paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Texas Paintball Field / Texas Paintball Field / Texas Paintball Field / Texas Paintball Field

Texas Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
47Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 512-257-8728
Address: 18300 Medina Vista Lane
Austin, Texas 78645
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
tx paintballa Wednesday, January 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The realm, snobby refs, great fields, and clean fields. Compared to txpb that field is in no comparison.
Review: the fields here are great, my favorite being air ball and hyper ball, but there is also alot of great woods ball courses. Normandy an awesome field that starts out as a beach and slowly turns into a steep hill creates an exciting game because of the challenge there is to take the flag at the top of the hill. Defenders of the hill can not come down until there is three minutes left in the game. Another field that i also like is trenches, though nothing like the old one back on 620 it still packs a punch. Most of the fields are well maintained, although sometimes the air ball field is down. There moving the staging area down next to the air ball field so the walks to the other fields won't be as long. I hear that there going to move the air ball field and replace it with a black hawk down field, complete with a real helicopter. (keep this on the DL!) During the two hour break they have a big screen tv so you can watch all the sports you want in Hi-def.

The refs at txpb are really cool and they know what they are doing. Okay so there are a couple of refs that have no clue to what is going on, but that's only like one or two. sometimes i wonder if some of the refs even enjoy paintball. The owner, David, is really friendly and loves what he does. He will fix any of your paintball problems free of charge. He brings his dog max to work and leaves him there all day.

Over all texas paintball is a great field for beginners and tourney players. I suggest going there. The only reason i'm going to give this field a 8 is because of the cost and distance you have to walk from field to field.
Last edited on Wednesday, January 18th, 2006 at 5:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

dyeballer8 Sunday, July 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
constant action
Pettys- sort of
Review: Texas paintball was allright when it was back at the 620 location. But still not the best. The new location kinda sucks because it's nowhere near civilization. The paint is way too expensive. And it's field paint only. The field fee is 15 bucks. At the new location from what i remeber it only had 4 fields. Hyperball, speedball, a so called, "trenches" (nothing like the old one), and a normandy course. There is no grass whatsoever and all the fields are far away from the warehouse. There is also little prepubescents running the counter and CO2. ( they have no clue how to use it).
Last edited on Sunday, July 3rd, 2005 at 12:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CowMaster Sunday, May 29th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pettys Paintball- coolest paintball in Texas cheap paint, cool people
Review: I guess Texas Paintball is ok if you like woods-ball but paint is through the roof 88 bucks for the worst stuff they had and when i got a expansion chamber for my gun they replaced a lot of stuff on my gun that didn't need it and charged me like 50 bucks. The team match ups weren't very fair cause it was always newbies versus tourney ball players. The refs are just a bunch of arrogant punks that say when they want a break no one plays any games but you just watch them eat and eat. When we came in there to get an expansion chamber and look at a flat line barrel they started talking trash about my gun because it wasn't a timmy and it was in a briefcase. So i guess the fields are good but the refs, paint, service,and prices stink.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SHBASS Saturday, May 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 15th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the area
Review: This is at their new location FYI.This field is not a bad one. I played it for the first time today.

Likes: Hyperball field is AWESOME. Nice proshop guys that will joke around and aren't too uptight, Free CO2 w/ field fee( it's not good for just one fill too as I had it filled right at closing time when everybody else left :) ) Paint is not too outrageous, at least for PMI Premium, but it is field paint only, really good proshop that will loan you little stuff for free ( a la feednecks) Lots of different rental guns to choose from. I remember m98's, A-5's, but there were many others.

Dislikes: The fields are too far from the staging area and you have to walk a long ways before you can take your mask off. The speedball is extremely packed and the bunkers are all around the same low height and you can't stand up in them, but they are a little too tall to snap shoot out of the top. The Normandy field is kinda cool, but there are critters back there, (we saw a 4 foot long bull-snake) It also has the same crappy speedball bunkers. They don't have a target range which I think they should at the chrony. I don't know if it is not a big deal or not ( someone please PM me and tell me if it is) but they let dead players give others paint during play. This one has some descrepancy, but they won't let you take your plugs out when you step onto the field. They tell you when you can. Not really a big deal though.

It may seem like there are too many things wrong with this place, but it really isn't too bad. I have absolutely fallen in love w/ the hyperball field, though the snake seems a little incomplete, (I just get that feeling

Forr newbs: you guys will have a blast on the hyperball field even if you think it is too advanced, I got more people out on that field than any other. You just need a marker that is capable of shooting paint to to good on that field. That field alone is worth the entire trip!!!

An 8, just because of hyper ball . (original score was a 6, a little above average)
Last edited on Thursday, June 29th, 2006 at 1:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

kevinkyte126 Monday, May 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Outlaw
Review: Although this may seem like a kick-ass field when you first see it...this field couldn't suck more....dont get me wrong...it has some cool fields(airball, hyperball) or at least thr old location but i just cant get past paying over 100$ to get 2000 rounds. Even though there Refs are pretty cool and Dave(owner) is a bad-ass(he got expelled his last day of high school for driving a go-kart through the halls) the often dont really care if you whipe off paint(trust me ;) lol)...i go to CPHS and the time im not doing projects i try to paintball but its just getting to expensive....i reccomend going to Outlaw if you wanna have a great time!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

pbplayr28 Monday, March 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Petty's
Constant Action
Outlaw-Awesome 9/10 for lack of hyperball, awesome airball fields, very friendly, awesome prices and byop
Review: Played 10 or so times. very full of newbs the "regulars" are also bad. ok fields if you like woodsball. paint is through the roof 99$ for a case of evil. refs are pretty good. and a pretty nive proshop. they have 1 good field and that is their hyperball, trenches not bad if u like that kind of stuff. i would give it a 2 because of paint prices, and constant supply of newbs. I hear the new field is even worse than the old.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hansonkeuler Wednesday, February 9th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pettys (best in Austin area)
Sudden Impact (played there once)
Paintball Jungel ( if you ever get out to the Netherlands and want to play, go there ;) )
Review: When I first started playing paintball back in the day I would all ways play here. I quite going to Texas Paintball last year. I was really tired of paying paint prices that were through the roof and tired of the worste reffing I've ever seen. last time I played there, we got 6 rounds in durring 3 hours, i'm not exagerating. Poor management. The refs are also a bit of know it alls. In a nut shell;

Pros; -AWSOME fields if you like woods ball
-Large selection of fields, 5 woods fields, 1 hyper, 1 speed, 1 sup
-All ways lots of people there, mostly noobs though

Cons;-Paint is WAY to expensive
-Refs aren't very good or nice
-All ways lots of people there, mostly noobs though

If your just getting started with paintball i would recomend this place. It's full of noobs so you would be in your element and not too badly out gunned. However, after you know how to play and you would like to play more speed ball with tourny players you might want to consider other places. I'm now playing at Petty's
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dr. Robert Friday, January 28th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: First I would like to say that the FIELD is very good. The co2 tanks they give you leak and the masks they give you are contaminated with something that smells like cat whiz. The refs are pretty good except they aren't very accurate with paint checks. By far the worst problem with this field is the outrageous price for paint. It costs $80 for 2000 rounds for the cheapest stuff. It is unfair to charge that much for paint especially when you cant bring your own paint in. Overall I would rate this field a 6. The only reason it is a 6 instead of a 4 is because the fields are cool.
Last edited on Sunday, January 30th, 2005 at 5:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

texlouis Tuesday, October 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: I went to Texas Paintball last Saturday and was thoroughly pleased with my experience! The reffing was pretty good, but we did have the problem of uneven teams. One team was always crushing the other team.

The fields there are great. They have some interesting scenario fields you can play on and the speedball and hyperball are a lot of fun also.

It is true that the paint prices are pretty high, and you can only use field paint, but if you can spare the money it is worthwile.

Overall I would reccommend this field hightly, although I am giving it a 9 on account of the high paint prices.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Joela722 Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Constant Action( kinda far from me though)
Review: First of all I am ashamed to say I have been playing at this field when its so freaking expensive , but its really the only feild 5mins from my house so what can ya do. The thing I hate most about it is that there are a bunch of 13yr old snobs who think they Know everything about paintball, but the dont, they dont pay attintion to paint checks or any thing they Just talk on there walkie talkies and dont listin to players. One thing I do like is the feilds mabey the best ive seen. Only thing is it cost 15$ for 4 hrs and 79$ for 2000 rounds.
Also another thing i didnt like is a bunch of kids go there just to welt and bunker 10yr olds who come to play on there birthday. The stores perrty cool and so are the owners but it doesn't have a online store. Also the rent out crapy tippman prolites and there all broken and the co2 tanks they rent out are in terribal condition. If the prices werent so expensive i d give it a higher number. they only reason i give it a 5 out of 10 is because the feilds.
I wouldn't reccomend this feild but i m still gonna go cause its so close.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media