paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Texas Paintball Field / Texas Paintball Field / Texas Paintball Field / Texas Paintball Field

Texas Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
47Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 512-257-8728
Address: 18300 Medina Vista Lane
Austin, Texas 78645
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Jag989 Thursday, January 10th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 3rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nothing in the same area, Austin doesn't have many choices
Review: Very nicely organized field, they have 8 or 9 fields- all well kept. The pro-shop is large and has a good variety of gear and parts.

Staff is very friendly, refs do their job and help out whenever its needed.



PRICE- it is extremely expensive to play here. The field fee is $15-25 depending on if you have your own equipment or not, which isn't horrible. However, only field paint is allowed and the cheapest offering they have is $80/case (and its just white box).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

davidlanzi Thursday, January 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Unfortunately, there are not many good quality fields in Austin.

Outlaw is close, but caters to airball players with 20bps guns.
PB Challenge is 1 or 2 very small fields played on a baseball diamond.
LPA is in some guy's back yard with no HPA.
Hill 13 is small time with only 2 fields and no HPA.
Barrage is only open once a month, 3 fields, and no HPA.
Xtreme is decent with 3-4 fields, and good management.
Petty is far out and run by idiots.

So, with these choices I decided to suck it up and head to "Texas Paycheck"... I mean Paintball.
Review: Here's the most important thing you need to know about Texas Paintball:

A case of RPS Premium (which is only "premium" by name) will cost you $25 wholesale, $45 online, $60 at other fields, and $82 at Texas Paintball.

Plus you have to pay $15 for a 4-hour stint... another $15 if you want to play all day.

I give it a 4 for ripping people off.
Last edited on Thursday, January 3rd, 2008 at 11:04 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tipp Man a5 Sunday, August 26th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Petty Pb
Leander Paintball Alliance
Paintball Challenge Park
The Realm
My Backyard
Directions
to the Field:
Take 1431 twords Lago Vista. Keep going until you pass Nameless rd. then look immediatly to the left until you see the sign.
Review: This field is expensive if you plan to go paintballing. However they make up for that in their service. Everyone there is friendly and helpfull and act like they want to be working there. If you go don't expect this to be a real competitve place it is mostly average recballers. The thing I love about this field is the fact that you can stop and fill up your nitro tank and not play paintball and they won't give you a dirty look. The prices for tank refills are very reasonable and they are the only ones in my area that fill them. They have a pretty good proshop as well.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GuerillaTactix4 Tuesday, August 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
really just play woods ball in the local thicket with friends.
Directions
to the Field:
off of FM1431, before/after millers auto supply. follow bright yellow "Paintball" signs.
Review: this is an exellent place if you want a good paintball experience, the staff is friendly, helpful and honest. the owner is down to earth. the staff gives good briefings on field operation and usualy cronos everybody. yes the paint is expensive, but if you are a good shot, you only need one ball a person, and in that case, one thousand balls will last you all day. you should use quality paint if you want to have an effective game. cheap paint results in balls that break in barrel, bad fits which reduces velocity, and fails to break on people sometimes even at close range. if you want cheaper paint, get marbelizer, allstar or evil one the paints the fields carry and bring it in. the fields are great and offer alot of cover and strategic planning. they are geared more towards woods ballers but also have the speedball field. refs keep a good eye out for cheaters, and paint that is not sold from the field. they usually have a technition on hand to help you with your marker if it malfuntions. love the free C02, always get it refilled before i go home. as far as the newbs, why complain? i love it when there is a party for some thriteen y/o and all of his little buddies are there, they make better inexperianced tagets lol. i would have to say this is the one of the best fields in texas, the only problem being price.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 21st, 2007 at 9:45 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KROB Sunday, April 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none (but trust me)
Review: Ok first off this feild does have great refs and a couple courses i like. Now bad things are courses and stuff too far apart. The paint is you have to buy theres wich sucks because they charge 80-90 bucks for 2,000 rounds wich is totaly outrageous. They only let you play half the day and still charge you 15 dollars for entree another rip off. saftey is good there too forgot about that sry.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AJL2126 Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Challenge- Cheaper and better
Review: It was not a bad field to go to except the paint prices were off the roof 87 bucks for a case of paint. Thats half the price of the other paint I buy at other fields. They had a decent hyperball setup, But I only played it once and the fields are way to far away from the pro shop. It is meant for the woods scenario players. I was disappointed that I only got to play hyperball once because that was the only field worth my interest. The refs and people were very cool and easygoing. I didn't like the whole follow the group and play scenario because no one else was there to play hyperball with. 90% noobs. other than the spreaded out fields and expensive paint it was awesome.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

big boi Friday, December 22nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 8th, 2002
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
petty paintball - ok
the realm - awsome
Review: I give this field a 4 ot of 10. I went there not to long ago and I was pretty upset the fields were great and that was about it. The only reason people would pay the prices they have set is if they are so rich they would rather pay a lot more money than to drive another 45 minutes to Petty Paintball or The Realm. I did like the refs there, they were all pretty fair. Good place for a little kids first time, or like a birthday party because they always have so many little kids and birthday parties so you wont go there and just get dominated if it is your first time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

crazy_pirate22 Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: October 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Ok i think this field is a 5.the BAD #1 the price of paint is crazy. #2 about 80% of the players are noobs. #3 on busy days it takes a lot of time to get filled and ready to play. the GOOD #1 the refs are fun and make good calls. #2 the rules they are great not to many rules but just right . #3 there gun smith is realy good he can fix all my guns and he can do it fast too. #4 fields ok they have some good fields the rating scale is 1-10 D-Day 6/10 hyperball 8/10 new speedball 6/10 old speedball 4/10 crackhouse 7/10 trenches 5/10 and they are making some new fields that are going to be sweet no air ball though they have the bunkers but they have holes in them and they are trying to fix it. #5 there operating hours are cool they go from 8-12AM and 2-6PM on sat and sun. and in the summer it is different. just call them and they can tell you. #6 safety is good they are normal #7 there shop they have just got some new stuff and they have expanded the shop so it looks much better. so thats it i hope this helped.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

naruto1986 Friday, October 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 14th, 2001
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Petty's, some crap shack that went belly up and at night with friends(in the city)
Review: I Personly think that texas paintball is pretty crapy for people with average income, but it is good for he rich and noob, the ref's are prety good and the feilds are lots of fun, but its the outragus prices that make's it where the only way i will go back is if some one buys my paint for me, witch is quit a shame cause there feilds are fun. So remember if you are a noob go there and you will get a good idea of paint ball there, but for any one that likes to bring there own paint to bad
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

longbow719 Saturday, March 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Outlaw
Review: Ok this is a great place for two types of people

#1 Rich
#2 New

If you fallinto one of the above catagorys man this place is the place for you! It is an excellent family orinted place... I am a speedball player and I dont really fit in there but I play there none the less Its a great place however the prices are WAY TO HIGH if you plan on taking paintball seriously then this place is gona hit your wallet hard as Im learning the great thing about this place from a beginners stand point is that you dont usually have really good intimidating people out there. Be prepared to walk miles and miles up and down hard terain because thats about half of what this place is is walking
Great refs... well most of the time very safe if you are just starting there isnt a better place to start!
FIX your prices 80$ for 2000 white box paintballs is horible but for every thing else its wonderful!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media