paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Scary Creek Paintball Field / Scary Creek Paintball Field / Scary Creek Paintball Field / Scary Creek Paintball Field

Scary Creek Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
41Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 434 Scary Creek Road
Scott Depot, West Virginia 25560
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
system x 11 Wednesday, October 15th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
there really arnt to many fields as close so it is really my only option for 100 miles but i have been to other fields in the state so i have somthing to compair it to.
Review: i just talked to the owner and he said they are for sure getting three 5 man air ball fields this spring and on top of that they are going to get a compressor to fill hpa instead of a large scuba tank. after they get that stuff it will be great . they already have a really good rec ball field so once they get the air ball they will be a great field. i am basing my review on after they get the upgrades for the field. oh ya they will also be getting hpa for all rental guns
Last edited on Sunday, January 11th, 2004 at 2:51 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

jdmm72 Saturday, October 4th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tri-County Paintball field near Ripley, WV, about 35 miles from Charleston. Tri-County Paintball doesn't charge a field fee, and also has a $5.00 a day air special. Also, J&J Paintball in Marietta OH doesn't charge a field fee, and has low gas prices. Both fields offer CO2 and N2.
Review: I played at this field when they first opened. It is where I got my start. I bought a Tippmann Pro-lite from there a few years later. At this time, service was good. The owner would do whatever he could to help you out. Then I went to Texas for a while. I bought a PVI shocker when they first came out, while I was in Texas for the military. When I got back in '97 I decided to play with it at Scary Creek, guess what, not allowed, a PVI shocker for God's sake. They told me I was a big boy and should be able to compete with my tippmann. I didn't buy my shocker to look at it, but to play with it. So I left and didn't play there for years.

Then, I moved to Morgantown WV and joined the WVU tourney team and played with them a bit. Then, I set my paintball guns down.

Now, two weeks ago(21 Sept 03), I played again, couldn't find my shocker so used my old Tippmann. I had a bolt O-ring go bad, and was standing at the counter and the owner asked if he could help me. I told him I needed a bolt O-ring for my tippmann. He raised his voice and told me he didn't have time to fix my gun(not what I asked anyhow.) I got creative and put a tank o-ring on it(which worked.) I had velocity problems, so they had me rent one of their guns. Of course that day, they let two guys with Angels(one of which obviously had turbo) and one guy with an Automag. No problem, they let them play, which I agree, sucks if you have a tippmann. I came back 2 weeks later(5 Oct 05) with a newer(not newest, a 99) shocker, and was turned away. I asked if I could use it if I turned the fire rate all the way down to 8.75, which a tippmann or stock spyder could compete with. Still, I was told NO. Not to mention a younger boy came with an Impy, and they were spyder e99s all over the place, but I couldn't use my shocker, because as they put it, "It just looks too intimidating." I plan on going and getting the paintballs they owe me and being done with them again.

I personally think the fields are all right and fun, but the service, and inconsistancy is a spoiler. The owner(same guy) has changed from a caring person, into a person just out to make money and enforce arcaic rules when he wants(no tourney guns, except when he decides it okay). One thing, they need to be consistant. Either allow all guns or limit them to Tippmanns(no A-5s), and stock Spyders(no eframes). Don't switch between allowing and disallowing. It's funny, you can use a spyder e-frame, or a tippmann a-5 with a response trigger, but not a shocker 4x4.

Also, Scary Creek charges you $10 to bring your own equipment, and then charges you again to fill your CO2 tank, at approx. $5.00 for a 20oz.

Personally, I would recommend going to another field, but the only other fields within 50 miles are the one in Huntington, owned my Action Hill(reservation only), and Tri-county paintball, which I will now use. If you want to drive further go to J&J at Marrietta OH, near Parkersburg, WV

UPDATE(Oct 12, 2003): After Scary Creek told me I couldn't use my gun, they allow an Impulse, and at least 1 auto-mag play. That's unacceptable to me. I played with the guy with the Impy at J&J the next week that Scary Creek allowed to play, and he told me and a friend of mine confirmed it.

UPDATE(May 4, 2004): I let my cousin borrow my 24 oz CO2 tank a few weeks back. He played at this hole. They went to fill the tank, with NO SCALE, and overfilled it. Guess what happened. Yep, burst disk ruptured. This is the 3rd time that Scary Creek has ruptured one of my burst disks, gotta love the professionalism of the "fudge factor." Oh, and of course they blamed it on my cousin. Like he over pressurized the tank. Luckily, I had already purchased a Smart-Parts On/Off valve with burst disk (NOT FROM THEM.) Come on people, get your heads out of your rears.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 5th, 2004 at 10:01 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

kentuckyballer Tuesday, September 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have not played at another field in this area, but I am sure of one thing: The service at any other field must be better than the service at Scary Creek.
Review: I went with a group for a weekend of fun.... I did not have fun though. The fields were ok at best. The operators of the field were very pushy, and not very knowledgeable. They made us turn down our guns to 250 fps, and just about didn't let me play because of my higher end gun. They were not very nice, and constantly bombarded you with their "paintball advice", or "expert opinion" on guns. The prices were kind of high, and if you left the field, you had to pay a re-entry fee, that was the same as the original field fee. I would not go back to play here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

spyderman58 Thursday, September 4th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
all fields in W.V., about 5 or 6 in K.Y. a few in I.N. 2 in Tenn. and one in W.I. scary creek paintball is one of the most orginized fields I have ever played at.
Review: I have been playing paintball for 10 years and I love scary creek, the hours are good 10 - 6 sat. and sun. the refs know the games and make good calls. there are 4 areas to play in some are in the woods and some have houses and trailers. the rest of the staff is helpful also. they have compressed air fill now, and the paint prices are good. one thing I like very much is they don't let jerks with angels beat on young newbies, if there are 30 people there, the kids will go with one ref to a field and the bigger guys with the electronic guns will play at another.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

OnlyIKnow Wednesday, September 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None that I know of.
Review: This paintball place is pretty good. Cheap prices, but they don't allow you to play with Angels or anything like that, even if you have it chrono'd. At least their rental guns are Tippmanns'. This paintball place is good for those people that like urban combat. Another thing is that you can not bring your own paintballs and use them there. They make you buy their balls. They aren't bad paintballs, but I would rather use my Diablos or something else. The hours are pretty good- 10am to 6pm.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ForevaMacin303 Saturday, August 23rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Hey everyone I Have been down scary creek road a thousand times to visit realitive[ no my realitives live in nice new houses to the right after you cross a one car bridge].But you cant really expect something that great deep in the mountains like that i mean i have never been to a good field near Charleston or Hunington[ i cant spell good].for locals i would probabaly just recommend playing in your woods since here in Maryland near DC we have no f**king woods you lucky asses! I didnt mean to affend anyone in this review!
P.S. I love WV [I was born there!] hey im only 15! give me a break!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hatchetmanangel Saturday, August 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in wv so far, from nj, much better fields in nj
Review: First of all the field was small and dirty, they food was a bad idea, 3 fields not four, and the speed ball field was a joke.
to top it all off they take more pride in there renters then walk ons if you have your own equipment and have played somewhere else at least once, don't go.

now i have an angel and was not allowed to play there but rts and automags and autocockers were, but i had called and asked about it and they said it would be fine but the own changed his mine, even though i turned it down from 289.1- 250, and even 240, still nothing i had it locked on semi and showed him.

all and all they don't want to run a good business nor do they do alot of business they can fill air but not full.

all and all rip off
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

puntas13 Saturday, May 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
just ones we made
Review: Well for the area this field isn't that bad. its got 4 fields and a couple of houses and if you like military style fighting this field is for you. back in the good old days paint was 10 cents a ball , but i guess he got some sense and lowered the prices a good bit
Last edited on Saturday, May 3rd, 2003 at 1:33 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

aPerfectTool Thursday, April 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None....
Review: This place is sort of good at best! A few raindrops creates the biggest mudpile you have ever seen on the back field... Also, like the previous post says, "If you are a speedball player, this isn't the field for you!" Well, that couldn't be any more true. One thing really ticked me off about this field. One day, we decided to shell out the cash and play on this mudpit, and one of the employees told 2 of my friends that they COULDN't use their IMPY's because a little kid could get hurt! That was so stupid that we had to get the old man from behind the trailor (yes, they run it out of a run down trailor) who owned the place i guess to lay the law down on his A$$.. I think the guy quit after the man told him that we could use whatever gun we wanted to use (as long as it was semi-automatic, and my friends were) The only reason this gets a rating of 5 is because its the place where i played for the first time, so it holds SOME sentimental value, but not much....
Dont play here, go to Virginia or something
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dave876543 Monday, April 14th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only one in the area....
Review: Iam not entirely happy with the quality of the field there is a lot of mud and a lot of more urban oriented stuff such as busses and houses. If you are into the scenario stuff this is the place for you but for people who like speedball this definately is not the greatest place in the world.
Also there is no HPA refills there you have to drive 20 minutes to a local scuba station to refill them...very inconvenient, but according to them they are going to purchase a new HPA refill station but i have doubts to how soon that will be.
Also on the line of the paint being only 24 for 1000 well that is because the paint is cheap...very but what do you expect for field paint being that price.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media