paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Scary Creek Paintball Field / Scary Creek Paintball Field / Scary Creek Paintball Field / Scary Creek Paintball Field

Scary Creek Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
41Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 434 Scary Creek Road
Scott Depot, West Virginia 25560
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
sniper357 Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 27th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
n/a
Review: Scary creek is a fun place to go but prices are expensive and when u first get there it takes 4 ever too get started. Even if u do have ever thing filled out before u get there it still takes 4 ever but on the plus side good town course except 4 wood floors in houses great speed ball course but alot of crawling.On the negative side PRICES NEED TO COME DOWN ALOT ive played at Gaul City paintall and for what u pay for 500 paintballs u can get 1000 there. Gaul Citys located in southeast Ohio.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hobo_capper Saturday, July 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Game on Paintball Park, Power Play paintball, Paintball Hill
Review: WEAKNESSES
When you first walk into the door your stuff is checked for any balls or anything else not allowed there. This is for the players own good I suspect, but It was like going to an airport (previously stated in a review) And you are on the honor system with only one ref, who is helpful and knowledgeable, but its only one for a big urban field. Paint Prices are EXTREMELY High $20 dollars for 500 all-stars.

Strengths
Their Urban Field is very large and very fun with a variety of games you can play. Like attack and Defend Capture the flag. They have barns and houses bunkers and trailers for you to hide in and sweep out. And their other field is like speed ball + air ball it is a medium sized field where you HAVE to be crouched down and it is not very fun. There is always a lot of people there to play with. 20 when I was last there

*EDIT* The owner is not very concerned with the experience that you get on/off the field. That will definately be my LAST visit to scary creek. Downgrade.
Last edited on Wednesday, July 19th, 2006 at 7:27 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

snakbite01 Friday, May 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: ok lets get something CLEAR i do not understand how everyone is upset with the field in scary creek. yes the prices are high but understand that it is run by a family and that is how they make their living and the last time i went the prices were a whole much better.

and another thing they are some of THE NICEST PEOPLE i have EVER met. in fact when i was starting off i didn't know any thing and no matter how dumb a question was they would always explain it to me.

one time i called the field when i had a problem with my marker that i bought some where else and they talked to me for A HALF HOUR helping me fix my marker and they didn't know who i was i just called them, and they helped me.

another thing the speed ball field is small, but its not really meant to be a sb field its woods ball and scenario. and as a matter of fact they are improving dramatically their fields with air bunkers everywhere a bigger sb field and a few new fields and they laid down mulch so you don't have to worry about mud

Scary Creek is also just a laid back field. its a place where you can just have fun. and now they are holding tournaments so it combines the best of both worlds.



please keep an open mind if you go there and you will see that if you are nice to them it will be one of the best pb fields you can go to to just have fun with nice people who you can talk to
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

EvilO Sunday, May 1st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tri-State Paintball , and other local fields
Review: Right off the bat I get a bad vibe when we walk through the door. First of all they take every bag you want to bring onto the field and check it for paint because you can only buy field paint which is way overpriced it is like 80 buck for a case of allstars. Also tourney payouts suck. 1st place only gets 25 percent of the tourney fees. Overall each player of the 3 man tourney winner was 50 bucks a piece. You you walk in it is tighter then airport security you can't go back out to your car once you have checked in lol.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

spyderREF Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
all
Review: i used to work at scary creek, and if you look at my name then most of you can figure out who i am. but this message is for people who don't know about scary creek. when we/they save your paintballs they are recycled. i'll explain. if i go up there on a sat. and i buy 2000 balls and i only use 1000 (not likely for me lol) i'll give them the 1000 left with my name on slip of paper in the bag. then my name goes in a notebook and 1000 beside of it. the 1000 balls is taken and split into 10, 100 round bags to be resold. that way when i come back to play i'll have 1000 FRESH balls to play with(or get me started).

there are 2 freezers there, one is for the frozen food and the other is to store co2 tanks.
and the next time you go to scary creek... give dustin a hard time!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KingThomasIV Monday, March 14th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played here a few times, (that's why I chose "Less than a month") but I currently live a about 1000 miles away.
Review: This field was a great experience when I was beginning how to play many years ago. The owner was cool and very friendly towards the inexperienced people, but I noticed everyone did not like the regulars with their own gear as much. Prices were moderately high, but it was the only field around that I knew of at the time. (This was just over 7 years ago.) I'm not sure if the prices have down since then.

The field layout was pretty unique in my experience -- complete with a barn, schoolbus, several portable homes, and a larger house itself. Some of the games that occurred were intense, like House Assault with over 50 people... That part really made me like the field.

Something I did not like about the field was if you bought their field paint (which you had to) and you did not use the entire case (or however much you bought,) you could not bring it back onto the property. If you wanted to "save" it for the next time you came, they would store it in a freezer... That not only destroys the paint but also is very unsafe. They had rules that 'you were out if it hit you at all, regardless of whether or not it broke' (which I also did not like) to counter some injuries but still -- freezing paintballs!

They ran a tight schedule which is awesome, but overall they were a bit too uptight for me. Still, it was a fun field to play on if there were a lot of people.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

headbangerusa Sunday, March 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none others
Review: people that give bad reveiws have to take into consideration this is a family business and they need to make money. I have had great experiences there. the people who own it are nice and the people who hang around are too. And reviews saying bad stuff about the granson are all lies. He deosnt cheat he is really nice and is just plain good.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

heathm_87 Monday, January 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tri County was alot better
Review: Well, I first came here with one of my friends, and it was very cool except the ref. can be a prick.They have really cool frields, but no speedball field,but still has and urban course. The problem with the urban course is the paint gets on the wood floors and it gets slippery and you could get hurt.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bko2004 Saturday, August 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Tri-County Paintball and other feilds
Review: Aright 1st thing the owner at scarycreek needs to tone down ah bit he needs to kind of get it through his head that hes going to lose alot of business if he dont let people with electronic guns and other high powered guns walk through the door. I mean what im trying to say is paintball is moving to a new level. Most of the players I no have electronic guns and we try to keep it safe. But it looks to me at scary creek there a lil over protected. Another thing i think the owner gets parinoid over is if you walk in there with a paintball jersey on he thinks your probley going to light everyone up. All im saying is Scary Creek Paintball needs to put experienced players on one feild and the others on another that way we wont have so many people crying to the owners.And another thing is all they want is your money and the heck with you. All and soon as you walk in that place it smells like pure butt, they need to change there name from scarycreek to scary reeks.
Last edited on Saturday, August 7th, 2004 at 5:55 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

scary_63c Tuesday, July 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tri County Paintball: Good field, but I like Scary Creek's Urban Field.
Snowshoe's Field: A SMALL joke!
Review: Scary Creek is my local field and where I first started playing paintball. Yes, they used to have alot of problems. The owner was very money oriented for a while. He still is to some extent. And yes, they do charge a $10 fee for just playing. That is pretty good however now that they lowered their paint prices. And if you play alot, they offer a membership for $60 which is good for six months, gets you in for free, and a basic rental package incase you forgot something important. If you don't go a least 6 times within this time period, it last untill you do, so you aren't wasting money. The staff is better now and helpful. The fields are great. They have an Urban field, with a house, busses, trailers, and more 55 gallon drums than I can count. They also have a speedball type field with fort structure at either end and serval barracades in between. They also have two woods-ball fields which are opperated part of the time. Each field has a locker storage area for your stuff and a place to load or work on your gun. they now fill compressed air tanks, and have even changed over their rental to HPA. They currently won't rent you an HPA tank if you don't rent one of their guns, but I hope this will change. The ref''s are saftey oriented and helpful, not to metion happy to do what the players want. They try to split teams up fairly, which is good. All in all, I think Scary Creek has evolved into a great field and place to play!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media