paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Crazy Daves Paintball Field / Crazy Daves Paintball Field / Crazy Daves Paintball Field / Crazy Daves Paintball Field

Crazy Daves Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
31Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Location: Volant, Pennsylvania 16155
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
paintballman169 Sunday, December 12th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 12th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Three rivers paintball, battlefront
Review: HORRIBLE!!!!! The fields are crap. No refs, and the staff doesnt seem interested in being there. No roads, no bathrooms, the whole building is just a big garage. It's in the middle of no where. Stayed there for about and our then left cause it was so bad. Will never go back to this field. Find somewhere else because this place should be torn down and forgot about.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mephane Wednesday, May 20th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 26th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Three Rivers Paintball - Dave's is much better - field options / price
GRC (new york) - About equal - Dave has better prices
Directions
to the Field:
Google maps is your best friend
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&
; ; ;geocode=&q=crazy+daves+paintball+pa&sll=37.0625,-95
.677068&sspn=41.139534,93.164063&ie=UTF8&ll=41.0
67551,-80.204943&spn=0.002398,0.005686&t=h&z=18&
amp; amp; amp;iwloc=A
Review: Hours - 10am-5pm Sat/Sun (Weekdays by appointment)

Prices - Lowest i've seen. $25 entry - includes all day air + free rental / mask. Paint - $35 wpn grade - also sells formula 13.

Saftey / Rules - enforced, but I would like to see a ref on rec ball days. Other players usually help everyone out or rotate in as a ref. Everyone I have meet there has been very nice. Dave and his son are both helpful and willing to help you out if you ask.

Food / Drinks - Has snacks such as chips, slimjims,etc. They will grill you up some hotdogs if you want as well. They also have water and a selection of soda. They also allow you to bring food and you may grill yourself food on their public grills if you wish.

Staging - They have several tables at each field - They also have a pavilion with a bunch of picnic tables. Air is self serve and is located at the indoor facility - not very far from the other fields. Can fill both 3k / 4.5k hpa.

There is no proshop - but he does sell shirts ;D

Fields - Indoor xball on turf (a thin carpet material - gets a bit slippery from paint)
Outdoor tirefield
Outdoor airball field
Outdoor woodsball field
*New* outdoor sup'air field on real astroturf ('09)

I havn't had a bad experience here yet. More of the speedball players show up on sunday so keep that in mind if you fit into that group ( as do I ). There is commonly more people on sunday in general. Saturdays can get full too - just give Dave a call and let him know you are coming. It gives him a rough estimate of how many people are coming and he can let the other players know.

If you havn't been here in awhile, I would recommend giving it a try again. Dave has come a long way for this field and his newest addition of the outdoor astroturf field is amazing. Not to mention that he as the cheapest paint prices I have ever seen!
Last edited on Wednesday, May 20th, 2009 at 8:20 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nova9678 Thursday, March 5th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 28th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i havent playd anyother fields in pa just playd @ battle zone paintball park II in mansfield oh
Review: This park is amazing we only playd on the indoor coures our team (genesis paintball team) went here and had a team practice the owner and his son was amazing to us and all the players who were there was nice also highly recommend for anyone wanting an awesome experience
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dirtbeast937 Monday, November 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
urban assualt(only for noobs), and pb world
Directions
to the Field:
get directions on his site.
Review: Overall crazy daves is one of the best fields in the area. He currently has four fields up. he has an airball outdoors but most of the bunkers are deflated because its winter. He has a tire field outdoors. woodsball. he also has a field outside of just regulart woods. ive never been on it. he indoor airball field is very nice. the turf(outdoor carpeting) is also very nice. On rec ball days there really is no ref so you have to be honest. but on the tournament there was four or five refs. His prices are the cheapest around. 25 to get in. it includes all day air and a rental if you need it. his paint is 35 dollars for weapons grade which is the cheapest you can get paint anywhere. since i play there a lot he will give me formula 13 for 35. there is plenty of tables and space. there is no proshop. food is limited to hot dogs and chips and only on tournament days. thats about it. it is a great field. go play there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dsthompson2442 Sunday, March 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Impact Zone-doesnt even compare
Review: This is one of the best fields ive ever been to. Ive played on both of their outdoor and indoor tournament fields and both are great. All the staff is very helpful and they make sure everyone is always being safe. The paint is empire ramp and is $60 at tournaments which isnt bad. During regular hours i believe its only like $47. Overall its a great place to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

maniac_baller_2 Monday, December 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 9th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All american, Urban Assualt, Pb World, and Three rivers
Directions
to the Field:
google map, or look on pb nation
Review: I went there for the third time now and I always wait to write reviews until I have forced my self to play at the field at least three times, in case of a bad experience one time.

Safety was very good, plenty of neting, also pleanty of tables and space for everyone to set there gear.

Refs were good, its hard to find quality refs, and i think they really do there best, and are by no means lazy, they are only human and you have to realize this, so there will be a few mistakes, also one ref per player was nice for the tournament

Fields are limited for indoor, with only airball, out doors, they seem to have alot of woods but i only played on airball, i liked the indoor outdoor carpeting in indoor, the floor was a little uneven in places but nothing major, I have heard complaints on lighting but i think the lighting was fine, and you could see well enough. Bunkers were well maintained and were blown up, think they are mighty air though, and seemed a little bit smaller then actual x ball bunkers, turf was also a little slippery in the dead boxes and by key bunkers.

Prices weren't bad, i know the tournament was 75 to enter which was very reasonable to me, and i also think 60 a case was not close to bad, i know my guns had no problems with the paint and i didn't see anyone else having problems with the paint either. The fill was not that good but wasn't the worst i have seen either.

Rules were enforced strictly, i thought most were done very well, and that everything normal was covered, i saw i a couple of mask infractions but there is always someone looking to lose an eye, same with barrel plugs overall rules were enforced pretty well.

service, was great, took care of you and reminds me of Phil at urban, just wanting to make you happy, Very thorough in explaining why delays and problems, Very good job, staff was very friendly.

Players were mostly good quality, always gonna have a few bad apples but overall excellent mix of talent

Overall i would not drive more than 20 minutes simply because i do not feel that it is that much better than urban or other fields which are closer to me, i would rate the field at a 7 with all american being a ten, All and all i think they do a good job on running tournaments and open game
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TypicaL Sunday, July 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pentagon Paintball
Review: Alright Me and My Team went there For a Tournament in June. When we first got there we just saw nothing but woods so we were a little skeptic. When we saw the field we changed our minds and thought it would be a good day.

First Off.
Teams- Most of the teams there were really nice and we talked and had alot of fun but there were acouple that just had very poor sportsmanship and talked s*** about everyone.

Next
Dave and Refs.
Dave is the man! he is probably one of the coolest guys Ive ever met and he runs a nice field and was very friendly to our team and made it so our visit was plesent. On the other hand. The Refs... were terrible, they did nothing they stood of the side and just watched the game and every now and then someone would get pulled out. The refs had rules which were understandable, No swearing, No cheating, etc.. BUT we watched teams play and we noticed that people were wiping and playing on and cursing about bad calls and stuff like that and the refs did NOTHING but sit there and take it and didnt even access penalty points. And im not going to lie, one team argued pretty much ever game and they were the home team so it doesnt show much respect for the field.

Prices- The prices were decent 60 bucks a case for empire ramp was a little high for my taste but it shot nice and had no tax so it was 60 even.

Safety- Well. It is give and take on this issue. Everyone was pretty good about keeping masks and barrel covers one when they should have but a few people were running around with covers off and test firing their gun into the woods when people are staging with no masks on 5 feed away. Other then that it was all good besides getting hit by random paintballs that bounce off bunkers and land over net. but we all had fun and no one got hurt

Air- The Self fill air was a good plus to the field, The only downside i saw from it is the fact that alot of people didnt know what they were doing and didnt know how to operate the machine so a few burst disks were blown during the day. I would have like to seen a employee or someone there to show people how to use the machine if they are new to them.

Other then that it is a very nicely run field
I give it a 8 out of 10 (Only because of Refs & Minor safety Issues)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mR.Lone Thursday, June 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
All-American, Three River's, Riverside Renegade, Paintball-Extreme, Urban-Assault.
Review: This is a great field for all players, they have an indoor field, so I go there in the winter. The admission is only 25$ and you automaticaly get free all day air. Reff's are friendly, and you can BYOP!!!!! The field paint there is only 35$ so even if you dont have your own paint, its not expensive at all. Great Field Dave, Keep it Up!!!!
Last edited on Monday, October 20th, 2008 at 7:34 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

glnnhoffman Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Encounter
plywood speedball field
Review: I just went to Crazy Daves, and had a great time.

Safety: the safety at the field was pretty good. I only played on the indoor xball field, so i dont know what its like on the outdoor courses.

Fields: The indoor xball was really nice, but I don't have much to compare it to, because Ive never played on an indoor course before. They also have two outdoor airball fields, and a tire/woods field.

Prices: $20 for entry and all day air, which is decent. Also, they had Diablo Heat paint for $40 a case.

Staff: Pretty much just the owner Dave

Refs: none, other than a few players that sorta reffed when they weren't playing.

Players: most of the guys there were pretty easy going, and would let you hop onto their team for a round. Hardly anybody played on.

Food: Chips and Gatorade

I give it a 9 because there weren't any refs
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbplayer0909 Monday, March 19th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TPA- much better
AAPP- much better
Review: I played in the 5 man tournament here on 3-18-07 and it was one of the worst experiences I've ever had when playing paintball. The bunkers were average but pretty well maintained and clean. The floor was unbelievably slippery. Over shooting bunkers and falling over were very common the whole tournament. Safety was a small factor because there was no one to enforce any kind of barrel cover rule but with the experienced players it didn't present much of a problem. The refs were terrible and cared more about getting shot than making a good call. Once, when the ref came to check be slid into my rolley (filled with water) and it rolled away and i got lit up and we lost the game. The ref just said there was nothing they could do about it and walked away. Dave (the owner) seemed like a really nice guy and tried to put up a nice tourny. If it weren't for the terrible reffing we would have had a decent time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media