paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Danger Zone Paintball Field / Danger Zone Paintball Field / Danger Zone Paintball Field / Danger Zone Paintball Field

Danger Zone Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
37Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 4535 Vancouver Rd.
Ft. Lewis, Washington 98433
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Gpham86 Sunday, October 10th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 1st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Directions
to the Field:
Exit 120 off I-5 onto FT lewis
Review: Very good field IMO to play at

Safety - 10/10. Refs constantly make sure everyone has their masks on and barrel socks on when required. The experienced players usually lecture the kids on safety and remind them to put their masks back on when out in the fields. Surrender is an option here and is briefed. All new players get safety briefings before heading to the field.

Fields are great. Ive played on 3 fields. The Village is their so called most popular one but I dont like it. It looks like an abandoned trailor park. Just some buildings. Its very close so the games dont last very long. They have an upper woods field which is a big wide wooded area with lots of trees ranging from narrow to real wide ones. This is a fun field to play on. My favorite is their hamburger hill which has a top portion with plenty of bunkers to shoot at the guys on the bottom. They rotate fields often so you get a chance to play all of them

Prices are decent. $20 for walk on with free air. $15 gets you a bag of 500 balls. I dont know the other prices because this is what I normally get

The Refs are really cool and they do their job well. They check players for paint, carry squeegees to clean barrels on the field and help you out when you need it. They are very professional and they do a good job having minimal turnaround times for games. Each games last around 20 minutes and theyll come back to the pit for air and paint refills and be back playing in the fields in usually 15 minutes so they dont break for too long.

The players there are usually cool, a lot of them are military. I've made quite a few new friends there. The language there can get pretty intense sometimes in the heat of battle so I hope youre not easily offended.

The facilities arent that great. They have one port a john which is pretty disgusting. Id rather pee out in the fields.

Overall a great place to play. I wish more people would come play. On an average day theres probably 15-30 walk ons so it makes for a decent game but I like huge 20v20 games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

amgkmpsr Wednesday, July 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
It's on Ft. Lewis I'm in the Air Force so I can get in no problem don't know if civilians can get in willy-nilly,
Review: After going there and only there since I started paintballing I began thinking that it was a very expensive place, but after reading reviews from other fields and seeing how much they charge I figure this place is pretty good.

This field is very woods ball oriented, considering they have acres upon acres of woods it's to be expected. They do have a small speedball field which is pretty enjoyable.

That I know they have three different Wood ball scenarios: The village, Hamburger Hill, and Upper Woods.

Courses

The Village - A small "valley" clearing in the middle of the woods. They have a bus, a few cars and mock houses for cover in the clearing. A creek delineates one side of the valley while the other side is high ground which overlooks the "valley". Elimination or CTF is played here. Both sides have its strengths and weaknesses. The high ground side can shoot down on the "valley" the creek side can follow the creek to the high ground's right flank. It's pretty fun but if you get a crappy team against people that have played here before you will surely get smashed.

Hamburger Hill - A pretty steep hill surrounded by woods on all sides but the back which off limits. There is cover spread out everywhere in this scenario, giant trees everywhere you go and plywood bunkers spread throughout. The main object is to get to the top of the hill and set off a charge next to a tower. The defending team has ample cover with bunkers, trees, and strategically placed branches next to trenches. The attacking team has its work cut out, if the defending team even halfway knows what they're doing.

Upper woods - Open woods delineated with boundaries on all sides. Elimination or CTF can be played here. Have only played this one once with tons of people and it was tons of fun.

I've never been to any other speedball courses so I can't really judge but from what I seen from reviews and PSP webcasts it's extremely small, but fun nonetheless.

Customer Service

Hmmmm I have mixed feelings about this. Out of the 5 Times or so that I've been there I would say that I had a bad experience 4 of those times. They mainly stem from whom I believe to be the owner or one of the employees. I don't know her name but her way of treating customers is appalling. I want to make a clear distinction here there is yelling and then there is shouting/screaming. This woman constantly shouts/screams directions rather than speaking loudly or yelling to get someone's attention. Most of her screaming is due to people not having their barrel condoms on. It's happened twice where I've had barrel condom on and mistakenly this incredibly abrasive woman has shouted/screamed at me to put it on and it annoys to no end when she does that. Mind you I'm only using the word abrasive to describe her because above it said not to be pejorative or insult anyone, otherwise I would have some choice words on how to describe her. Another instant I sitting outside in a table fixing an air leak on my 98 custom with barrel off with the hopper removed and no balls in the breech with the marker facing down I squeezed the trigger twice letting go two gusts of air. She then proceeded berate me not to do that. I interjected saying that there were no balls in the gun, she cut me off saying that it didn't matter. Not wanting to get kicked off the field I shut my mouth and said ok. There's more but Iím tired of talking about her. I said I had mixed feelings about it because I have that woman but I don't want the field that I go to losing business/ paintballers that I can play against. I've been meaning to make a complaint to the Army MWR about her and never got around to it but I think this review slightly changed of course would be perfect to submit to them.

Pro-Shop

Their pro shop -- if you can call it that. They hardly carry anything. Every time that I have called there asking if they have something they either don't carry it, never have it, or it is way more expensive than other places. Example, I wanted an apex barrel Danger Zone pro shop Price $99 - Splat Attack price $49. I also had a bad experience here. I'm pretty new to the sport. The first time going paintballing without a group of friends I wanted to get some of my own gear. I went to their pro shop and wanted a mask and a pack because I already had a marker. The guy helped me out with the mask no problem, but when it came to the pack he decided to be greedy and deceitful. I remember them selling these cheap packs over at the field for $14, I asked him to call the field and see if they still had any, he said no and convinced me to buy a $65 dollar empire pack because they didn't have the other one. I go to the field and am paying for my field fee and buying balls, and what do I see? Nothing other than the $14 dollar pack that I wanted. I don't know guy's name but he is a chubby guy that works there, avoid him at all costs! The only person I've found helpful there was the skinny guy with the goatee that is also a ref over at the field sometimes. When I was just getting into paintball I went there and talked to him and he gave me all the info I wanted. Hate to say this but even though they one helpful employee, I would stay away from that place altogether. Gouged prices, bad employees are reasons enough.

That's my review. If you disagree you can suck it Trebek! lol No jk leave me a comment and Iíll reply promptly.

Cheers
Last edited on Monday, September 26th, 2011 at 10:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

elnolo Saturday, May 23rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 23rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Elma (they only fill to 3000 but friendly-er staff)
Review: OK i love this field! Great village and woods (they just got some new sup air stuff but i havnt used it). The prices ar kinda high but ok. Lots of fun, and they are still safe. BUT when i went today i was not able to play!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The visitor center has been changing the policy every week for the past month or two and this week you need a militay sponsor!!! So that REALLY sucks. hope it changes again! I would give this field a ten but the prices could be less and i couldnt play today (i know its not they're fault).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KGB_PrIdE Wednesday, May 6th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
local fields in the area
Directions
to the Field:
get directions to the base first then contact the field on further instructions
Review: The field is well maintained. One of the fields blows completely though, there is no way to advance because mainly people are in plain view but behind bushes and brush. Hamburger hill is over played and not nearly enough village. private groups have first choice which is completely unfair. Dee the owner has PMS 24/7 i came up with no air no barrel no hopper i mean my gun was apart completely and she just started screaming at me to let go of the trigger. I just pretended to pull it and that just enraged her more. nick is fine (poor soul how does he live with that woman) everyone notices her attitude not just me. She should be more kind and sympathetic to customers who spent a great deal of money to be there. Other wise everything else is fine. Cant Bring you own PAINT. :(
just don't buy anything there and ignore her mindless rants. Cheers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bragoon Sunday, August 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have played at to many courses to remember.BUT!!! this course is by far the best!!!!!!!!!!
Directions
to the Field:
on north ft
Review:
My review is short but sweet.The safety rules are the same as any other paint ball field.KEEP YOUR GOGGLES ON!!!!!!!This feild has just about the best service.The refs are awesome,the owner is a nice lady....unless u piss her off.The players are mostly military and kids so watch your leengo.Facilities are great.vary easy accese and they sell food.There are 4 feilds to choose from, hamberger hill,the village,upper woods ,and the lower feild if they put up there speed ball course again there would be five.hey!!!! but whos counting.


ps.field paint only
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.K Tuesday, June 26th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball - Graham, WA
Review: IMHO, Danger Zone is the best local field, hands down.

Pros:

Nice fields - especially the village and Hamburger Hill.

Minimal turn around times between games.

Good mix of games.

Decent prices - rental fees start at $20 (standard set-up,) it is the same cost if you bring your own gear and both include 100 rounds and all day air (additional paint is extra -- I usually burn through a case of 2000!)

Friendly staff - very professional and courteous.

Cons:

Field paint only - cheap paint is Rampage for $55 a case and their premium is Blaze for $65.

FYI... If you are not military you will need to check in at the Ft. Lewis visitor center for a pass. Be prepared because depending on the day, you could be waiting a while.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 26th, 2007 at 1:48 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ethrealwolf Thursday, May 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TPS in elma- Fun, but more speedball oriented.
Review: Edit: Let me put it to you like this. avoid DZ at all costs. Go to KC crusaders. Go to TPS elma. Go to bremerton, but stay away from Dangerzone. the field refuses to employ sufficient refs, The owner cheats his guts out every time he steps on field, and the general staff is condescending and, well, bad.

Last edited on Saturday, February 23rd, 2008 at 11:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hungry Mako Monday, April 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Played KC Crusaders a couple times, but since finding the DZ field on Ft Lewis, I haven't been anywhere else.
Directions
to the Field:
Good directions have been posted by other reviewers...
Review: I have played some wicked sweet paintball on their fields. The setup is well done, allowing 3-4 separate areas for different groups to play simultaneously. Over the winter the staff obviously put a lot of work into clearing out tons of underbrush. Three cheers to them!! So much easier to get off some lob-shots on that bunkered fool. Very approachable for the newbie to walk on and feel welcome.

I must say that the one drawback has to be the mother hen that runs the place. Mind you, I have much respect for her enforcing the safety rules. If I walk out with my barrel condom off, I should expect to be barked at, but her her uncompromisable attitude extends beyond that at times and really sucks a lot of fun from the place. With all due respect, as you read this please take it as constructive criticism to focus on customer service a bit more. After all I just dropped $75 bucks to come play at your field.

Case in point.. I went to their storefront to get a replacement fill nipple for my brand new HPA tank. I planned to buy a new barrel for my Tippy also. The thing about it , as I explained to her, was this: When I bought the can last week, the other store I bought it from put a 45 fill on it - good to go. The field employee running the fill station was working his second day, I can't say he did anything wrong, might have been just a bad nipple, but the situation suspect of a mistake in connection. So, as an opportunity for her to demonstrate customer service, I offered to buy my barrel from her shop if she'd throw in the nipple gratis. She just got defensive of her equipment and new guy, saying "I'm not giving away a 10 dollar item for a $40 barrel." Unfortunately, she lost a lot more with that decision. My girlfriend is getting into the sport and when we gear her up, it's going to be all online. I tried throwing them some business a couple weeks ago when I wanted to upgrade to the X7, they didn't have any in stock so I took my business elsewhere... Come on guys, Woods Ball is in demand, give us some support in your store if you want to grow your business.

Despite that downer, I still think their fields are one of the best local fields. When things go wrong with your gear, they are helpful and knowledgeable, to get you back on the field quick.

Get there on Sunday. More walkons the better.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gman536 Tuesday, April 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Semper Fi, Doodle Bug Indoor, Operation Paintball, Black Diamond, Paint A Mania, Doodle Bug Outdoor, Danger Zone
Directions
to the Field:
You must get a base pass first. Just west of the gate on the other side of the freeway. Driver's License, Vechile Reg. Proof of Insurance.
Review: We drove down from Bellingham to check this feild out. I like this feild. The Refs were pretty good. The owner was VERY COOL! Their Village is good sized. Alot of buildings. Ground is a little rocky, but that's the area. Several differant Woods Ball feilds to rotate on. I liked their AirBall feild as we also play 3-4 man tournaments up north. Food and drinks available. The other players were very cool. Feild paint only! They do random hopper checks, so don't chance it!! Their paint prices are comparable to other feilds. I would highly recommend driving the distance to play. Garett
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

*PMR*4*Cocker* Saturday, March 31st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have played at the field in Gram called "operation paintball", that field did not have a very good air ball field like the indoor one of danger zone has.
Directions
to the Field:
map quest it :)
Review: mostly at the indoor field, players go on Saturday, and sometimes of Wednesday. if you want there to be a lot of people though, go on Saturday. the refs are nice and they like to talk to you if you talk to them. the people in the shop are nice to, they let you look at the guns that they have there and they know stuff about them. they don't have a lot of food but the stuff that they do have is pretty good. you have to use field paint. Tuesday through Thursday, they are open from i think 10 AM to 9PM and on Friday through Monday, they are open from 8 AM to 10 PM i think. the turf hurts when you hit it so be careful when you slide. i chose this rating because the field is kinda slow at sometimes but it is really good and it is really fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media