paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hornetsnest Paintball Field / Hornetsnest Paintball Field / Hornetsnest Paintball Field / Hornetsnest Paintball Field

Hornetsnest Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
147Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 518-329-2255
Address: 746 Roche Lane
Ancramdale, New York 12503
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
thelookingglass Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Factory (Before it closed)
Directions
to the Field:
Use the mapquest on the site
Review: I really enjoyed playing at this field. Playing paintball brightened my day and my friends had a great time too!
-Safety: They enforced the 'Goggles On' rules; the safety here is tip-top
-Fields: Hornets Nest has a castle to defend, an indoor speedball field, an outdoor speedball, and a western town scenario field. It was so much fun attacking/defending the castle.
-Hours: 9am-9pm. what else can i say? that's great!
-Prices: 60 dollars for a good case of paint is great. 10 dollars for all day air rocks! its only 11 dollars to get in the door, which isn't bad considering the facilities. Say you use 1000 balls in a day - split a case with a buddy and you have a fifty dollar day. Rentals are good priced too.
-Rules: Rules are good, no complaints
-Services: My buddy's Micro Mag nitro tank busted - Bob the owner let him use a rental tippmann. It was really great that he could still play!
-Proshop: The proshop is fully-stocked with some customized tippmann A-5's these guns are turned into scenario weapons that look like AK-47's and 30-Cal Machine Guns. It was awesome to hold these!!
-Staff: What can I say? The owner, Bob was really awesome, he helped me out with a ball stopper, and my friend out with a rental gun! He showed us how to fill our own nitro, made us some food, and was just really laid back.
-Refs: The refs were pretty chill - they were excited that we all have years of experience under our belts - They ended up playing with us by the end of the day.
-Players: The place wasn't really crowded, so it was cool to be able to cap my own buddies in the head. :-)
-Facilities: The facilities were great! Indoor and outdoor, nice proshop!
-Food: Food was microwave food, it was filling enough to keep on playing. it was 90 degrees out and humid today, we were dehydrating by the second, we drank gatorades all day! They have a great selection of energy drinks - Monster, Amp, Sobe NoFear, Vault, Etc

All in all, I promised I'd see them all again, and I will probably end up going back with my buddies really soon!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

LEXIMAS Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 11th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
on my own i went to cousins but that was along time ago as a team (Killer Elite) this was our first time at hornets nest .
Review: Hornets Nest is definitely top of the line the constant reminder of keep our masks on and put your condoms on the barrels is shouted out though out the day safety is truly a priority hornets nest is not just a regular field not with challenges like sniper ridge and the castle . the convoy of vehicles make if a great obstacle course and for anybody who thinks they the are just going for a few hours think again because the outdoor speed ball park begs to be played again and loosing a game only makes you want revenge. the realistic sound of thunder when shots rang in the indoor speed ball field makes you wanna go auto and heavy. and for those of you with a sweet tooth the proshop had a great selection of snacks to keep you going and a hell of selection when it came to rentals . The staff makes you feel like family and the regulars are all over to help you out , ref or play against .we plan on making hornets nest our home field cuz home is what it felt like so thanks alot everybody at hornets nest see you in two weeks
(NIGHTMARE)
KILLER ELITE , Bronx,ny
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pinktarantulas4 Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: I have been playing at the hornets nest for quite a few months now and each and every time i go i come home knowing so much more about the game and how to play the bunkers more effectively thanks to the factory team which is there almost every weekend. The speedball fields are amazing they have a 3-man indoor and a 5-7 man out door field. They also have several woods ball field like "village" "castle" "convoy" etc.. all which are very well reffed and kept up. The speed ball field layouts are changed up all the time to add excitement and to keep things interesting. They have an amazing pro shops with every thing from tank thread protectors to angels. Rules are very basic with safety kept in mind. Refs are real good, like i mentioned before the factory team is there all the time and they are usually more then glad to give pointers and tips the facilities are really clean. Prices are perfect i mean how can you go wrong with 10$ entry 10$ all day air and 60-70$ paint depending on which grade you buy foods not bad either
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazzzy607 Tuesday, May 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 2nd, 2003
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at champion paintball but the enviorment is not nice and the attitude is horible but at hornets nest Every one is helpfull and nice.
Review: At hornets nest the safety is there #1 concern this is great the refs are nice and make good calls the tech is pretty good and the shop has every thing. the service is fantastic and every one trys to help. The rules are standard paintball rules which is great. They have a variety of fields from speed ball to woods ball they have it. They have a great in door and that is great in the winter. Also they are open during the week in the summer.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilnurse Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I went with some friends and watched them play at other areas. i wasnt fond of the other fields set ups. I like the hornets nest the best because its a friendly enviroment and members on their factory team are so helpfula nd do their best to help you improve your skills.
Directions
to the Field:
your best bet is to call Bob (thw owner) or use the directiosn on their website.
Review: For the most part at the hornets nest safety is the most important. You forever hear refs telling people to put on their masks or their barrel plugs. And for the most part the staff is good at making sure the gusn are crono'd correctly. There are so many different fields to play in i still havent been through all of them! When it comes to the hornest nest your better off asking when their not open because they are open just about anytime you go. they have great hours and dont rush people to leave. As far as prices go their one of the cheapest in the area, with paitn at $60 and admission for the whoel week at $10 and all day air and co2 at $10 you really cant go wrong. When you go to hornets nest for the first tiem they give you a rule page to read and a medical information waiver to sign. I beleive the rules are fair and the refs do their best to make the calls they need to make. when you are there and need help fixing your guna nd brother is there considder it a fixed gun. he is always fixing guns for people and he does a great job at it, he also explains to you how to do it yourself if you run into another problem in the future. They have a huge proshop with tons of stuff. They sell performanc barrels, new and used guns, air and co2 tanks, along with countless other items and modifications for guns. I think over all the staff is great i cant say enough about what great people they are. I like the refs for the most part. They have great affordable food with a wide variety of drinks to choose from.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wolfstalker Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just visited this one, heard it was the best in the area.
Directions
to the Field:
The directions on their website are pretty good.
Review: First of let me tell you what I really liked about this place. As far as fields and variety, I thought this place was pretty good. Their speedball fields were on the small side but laid out well. They have some nice woodsball courses, including a king of the hill type course with a castle on top of a hill and a good size town with about 15 or 20 buildings. They have some more woodsball courses, but we never got out there. The hours of operation were great, 9am-9pm, but after dark you have to go inside and the indoor speedball course is really small. Prices were about average for paint with the cheapest case of paint being $60. The field fee was probably the best I have seen if you went there regularly, it was $10 for all week. The staff was helpful and the owner was very nice and even let us try out one of his markers for free. Now for what I really did not like. To be very honest their refs were an absolute joke. I think there were the owner's kids or something but the oldest ref couldn't have been older than 16. There was even a kid the was about 12 that was reffing for us. I don't have any issue with age as long as they do a good accurate job. I'm not sure if this was a off day for them and their other refs weren't there or what. When I called the owner the day before he said he was going to have to large groups there, so I would assume he had most of his reffing staff there for that day, which was a grand total of three young teenagers. Throughout the day I watched these refs and I only saw them call a total of maybe 5 people out. They pretty much just stood out of the way and let everyone play, some of our games started when a player on the field yelled GO, the refs weren't even counting down or beginning the match. Now I would have been able to swallow all this fine if it were not for what I am about to tell you. Some geniuses in one of the groups decided the should play "ironman" which isn't even a form of paintball at all I might add. They wanted to play a game with about 20 people, but they wanted to be able to overshoot everyone until they couldn't take it any more. To my surprise the refs thought this was an awesome idea and even ran to get some of his buddies to come watch! Me and my friend that came with me sat out from that match just to make the statement that we didn't agree that this was safe or right. I then watched several people get shoot at close range anywhere from 5 to 10 times. At one point some dude who wanted to prove he fearless ran right up to three people standing behind a bunker. I watched him get shot 15 or 20 times by those three people before he gave up. I then watched the same guy lift his mask up one his head an walk off the field while walking right by people shooting and getting shot at. He was clearly in danger of getting hit in the face with shots all around him, but not one ref, and there were three on the field, said a single thing to him. I understand it may have been an off day and the refs can't see every thing, but they missed some very blatant disregard for safety and didn't say a word. That is the simplest most basic rule in paintball, do not take you mask off while on the field, and this wasn't on some huge spread out course it was a smaller area at the base of the castle hill. Now I love paintball and I enjoy playing every type of way you can, but this was ridiculous. The whole point of paintball it to have a good time, and be safe and abide by the rules. It is never fun to be shot up several times, and is not safe at all. Its not about who is tougher, or stupider I should say, and who will allow themselves to be stitched up the most. Safety is a huge thing for me in paintball, when people fool around they get hurt and it gives paintball a bad name. So until they make some changes to their reffing staff and get some qualified and trained refs there, I can't say I would recommend them. They have some great qualities there, but it is all for nothing if you don't abide by the rules and protect the players. I hope post will lead to Hornet's Nest to get some good refs, or at least train the ones they have to properly maintain games. The refs are all that is holding them back from being on of the best places I have played at.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

SRCowboy Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Not from the area, traveled from Rhode Island to play there.
Directions
to the Field:
Check directions on website.
Review: Excellent fields in excellent condition. Its a smaller place, making it much more mageable for the staff on hand to give the player a better experience. Everyone was super helpful, even the fields Team. They have two speedball courses plus a number of woodsball courses which are excellently laid out. I went with a group of about 18 and the fields were perfectly sized for us. Not too small and not too large. Highly recommended for groups!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

suicidialcandy Friday, April 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: hornests nest is a real nice place. they've got a good proshop, what seems like plenty of woods ball stuff for you woodsballers, though i did not play them, and an indoor and an outdoor airball field, which i did play. The field layouts were pretty good, and the staff is real good, really personable and always willing to give a tip or help out with problems. the place is a little hard to get to, but well worth the drive. they even have pretty decent food.

definatly check hornets nest out, its a great place with a chill staff and good facilities
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

need a new gun Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Factory (I think it closed and is now called Albany Paintball or something)
Not as organized but very fun and decently priced
Review: I have gone to Hornets Nest Only a few times but i still enjoy going. The last time i went though was a dissapointment though. there are usually regulators there to even out the teams but nobody was there that day. so it was just me and a few of my friends which totally sucks.
But the times before that were a blast. We got there around noon and around 12;30-one ish we were on the field playing. the fields were huge, well thought out and well... awesome. they have a bunch of fields but i only played on 4 of them. the indoor speedball, outdoor speedball, woodsball, and castle. the catle is made out of painted plastic crates stacked up on top of a wooded hill. in the field below are giant spools, plaster "trees" and H-bunkers or whatever you want to call them. the outdoor speedball field was well organized with many bunkers and a mini-snake. but the fields get changed every once in a while which is pretty cool. the indoor speedball is small and leaves something to be desired but is overall pretty good. my favorite field though was the ghost town. this is a must see if you are ever there. the run down look of the "post office", "cemetary", "church", "jail" and other buildings adds an awesome effect and the trees and brush offer lots of cover.

Over all i would rate Hornets Nest a 9 out of 10 because of prices ($10 field admission) $75 bucks a case of paint!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, and you can't bring your own) also if you are going to want to eat more than an ice-cream sandwich and coke then bring something of your own.

Definately make time to go to Hornets Nest!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

JunkyardDog68 Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
i havnt played in NY much
Directions
to the Field:
if you go on the website and print out the directions they give you it should be good.
The field is in the middle of a bunch of farms and backroads so you might want to bring the number incase you get lost.
Review: Unfortunately when i went it was kind of a slow day so it was just me and my party of 3 people. Regardless we still managed to have a great time. The indoor speedball field is awesome. the only downside to it is the ground is gravel not grass.
Theres a bunch of scenario fields that are great. i recomend the castle assault or B-town.
The owner is nice and they are dedicated to keeping it safe and clean and having a good time. great field. great prices go there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media