paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Danger Zone Paintball Field / Danger Zone Paintball Field / Danger Zone Paintball Field / Danger Zone Paintball Field

Danger Zone Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
37Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 4535 Vancouver Rd.
Ft. Lewis, Washington 98433
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
KevAnthony23 Friday, August 12th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
-Thrill Zone, in Tacoma has one large speedball course, it's fun but the refs aren't.

-KC Crusaders, my first field that I thought was good until I tried others, Dangerzone kills that field based on sheer size alone!

-Operation PB, has very good fields but marker and air service could be a little better. Also, BYOP is a good attraction. I'd say the best competitor with DZ, but not better.
Review: Fields: By far the best part about DZ. There are four very large woods courses filled with large trees, bunkers, and structures. There is speedball, but I have to say, it isn't much fun with a small amount of half-deflated bunkers. Touch it up a little DZ!

Location: About 10 minutes away from where I live in Dupont, and is on the Ft. Lewis Army Post. It is very easy access for me, being a military brat, but I know it may cause some problems with some civilians.

Prices: Well, for $20:
-you get all day air
-all day field usage
-and rental equipment (Tippmann 98s, V-Force goggles, pure energy air tank) if you need it.

500 paintball bags are $15 (1000 for $30)
CASES OF PAINT ARE STANDARD PRICE OF $50
The prices may seem expensive, but the money is VERY MUCH worth it!

Service,Employees, and REFS: Absolutely outstanding staff! Refs are always watching, informing, and they try their best to brief everyone before games and regulate during. The workers at the counter are very friendly, very smart, and very helpful. I have always received small professional level maintainence on my A-5 whenever I needed it.
There is also FOOD AND DRINKS AVAILABLE.

Safety Regulation: I have never seen better at another field! Being on an Army Post, this is very important.





Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rasta_Fever Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation- Pretty Good
Patriot- Awesome
Thrill zone- Pretty Good
KC Crusaders- Nice, Very Nice
Hole In The Wall- Awesome
Review: This place has some good woods and urban. It was rainy but this is Washington, but still the crew and refs were awesome. Lots of people considering it was raining, but when the games started it was even more fun with a HUGE group. Very helpful and srtict to enforce field rules.(we need more fields like that) Overall i would give this place a 9. Just need to touch up the air ball field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

COCKerN_YO_FACE Monday, December 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball field good staff mostly SUCKS
Review: I like this field is great Nice a big. For thoose whom like wide open places this is the one for you. This is definatly a place to come for fun. THe only draw back is that you got to be able to get on base. That can be tough and take a while. If you come early in the morning it wont be too bad.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintintexan Thursday, September 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
monroe-splat'em sports
everett-stp
Review: ive been to this field almost once a year that ive been paintballing. And im pleased that every year this place gets better and better. I would have to say the greatest attribute this field has it the city. I absolutely love the city, it has multiple buildings and THE BUS!!
The bus is probally the coolest feature of the city. You can go in it and move whatever you want around and pray that your teammates hold your flanks because you're a sitting duck in there since all the windows have been taken out. The other fields are pretty much wooded that can range from moderately wooded to scarcely wooded areas. I for one prefer monroes woods since that has heavier bushes but danger zone's are good enough. Also on top of the city is a series of bunkers and trenches. Last, their speed ball field is very very small and can easily shoot from one side to the other but it all causes for some intense games. The refs have gotten a lot better than the first time ive been there, and so have the players. I would recommend this field to anyone who can gain access to military bases. Two thumbs up for this field, now stop reading and go play some ball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jeffersonkim Thursday, September 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Attack
Comparable, but different "field" types
Review: I went up to this location with a private party of about 12 so I didn't have to pay for anything except for paintballs.

WARNING: This facility is located on Fort Lewis grounds, so it's an incredible pain to get onto base.

WARNING, part deux: This is a field paint ONLY facility. I brought my own Spyder Imagine '04 gun, had to use their paint and discovered that the bore for their bullets was much too small for my barrel. NOT WORTH IT!

Other than those two MAJOR draw backs, I would say that this location was perfect. But those two drawback alone makes me want to never go there again.

Due to those two major drawbacks countered with their incredibly good service (there were only 12 of us and 3 staff members), I give this place a 6/10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kollmm Monday, July 5th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
KC's, Hole..., STP, Operation, Sultan, many others
Review: I was really impressed with the service and attitude of this field. The reffing was good (although on the second time around it was somewhat short-handed), the rentals were fine, and the players were all cool.

WARNING - GETTING ON BASE TAKES TIME, PREP, and PATIENCE. You MUST HAVE valid ID for every non-minor player and the driver must also have UP TO DATE insurance and registration for the car. If you don't have these you aren't getting in. Period. Don't try to work the system. It's worth the hassle, but not if you aren't prepared.

Players - This definitely has more of a newb/part-time player feel. If you have ever found yourself yelling at anyone on a paintball field after you've been shot, please don't show up at this field. Really, see a therapist or get a girlfriend or something.

Play - The play feels almost like the pump play from back in the late 90's because of the terrain as well as the size and diversity of the fields. Except with the occasional BPSer doing some brush-clearing, which was fine. I hadn't actually *snuck around* since I can't remember how long. Maybe since the last 24 hour game... You can long ball, you can bunker, you can camp, you can pretty much do it all.

Fields - Are awesome. The village is fun, the upper woods are fun, sup-air is good, speed-ball is weird. But really this is some of the best in the state. They mix things up all day long which is a welcome switch from other fields which stick to the same single field all day long (how many times have you asked yourself the "should I go hill or river?" question in a single day?). They have a simple scenario game which includes a loud fake munition as the victory whistle which was neat. The "medic" game is just as lame as it always has been but really who cares - ignore the medic.

Oh yeah - where else can you hear real artilery firing in the distance and have the occasional fly-by from a blackhawk?

Paint - Draxus at $55 a case. Shot fine.

Air - I've never gotten a fill over about 3600 (whine).

Overall - the base hassles drop this field 1 pt, but if it continues to serve to keep jerks from showing up I'll gladly keep the hassles.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DanlovsPB Sunday, June 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat attack ( it was ok but its been a long time since ive been there)
Review: Dangerzone has great courses and is really fun and worth all the money, but the last two times of gone the Ref's havnt been that great witch is wierd because normally they are realy good, but i just got back from there and the Teams have been uneven and in speedball they started the game without even asking if we were ready witch we werent and had no idea what we were doing. and the time before one round the Ref's werent even watching the game they were just messing around in the back spraying each other with paint, and that round it was about 4 on 7. but besides those last two times the Ref's were awesome never had one problem there nothing to complain about.i hope this is just a fluke because i love it there
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thenaz11c Wednesday, March 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
splat attack- danger is better
operation paintball- danger is better, but not by much
Review: this is a excellent place to play paintball. They have a wide range of fields to suit all tastes, and the refs listen to what the players want to play. Their ready area is second to none, with facilitys for all your needs. They have on site compressors for all your air needs. Their on field shop has the tools you need for most on the spot repairs, and the staff has the know how to assist in most any problem. They keep a full line of paintball merchendise at the field, and if they dont have it they are more than able to get it for you on your next stop to the field.

About the only bad thing that i can say about it is that since it is on a army base, it can be alittle hard for non-military people to get on (although usually their is someone in the army more that willing to voich for you to get you on). And that some times their ref staff is spread alittle thin, so sometimes their is only one ref per game.

But one the whole, this is the best field i have played at, and worth it to anyone who enjoys this sport to spend a day their.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cmtundra Sunday, November 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball...was good but the quality of their staff and safety compliance can't compare to Danger Zone.
Review: Danger Zone rules! I've introduced several players more experienced than myself to this field, and they all agree that this is the best field in the area.
Positives:
1) A good variety of courses for all playing styles. There are 3 woods courses, one with a village in the middle. There's a well set-up speedball course. Sometimes there's an airball course. All courses have quality bunkers that stay maintained. The woods courses even have some military style foxholes dug in various positions. The village is the best I've seen. Also, the woods courses are maneuverable...meaning they are not congested with briars like some courses in WA. The Refs rotate groups through all the different courses, so you're guaranteed a variety of play throughout the day.
2) The staff. In my opinion, the staff is the #1 selling point. All staff (including refs) have a certain level of maturity; they're all adults with some experience. They split teams up evenly based on experience. The Refs DO NOT play favorites that I've ever seen. The Refs manage to keep a very good balance of catering to new/young players and experienced players alike. They try to make sure everyone has a good time, and don't treat one skill level better than the other. Refs keep the games moving without wasting exessive time in between games. Generally, you'll play for 2-3 20 minute games & then take a short break for refills & etc. One or both of the store owners are almost always on site, which is convenient if you have questions about products you want to buy.
3) Safety. This one goes hand-in-hand with the staff comments. Danger Zone is probably the safest paintball course in the state. They must comply with strict safety stipulations set by Fort Lewis (Army base) in order to operate on federal land. I'm not sure why some people complain about them being safe. Yes, if you walk off the field with a barrel plug out, they WILL tell you to put it in. What's so hard about that? Common sense ya' know. If they yell at you, it's probably because the shack is 50' away from where you exit the field, and they have to yell to get your attention. They explain all this in the safety brief before you play, so it should be no surprise. Oh yeah, they make sure everyone goes through the safety brief...unlike some other fields I know of. By the way, Danger Zone DOES require you to buy field paint...this is a safety requirement courtesy of Fort Lewis, the field owners don't have an option to let you bring your own. A lot of fields only allow field paint, so I'm not sure why some folks are surprised at this. To wrap up my "Safety" preaching, I'll say this -Danger Zone is where I'd feel most comfortable having my own kids play.
4) Good Prices. I know some posts say otherwise, but I haven't a clue as to what they're comparing prices with. For $20 you get: Gun, Mask, unlimited air, and 100 rounds. There are no "sessions", you play all day for that price. If you have your own gear, the field fee is $12. Paintballs are $45 a case -yes they're cheap paintballs. If you want better ones, I think it's $60 for premium paintballs. Again, some say this is expensive, but I've bought plenty of paint at fields and at stores, & $45 for a case is about as good as you'll get for low-end paint. Also the $12 or $20 fees...check the other fields in WA and compare (I have), you'll be hard put to find this quality of a field for these prices where you can play all day. Another great plus is that, if you don't use all your paint, they'll give you credit for all the paint you didn't use. You just return the paint at the end of the day, they count it up, and the next time you play you get that many paintballs free of charge. Find another field that'll do that for you. -PS: Tip of the Day: another note on paint, you can buy it by the bag (500 rounds). However, it costs $15 per bag. Do the math, it's a lot cheaper to buy a case (2000 rounds for $45) at the beginning of the day. Split the cost with a buddy or two (or even a stranger), if you don't think you'll use it all.
5) There's a warming stove in the winter months. -Enough said!

OK, there are more positives, but I'm getting tired so I'll start to wrap this up.

Negatives:
Not many, but for the sake of fairness..
1) The Ref's are excellent, but sometimes there's only one ref on the field which makes it hard to always get a paint-check when you need one.
2) The Airball course isn't up very often. It's not their fault really, Danger Zone has had some problems with vandalism.
3) Depending on how busy the field is, there's usually only one or two games going on at once. I personally don't mind this because I know the refs will rotate our group through all the courses & I personally prefer a variety of play. But, if you're a "speedball-or-nothing" kinda' player, you might not like this. In the summer when they're busier, they usually have 2 or 3 games going at once & it's easier then to walk on to the Speedball course more often.

I almost want to give this a 10, but hey , nobody's perfect. IMO, Danger Zone is way better than Operation Paintball because of better ref's, better safety, and less favoritism.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Duffman42 Monday, October 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
KC crusaders
Review: overall this was a great feild to play at. I came with a bunch of guys from my school as walkons, and we had a great time. i would give the field following ratings
staff: 10
fields: 8
fun: 8

the staff was really help ful when i had a problem, with my gun, (the drop forward fell off) they found me some new screws, and i was back in action in no time.

they have 5 fields i think, the sup air was not up, and another had bees nests all over it so we couldnt play it. The three that we did play on were great though, speedball, bunkerhill, and village. bunker hill was the best.

id give this field an overall eight, because they only had three of their 5 fields in operation, but other than that it was great.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media