paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hurlburt Field Paintball / Hurlburt Field Paintball / Hurlburt Field Paintball / Hurlburt Field Paintball

Hurlburt Field Paintball

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
40Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: Highway 98
Mary Esther, Florida 32569
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
DYEpntBalla Monday, March 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Panama City
Crestview
Navarre
Review: This place is awesome. They have a good speedball field, although the ditch makes it hard to get to the sides. The Big Woods and Small Woods fields are pretty cool too. The service is excellent and the atmosphere is good. There are quite a few newbies there, but there is an equal amount of experienced paintballers. There is a nice area with picnic tables where you can sit and talk with the other people. The people there are great and are always willing to help when you need it. For example, my gun was broken and a few guys there took the whole gun apart to help find out what was wrong with it. I love this place and it's great for anybody, whether or not they're experienced or not. Keep up the good work guys!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

impulse_pbman Sunday, February 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
navarre paintball field- this is an ok field I know the owners of this field and they are not that bad, just play by the rules. local tourney field
Review: This field has a good set of staff members, friendly, and they know what they are doing. The staff is always willing to help, and there staff know about paintball and how to fix the markers when need be. As the field goes it is ok, the main speedball field has a big ditch in it though, and it makes it harder to get the the bunkers on the sides, the bunkers are evenly set though which is good, they also have ready refs waiting to ref the "serious" paintball games. they also have a secondary speed ball field which is at the end of the area, which is rarely used. they also have two woods fields, "Big Woods" and "Little Woods" many first time players love both the woods games, Its gives you a type of Viet-Kong aspect to paintball. The selection of guns that are rentals... there is none all they have is the Tippmann 98 custom but they are very reliable and as far as I know not many break down. As for navarre they do have a selection of guns. Free C02 refills, and if you have a gun that runs on air, bring your scuba tank and fill station becouse they do not have an air refill station, but there is rumer they are going to get one. The paint that they shoot there was medium grade Diablo and now they shoot the Draxxus medium grade paint. They have restrooms, and they have an outside canopy area where the paintballers can associate with each other. they have drinks and snacks there also, but Billy sometimes goes to Arbys and picks up food, and sometimes for paintballers at the right price :) over all this field is very nice and its staff and service to its local and out of town paintballers is admirable Ill give it a thumbs up and hand it a strong 10 for service and an 8 for field quality. that evens out to a 9.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

General_Schutz Saturday, February 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Navarre Paintball Field- The field is too small and has unfriendly staff.
Review: As everyone has already stated, I realize this isn't the greatest field in Florida and that they don't use air bunkers but this is a great place to have fun. This field is operated by two dedicated workers who come out every saturday and go above and beyond their job as Staff. I go out and play here every week. A week after I bought my Excellerator 6.0 I went out to Hurleburt to play with it for the second time. To make a long story short I couldn't figure out what was wrong with it and the workers at the field spent at least an hour helping me fix it. Through there help we fixed the gun and I haven't had problems since. They are the coolest paintball field operators i've ever met. Its great to be able to go to a field and not everyone is die hard paintballers. You go to Hurleburt and mostly everyone is friendly and will help you with any questions you have. As for tourney play, This place is not for you; However, if you are looking for a paintball place to have fun and some friendly competition, this is the place for you. I gave this field a nine because being able to go out and play, relax, and meet people makes it all worthwhile. Thats what you get at Hurleburt Paintball. If your ever out there hook up with me and I'll show you around im the only one ever out there with a JT Excellerator 6.0.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FastShot Wednesday, January 28th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Hurlburt Field noticed a trend happening around the surrounding local area that was slowly becoming more popular. The sport of paintball. They had the land and they had permission to create the fields. It may seem odd to some that it's located on a military installation, however the military have used similar tactics and training tools to better hone their skills. This also provides a great sport for family and friends to get together and have some fun. Now onto the field information.
The speedball field consists of two field's which are built with make-shift bunkers of old cable spools and large aluminum style canisters as well as old barrels. Even with the hand-me down style the field still provides a lot of enjoyment for all types of players. However one of the drawbacks of the fields are that they rest in a levy like ditch which consists more of sand than dirt. So if you have a low-end gun this could create a problem for some.
The woodsball field is rather small but has some interesting stuff scattered through-out. You'll find a few old tents and a run down truck which make some interesting bunkers and pretty descent play for scenario games.
The rental gear isn't to bad for the price however don't expect top of the line guns, they use standard Tipmann 98 customs that have seen more time in the sand than I did when I was deployed in the desert. However 9 out of 10 times the guns are perfect for the amateur player who just took his first big step onto the playing fields. As for the guns not being chronographed thats not completely true however they don't check player's guns as often as they should.
The staff that works is pretty well knowledgeable when it comes to fixing or repairing guns and always have a great attitude to newcomers. In conclusion this field although not top of the line still provides a great weekend release. If you're new to the game or just like small fields then I highly recommend this field. If you're looking for tournament style playing field's then time to keep searching. Until next time, always check your ball's and keep your head low. -Adam R.
Last edited on Wednesday, January 28th, 2004 at 1:57 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DairSensi Monday, January 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Navarre - Some bunkers are held together with tape, some are deflated. Last time i went there, they didnt have a woods field. Unfriendly staff and negative atmosphere.
Review: The field at Hurlburt as said before isnt exactly the greatest but really not that bad. There are alot of nubs that go out there and rent cause the field is relatively new and doesnt get huge funds from the base. There wasn't very many people out here that played paintball until recently because there was no field close by to play at. At Hurlburt field, alot of the the guys who go out there dont mind helping anybody out if they have any problems with their markers. Theres actually only 2 people who run the place. So the regulars that go out there usually ref for them since their really busy giving co2 fills and such. But when they have time they go out and ref also. If u ref and get to know them, they give u discounts on paint and dont make u pay the field fee. They only serve Co2 at the moment because in order to service hpa, they have to fill out a form that has to go through a board which leads to another form that goes to another board and so on. Since its run by the military base its time consuming and complicated, otherwise they would be servicing hpa. Overall i do recommend this field because the people are very friendly and makes the playing experience more enjoyable.
Last edited on Sunday, January 2nd, 2005 at 10:55 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderBoy16 Wednesday, January 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
navarre
Review: This field is a BAD it so bad if you drop your gun in the sand you basicly have to get a new one if you ever think about going to this field dont it you will hate it go to Navarre that have all new bunkers now plus woods ball there real is people hide up in trees like monkeys DONT GO THERE SAVE YOUR SELF MONEY
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

AciDTriP850 Tuesday, January 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Ok this field really isnt that bad, it deserves an 8 at least but definetly not a 10. I am one of the guys that volunteers at the field for reffing whenever im not playing and its really good because its so friendly out there. You can get help with your gun, if you ref alot volunteering they give you discounts on paint and stuff and the guys out there know exactly how to fix most stuff especially on spyders. The woods field is fun but alot of wiping occurs due to the noob rate but hey what are you gonna do. and the speed ball field really isnt that bad. most of the people who trash this field are from navarre and uhh i hate to break it to you navarra but duc tape is not a bunker nore should it be used to hold bunkers together.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Denwad Saturday, August 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have not played any other fields yet.
Review: This field is ok, it's alot larger than the old one I used to play at in Germany. The people are friendly and the staff is very fun to socialize with. Very good games here. The paint is o.k. with my spyder, but the speedball field is comprised of sand/grass so one's gun may jam alot. The largewoods/small woods is great to play on and can be very challenging to find your opponent.

I think this is a very good field and it is run by very competent staff, if you stop by here, play a few times and you're pretty much hard pressed to find a worse field. The other fields I haven't played at because my friends say they're small, and they're also pretty far away from Eglin AFB.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PILMAN Saturday, August 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
navarre
Review: A decent field. When I first started I played here and it was really the first major field I had played at but I realized after going to a few other fields that hurlburt really isn't worth it. First lets start with the downsides, have to have military ID or know someone in the military to play here, they have 2 fields, 1 is the speedball field which is really sandy with a ton of metal bunkers and it's a very hilly area, not very good for running, lets not forget the chronograph, they have one but does anyone actually use it? Probably not. I've been hit before with very painful bloody welts from being shot and I know for a fact that most of those people probably shoot hot as all their rental guns are custom 98's being previously rebuilt and most likely not chronoed after being rebuilt probably well over 300 fps. Theres also 2 woods fields, large woods and small woods. The kids do not obey safety rules, I never saw anyones barrel plug in and a ton of black kids were shooting in the safety area after being told not too, they don't enforce their rules. They do fill co2 but at 5 dollars a refill, they don't fill compressed air. I also left my gun here to be fixed and it was stolen, one of the workers personally paid me 250 bucks for it and I came back like 2 months later to find out they recovered the gun yet told me no details as to who stole it and the guy was expecting his money back. I can't really recommend this field, I give it a 6 because I started here therefore it's not the worst but it's not very great either. Go to navarre if you want something with more challenge.

*Edit* review was a bit harsh, I balanced things out a little review is a 6 now.
Last edited on Tuesday, December 30th, 2003 at 4:35 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

genchaos Tuesday, June 10th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Crestview field, it was a hyperball field. (no woods)
Kadenas paintball field.
Black Knights Field by San Antonio Texas
Review: Hurlburt Fields paintball field is pretty nice, it has two speed ball fields a small woods (about 2 acres) and a large woods (about 6 acres) thatís sports a small roughly built fort, two trucks, and two tents among various other bunkers. There is a small shop there that has drinks and snacks as well as air and paint. (no nitro no comp air) You have to use their paint which is has improved slightly over the year. They use paint that's in vaccu-sealed bags so it lasts longer and doesn't dimple as quickly. The paint is Draxxus which is probebly the best field paint I have ever used. Hopefully they will never change brands. The refs are fair if not sparse. I am more or less a woods only player and I've noticed that their woods fields seem to come second to the speed ball field. They have however, revamped the big woods field considerably. The base actually has walls and a clear boundary. The only reason I don't give a 10 is because the woods really could use some work. It would be nice to see some sand bags set up or some kind of actual structure in the base such as a real tower or bunker. Most weekends there are considerably more people in the woods than in the speedball area(s), I don't know why they can't add more to the woods.
Last edited on Thursday, April 8th, 2004 at 2:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media