paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Scary Creek Paintball Field / Scary Creek Paintball Field / Scary Creek Paintball Field / Scary Creek Paintball Field

Scary Creek Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
41Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 434 Scary Creek Road
Scott Depot, West Virginia 25560
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Kizzerdrix Thursday, May 27th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tri-County, and a field outside of Dover, DE.
Review: As stated above, I have played at Scary Creek for many years. And I was the typical rec-baller, playing with a stock spyder. I then got a Spyder Compact, and upgraded it completely, the only thing stock was the body, even had an electronic frame put on it. And even then, it was fine for me to go out and play with any group that didn't care if I jumped in. I then started playing speed-ball, and was no longer permitted to use my Spyder at the field. The owner said I was too good, and had to play with one of his pro-carbines.(This all happened within a week of my introduction to speedball).
I had played there enough for the owner to know that I wouldn't try to rock some newbie, he knew that when I was on the field with unexperienced players, I would not play on the level in which I play in speedball. I leave my leg hanging out of the bunker, or my hopper, or whatever, to give the younger players the chance to hit me. I spent all my time between games coaching the younger players, and teaching them the "tricks of the trade".
The field is a giant mud pit. Some of the bunkers, as of my last appearance there, actually have mud-holes 1 ft. deep all around them, and I'm not kidding. The buildings in the "urban combat" field are falling apart. The floors are so slick, you cannot stand up. And during one game there, I watched as a players foot literally went through the floor. The buses are wasp nests. The reffing is pitiful. They don't even watch the games. They are sitting in the air conditioned buildings, periodically looking out through a window. The paint is not any good. It is exposed to the elements, during the spring and fall, the paint weakens due to getting too cold the night before. I once payed $80 for a case of RPS Allstars, and the paint would shoot, fly about 15ft, and burst in mid air.
The owners grandson plays all the time, and cheats like you wouldn't believe. And if you go to the owner about it, you are the one rep-remanded. At one point in time, the owner actually cared about the sport of paintball, but now he has the proverbial dollar signs in his eyes.
Last edited on Friday, June 4th, 2004 at 6:12 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

rabradman Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
No experiance with any other local fields.
Action Hill in Huntington has a "speed ball field" by reservation only (phone conversation with owner)
Review: I have read several of the reviews of this field, so I offer my own.

The man who owns it is trying to run a buisness. His success with this is demonstrated by the fact that Scary Creek has been in buisness for at least a decade. This is impressive in a field where many who try to operate a field do not remain in buisness.

He caters both to groups of primarily inexperienced players as well as more experienced players. And, he tries to keep these two groups separated. As an in experienced plater ( I've been 3 times) who has played with both experienced players with high end guns (ouch! that Autococker is scary) and with inexperienced players with low end guns, I appreciate the owners efforts to keep these two groups separated. Usually the experienced folks play on one field while the inexperienced folks are on another. Safety rules are enforced, which I think is good. The refs are in separate buildings that overlook the field, there are no "on field refs".

My conversations with the owners indicate that during busy times of the year (i.e. late spring and summer) they appreciate being called so that they can anticipate how many people will be playing. If you are bringing a large group, they appreciate 2 weeks notice. How big is big? I brought 19 and they wanted 2 weeks notice.

They require you to use field paint which comes in various quality grades. As I recall, the cheapest was about $50 for a case of 2000.

They can fill CO2 and compressed air. Currently they use a tank that gives a fill of about 2000 PSI. But the owner has received a compressor that should go to 4500 PSI. It was not operational as of my last visit but was physically on site.

They rent Tippman guns: 98 customs and an older model. They also have Piranha G3's. The owner is changing the rental guns over from CO2 to compressed air. They rent "camo" which you can wear over your clothes which is nice for groups of inexperienced players.

They have a small store which sells guns, barrels, masks, squeegees,parts, etc. Stock is low but they will order things for you. I wanted a "flatline barrel" for my A5, they had it in stock in a week. Prices on barrels and accessories seemed competitive.

They have 3-4 fields open currently. Some appear to be under renovation which appears to be proceeding as weather and cash flow allow. It rains a lot here except during August when it is usually "bone dry".

There is an "urban" field featuring houses, buses, and other obstacles. On this field they play "scenario" games such as house assault, capture the flag, Delta force vs terrorists, etc. In my limited experience bringing groups of boys and adults to SCPB this is the most popular field.

There is a rectangular speed ball type field with obstacles in the middle and "maze like" roofless buildings at either end.

The owner is planning on inflatable speed ball fields but I have not seen these in use as of yet.

There are two woods type fields, but these are not always in use.

To the best of my knowledge this is the only paint ball field between Huntington, WV and Charleston, WV.

They charge a $10 field fee if you have your own equipment, but they offer a frequent players discount card that brings the cost down if you plunk down $60 for the card and then play frequently. I forget how long the card is good for.

For groups of inexperienced people this seems to be a nice place with a variety of terrain.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBplayer57 Saturday, May 15th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: This is an awsume field, i dont know why people are givin it a bad review. I mean, they inforce the safety rules, but they are really nice and helpful, but sometimes really busy. They have about everthing you would need and if they dont, they will order it for you. They are about to get two five-man airball fields and hold tournies there also. If you like the urban field, they have one with a tour bus, trailers, houses, and barracades. If you like speedball, they have a speedball field but soon to be replaced with one of the airball fields. Also if you like woods ball, they have a field in the woods so they pretty much have any type of field you would want. So, they have the fields, personality, helpfulness, and the parts you need to play. This is one of my favorite places to play paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

impBaLLa Friday, April 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
jj paintball (i travel out of state to play usually)
Review: SCARY CREEK SUCKS... i went there and i almost didnt get to play with my impulse...
it really depends on the mood of the employees... right before i went in they sent two people home that had shockers...the "speedball" field isnt even a real speedball field.
prices are horrible... and everyone there just wants money.. There idea of a great marker is a shiat spyder... Save your money and go somewhere else....
Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 11:58 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kesmoney05 Wednesday, April 7th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All over the East Coast
Directions
to the Field:
Hard to find.
Review: The service at this field is terrible. The staff doesn't know much about paintball at all. The prices, though they have come down some, are very high. This is a great place for woodsballers who want to play on all types of terrain, but bad for any type of speedball. Though they have included a new speedball field, it is very very small and not regulation 3 man. With the obnoxious staff and the poor location of this field I would not recommend to anyone but maybe for a company outing, or woodsballers.
Last edited on Monday, December 4th, 2006 at 2:45 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

eslattea Thursday, April 1st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tri-County
Review: Save your money....go to wal-mart and buy some paint and play in the woods behind one of your friends house. It will be more fun. There was nothing I liked about this place. The people who work there are not very nice and they only seem to want moeny. If you are not walking in there with a fist full of 50's, then they don't care about you. Just read on and see what everyone else thinks.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neo42 Sunday, March 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tri County- I haven't been there yet, but I really want to go
Review: The prices aren't too bad, considering I am a stock player, so money on paint and air isn't much to begin with. They have a 10 dollar addmission though, which I really don't like. The fields aren't bad, but I wish they would hurry up with their airball field. The urban field is pretty good, but it's easy to slide on the floor of the house. Depending on the owners mood, you may or may not use a high end gun, which makes me mad. I have saw people in the same day where they allowed a few people to use Impulses, while a few more with them weren't. Yet you can use RT Tippmanns and Electro Spyders. They let a kid with an Nightkast the other day, but yet another guy with an Impulse couldn't. There are no refs (Even though me and a few others do it sometimes) There is also no Pro Shop at all. I'll go back, but I'd rather play at Tri County, from what I've heard about it.

Edit:
I've been to Tri-County, and it's 1,000,000 times better. And, after a certain incident at Scray Creek, I doubt that I ever go back/
Last edited on Saturday, May 15th, 2004 at 6:28 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

big fat guy Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
tri-county : smaller fields, true speedball, good prices, 4500psi fill on request, nicer staff
Review: Although their lack of a true speed-ball field is somewhat disturbing, their customer service is worse. The people aren't very nice most of the time, and generally don't let me use any of my guns except for my very old tippman m98. even with my angel locked on 8bps max, they still said no. actually, they said "It's too intimidating."

once in a while i can use a high end gun, but only if 10 other people bring their high end guns.

they fill hpa now, but were too cheap to buy a booster pump, and instead bought a gigantic scuba tank. the highest fill they have ever given me was 2000.

i cant really argue with the prices, but the prices are all they care about these days. They used to be there because of a love for paintball, but now its all about turning a profit.

They are way under-reffed, in that they have 1 ref per field that generally doesn't watch the game. One ref, in a feeble attempt to adjust my cocker's velocity, started fooling around with my lpr, so i had to fix that.

They have one really cool field with houses, charter buses, school buses, and house trailers. That field is the only reason i still go there. It is the only reason that i gave it a 3 instead of a 1.

*edit* they once wouldn't let my friend use a spyder compact, and gave me problems about my m98 because it has a double trigger on it. Also, they wouldn't let one guy play, period. They said he was too good to play with us. He even tried to play with a stock class delta pistol, but they still wouldn't let him.
Last edited on Sunday, January 4th, 2004 at 5:01 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Digital Friday, November 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Well, I play at this field only when I travel up there and I don't have time to search for more.
Review: Nice place. Very different setting then the normal areas of play I have seen. Its urbran, rather then wooded or tourny style. But thats one of the few major things going for them But they have lowered there case of paint prices from $100 to $50-60 last I remember.

If it wasn't for the field I doubt i'd play there at all. The reasons being they usually only have 1-2 refs watching from a tower. So its the Honor system out there and some people don't seem to care about that. But that can be fine to. We always teach lessons. Anyway back to the task at hand. The price of the paint for its quality isn't what I call first rate. But all that I can deal with. What I can't deal with is not being able to use high end guns unless there are at least 5, 6-8 others who do. Now up there around that place there normally isn't that many who use high end guns. Its annoying sometimes. The customer care isn't good either, they were nice at first but sence the new people have started running it its terrible. So, if you like urban terrain then i'd try it out... But not for any other reasons... Why do I love Urban terrain so much...

Also the E-mail is wrong for this field - jack@scarycreek.com
Last edited on Friday, November 28th, 2003 at 9:59 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xX[Empire]Xx Friday, October 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Well, this is an alright field. its the only one in like 100 miles. not for speedballers, like myself, though. they have a type of speedball course with wooden bunkers, which i can get by with, but it isnt too appealing. this field is pretty much for rec players and woodsballers: 1 urban field, 2 woods field, and a speedball type field. I havent been there since May, so i don't really know if anything has really changed. the real big problem is that it is ALWAYS muddy there. if you have a high-end gun, they may not let u use it. the staff is pretty friendly, 1 ref to each 5 acre field. no real proshop, but they do sell a few guns and parts here and there. they hold scenario games at least once every other month. so overall, its fair. i give it a 7.

EDIT - Dec. 24, 2003 -
I went there the other day to check up on things. They have decent paint now, cases of Blaze and 32* Competetion. New guns for rental : A5's and Pirhana Pro TS G3's. They actually sell stuff now : masks- Jt's and VForces, guns- 98 c's, A5's, and Sabatoges, barrels- PMI Razzors, 32* whispers, and Smart Parts Teardrops, loaders-standard vl200s, Ricochet Rhino's, Mach 404's, Empire Reloaders, and HALO TSA's--then they sell a bunch of accessories and stuff. I talked to the owner and he said by late winter/early spring he is going to get 4 3-man airball fields. I seriously hope he does, being the speedball player I and my team are. He plans to hold small 3-man tourneys also.
Last edited on Wednesday, December 24th, 2003 at 8:49 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media