paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Promised Land Paintball Field / Promised Land Paintball Field / Promised Land Paintball Field / Promised Land Paintball Field

Promised Land Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 29039 Wilmot Rd.
Trevor, Wisconsin 53179
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
papa89 Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Blitz (ok fields and owner is a great guy. 6 out of 10), Badlandz (good fields but bad players and refs. 6 out of 10), Factory paintball (good players and refs, fun fields. 8 out of 10)
Review: First of all I would like to say right off the bat that if you are some smack talking, cheating, bonus balling, play-to-win-or-else-I-will-throw-a-fit kind of guy that needs to use 1500 balls a game then donít even think of coming here because quite frankly I don't want to play with you and donít even want you within 100 miles of here! .If you are like me and are apart of the 80% of paintballers that is honest and is out there for a good time than read on, but if you are the other 20% come over to the paintball factory where your bull can be dealt with by me and the rest of the anger management crew.

OK, with that over with now on to the rest of the reviewÖ

Description: Promised Land Paintball Park was set up for members with a fun and easy going atmosphere. To become a member you need only to play there as a guest of a member and after the day if there are no incidence where you lose your temper, bonus ball, est. then they will accept you.

Owners and refs: The owner and all the refs come from one or two Christian families that all know each other and are fun to play around with. In any game there are four to six refs around one field at one time.

In other reviews people say that there is no ref that will look after a paint check is called. The simple answer to that is that there should not be a call for a paint check because they have a rule that sayes that if a person is hit by a ball and that ball does not break that person is still out. now i here you say "what stops people from cheating?" thats because every person there thinks that they are better than any cheater and most will go out instantly (I say most because some people canít feel a bounce with your adrenalin up, i'm guilty as charged).

Fields: The fields here are awesome! they have forts built out of railroad ties and logs and one of the largest field in the Midwest. thay have 5 very diverse fields and each with different games to play on like stop the nuke where one team must stop the other from stopping a nuke (a.k.a. a suitcase with a countdown timer in it and a start/stop button), CTF, and my favorite command and conquer on badlands with a massive 7 flag stations. i could tell you about 40 storys about assults and defences of the center flag that could full up this page, and meny more.

Paint: what do you expexct from a paintball park?

Rentals: they rent out tippmann pro carbines. Masks are old but will work nicely for first timers.

Service/food: This area could not be better. At about 11:30 and before the next game the refs take a head count from everybody in the park and ask if you want a hotdog, brat, or nachos. Then after you play the next game the food is waiting for you back in the staging area all for $2 or $3 dollars. The staff in back will also help you with any gun problems you may have.

Players: The best in the world. Every member you can trust to be honest and fair. everybody knows everybody else and when you come for the first time every member makes a effort to met you and welcome you in. the members here are the coolest players you could ever meet.

In conclusion this is the place to go if you want the best paintball experience you ever had. 10 out of 10.
Last edited on Thursday, June 8th, 2006 at 5:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

dpold26 Tuesday, June 21st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Sam's (much better), CPX (not even a fair comparison, but completely different kind of park), the Badlandz (best park by far)
Review: Promised land paintball is where I started and learned how to play paintball. However, that's all this place is good for. They do have a couple of good fields and all the fields are maintained really well. If you are a speed-ball player don't even waste your time. This place has all wooded fields, some areas are fairly thick and pretty cool, but definitely not for the person with the DM5 who needs to unload 25 bps at someone behind a bunker.

For anyone experienced this place will be a nightmare. They don't offer air refills whatsoever so you usually have to find a player with their own personal refill station.

Rental equipment is sub-par at best and for the amount of money you have to pay to rent equipment it is even more disappointing. Paint isn't cheap either.

Don't bother asking for a paintcheck from anyone while you're there either. I understand that it's hard in that environment with that many people but what they do is borderline negligence. They believe in the "honor system" where if you get hit by a ball and it doesn't break you are supposed to call yourself out. The refs only chrono one or two people of the 400 that are on the field. So people are free to crank their guns up to 325 fps and start murdering people.

The people that aren't trying to literally kill you with their hot gun though are always really nice people. Most of them are happy to help with a gun issue that you may be having and the staff on site is somewhat knowledgeable.

So if you are a new player and want to go somewhere with predominately inexperienced players and you want a friendly atmosphere this place is pretty good. However, if you are more experienced and hate getting tagged in the back by a 12 year old with his brass eagle , hate sarcastic apathetic refs, and hate waiting 25 minutes in between maps then go somewhere like paintball sam's or CPX if you are close by.
Last edited on Friday, July 22nd, 2005 at 8:21 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
9 Comments - Add Comment

hiddenwarrior7 Tuesday, May 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Challenge Park Extreme, Joliet - Excellent fields, reffing is fair to poor.
Paintbal Sams, Wis - Played there once, reffing was excellent, fields were great, very well run
Review: I play a mixture of about 75% Woodsball and 25% Speed ball. Promised land is definately a woodsball field. They have some really cool fields, with alittle bit of scenario game fell to them. The reffing is excellent, they try real hard to keep a high standard of safety. If you new to paintball or you're more of a passive player this field would be an excellent choice. There are alot of newer players and it has a real family atmosphere. For those of you who are extremely aggressive and want to anihilate everything in your path than this is not for you. You only play one game at a time, they don't have multiple games running, so that means you may not get alot of games in. That's the thing that makes it great for newbies and family's. The rental markers in my opinion are excellent. The pro carbine is a good gun for durability and accuracy at a rental marker price. I've used the markers their as well as the ones at Joliet and I would take Promise Lands any day. I think the reason that I still love this field is because it gives me the opportunity to teach the new comers the game of paintball. Our team always tries to get to know some of the newer paintballers and help them to learn our sport.
So for my final rating I give them a 10 if you're new or you want to see the sport grow. If your only mission is to destroy the enemy I would give it a 5.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kaziechameleon Monday, April 18th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i play in michigan, i drive all the way to wisconsin for this place. other places i've played though, are hole in the wall, and challenge park.
Review: it was a little over six years ago when my dad first took me hear, he met rick (the owner)through buisness, and thought that it would be a fun father son thing, he never thought that it would lead to me being on the western michigan paintball team. my dad my brother and i, and my lame sisters all went, we all got rental guns, and since it was six years ago the rentals weren't as old then as they are now, when we went for out first big game, i think there was maybe a little over two hundered total, maybe, there was plenty of room for every one to set up, life was good, i went out to play my first ever game, and splat i was hit, it hurt, and drove the fear of the little round spheres into my head, i had had no idea that paintball hurt. but we had driven almost an hour to get here and we had the paint and enterence fee's paid, so i didn't say anything, i played on, and about my third captuer the flag game, me and my dad were leap froging from bunker to bunker down the center of the feild at the ridge, and taking fire from all sides, left right and our own team(other newbies that didn't know what to do) well we striaghtened things out with our team, waving and yelling they stopped shooting us, and started shooting the people shooting us, then when we bumped up to the next bunker my dad got hit, he put in his barrel plug and walked off. i then sprinted over the ridge and into the trolls nest, paint going every were, my heart was in my throat, i thought getting lit up would be the end of me, i dove and grabbed the flag, astonished at what i had done, i ran over to the nearest ref to alert him to my pull, he blew the wistle and my team got the win(the total team wins and losses of the day are tallied to determine the days winning team) well that just made my day, i mean who gets a flag pull on their first day, i did, it felt awsome, as the day progressed, we played el presidente i volentered to be the president, well i sucked, and when it came time for the dual i lost. but that wasn't the low point of the day the low point was when i sprinted ahead of my team in center flag, and my own sisters shot me in the back, and where proud of it, that was the last game two. well my first day paintballing was magical. and i've gone to promised land once or twice a year since. i now realize how beginners are so bad, remembering the rental masks and how foggy they are you can barrely see feet infront of you, let alone who is and isn't on your team. so if you are gonna play hear barrow a friends mask, or buy your own anything is better than the rental masks. i played with rental gear for over four years, and though i loved paintball, i hated the rental masks, well last time i went with my own mask it rocked you can see the playing field, you aren't so affriad of what might happen because you can actually see. i got my mask and first marker in a raffle at this very park, that procarbine has led me to a A5, and next year i'll have the ule custom, i'm on the western michigan paintball team, and i owe it all to promised land, the equitment may not be what you want, but if you can get your own marker, you will find your self loveing this place, first off, with your own equitment you leap up in skill your shots go were you want them and so forth, and once you gain and actual understanding of tactics it goes up another notch. ok now to break down the promised land experience.

this is all about the numbers, they now have 180 masks and guns at promise land, and they rent out every last one at most big games, and about 60 percent of the people playing bring their own markers, yeah you do the math(edit, about 400 people will show up during the course of the day, the average game has about 300-350, i'd say, there are still tons of more massive games though), if you are there on a BIG DAY, there can be almost 400 people at the field, that is almost 200 people per team, imagine a bomb rush durring the nuke scenario, i was a deffender agianst one of these rushes, when a hundered plus people rush you, it doesn't matter how fast your marker shoots, you are screwed, and it feels awsome, the adrenaline of some of the epic battles i've been in. but this park has it's down fall, the rental stuff is pretty bad, and alot of new players will shoot you, and they will be on your team, you could wipe, i did it once, when i was shot in the back during a rush, but i have walked off the field every other time, yeld at the individual, and told a ref, this tends to discourage the youngins from doing these acts, and from blind firing, now alot of you complain about cheaters, well there is something like vigilante justice in paintball that i have witnessed at every field, you shoot some one, he doesn't go out, you shoot him again he stays in, at this point it get a bunch of my friends, and if we can, we bunker him, light him up do what ever, and if he complains to a ref, we just say how it is, we only shot him till he called out. and i've never gotten in trouble, this happens in woods ball rec ball and speed ball, and it encourages cheaters to fear the rath of those who are cheated, it works and it doesn't break the rules since as the refs tell you when they lay down the rules at the bigining of every BIGGAME, "if they put their barrel to the back of your head and pull the trigger, they didn't break the rules, they just weren't very nice" bonus balling is also another form of justice, but it doesn't sit as well, i prefer the more striaght forward approach. refs here aren't that good, they are really nice, but they won't chrono on the field and since they never check the guns, there are alot of hot, guns on the field. you know what i'm talking about, remeber that time when you were hit from like 200 ft away and it hurt like the dickens, yeah that was hot. hot players, there isn't as much vigilante justice, unless you can actually get a ref on your side and get them kicked off the field. really there are cheaters here, as there are everywere, deal out justice as you can, but don't let them ruin the game for you, i personally still love this place, the experiences i've had hear have been one of a kind. if you go, go with a group of friends, this is also a great place to take your newb friends. speed ball, well that doesn't exist hear, i play speed ball and fit in, but if you show up with a ramping baord or a rocking trigger or anything that shoots over 20 bps you better chill it, not only will other players get on you but the refs too. the majority of players here have tippmanns, i haven't seen any kids with angels ever, i don't know what some of the other reviewers are talking about. there is a very large community at this place, especially since you can only go as a guest of a member, and that is how you become a member, despite the restricive nature they get lots of people showing up. i genuenly love this place despite the few cheaters, who are dealt with. their arenas of play are awsome, the bad lands kicks but, the ridge is just the best capture the flag game ever. and the far east is awsome, i love that place, great woods ball, with a little village/urban combat, with trenches. the congo is a bunker battle, they squeeze alot of people onto a very small ctf arena with lots of bunkers, and a little detour throught the swamp on one side. the outback is just a woods ball field that they warm up every big game for the vets to play on. this whole place is family run, the refs are ricks family the and so that limits the work force, they really need alot more refs, with chronos, and a more hands on aproach, but the refs and everyone are really nice, if i didn't live so far away i'd volenter for a couple of big games as a ref, i love refing big scenario games. plus grabbing those cheaters would rock. but i can't. the rental equitment isn't that good, but the rental prices are awsome, so that balances it's self, i would give this place a 8/10 if i didn't have so much fun, i can't review it for anything less than 10 because this is my birthplace into paintball, and because it is so much fun. this is probably one of the best rec ball places you could ever go. and they have 400 people games every month, awsome.

the paint quality varies from good, to horrible, but the prices stay the same, depends one what rick is getting for that game, field paint is neccessary, and he hands out coupons to any one who catches people with off field paint. so don't try anything funny. a really fun game is when rick plays on a team, he isn't that good, he'll just use a rental gun, but he is alot of fun. hopefully if you go, you'll see robo cop, he's an awsome leader, who is wearing like a swat uniform or something, he's actually a police officer, but me and my friends have nick named him robo cop, he was once man, but is now in the shell of a machine, lol, he's nice, and becomes a team leader when ever he is there.

EDIT: many people say you can't play aggressive here, by that they must mean stupid, because you can't one man win a game here, doesn't mean this isn't played aggressively, what the heck is a bomb rush, gosh. i play plenty aggressive, with the help of my twenty friends or so we can rip a nice path along a tape line, you have to be tactical and work in tandom, but you can play fairly aggressive. so many people speak from ignorance about this place, and yes this place if full of newbies, so why the heck are all these seasoned players sucking, i don't suck i was averaging about 10-15 knock outs per game once i found my grove(this is the last time i went), alot of the bad reviews here are from speed ballers who don't know what to do without air bunkers. and i take back my rental bashing, after refing/playing at a few other fields promised land has some of the best rental gear i've seen. last time i went they had actual thermal lenses, in the rental masks.
Edit:(ok, the last time i went, a day ago, i payed 95 dollars for a case of paint, ok, it's expensive, but all paint is, this stuff was crap though, i know that premium is good, and that is what they were selling, but i swear this stuff is over a year old. every ball was dimmpled, and every body thought their gun was broken because every one was chopping 10 or more times per game. and to add to the insult the refs never had squeegee's or alens on them, i was using my flatline, and chopped of the start of a game and had no squegee, and no allens so no way to clean. but the biggest waist was the paint prices, at 100 dollars a case with tax the paint better be freakin marbalizers, instead they turn 60 dollars per case, of crap old paint. i must say that i'm really let down by this park. that said they still have the best fields, and really great players there.) because of the ripp off i had to lower the review of one of my favorite parks to a 8. what a lose
Last edited on Sunday, October 16th, 2005 at 3:21 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

pntballguy877 Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Factory PB
Review: This place has a nice atomospehre. The paint prices are okay. The fields are pretty sweet. Sometimes they do this thing where there have command and conquer with 11 flag stations with a span of 2 fields.I started my paintball years here and I think I turned out pretty good. Overall great for father son stuff.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

whiteknight457 Sunday, October 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Black Rain, Paintball Blitz, Badlandz
Review: okay, if youre expirienced, impatient, etc. do not come here. these are all rookies who either cheat or bonus ball. i had a bad time. #1 gun broke. #2 Little kids with angels that were bonus balling. #3 Kids that sit at the back of the field and let the other people go and take hits for them. like i said, if you are a rookie (newb) go here or a father son deal, but if you are going to anhilate people, do not. Prices: Paint prices could be worse, but i personally prefer black rain's and badlandz' prices. now if i offended someone, i am sorry but ^ ^ is the truth. I did like theyre staff, they were real nice
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

P643AM Thursday, October 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: The prices aren't too bad for group rates...$45 for 500 paintballs,entry fee,rental, and lunch. Paint prices are ok ($80 for a case) campared to other places. There are no rules posted up, and it would be better to put them up then wait for people to break them and then have to tell people what is allowed and what isn't. There is christian music playing by the main (and only building) all day, it's not too loud but if it's not your kinda thing it can get annoying. They don't make you chrono your guns, but they have them at their (extremely crappy 30 ft long) target range. I heard one guy complain to a ref about a hot gun and the ref just said " well, sometimes paintballs hurt " pretty much telling the guy to suck it up. The fields are all pretty good, some could use more bunkers in places. There are only about a 10 minute wait, and sometimes 5 between games. We played about 20 to 30 games in 6 hours or so. Overall it's a pretty good field, and i would recomend it to anyone except speedball players since they don't have speed ball fields
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

1/2NeWb1/2PrO Thursday, June 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Blitz
Review: No doubt this place is great! Its a paintball place to have fun at, whether its your first time or you've played before. although i cant stress the amount of friendly fire. i mean some people there can just be idiot. i ran over the hill at the ridge(GOOD LEVEL) with this other guy. and all of a sudden paint is flying by us from our own team, so we yell at them and tell the to stop, but what you know a second later a rain of paint comes hitting us. So for this field friendly fire is not to rare.
They have really good levels Ridge, Saigon, badlands, hospital, and Congo. these are all pretty big Fields. These all have different scenarios to like capture the flag, Reincarnation, bomb defuse, and good o'l Hatfield and McCoy. I give this place a 9.5/10 for the levels.
The place is pretty cheap, if you gonna paintball don't complain about prices. This is an expensive sport! i like this place alot i try to go every Saturday it has great fields, nice people and just have fun. There are just two things wrong with this place there are a bunch of newbies and there's a lot of cheating.


Overall 9/10 for the great fields and a great time.
Last edited on Thursday, June 24th, 2004 at 9:10 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sniperno7 Monday, May 17th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
BFG, Private Games
Review: Alright, I played here once last year, so heres what I got out of the experience:

Weaknesses:
-Noobs, in a ratio of about 2:1 with the other third being experienced players. So obviosly yes, there is plenty of friendly fire.
-Again, I stress the friendly fire, watch your back, dont advance in front of your team too fast or you will take a beating (if worse comes to worse, wipe it and yell at the idiot who shot you, just watch out for refs)
-Can get very pricey if your someone who flys through paint. Fine if you can run on 500 balls.
-Refs can be jerks
-Speedballer discrimitive
-Games can be a little short, and theres long time inbetween games
-Must buy their paint (Big Ball, Light Green)

Strengths:
-Good for noobs
-Fun to use noobs, inexperienced players tend to be easily manipulated if you know how to look/sound experienced (Go do this, go do that..)
-Some fun fields and game types, "Ravine" being one of my favorite
-Decent price if you can get a group rate, I payed 40 bux for paint (500 balls), rental, food, and admission last time I went
-Decent rentals, Tippman Pro Carbines. Durrable, Light, Easy to use.

Review:
I went here last year, late june. The park was pretty good for the 40 dollar rate. I got there at about 8am and it ran till about 8pm. Got my paint, a gun (had to use rental at time) 500 paintballs. Loaded up outside on some piccnic tables, which were fortunatly shaded. Fields were pretty cool, but game time was short 15-20 min I believe, and time in between seemed just as long.
I had a great time taking out all the noobs who were trying to rush our team, and had almost as much fun watching the idiots on our team get blasted away doing the same to them. (kind of like a ww1 trench warfare senario) So just from that we had all the stupidest players off the field (a big plus). The ones who were left on my team I had a fun time ordering around giving them orders like: Go scout over there, move into that position, put coving fire on that hill, or go run out in the open and get shot. One thing that did suck is that in about 4 games I got shot by Friendly Fire (noobs), and being a respecable player YES I did walk off, however not a single time was I in veiw of a ref so I could have just as easily wiped it right off. Also each time I was sure to tell them how stupid they were in my frustration just so they would know better next time.
All in all I didnt have any trouble with refs, but my friend got cut up good when he lifted his mask forward about an inch to let out all the steam that had formed on his lense. Although I do see the safty concern, the thing is that the game hadnt even started yet, and unless someone shot him from directly above or below he wasnt in any danger.
Ive heard through these reviews that the field doesnt like speedballers too much, although I have never personaly seen a confrontation. But if they are, It would be my recomendation that if you play at this field you dont plan on playing like it was speedball, and that you dont come in jerseys. I personaly have nothing against speedball, I play at BFG too, but if your one of the people that just doesnt play any other way, dont go cuz you probably wont come out happy.
Anyways, Im going to give the field a 7 based on the fact that I think they could defenitly improve but not any lower because in my personal experience I didnt have many problems. If it is possible to edit this review I will be adding on to it in about a month because Ive already set a date to try it out again. This time I got my a5 with response trigger though, so I'll see what happens.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

chiefducy123 Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bfg paintball <way better> daves, blitz, sams, thats all from this area
Review: this park sucks for speedball players like myself. the fields are way too big for refs so people are just suposed to call themselfs out there are cheats everywere also if you ask a ref for a paintcheck they ignor you there is nothing butt wood ball and noobs with no idea what there doing also bunker and your gone i am a member here butt i am constanly getting in trouble for crap like my lastest time i went there and i sunk up behind a girl who was in a fort and shoot her twice in the back she never even knew i was there so she got pissed and wined to a ref about it and i got yelled at however it is a fiarly desent park for people who like wood ball and seniro style paintball although it is a bit pricey butt as for a real paintballer who like speedball and stratigys there might as well be a sing that says speedball players not alowed................overal i give it a 2 i whould give it a 1 butt for a woodball player <not cool> its an ok place .........maybe.........
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media