paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fran Bar Park / Fran Bar Park / Fran Bar Park / Fran Bar Park

Fran Bar Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
28Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: N/A
Address: 13861 E. Broad St.
Pataskala, Ohio 43062
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
paintballmatt15 Saturday, January 31st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
asi paintball splatterpark splatterdome
Review: where do i start........ this field sucks. there is no such thing as safety at franbar park. The hick owner sleeps all day and doesnt do anything to fix up the fields or make sure everyone is safe. There is no chrono station, no refs, and no goggles on areas. All the fields are run down(especially the junkyard) except for the new speedball field. The speedball field is a nice touch guess because i prefer speedball, and that is the only reason im giving this a 2 instead of a 1. Unless you are a newbie dont go. even new players shouldnt go becuase you don't learn how to play it right. In fact dont go at all. Run teh hick out of business, so he learns what he's done. Oh ya some other bad things are that its 15 dollers to go play, which is way too much for what you get. Plus the hick owner charges 4 dollars for air fills no matter what tank you have. All in all this place is a dump. Just don't bother going. o to AsI paintball instead it is much better.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hawk92 Friday, January 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatterpark, WOW (closing unfortnately), Action Zone
Review: This field is definitely not the best around, but for a novice who knows nothing about paintballing, then it is ok.
The good-
1) 4 fields to play on
2) Not to croweded but enought to get a good game
3) Most people are novice-intermediate in skills, so it is not very hard
4) The field is slowing improving
The Bad-
1) Owner complains about his trailer getting shot more than he does help you.
2) Long walk for CO2 re-fill
3) No refs
4) Not kept up well
5) No large scenario games
6) If out of paint, they are a bit overpriced, althoughm general merchandise is about 1/3 mile away.

Overall, it is not a great choice for a serious paintballer, but if you just want to go and shoot and have fun, then it is fine
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shadow444 Tuesday, October 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
private land,splatterzone,splatterpark,action sports
Review: I dont kno why other people give fran bar bad reveiws. the park itself is a good place its just some of the people that play there.

Me and my team went there over the weekend, we completly controled the haunted hoochie field. That field is a nice field. The junkyard field can be a really nice field if the owner cleans it up jus a little, and the woods field is nice. So before you write bad reviews think about the actual field not the people that play there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

USAFINTEL Wednesday, October 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatterpark, Private Land, WPAFB 10X Better
Review: I play at Fran Bar only becasue it's the only field in columbus which is sad.

It could be a really nice field but I don't think the Hick owner really cares to much about the game or knows what he is doing.

Alot could be done with the woods area and it really could be a cool set up.

But 15 bucks for no refs, chrono or stuff to buy it's not great. Last few times I've tried to play it was overun with airsofters.

It's close to general merchandise which is nice. I think they should run the field.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Misfitbunny Monday, April 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
JDR- Speedball- Small but good field.
Splatterpark- Great field.
Review: Our team went to Fran Bar 1 time and will never go back.

There were no refs, no crono, no nothing. You paid you money and were free to do what ever you wanted.

There were about 10 kids between the ages of 10 to 14 running around the field without there masks on. One player was shoot point blank in the mask and the ball broke his lens.

One of the player on our team was shoot from about 20 feet away and the ball split his arm wide open. I'm not wining but you have to be shooting hot to split the skin through a shirt.

Then the last game of the day the player from the other field came over to where we were playing and want to play them vs everyone else. They said they were the "Home Team". The game started just like all the others with one difference. You could watch a ball break on one of the "Home Team" players and they wouldn't go out. What is the fun if you are going to cheat?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

trekool311 Monday, April 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Spatterpark, WOW
Review: This was the first field I ever played at. I am a little biased because I have had some great times there, but I will try to give as unbiased review as I can

The Good
- it's very close to Columbus
- good place for newbies to play (level of comp. is not too high)
- the Haunted Hoochie field is very fun
- the junkyard field offers some very creative hiding spots
- It's close to General Merchandise (a store that offers paintball supplies a pretty prices and has some really nice people)
- Free CO2 fills all day

The Bad
- the woods field offers very little cover
- the junkyard and haunted hoochie fields both can be kind of dangerous (there is always nails or jagged metal that you have to dodge, I've cut myself and several shirts there)
- last year they jacked up the price to $15 (it really not worth it)
- little or no competition for anyone above a newbie level
- crappy rental equipment
- no referees
- too many little kids
- there always seems to be a bunch of snotty airball players there

My Conclusion is that this can be a fun field for players new to the game. And the haunted hoochie is definitely worth playing at least once, but for the most part the $15 field fee is not worth it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ryanp Tuesday, April 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter Park and WOW Paintball.
Review: Fran Bar Park is not the best, yet not the worst. The Haunted Hoochie field is a very unique, fun place to play, but the other fields are just plain pitiful. They have put no effort in them, such as, there is a ton of garbage scattered throughout the woods field. Things that you could seriously hurt yourself on, like a rusted old metal machine along with many small rusted pipes scattered everywhere. The year membership is not exactly what it seems . You go, fill out a card, and pay 15 bucks everytime you go. Not one payment. This is alot of money for just one, ejoyable field. The rental guns are not in good shape at all. They are old Tippmann Pro Carbines, that barely work. In conclusion, Fran Bar Park has one very fun field but is far too expensive for what you get. Save your money and go play in your own woods.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fran bar sucks Tuesday, April 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatterpark, Bull Creek, Wow, Snakepit
Review: The Good
-The Haunted Hoochie field is fun
-Good for building self confidence (the people arent that good)
-there is a good store down the street
-friendly people

The Bad
-no worth the money; $15 for 3 fields that suck and one good one
-no refs
-people arent that good
-not very safe (the junkyard has nails sticking out everywhere)
-one picnic table for like 20 people
-arent very strict on goggle wearing
-the owner is a hick
-no compressed air
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media