paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Young Guns Paintball Field / Young Guns Paintball Field / Young Guns Paintball Field / Young Guns Paintball Field

Young Guns Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
42Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (780) 963-4006
Address: RR 13 Highway 16A
Stony Plain, Alberta T7Z 1X2
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Budgieboots Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
3 Times at PAG (INDOOR)
1 Time at Young Guns
Review: This was my first time at Young Guns, I had alot of fun here, the field layouts were excellent and the fields were very clean. Our supervisor fixed our rental guns when some of them malfunctioned, however he was very slow in taking us between fields.

All in all, a good experience that could have been improved with a more attentative supervisor.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rwbauer Thursday, July 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at paintball action games in Edmonton that is nothing compared to Young Guns Paintball.
Review: My name is Wesley Bauer I have played at Young Guns Paintball for four years now. The staff at Young Guns Paintball are great and outstanding. They have 12 very fun fields, including a new field called Snakes and Ladders, one field that is still in the works called The Grave Yard. My favorite field is the 5 man X-Ball field. They are installing a new fill station, so air will be free. There pro shop is amazing with cheap prices and carrying top line products you will find what you need. They will beat Canadian Paintball's price for any product. Very excellent safety orientation makes the day fun and safe. The owner and president of Young Guns Paintball Brandon Frick is proud of what he has accomplished and is still planing for the future of Young Guns Paintball. What else could you ask for out of a paintball field.

Wesley Bauer
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

sharpfitz Wednesday, July 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PAG indoor, PAG Outdoor, TAG Paintball, Busters Paintball, Quest For Adventure.
Review: This place is very very nice, They have awesome prices in their proshop, and when i went there, i saw people doing work, and i dont see that much at fields. There X-Ball field is real fun to play with, and the staff is friendly. I will definatley go here again
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Buddaa Thursday, April 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball action games (indoor)
Evolution (horrible)
Review: This place is pretty sweet, they have 12 different fields and for scenario games they open all the fields and 200 people go around killing each other. They have a town you can play in, X ball, junk yard speed-ball, defend the castle, police raid, jungle, and lots more. The rentals are also pretty good for rentals, they have 200 spyder TLX's. Its also the cheapest place around if you have your own equipment, rentals can be expensive. The female refs they got are pretty hot! They are also getting an air compressor so nitro fill will be free.
Last edited on Saturday, June 25th, 2005 at 6:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unknown_User Friday, April 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: I really didnt care for this field. it may have quite a few arenas but i dislike the time limit and the lack of involvement of the refs. i whent there a year ago for my birthday and as soon as we where on a field our ref when to some other workers are just started talking (please note that this was only my 2nd time playing and i may have needed assistance). The equipment on the other hand was higher quality and worked well, and their pro shop had some good prices, but the neglect isnt somthing i can turn my cheek at. price wise was ok, not overly expensive(especialy with the equipment given.)
overall i think that this was a mediocre field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

drop_forward Friday, March 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None really in stony, but in edmonton theres Evolution- WORST field i have ever been to
pag-O.K but not as good
urban-not sure if its even open
Review: I have been to this field many times now, and its the field that got me started. It has the best staff i have ever seen in any facility ever. The rental guns are suprisingly great (evolutions are terrible!!) and they sell the most different kinds of paint in all of alberta and more coming!

Pro shop- This is the single best pro shop out there no joke. it has the most competitive prices i have ever seen. it stocks tons of masks, and many upgrades, and you can even request orders there for special parts. Youngguns has the biggest selection of markers ive seen.so much in fact all the racks on the wall are taken and some guns are in boxes. oh and one other thing, they got refreshments!!! all pb places gotta have refreshments.

Field- Youngguns has tons of fields 12 and more coming soon. sure, the woodsball isnt that good but theres more fields than that! they have constructed some of the best fields such as the suspenseful Ghetto, the police raid, and the wicked junkyard speedball. BUt the BEST field they have there is for sure the HUGE xball field they have set up. this thing is massive, 20+ bunkers complete with the Big X in the middle. This xball field is big enough for 7 man tourneys and the best part is, The bunkers are actually CLEANED and INFLATED and taken care of ,unlike PAG and Evolution none of their bunkers are inflated all the way. field gets 9/10 because wodsball not too good.

Staff- You can go around to all the local pball fields but never find better staff then at youngguns. they are VERY helpful and reliable and have much knowledge about paintball and gun tech,Ect. These are the most social staff you'll ever meet in my opinion. 10/10

Rental equipment- No facilitys rentals are exellent sadly, but this place has close to exellent equipment. Yes, you may get a Dud marker it happens, but the rest of the markers are usually ver consistent and accurate. im not a renter myself, but just seeing these markers they look good. I like the fact youngguns has paid even more for each rental they have spyder tl, tlx and Xtras for rent, unlike the usual pirahna R6's that all other places rent.
8/10 because you sometimes get the dud gun.

One other thing. this field is very open to ideas and is very devoted to the paintball community. it has plans of making more new fields, stock more paint and markers.
Very soon this field will for sure be the premium field in alberta, and i wouldnt be suprised!

Last edited on Friday, March 4th, 2005 at 11:36 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dannyboy55 Saturday, December 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: i recently visited this field and i was blown away with the field and equipment quality. i would encourage all paintabllers in the area to check it out. the people are extremely friendly and the prices are far better than anybody in the area. they recently restocked their equipment so even if you do have your own gun you might want to get the rental package because of the quality of the equipment and the price i cant say enough good things about this field and the X ball course is one of the best ive ever seen
PEACE
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

www.team-ambush Thursday, December 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TAG - crap ( no concern for saftey)
P.A.G indoor- best indoor field around
Review: 2 years ago this was a crappy field no concern for saftey 1 year ago getting better this season OMFG totaly awsome the X-ball tourni was awsome just to bad we didn't win ( came close) we will be sure to enter again next season and just hope for better results. young guns has really picked it up they have 12 running fields ( last time i checked) they have a demonstration vidio and overall are an awsome field if i gave them anything less then a 10 i would be retarded




TEAM-AMBUSH
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

born2shoot Saturday, November 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
My friends house, but he doesn't have a pro shop.
Review: This is a great field, I have never played anywhere else, except for my friends houses, but I am very impressed with Young Guns Paintball.

1. The service is excellent, always someone willing to help or offer advice.
2. They will order stuff for you if they don't have it in stock. (I know, I just ordered a jersey today).
3. Lots of great fields, from X-ball to woods ball, with guides to take you there.
4. Because of their new "zero Tolerance" policy, you don't get any of the dorks who can't stay off the drugs long enough to remember a gun plug, or to put a mask on. Who needs 'em anyway?
5. Friendly staff who are happy to just chat about paintball.
6. There's always something going on, whether it be a tournament, or a scenario game, or whatever.
7. GREAT pro shop, with guns and accessories of all types, as well as knowledgeable staff.
8. Trained staff who can take a look at your marker for you, and fix it, if need be.
9. Awesome prices! I wouldn't go anywhere else. (Honestly, you should see my bank statements: "Young Guns Paintball" - x17). :-)
10. It's always changing, so you never get bored of the same courses.

There are those who claim that Young guns is not concerned with safety. I challenge these people to a test, go there, and take off your mask on the playing field, you'll be at the the staging area packing up before you can say "Paintball".

I'm not giving this course a 10 because it's the only one I've played at, I'm giving them a 10 because of the experience I have there every time I go. They constantly strive to please the customer. Well done Young Guns.

So here it is: 10/10
Last edited on Thursday, December 16th, 2004 at 12:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lorde Hunter Sunday, August 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only Alberta field I have played so far.
Review: Two years ago (2002) when I played this field for the first time, it was the worst paintball experience ever. The few fields they had were unimaginative and poorly designed. I had never seen such a disregard for saftey in any field..... ever. An utter disgrace.

Fast forward two year to August 2004. This facility has become a legitimate big business! Hosting several well designed fields, including an awesome X-ball style airball field, your garuneteed a great time. There was plenty of staff on hand to facilitate all aspects, from registration to game play. There was a high enough level of organization that there was no waiting between games and we were able to start on time. All this while hosting several seperate groups simutanously.

The staff for the most part was friendly and usually smiling. I can't speak to their level of technical knowledge, but there was always a replacement gun available to those who needed it. Needless to say, this wasn't an issue for our group.

I was surprised that no referee was on field to supervise game play and enforce field rules. In fact, I was surprised to see that the safty orinetation was done by video. This is not a critism, but I could see some, especially newbies, being a little concerned over this. I personally appreciated the freedom, and at least our group had no problems.

The saftey issues from the past have all seem to have been addressed with respect to players and safe areas. The rules also seem to be strongly enforced with a zero tollerance policy. As observed in other reviews, the staff don't have anything more that saftey glasses. This would be more of an issue with their insurance provider than a concern of a player. As I noted, no staff was present on the field during game play.

This field easily has the best pro shop I have seen around Edmonton yet. While I have only checked out a few in town shops, including PAG, M.R. Paintball, and Allsport Replay, there is no comparisson. Young Guns have a top notch, fully stocked, reasonably priced pro shop that should be your last stop when purchasing equipment. I can't speak to their support and back end service as I have not purchaed any equipment from them.

The bottom line, this is a great field. It is well run, the equipment is good, the saftey is there, the fields are mostly very good to great (those old crappy ones are still there). There is loads of parking, everything is easily accessable and well laid out. They even had a decent bathroom with a flushing toilet!

I haven't played the other local fields, so I won't say they are the best, but you won't go wrong with this field. Good work Young Guns, this is how a paintball field should be run! Like a service oriented business.

9 out of 10. More fields, on field fill station, and some game menus and you'll get a 10
Last edited on Sunday, August 22nd, 2004 at 8:17 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media