paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Freedom Paintball Field / Freedom Paintball Field / Freedom Paintball Field / Freedom Paintball Field

Freedom Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
41Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 910-860-4469
Location: Fort Bragg, North Carolina 28307
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
StickyHimself Saturday, June 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None known close in the immediate Fayetteville area. Will drive the extra time to Black River in the Future.
Review: Dissapointing.

In my opinion, the operation lacks timeliness, organization and proffessionalism.

Bossy, and discourteous staff, made me feel ulwelcome, as a newcomer to the field I felt treated with condecention (not a good succes formula to attract and retain paying customers).

SAFTEY- Saftey briefing is stressed ad nausiam, however, I witnessed a player shoot himself in the eye in between games during a recent vist. Minors are often used as referees (raises the safety and proffessionalism issue). Play was not adequately officiated (referees carrying on private conversations, paying no attention to the action that they were officiating).

All day air is charged for and often runs out before the session ends.

Saving the aggrevation and avoiding all together in the future.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ayellow Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Black River
Real McCoy
Review: I've been to their field and store.....and it was the worst experience ever. Some friends and I went to the field about a month ago and we about died when we saw prices on paint. That was so crazy. I had to bum a lil money off my friends to get a box. Then we played the speedball field....I just wanted to poke my eye out cause it was so bad. They Seriously need to improve this.
And as far as the store goes I think its worse. I walked in by myself one day....Got no greeting from anyone. And no one wanted to help. I tried asking a few questions But every time I'd get a response the "worker" would Huff about it and give an answer. Then about 5 min later I guess a "Regular" costumer walked in. Because he was super nice to him....asking him what he wanted how he could help.... blah blah blah. How come he couldn't do all that stuff for me??
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

josh111232 Friday, April 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Black river, pball central, wildwood, Realmcoy, etc
Review: THis was the first time being at this field, it is the greatest paintball experience i ever had playing paintball. The staff is great, the woodsball is the greatest around, there speedball could be better, but its still good. I will be back here soon. They get alot of players on the weekend, they have great scenarios, there ragtag that i heard about was great. For my fellow people, i say go here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Big Miles Saturday, February 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
NONE in the area
Big Jims Feud Ranch circa 1986 (old school ball)
Review: Freedom Paintball field is located at Smith Lake on Fort Bragg. It has Several great woodsball courses. They have a wall ball course and two speedball courses.

The guiding factor at Freedom is Uncle Sam. Uncle Sam says that everything you put at the lake must be removable in 72 hours. This means you cannot have running water, electricity,built up forts etc. It also means you can not cut down trees landscape or in anyway change the terrain. With this incredible obstacle Bob and his crews have still made an incredible site. Uncle Sam also wants his cut of the financial action at the Lake, and so in goes the pricing for things at the actual field. The pricing there is still well with-in reason. The best part of the pricing is that you only have to buy field time at the field ($10 all day field and if you choose $10.00 all day air co2 or HPA).

The staff are beyond helpful and courteous. They will always help you. Safety at Freedom Paintball is the first priority. The over-all atmosphere at the field is fun and safe. Saturdays draw 60 plus people and Sundays get a respectable 20 or more. Unfortunately the new cool thing in paintball is to have an attitude, talk trash, over-shoot kids and not follow rules. This sometimes results in people being sent away from Freedom and probably gets them some bad press/reviews.

The two scenario games held at Freedom in 2003 should have gotten press from APG. They were truly great events! Freedom is a diamond in the rough. I believe you will be reading about them in all the Paintball mags soon!

I would recommend Freedom to anyone who wants to play any-type of Paintball game. A true Hands-down a quality experience second to none!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

coldchill Friday, February 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
there arent any other fields in the area any more
Review: Originally I gave this field a bad rap due to poor management at the store. The filed also wasnt that versatile before. They only had woodball and a defunct form of speedball. Now the field has had a makeover. A great hyperball field, the speedball definately looks better, and they have Sup Air. The staff have a habit of stacking teams in favor of their friends so that they can go newb bashing, but it helps the newbs in the end. This is a great filed to go to and The owner seems to be a nice guy now. Hes usually not at the field, and james is there. James is a great guy and is willing to help everyone out and he is pretty reasonable.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Flynn30 Friday, January 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
There was an indoor feild that closed down due to drug activity in the area
Review: This is a pretty good feild,

there are two speedball feilds and at the moment they have an area roped off that looks to be for a Sup-Air feild,

there are five woodsball feilds, all have good setups,

this feild is really meant for church groups and local young speed ball teams,

this is a great feild to get players started at.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SEAL-1 Monday, January 19th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None (don't live in area)
Review: I played here once when I was visiting my friend who's in the 82nd Airborne. I'd have to say that as far as the field goes, I was very impressed. There aren't too many true woodsball fields up here in Ohio, we have mostly speedball, airball and hybrid fields. I liked the overall undeveloped feel of the field (every square foot isn't covered with bunkers and man-made obstacles) and the overall size. That, and the fortified areas made this field fun to play.

The field was great, but I did have some problems with the management:
My biggest complaint was they didn't have an air ram. Most of the guys there were shooting HPA, and all of their rental guns were as well. They had a four-tank array running off a gas-powered air compressor, and they couldn't even fill to 3k PSI after the first round (I think the most they could fill to was 2.4k.) They overcharged for premium paint ($60 per case of 1000.) Their refs didn't officiate fairly (for example, one round the refs wouldn't allow us to go to places on the field that were well within the boundaries and forced us to attack a bunkered position from a single axis.) There was also a lot of overshooting, I got lit up and was shot about 15 times when the field rules state no more than three shots. The refs were very lax on this point. I have to admit, however, that they kept the teams pretty fair, which was a breath of fresh air for me (the closest field to me throws all the regulars and sponsored players on one team and all the one-timers and rental people on the other and the one team massacres the other.)

Overall, if I'm ever in the region with my gear I'd probably go play this field again, but I wouldn't make the 500+ mile trip just to play there. Its a good field, and the people running it are friendly enough, they just need to refine the logistical side of the business. If they could fill HPA to a normal pressure, didn't overcharge for premium paint and had better refs, this field would be awesome.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kyp_jackson Monday, December 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wildwood PB -- When Wildwood was still open, I would have gone there any day over Freedom. Unfortunately, Wildwood is no longer open.
Review: Force of Nature PB's field started out as a great one. It was the first paintball field I had ever been to and this was the place I first place I ever played at. This was 5 years ago. Today, the field is under slightly different ownership. David Morgan, the original owner of Force of Nature, joined forces with a guy named Bob and changed the business to "Eightball Paintball."

Within a few months, David left FON and now Bob owns it. Bob is a very nice guy. He is very knowledgeable and polite, but his staff is not. What was left of the local FON became Freedom Paintball, which is located very close to the original FON store. However, the field has never been moved and has seen very little change. The only thing that remains of FON is their website and forums. A little history lesson.

The field shows signs of its immense age with nails coming out of the bunkers, dangerous trenches, and bunkers that are really about to fall apart. The field never really gets much attention. The entire field is a risk to its players, and the waiver forms, in my opinion, are a signature for you to get injured - so I avoid playing there now.

I have played there for a long time and recently, a lot less. The refs and people working out there have always been sarcastic, rude, obnoxious, and never seemed to show concern for any players. They would shoot at each other on normal days at the staging area, no masks, no nothing. Great example for the new players. They also found it incredibly fun to stack the teams unevenly and go newby-bashin. But as we all know, this makes people not want to play anymore.

Gun rentals are very damaged, and not well taken care of. Field fee is $10. All-day Air is an additional $10. Air is always a problem here also. Always runs low on Sundays. Field Rentals with all day air is between $25-$35. Then you add some of that expensive paint they sell for $70-$80 a case. I remember last year Wildwood charged $15 for field fee and air was included. And Wildwood had $5 days once every two or three months.

There are the original 3 fields to play on: Capital, Deathstar, and Pentagon. As well as a sad "speedball" field. THe speedball field mentioned is actually made of tall sheets of ply-wood measuring probably about 8 feet by 8 feet. The bunkers lean a lot, so its really not fair or fun depending on where you're at on the field. Newer players get bunkered, so be careful. There are also a lot of trees on the speedball field, not my style of speedball.

The original three are OK to play on, but be cautious. There is rumor of a new hyperball field also, I don't have the info on that one though.

If you absolutely have to play, and you have to play here, bring your own gear. If you play here by yourself, and want to have a decent time, you'll be spending about $60-$100 easily.

What once started out as a field drawing over 60 people on a Saturday, now draws less than 20. I feel bad for everyone in the Fayetteville / Ft. Bragg area.

The Freedom PB store is also an eyesore to players. The inventory is microscopic and the prices are so inflated, that its a wonder the store hasn't popped, yet. A very terrible selection of markers and gear, and backorders aren't realiable. They charge you extra if you backorder something they don't have in stock. The list of problems with this company goes on and on.

I am not just giving this field a level-1 review because I'm dissappointed completely, I am leaving a level-1 because there is not a number lower than that.

But take heart Fayetteville, your paintball savior is coming.... I promise....
Last edited on Monday, January 5th, 2004 at 6:45 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntbug Sunday, November 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Black River, Wild Wood, Real McCoy
Review: I have only played a few times at Freedom. I did not enjoy playing there at all. The staff was very very rud. Then you had guys running around, that I guess play on their team or something, say that they were gonna shoot everyone up. They were a bunch of wanna be paintball players. Also, when you would shoot out someone, there were people that were slipping back on the field.

There forts had nails that were sticking out that could catch on clothing. There are holes that you can twist your ankles on.

Paint was way too expensive. Field fee was alittle pricy. Especially when I can go 30 minutes up the road to Black River or Real McCoy and pay less.

Then I went out to play this weekend and they closed up and said that there won't enough people out there. Well. When I was there, I counted about 10 people myself. Is that enough people to play? Guess not at Freedom. So, me and the other 9 people drove up the road and played at Black River. (Which was ok, I got to save some $$)

If I were you, I would STRONGLY suggest that you find another field or store to go to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

jalilbitvocals Friday, November 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: I have just started paint-balling about 3 months ago and been introduced to smith paintball park and i have to say its a very very good park. The staff are really good and people are really friendly on and off the field. some people are good and bad on the rules thing. Like sometimes people are like put your f-ing mask on and i apologized because i forget that im still on the field even if i had gotten shot. This other time i took off my mask above my eyes and this other guy from the apposing team said put your mask on and i apologized adn he said thats okay man i do the same i forget that im in a game also. So basically people out there don't make you look stupid they just help you to understand that no matter what your still in the game shot or not shot. Very good on safety rules before every game we go over the rules first the rules of the scenario we are about to play adn rules when not on the field, so yes a very safe place. Some fields are kinda mean on newbies but this place lets little kids girls and old guys from churches come and play its pretty neat. The field is very big and for me thats good i love playing woods ball instead of speed ball the games are to quick in speed ball there. The speed ball field is very small but thats okay i don't play hem neways. The woods ball field is very big and that good i like flanking around the apposing team and capping ther a$$e$. Alot of bunkers, very good hiding places, alot of trees in the right places so that you can move up on your enemies (which is a plus). i just recently got into wall ball i like that alot now because its not as fast as speed bal but not as long as woods ball. One thing i don't like that much about the field is that they need ot have more tables out there, there is sometimes alot of people coming out adn not enough tables which means alot of walking back and forth from your vehicle but not a problem for me i get there early enough HAHAHAHA. So over all i give this park 9 out of 10 staff good field good recommend more tables and bigger speed ball field but no one is perfect!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media