paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Special Forces Paintball Field / Special Forces Paintball Field / Special Forces Paintball Field / Special Forces Paintball Field

Special Forces Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 763-682-0582
Address: 5494 fairhill dr se
Buffalo, Minnesota 55313
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Octane Saturday, April 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Tag
Adventre Zone
Review: What can I say that hasn't been said. Special Forces is so far ahead of the competition that all the others can hope for is second place. The jeep/truck ride to the staging area gets you in the combat mode. The fields are diverse and can be played so many different ways you never get board.
The beach landing is so cool you feel like you might be living out some John Wayne movie. Battling to get across one of the bridges or just charging the creek is a thrill each time. Hamburger Hill brings you back to the OK Corral if played in the "stand and shoot or run for cover" option.
And the bunkers are REAL bunkers. They have very few plywood fake cover. I can't stand seeing the single plywood barriers on a woods field--how combat like is that?! Holes in the ground with sandbags or small elevated forts are what you get here. They also make good use of the fallen logs to create many milti-directional barriers and they always have plenty of brush cover when in season for sneaking around.
At SF you can have a small squad creaping around with a pointman and doing what you've seen in movies about Viet Nam, getting ambushed or delivering some serious damage to the rear of the other team.
I could write a book about the adventures but lets just meet up there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CommanderCool Sunday, January 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: SP Rocks! Its what got me into paintball. The refs arent great but the fields make up for it. The biggest and best level is really just 2 hills goin into a valley. And the 2nd is rally cool level with a castle and a nomandy part with a really cool boat you land on. There are lots of bunkers and trenches but the best is using all the foilage and trees and briges for cover. Another thing is its really cheap. 15 bucks if you have your own equipment and paintballs, 10 for epuip rentals and 10 for 500 paintballs. over all its one of the funnest times ive ever had.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

IceMan69 Monday, November 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adventure Zone, friends hunting land
Review: me bein more of a sinaro player i like this feld a lot. it has great big games. only ben to privet games in big game format but i got the general exp of the big games. the open are good also. they have plenty of players to come to the open games usaly. felds dont have as many bunkers as other places but its a lot more like accual woods play. hiding behind trees, in brush, in diches its good woods ball play. no real pro shop though and the reffs dont seem to do there jobs as well but other than that i like the felds and the game play a lot. employees are nice though but the refs seem to not do there jobs quight as well as some other refs ive played with but they still do the job. last time i was there it was better though seems reffs had a bit more traning or some thing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JK555 Monday, October 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I don't know any, I don't live there
Review: Ok, this place is just plain awesome, I think everybody (HATES SPLAT YOUR OUT) else has said everything about it but i want to go into some of my stories too. First off when you arive, you ride a halftrack into the area, how cool is that! Then when you arive you have plenty of place to put your stuff, rent and fill (SPLAT YOUR OUT SUCKS) your hopper and ammo containers. Unlike some places **cough**splat your out**cough**. Then they let you pick your teams, nice. Plus you get armbands so you actually know who's who, unlike some places **cough**splat your out**cough**. And the prices are like your BUT I LIKE THE TWINKEES getting them on discount. I got to go, but THIS PLACE ROCKS!!!!!!!! :-) :-) :-) :-)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hailstormr Tuesday, September 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Tag, Adventure Zone.
Review: I went and played with a private group so we received 500 balls each with the package. I don't know how long these balls have been sitting out but they were terrible. After about 2 shots I would always break a ball and then it just went downhill. Now if this was just my gun I wouldn't gripe, but everyone had problems with the paint. Another thing that pissed me off was there was no chrono. Alot of the guns had to be WAY over 300, but I couldn't prove it and it just sucks.
The 2 good things were the fields were set up very nice and the owner seems to be fairly cool.
I know I need to try the place more then once, but for now because my day was not good (and I enjoy Splat Tag way more) I am going to leave them with a low score.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Badger53170 Tuesday, August 19th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat-Tag in Baldwin and Hudson, WI - Ahlman's Gun Shop, Morristown, MN
Review: This is the field that got me into paintball. I've played the game a few times in college, but really got hooked later on when I saw the potential the game can be when I set foot on Special Forces. That very day I joined my neighbor/friend's team and haven't looked back since.

Anyway, Special Forces offers everything you're looking for in scenario paintball. They have the tanks, the boats, the beach, Hamburger Hill, the Castle Keep (though I wish that had a better name like maybe Castle Wolfenstein...), etc. I love this place, and Jeff and his crew are the best paintball field owners in Minnesota, hands down.

If I had to choose one aspect that needed to change out there, it would have to be their toilet facilities. Please please please clean up that latrine or pump it out more often. Our team loves playing there, but we do warn those that come with us to try and go before you get there. That's my only complaint, otherwise I just love playing on their fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheP(+)InTmAn Tuesday, August 12th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't been to any other outdoor fields, I have been to "Splat You're Out!" and it really sucked.
Review: This place is sooooooooooo great! I used to be down on paintball thinking it didn't require any skills or strategy that is used in the military or anything like that. So I was online surfing the web and I find the Special Forces site. So my friends and I pile into a car and head out there. It was probably the finest day of my 16 year old life! The arenas are great for us woodland guerrilla style players, no time for shiny or pretty markers here. This is great also for scenario fans because for their big scenario game which is a simulation of D-Day you get to ride in boats and storm beaches and ride around in jeeps! But back to the arenas. These are thick wooded arenas about... 4 acres I think the big one is, but in the middle of thick woods are these large clearings where all the shooting goes down! There are hidden forts, towers, trees to climb in, sandbag bunkers (sandbag bunkers, now we're talking!). And the coolest thing about this place is you can bring your own paint! It's only 15 dollars to get in and and extra 5 dollars to get an unlimited Co2 pass for all day! So this is incredibly cost efficient compared to stupid indoor arenas. The people there are REAL friendly also, they helped me out with my gun for free and leant a friend of mine an elbow off of their own gun! I also hear they're hosting a few winter games! YAAAAAAY! Winter! The guests are also real nice people too, it's a great experience. All in all this is the best place to play paintball there is, it's dogfights between two teams of twenty each, and there's a lot of room for guerrillas to go to work out here, hehe. Oh yea the field rating is wrong, this should be rated at a 50 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pball847 Tuesday, July 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SYO(no comparison it is run OK but FPO at 90 bucks a case is crazy) MN Paintball Pro(out of business) MN Pro Paintball(nice field and staff with the exception of letting there own sponsored teams play in their tournament) Adventure Zone, High Voltage Paintball(its in the boonies but a nice field to play at with helpfull staff.
Review: This field is located just west of the Twin Cities near Buffalo. I first played at this field about three years ago and the experience was amazing. Being takin back to the field by WWII jeeps just adds to the fun. Two of the three fields are great, the only problem with the third one is that it is so grown up. The storm the beach game is also a lot of fun. You actually board a boat and land on a beach! The big games are only getting better. This year there was air drops, a mortar a floating raft with a Full Auto Armotech mounted on it and all sorts of other cool things. Prices are great to paint is only $53 a case. Entry is only $15 bucks. The refs even carry paint and co2 during reserved games, now that is service if I had ever heard of it. Great field best outdoor field in the midwest.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DirtyErnie Sunday, June 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat you're out, Adventure zone
Review: I agree with all the good things everyone' s said about this place. Just be sure to stretch before you go, there's a lot of running to do. Nothing's cooler than getting hauled out to the range in a 1-ton army truck/ambulance, well, maybe the D-day landing, but still.... so cool.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ChihawksR1 Monday, June 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Next Generation Paintball in Mora, Splat You're out and a few fields that don't even have names. However none of them were quite as much fun as this place.
Review: If you are strictly a speed/tournament style player stay far aw ay from this place, but if you are like me and still love both come here for the best woods ball around. I haven't played in dozens of woods type fields, but I have played on enough of them to be sure that very few in the country and probably none in the state could please me this much. First of all it's less than 50min if you live in the North metro like I do and that's pretty near by for a woods type field. This place has low field fees, lets you bring your own paint, fills both CO2 and CA for free whether you rent or not(only fills CA up to about 2000 psi, but that's plenty for at least 5 or six games and it's FREE!) and has the most interesting and well set up fields you can imagine. There is one field that I didn't even get a chance to play on, but they didn't need it to impress me, the first field we played on was enough. Then we moved over to the D-Day/Normandy field and that was really cool as well. The entire experience of riding on a boat to storm a beach is well worth at least one visit to this place. The staff was great too. They brought out extra air and paint for people during games and even though the fields were huge and rugged they did a great job of getting to people. If you are headed to this field bring extra everything when it comes to clothing; you will most likely get shot and the ground is usually a little soggy. There is also a creek running through both of the two fields I played on and only a couple of places with bridges so you may get wetter and muddier than you think. So whether you are a tourney baller that wants to take a trip back to your roots or a full time rec baller you will love this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media