paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Young Guns Paintball Field / Young Guns Paintball Field / Young Guns Paintball Field / Young Guns Paintball Field

Young Guns Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
42Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (780) 963-4006
Address: RR 13 Highway 16A
Stony Plain, Alberta T7Z 1X2
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
JQman Saturday, October 16th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 16th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ESG paintball is overall just as good, but each place has it's ups and downs.
Review: I like Young Guns because it has a lot of good things about it, but I find it really inconvenient.The have a good variaty of fields to play on. My personal favourites are "Vimy ridge","Main Street","Desert Storm" and I dont' mind "Snakes and Ladders". They have pretty good rental equipment and overall good reffs. The prices are ok, 100 paintballs costs $10 and a basic package with a marker (I don't remember what brand), coveralls (I have my own, but the ones they have are ok), mask, and 200 paintballs is about $32. Now i have to warn you about a couple things if your considering going there. They have a good approach to safety, but they make you watch a 15 minute safety video which gives you a laugh or two but is still very boring if you already know the rules. my problem wih the safety video is that I think that they show it to you during your 3 hours of time that you pay for. The other problem with the time is that unlike some other places, Young Guns reffs don't put a time limit on the games, they tell you that you only have one game left just as your having the most fun. I also don't like driving to Stony Plain from Sherwood Park (45mins to an hour), but I guess that doesn't matter if you live closer to it. Overall this place is great if you're being paired up or have your own group.I'm giving it a 7 but it's actually more of a 7.5.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Juggernauht Thursday, September 24th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: September 13th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xcalibre-Very nice field, highly recommend it even with the drive. (9/10)
Quest for adventure-Needs upgrades big time and the service sucks (5/10)
Pag Outdoor- Not bad prices and fields but nothing super special (7/10)
Review: Safety- Very good, they lay out the rules and enforce them very well.

Fields- Some good, some not so good, overall decent fields, but nothing really special, the normal speedball, bush, junkyard and town courses.

Prices- Very good prices as far and field fees and paint, think a case of the the field grade was around $75 a box. Pro shop is a bit steep on most stuff but not more so then any other paintball store in the area.

Staff- Very helpful with air fills chronoing, helping you move gear with quads, mules etc, some are a bit useless when checking players in their scenario games, but for every lazy ref there are 5 good ones so i cant complain to much :)

Proshop- A very good selection of guns, gear, parts, etc as well as a gun tech service when your marker up and dies half way through the day :( Very good for a field that size, best i have seen yet.

Facility- The facility is very nice, they have covered picnic tables to lay your gear on, they have air fill stations everywhere so you dont have to walk to far, they have firepits and barbeques i belive, aswell as a consession that was serving hotdogs, hamburgers, pop, chips etc. Top notch facility extras that really make a day of paintballing that much more enjoyable.

Overall a very nice field one of the few that i would actually recommend to people, they could a few more interesting courses, but they are always improving and changing their fields so im sure given the time they will come up with something, Truely an elite field that makes you wonder why you ever played on some other fields. :)



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

balla_101 Sunday, October 12th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Quest for Adventure, Morinville reball, ESG, PAG, Urban Paintball, the others fields are pretty good aswell i'm not super picky i just love to play.
Review: I think that YGP's is an ok field, i agree it has a pretty decent set up but what makes it only an ok field is the refs. I was just playing the scenario game they had and there defiantley wasn't as many people at this was as there was at their last scenario game so i can rule out the fact that there were too many people to watch. The refs would watch me shoot another player and watch him wipe it off and shoot me back and not call either of us out. Thats soo stupid whats the point of having a ref if he is just going to sit there and not enforce any rules. Then the only time i got him to reinforce the rules was when he kicked me off the field for arguing with him when he refused to get the other team to stop blind firing around the buildings. I used to like this field but that kind of level of comitment to the field just makes it drop down a lot in my rankings i would prefer a fair ref who calls other people and myself out on the rules of the game.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

jordanpischke Saturday, May 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 31st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have not been to any other feilds in the area, but compared to the ohther feilds I have been to this one is very good.
Review: Young Guns is a feild that I absolutly love. They have some amazing courses and run their feild very well. You are told the rules and they let you know the consequences of breaking them. The paint/air is quite cheap and the atmosphere is friendly. Every year my youth group goes here and we always have a great time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jwst Wednesday, May 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
QUEST FOR ADVENTURE,SCREAMIN' EAGLE{crane lake}
Review: Best of everything,this field is the marquee place to play and beats all fields in edmonton and surrounding areas.
Safety,staff friendliness,paint pricing,rental markers,overall atmosphere can't be beat by any other!
Field layout is awesome,lots of areas to play without having to wait very long.
BEST OF THE BEST!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

oilerfan Thursday, January 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PAG
Directions
to the Field:
20 min west of Edmonton on hwy 16(yellowhead) RR13
Review: Well most of the other reviews cover it(except one???????). Great field, great staff, GREAT SAFETY, As a pass holder I usually only play here unless I am on holidays, then I check out more. The other great thing is that YGP is a year round outdoor field. You have to try that(as a woodsball player it changes everything). 10 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

charles6166 Saturday, October 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Action Games
Directions
to the Field:
20 minutes past Edmonton.
Review: I'm kind of new to paintball and I haven't played very much but I found this field very fun and enjoyable. The staff were really nice and helpful, there were nice rentals (spyder TL- X), It cost me roughly around $40 dollars for the rental, the field fee and all the extra paint I had to buy

the fields were awesome and in great condition. the prices weren't that bad either. I played 2 hours with three friends and we had a blast. The best field is probably graveyard or ghetto.

So theres my noobie review if anybody even cares what I think. Anyway, great field will definitely go again.
Last edited on Sunday, January 28th, 2007 at 10:58 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shawnaJ Sunday, June 18th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
PAG outdoor/indoor
QFA
URBAN
Review: fields - nicely maintained, plenty of fields to cater to all paintballers
proshop - lots of products, friendly people

prices - Most expensive of all the local fields.

Let me explain.
Field fee is $17 + gst at YGs. other places charge $10(gst included)
if you are using CO2..they charge you on each fill. HPA is free
they limit you on playtime of 3hrs whereas the other fields are unlimited in playtime
paint prices are compariable to other fields
3hrs go by fast when you have to walk from location to location..

GST is added on all prices afterwards where asthge other field's the prices include the GST. (with the exception of Urban. they add the gst on top of their prices)

given the distance from Edmonton to all the other fields...I would chose not to go to YGs due to the fact they are not on par with other fields in terms of prices. I like playing wood ball and to me a tree is a tree and a bush is a bush.....other larger fields provide nice customer service, nice amendities, and nice fields to play on without having a time restriction and a nickle and dime a customer to death approach..

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Enrico Palotzo Wednesday, June 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: May 14th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have either played or visited and inspected nearly all the fields in Alberta, as well as many out of province.
Directions
to the Field:
Range Road 13 (Allen Beach Road), off Highway 16, West of Stoney Plain.
Review: I have been playing paintball in all its forms for the last twenty-three years, and I have visited almost all of the fields in Alberta, as well as many outside of the province, so it is not to be taken lightly when I say Young Guns is one of the two best fields in Alberta. The other great field is Weekend Warriors. This is not to say that all other fields in Alberta are terrible. A few are, of course (some so bad I inspected them and chose never to play on them), but most are at the least adequate, especially so are many of the smaller courses that provide great facilities despite the setback of being located in remote areas with a limited population.

Young Guns provides a great variety of fields, ranging from woodsball to speedball, to choose from, and all are well maintained. Scenarios and tournaments are run regularly.
Rules are presented clearly and safety is given high priority.
Players of all calibre are treated well, and are not made to feel as though they are nuisances or cash-cows. The focus is on helping all players have as much fun as possible.
Prices are excellent. The pro-shop is well stocked and additional items can be ordered upon request.

I've heard a few (a very few) derogatory comments about Young Guns' facility, but have been unable to find any tangible reason for the slander. The only excuse that comes to mind is that the player who finds fault must be extremely new to playing on any commercial field and, therefore, does not understand what he or she is seeing and experiencing when visiting Young Guns. This player will very disapointed whenever he or she visits any other field in Alberta because the same level of service and field options are not be found anywhere else.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

John13 Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pag(indoor)-horrible
Directions
to the Field:
RR13 just south of the yellowhead
Review: well i gotta say, best field in northern alberta for sure (i havent played outside alberta). i am a season pass holder so i have seen their operation as a gun-owner as well as a renter a few years ago.

this place is always under construction. at the moment young guns is expecting a new CXBL official X-Ball field (they now have 2 xball fields). the main field is being closed off so that they dont have too many stray balls flying from the gun-owners and hitting the renters, as well as getting a scoreboard for the CXBL tournaments comming this summer.

the prices are very reasonable, and you even get a discount for being a season pass holder.

the staff is very friendly, and are willing to help with anything they can. they are very organized and things seem to run really smooth.

like another person said earlier, they have an excellent safety record. they have a 10 minute safety video (as of this year, it was shortened) that everyone must watch before they can rent, or buy a day pass.

the rental guns i saw when i was there last seemed to be new, the sypders they have are good guns. and the free air is a bonus.

only time will tell what Brandon and Destiny(owners) will come up with next. Good luck in the future guys!
Last edited on Sunday, May 7th, 2006 at 8:55 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media