossed those people) . I had some friends there and had no clue as to what they needed I took them over to the owner and had them buy 2 electronic hoppers and the owner even after being asked did not offer to set them up... But I was missing a screw for my Tippman 98 "Sniper" and the owner looked all over to no luck to find 1. Over all the place was nice... The police where called on a group there the guy slapped his wife to the ground (the cops let him go---Jerks) my brother had his brand new mask stolen. But I would play there again. Just a comment on the posting from the ref about the other person "playing with a Spyder" who cares he likes it, don't drop to his Level.

TheNutJob
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

geokis88 Sunday, March 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, Paintball arena, Cousins, Ruckus
Review: The fields are great=10
Refs= 9
staging area=10
My first time at liberty and I had a great time as well as the group I brought
The only negative complaint I had about liberty was they did'nt allow 2 consecutive games on the same field but the flip side to that is you can always play on your favorite fields.Overall the refs and staff are great I would definately reccomend this to rec and woodsball players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media